DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-7, 9-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Brulo et al (US20240030863) in view of Guo (CN113501320) and in further view of Kang (KR20220074622).
Referring to claims 1, 16. Brulo et al (herein “Brulo”) discloses a “Installation System”. See Figs. 1-95 and respective portions of the specification. Brulo further discloses a delivery mechanism (2800) comprising: a mechanical linkage, the mechanical linkage comprising: a plurality of rocking bars, wherein each rocking bar of the plurality of rocking bars is mounted to: a chassis (2820), at a first end of the rocking bar; and a first cross bar, at a second end of the rocking bar (See at least Sect. 0207-0208, 0211, 0216, 0221); a plurality of linear actuators (2155, 2205, 2305), wherein: the plurality of linear actuators comprise piston-type actuators configured to move at least one payload in and out of at least one compartment; and one end of each linear actuator of the plurality of linear actuators is mounted to an individual rocking bar of the plurality of rocking bars (See at least Sect. 0216, 0219, 0221); It should be noted that Brulo discloses post assemblies each comprising post, cross-members (2110), and structural elements that are movably coupled to actuators to extend and retract relative to the carrier body (2103) and that each post assembly is coupled at one end of the carrier body and at a second end to a first cross bar. Likewise, Brulo discloses at least one grapple, wherein: each grapple of the at least one grapple (760): comprises a hook mounted to a claw (See Sect. 0112, 0182); It should be noted that Brulo discloses gabber assembly including a claw or pinching assembly that clamps onto payloads, mounted to and operated by the implement assembly. Further Brulo discloses a control circuit (controller, 102, 772) controls both the actuators and the grabber assembly (See Sect. 0185, 0229, 0235). Thus, Brulo teaches a delivery mechanism comprising a mechanical linkage with actuator driven post/bar elements mounted to chassis to cross-member, piston-type linear actuators moving payloads in and out of a compartment, a grapple interface configured to open and close around a payload, and a control circuit moving the linear actuators relative to the structural bars. Brulo does not disclose a grapple comprising a hook mounted to a claw wherein the hook rotates around the claw via a grapple motor; or a mounted to a claw wherein the hook rotates around the claw via a grapple motor or a control circuit using an end-of-travel switch to determine when the grapple motor activates, deactivates, and changes direction. Guo discloses a “Rotary Hook Type Clamp and Gripping and Conveying Device”. See Figs. 1-5 and respective portions of the specification. Guo further discloses a rotary hook type clamp comprising grab hooks (3) each having a connecting part (31) fixed to a rotating shaft (2), the hook mounted to its rotational mount structure and a grabbing part (32) in the form of a semicircular arc hook constituting the hook mounted to the claw (See Detailed Description & Claim 4) and further that the pair of grab hooks rotate in reverse directions driven by a linear driving mechanism (cylinder 6, piston rod 61, doubled sided rack 4, gears 5 and rotating shafts 2), so that the hook tips buckle together to clamp a payload and rotate apart to release it. Thus, Guo teaches a hook that opens and closes around a payload and rotates around its mounting axis and that a motor drives a gear rotation on the rotating shaft to drive hook rotation, thus teaching a grapple motor that meshes a gear to rotate the hook (See Detailed Description, Claims 1-2). Kang discloses a “Hook Locking Structure And Method Using Mobile Robot”. See Figs. 1-10 and respective portions of the specification. Kang further discloses a hook fastening structure using a mobile robot comprising a rotating module (23) with a rotating part (42) driven by a driving module (24) including a driving motor, wherein two limit switches (45) are mounted on the rotating body (41) and a switch rod (44) integrally coupled with the rotating part operates the limit switches (See Sect. 0015, 0042, 0046), the limit switches (45) determine the rotation angle of the rotating part and control activation and deactivation of the driving module and the two limit switches arranged at 180-degree intervals set the bounds of hook rotation. Thus, Kang teaches an end-of-travel switch that determines when the grapple motor activates, deactivates, and changes direction (See Sect. 0044-0045), and a control unit (8) controls the driving module using limit switch information, teaching a control circuit coordinating the grapple motor and end-of-travel switch (See Sect. 0054-0055). Likewise, Kang teaches that the end-of-travel switch determines when the grapple motor activates, deactivates, and changes direction (See at least Sect. 0044-0046, 0054-0055). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the delivery mechanism of Brulo to incorporate the hook on rotating shaft grapple with motor driven gear rotation of Guo, in order to provide a reliable motor controlled means of gripping and releasing individual payloads with defined open and closed positions and to incorporate the limit switch motor control architecture of Kang into this combination to provide precise, automatic control of the grapple motor’s activation, deactivation, and direction reversal at defined end of travel positions, thereby preventing overtravel and ensuring repeatable hook operation.
