DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election of group I, claims 1 and 4-10 in the reply filed on 10/20/2026 is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)).
Claims 2 and 3 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 10/20/2026.
Notice of Claim Interpretation
Instant claim 1 recites the limitation “having the following composition.” Transitional phrases such as "having" must be interpreted in light of the specification to determine whether open or closed claim language is intended (see MPEP 2111.03 IV). In the instant case, instant claim 8 would be redundant if instant claims 1 was interpreted as closed language. Therefore, for the purposes of search and consideration, the limitation “(has/having) the following composition” has been interpreted as open language which does not exclude additional, unrecited elements.
Claim Objections
Claims 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: instant claims 1 recites “Pb: less than 0,25” instead of “Pb: less than 0.25” and “Sb: less than 0,2” instead of “Sb: less than 0.2.” Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1 and 4-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 1 (from which claims 4-8 and 12-16 depend), the phrase "optionally" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitation(s) following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d). More specifically it is unclear whether the phrase “optionally” is intended to convey that the recited elements may not be present in the alloy, in which case the phrase “optionally” is unnecessary because the recited elements have no recited lower limit and thus need not be present, or if the phrase “optionally” is intended to convey that the recited elements may “optionally” be present in the recited amounts, but may also optionally be presented in any amount, in which case the recitation of the additional elements is unnecessary because the claim is already being interpreted as open ended.
Additionally, the term "suitable for the manufacture of shaped parts by a process comprising at least one hot forming operation" in claim 1 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term "suitable for the manufacture of shaped parts by a process comprising at least one hot forming operation" is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. Any alloy can be shaped by a hot forming operation into a shaped part, but it is not clear if applicant is intending to impose any additional property limitations to the alloy (e.g. certain elongations or yield strengths) in order for the alloy to be considered by applicant to be "suitable for the manufacture of shaped parts by a process comprising at least one hot forming operation."
Instant claims 4-10 depend on instant claim 1 and are indefinite for at least the same reasons.
Additionally regarding claim 9, the term "suitable for producing shaped parts by a process further comprising machining after the at least one hot forming, the process further comprising the step of machining after the at least one hot forming; or wherein the use comprises machining following the hot forming" in claim 1 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term " suitable for producing shaped parts by a process further comprising machining after the at least one hot forming, the process further comprising the step of machining after the at least one hot forming; or wherein the use comprises machining following the hot forming" is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. Any alloy can be shaped by a machining after a hot forming operation into a shaped part, but it is not clear if applicant is intending to impose any additional property limitations to the alloy (e.g. certain elongations or yield strengths) in order for the alloy to be considered by applicant to be "suitable for producing shaped parts by a process further comprising machining after the at least one hot forming, the process further comprising the step of machining after the at least one hot forming; or wherein the use comprises machining following the hot forming."
Additionally regarding claim 9, instant claim 9 recites the limitation “a process further comprising machining after the at least one hot forming, the process further comprising the step of machining after the at least one hot forming.” The phrase “the process further comprising the step of machining after the at least one hot forming” appears to be redundant with “a process further comprising machining after the at least one hot forming.
Additionally regarding claim 9, instant claim 9 recites the limitation "the use comprises machining following the hot forming.” There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102/103
Claim(s) 1 and 4-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1 and 2) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over JP 2013199699 to Kaneko et al (cited by applicant in IDS, an English language machine translation has been relied upon for examination purposes).
Regarding claim 1, Kaneko discloses numerous specific copper alloys lying within the instantly claimed composition, such as Kaneko example 3 which comprises the following composition (Kaneko, abstract, Examples, para [0027-0035], Table 1 No 3).
Element
Claimed wt%
Kaneko 3 wt%
Lies within?
Sn
2-6
2.0
Yes
Zn
0-5
≤impurity
Yes
S
0.05-0.6
0.15
Yes
Pb
0-0.25
≤impurity
Yes
Ni
0-0.6
≤impurity
Yes
Sb
0-0.2
≤impurity
Yes
P
Optionally 0-0.06
0.03
Yes
B
Optionally 0-0.03
≤impurity
Yes
Zr
Optionally 0-0.03
≤impurity
Yes
Cu
Balance
Balance
Yes
Regarding the limitation "suitable for the manufacture of shaped parts by a process comprising at least one hot forming operation," this limitation is indefinite as set forth above. Regardless, a recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim. In the instant case, the alloy of Kaneko is capable of being subjected to a hot forming operation, and Kaneko explicitly states that the alloy may be formed by hot forging (Kaneko, para [0025]). Alternatively, if the above indefinite limitation is intended to limit the claimed alloy to certain physical properties, when the structure recited in the reference is substantially identical to that of the claims, claimed properties or functions are presumed to be inherent. Where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established (see MPEP 2112.01 [R-3].) In the instant case, the alloy of Kaneko would be expected to have the same or similar properties as the instantly claimed alloy because the alloy of Kaneko has the same composition. Therefore, a rejection based alternatively on either 35 U.S.C. 102 or 35 U.S.C. 103 is eminently fair and acceptable.
Regarding claims 4-8, the alloy of Kaneko lies within the instantly claimed ranges.
Regarding claim 9, regarding the limitation "suitable for producing shaped parts by a process further comprising machining after the at least one hot forming, the process further comprising the step of machining after the at least one hot forming; or wherein the use comprises machining following the hot forming” this limitation is indefinite as set forth above. Regardless, a recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim. In the instant case, the alloy of Kaneko is capable of being subjected to a hot forming operation, and Kaneko explicitly states that the alloy may be formed by hot forging (Kaneko, para [0025]) and further states that the alloy has excellent machinability (Kaneko, para [0008]). Alternatively, if the above indefinite limitation is intended to limit the claimed alloy to certain physical properties, when the structure recited in the reference is substantially identical to that of the claims, claimed properties or functions are presumed to be inherent. Where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established (see MPEP 2112.01 [R-3].) In the instant case, the alloy of Kaneko would be expected to have the same or similar properties as the instantly claimed alloy because the alloy of Kaneko has the same composition. Therefore, a rejection based alternatively on either 35 U.S.C. 102 or 35 U.S.C. 103 is eminently fair and acceptable.
Regarding claim 10, the alloy of Kaneko may be formed into a shaped article by hot forging (Kaneko, para [0025]), e.g. hot forming.
Claim(s) 1 and 4-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1 and 2) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over US 2012/0082588 to Kobayashi et al (cited by applicant in IDS).
Regarding claim 1, Kobayashi discloses numerous specific copper alloys lying within the instantly claimed composition, such as Kobayashi example 2 which comprises the following composition (Kobayashi, abstract, Examples, para [0037-0062], Table 1 No 2).
Element
Claimed wt%
Kobayashi 2 wt%
Lies within?
Sn
2-6
3.5
Yes
Zn
0-5
2.6
Yes
S
0.05-0.6
0.19
Yes
Pb
0-0.25
<0.02
Yes
Ni
0-0.6
<0.01
Yes
Sb
0-0.2
<0.02
Yes
P
Optionally 0-0.06
0.03
Yes
B
Optionally 0-0.03
≤impurity
Yes
Zr
Optionally 0-0.03
≤impurity
Yes
Cu
Balance
Balance
Yes
Regarding the limitation "suitable for the manufacture of shaped parts by a process comprising at least one hot forming operation," this limitation is indefinite as set forth above. Regardless, a recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim. In the instant case, the alloy of Kobayashi is capable of being subjected to a hot forming operation. Alternatively, if the above indefinite limitation is intended to limit the claimed alloy to certain physical properties, when the structure recited in the reference is substantially identical to that of the claims, claimed properties or functions are presumed to be inherent. Where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established (see MPEP 2112.01 [R-3].) In the instant case, the alloy of Kobayashi would be expected to have the same or similar properties as the instantly claimed alloy because the alloy of Kobayashi has the same composition. Therefore, a rejection based alternatively on either 35 U.S.C. 102 or 35 U.S.C. 103 is eminently fair and acceptable.
Regarding claims 4-8, the alloy of Kobayashi lies within the instantly claimed ranges.
Regarding claim 9, regarding the limitation "suitable for producing shaped parts by a process further comprising machining after the at least one hot forming, the process further comprising the step of machining after the at least one hot forming; or wherein the use comprises machining following the hot forming” this limitation is indefinite as set forth above. Regardless, a recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim. In the instant case, the alloy of Kobayashi is capable of being subjected to a hot forming operation and Kobayashi further states that the alloy has good machinability (Kobayashi, abstract). Alternatively, if the above indefinite limitation is intended to limit the claimed alloy to certain physical properties, when the structure recited in the reference is substantially identical to that of the claims, claimed properties or functions are presumed to be inherent. Where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established (see MPEP 2112.01 [R-3].) In the instant case, the alloy of Kobayashi would be expected to have the same or similar properties as the instantly claimed alloy because the alloy of Kobayashi has the same composition. Therefore, a rejection based alternatively on either 35 U.S.C. 102 or 35 U.S.C. 103 is eminently fair and acceptable.