Referring to claim 2. Brulo in view of Guo and Kang disclose the combination as set forth above in detail as applied to claim 1. Brulo further discloses a vehicle frame (2020) appended to the chassis (2010); a plurality of panels attached to the vehicle frame, wherein the plurality of panels constructs the at least one compartment (2070/2100); and a plurality of wheels, wherein the plurality of wheels are: appended to the chassis; and powered by a centralized motor to transport the delivery mechanism to a predetermined destination. More specifically, Brulo discloses the carrier defines a stowage area (compartment) and tractive elements (wheels) powered by a battery module and primary mover to transport the ADV (2800) to a destination. (See at least Sect. 0189-0192, 0229-0030).
Referring to claim 3. Brulo in view of Guo and Kang disclose the combination as set forth above in detail as applied to claim 1. Brulo further discloses a plurality of sensors wherein the plurality of sensors (712, 2810) are used to identify at least one of: a given payload of the at least one payload, to configure the hook to open and close around the given payload; or the predetermined destination (See Sect. 0128, 0169, 0234).
Referring to claim 4. Brulo in view of Guo and Kang disclose the combination as set forth above in detail as applied to claim 1. Brulo further discloses wherein, in response to the identification by the plurality of sensors, the mechanical linkage is configured to perform at least one of: picking up the given payload from the predetermined destination; or dropping off the given payload at the predetermined destination (See Sects. 0112, 0358, 0361, 0366).
Referring to claim 5. Brulo in view of Guo and Kang disclose the combination as set forth above in detail as applied to claim 1. Brulo discloses wherein the mechanical linkage has a delivery mode, wherein the mechanical linage is in an extended configuration; and the delivery mechanism is stationary. More specifically, Brulo discloses post assemblies (2103) retracted to hold payloads securely during transport (Travel mode) and posts (214) rotating/extending to provide payload access while the ADV is stopped at the delivery location (delivery mode) (See Sects. 0219, 0224-0226, 0344-0346).
Referring to claim 6. Brulo in view of Guo and Kang disclose the combination as set forth above in detail as applied to claim 1. Brulo discloses wherein no weight is applied, from the at least one payload to the mechanical linkage, when the mechanical linkage is in the travel mode and in the delivery mode. More specifically, Brulo discloses payloads rest on the carrier surfaces, with post assemblies and posts serving as lateral retention barriers rather than primary load-bearing members, such payload weight is borne by the carrier surface in both modes.
Referring to claim 7. Brulo in view of Guo and Kang disclose the combination as set forth above in detail as applied to claim 1. Brulo further discloses wherein the plurality of sensors comprises at least one of: a plurality of cameras, wherein the plurality of cameras is appended on top of the vehicle frame; or a plurality of ultrasonic sensors, wherein the plurality of ultrasonic sensors are appended to the chassis (See at least Sects. 0169, 0232, 0234). More specifically, Brulo discloses sensors (712) positioned on multiple surfaces of the body (705) including cameras and proximity sensors. It should be noted that ultrasonic sensors are well-known species of proximity sensor.
Referring to claims 9-10. Brulo in view of Guo and Kang disclose the combination as set forth above in detail as applied to claim 1. Brulo discloses a plurality of cameras comprises: two front-facing cameras; and two rear-facing cameras (See Sect. 0169, 0232). Brulo doesn’t discloses wherein the two rear-facing cameras are placed opposite the front-facing cameras and two front-side cameras that have a 45-degree yaw inward; and two rear-side cameras have a 45-degree yaw inward; and are placed opposite the two front-side cameras on the top of the vehicle frame. Kang discloses both a front camera (13) for forward navigation and a lower camera (14) for proximity detection near the target, providing front and rear camera coverage (See Sect. 0030-0032). It should be noted that the specific camera angle 45 degrees yaw inward is a result-effective variable. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the cameras as two front-facing cameras and two rear-facing cameras and two front-side cameras have a 45-degree yaw inward and two rear-side cameras have a 45-degree yaw inward, as selecting this configuration and 45 degree allows for a degree of lateral coverage that overlaps and increases total coverage.
Referring to claims 11-12. Brulo in view of Guo and Kang disclose the combination as set forth above in detail as applied to claim 1. Brulo discloses wireless communication between the controller (102, 772) and the implement assembly via network (815) including wireless interfaces (See Sect. 0185-0188). Brulo doesn’t explicitly disclose wherein the hook connects through a wireless relay. Kang discloses a control unit (80) including a wireless module (81) for wireless transmission and reception with external devices, used to wirelessly control the driving module (24) that operates the hook (See Sect. 0048-0049, 0053-0055) and further discloses two limit switches (45) mounted on the rotating body (41) wherein the switch rod (44) operates the limit switches to stop the driving module when the hook reaches its travel limit position (See Sect. 0042, 0044-0046). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the delivery mechanism wherein the hook connects to the control circuit, so that wireless control circuit could control the opening and closing of the hook for better control of the hook mechanism and control the activation and travel limit of the hook.
Referring to claim 13. Brulo in view of Guo and Kang disclose the combination as set forth above in detail as applied to claim 1. Brulo discloses wherein at least one of the close hook wireless relay or the open hook wireless relay is coupled to the centralized motor. More specifically, Brulo discloses a single controller (102) governing both the tractive elements and the payload handling actuators. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate coupling the relay-based hook control circuit to the centralized motor within this integrated controller for improved control and functioning of the hook mechanism.
Referring to claim 14. Brulo in view of Guo and Kang disclose the combination as set forth above in detail as applied to claim 1. Brulo doesn’t explicitly disclose a gate. Brulo discloses an actuator (282) tilting carrier (2100) about a pivot point to form an angled delivery/ramp orientation, and levelling cylinders (3042) comprising a pair of parallel linear actuators on opposing sides of a structural member (See Sects. 0235, 0238-0241, 0248). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure a gate element with parallel actuators on either side to form a ramp for payload delivery as this would make an efficient means of providing a ramp for the delivery mechanism.
Referring to claim 15. Brulo in view of Guo and Kang disclose the combination as set forth above in detail as applied to claim 1. Brulo discloses wherein motor driven advancement rollers (315) that payloads laterally, and rollers (354) driven by a motor to cause payloads to translate relative to the delivery vehicle platform (See Sect. 0143, 0147). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute a conveyor belt for a driven-roller arrangement as it is a known equivalent means and would provide the ability to hold substantial payloads.
Referring to claim 17. Brulo in view of Guo and Kang disclose the combination as set forth above in detail as applied to claim 1. Brulo discloses supplemental support structures including the headboard assembly (2125/2135) providing rear support and post assemblies providing lateral support during movement (See Sect. 0218-0219, 0224). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a hangar to provide additional support for heavier payloads.
Referring to claim 18. Brulo in view of Guo and Kang disclose the combination as set forth above in detail as applied to claim 1. Brulo does not disclose explicitly that the grapple comprises a motor relay, wherein the motor relay controls the grapple motor. Guo teaches a control system that activates and deactivates the linear driving device to control grapple operation while Kang teaches a driving module (24) comprising a driving motor controlled by the control unit via limit switch signals (Sects. 0046, 0054-0055), thus teaching a grapple comprising a motor relay controlling the grapple motor. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Guo and Kang into the system of Brulo as a using a relay is a standard switching element for controlling a motor circuit, and would allow for more precise and automatic control of the grapple mechanism.
Referring to claim 19. Brulo in view of Guo and Kang disclose the combination as set forth above in detail as applied to claim 1. Brulo does not explicitly disclose wherein the grapple motor is configured t mesh a gear to rotate the hook relative to the claw. Guo discloses that a pair of rotating shafts (2) are engaged with the two surfaces of the double-sided rack through gears (5), wherein the motor driven rack drives gear rotation to rotate the hook (See at least Claim 2). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Guo to provide a reliable motor controlled and provide precise, automatic control of the grapple motor’s movement of the hook and claw.
Claim(s) 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Brulo et al (US20240030863) in view of Guo (CN113501320) in view of Kang (KR20220074622) and in further view of Brulo et al (US2023/0356992).
Referring to claim 20. Brulo in view of Guo and Kang disclose the combination as set forth above in detail as applied to claim 1. Brulo discloses that posts (2140) selectively rotate to provide access to a top payload while blocking access to lower payload, and that the installation vehicle may grab one panel at a time from the delivery vehicle (See Sect. 0195, 0225). Brulo doesn’t disclose wherein a first grapple of the at least one grapple is configured to open to release a first payload of the at least one payload, while a second grapple of the at least one grapple remains closed around a second payload of the at least one payload. Brulo et al (US2023/0356992 “herein Kraisinger”) discloses a robotic welding attachment (16) having a primary arm and a secondary arm (106) that are operably coupled to a platform (102) and can move independently of both the platform and each other (See Sect. 0043), wherein each arm carries an independently simultaneous operation of two implements on a shared platform. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply independently operable dual-implement architecture of Kraisinger to the grapple mechanism of the combination, such that individual grapples could be independently actuated to release one payload while retaining another.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 8 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/TERRELL H MATTHEWS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3653