Regarding claim 10, the alloy of Kobayashi is subjected to casting and machining (Kobayashi, para [0044]) to turn the alloy into a “shaped product.”
Claim(s) 1, 4, 6 and 8-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1 and 2) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over EP 3225707 A1 to Haake et al (cited by applicant in IDS, an English language machine translation has been relied upon for examination purposes).
Regarding claim 1, Haake discloses numerous specific copper alloys lying within the instantly claimed composition, such as Haake example 1 which comprises the following composition (Haake, abstract, Examples, para [0028-0052], Table 1 No 1).
Element
Claimed wt%
Haake 1 wt%
Lies within?
Sn
2-6
4.8
Yes
Zn
0-5
3.0
Yes
S
0.05-0.6
0.55
Yes
Pb
0-0.25
0.01
Yes
Ni
0-0.6
~0
Yes
Sb
0-0.2
~0
Yes
P
Optionally 0-0.06
0.01
Yes
B
Optionally 0-0.03
~0
Yes
Zr
Optionally 0-0.03
~0
Yes
Cu
Balance
Balance
Yes
Regarding the limitation "suitable for the manufacture of shaped parts by a process comprising at least one hot forming operation," this limitation is indefinite as set forth above. Regardless, a recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim. In the instant case, the alloy of Haake is capable of being subjected to a hot forming operation. Alternatively, if the above indefinite limitation is intended to limit the claimed alloy to certain physical properties, when the structure recited in the reference is substantially identical to that of the claims, claimed properties or functions are presumed to be inherent. Where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established (see MPEP 2112.01 [R-3].) In the instant case, the alloy of Haake would be expected to have the same or similar properties as the instantly claimed alloy because the alloy of Haake has the same composition. Therefore, a rejection based alternatively on either 35 U.S.C. 102 or 35 U.S.C. 103 is eminently fair and acceptable.
Regarding claims 4, 6 and 8, the alloy of Haake lies within the instantly claimed ranges.
Regarding claim 9, regarding the limitation "suitable for producing shaped parts by a process further comprising machining after the at least one hot forming, the process further comprising the step of machining after the at least one hot forming; or wherein the use comprises machining following the hot forming,” this limitation is indefinite as set forth above. Regardless, a recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim. In the instant case, the alloy of Haake is capable of being subjected to a hot forming operation and furthermore Haake discloses the alloy has good machinability (Haake, para [0010]). Alternatively, if the above indefinite limitation is intended to limit the claimed alloy to certain physical properties, when the structure recited in the reference is substantially identical to that of the claims, claimed properties or functions are presumed to be inherent. Where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established (see MPEP 2112.01 [R-3].) In the instant case, the alloy of Haake would be expected to have the same or similar properties as the instantly claimed alloy because the alloy of Haake has the same composition. Therefore, a rejection based alternatively on either 35 U.S.C. 102 or 35 U.S.C. 103 is eminently fair and acceptable.
Regarding claim 10, the alloy of Haake is subjected to casting (Haake, para [0007]) to turn the alloy into a “shaped product.”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5 and 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over EP 3225707 A1 to Haake et al (cited by applicant in IDS, an English language machine translation has been relied upon for examination purposes) as applied to claims 1, 4, 6 and 8-10 above.
Haake discloses a copper alloy as set forth above. The tin and sulfur content of the examples of Haake are outside of the ranges of instant claims 5 and 7.
Haake more broadly discloses that the Sn content may be from 3.5-4.8 % by weight (overlapping the instantly claimed range) and that the S content may be from 0.25-0.65 % by weight (overlapping the instantly claimed range) (Haake, para [0011,0013]).
Regarding claims 5, 7, 13 and 15, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to adjust the Sn content of Haake to be from 3.5-4.8 % by weight (overlapping the instantly claimed range) and the S to may be from 0.25-0.65 % by weight (overlapping the instantly claimed range) as suggested by Haake, the motivation for doing so being to adjust the strength and corrosion resistance of the alloy and volume fraction of sulfides of the alloy (Haake, para [0011,0013]). In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists (see MPEP 2144.05 [R-5]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to select any portion of the disclosed ranges of Haake including the instantly claimed because Haake discloses the same utility throughout the disclosed ranges.
Conclusion
/BRIAN D WALCK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1738