DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
heat rejection unit
technical fluid filtration unit
air conditioning unit
technical fluid treatment unit
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 9-11, 13, 15-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a) (1) as being anticipated by Gao (CN113727574A).
Regarding claim 1, Gao discloses a technical fluid system (Fig. 2/6), comprising: a technical fluid circuit comprising one or more technical fluid pumps (pump 232) configured to deliver a technical fluid to a liquid cooling system (cold plate 212 & manifold 213) and an air cooling system (air cooling unit 224); a primary heat exchanger (heat exchanger 231) configured to transfer heat from the technical fluid (fluid in 250) to a cooling fluid (fluid in 225); a heat rejection unit (external cooling unit 225) configured to remove heat from the cooling fluid; and a cooling fluid circuit (see piping from 231, 225, 241) comprising one or more cooling fluid pumps (pump 241) configured to circulate the cooling fluid between the PHEX (231) and the heat rejection unit (225).
Regarding claim 2, Gao discloses the limitations of claim 1, and Gao further discloses the heat rejection unit comprises a cooling tower (cooling tower – Page 7).
Regarding claim 3, Gao discloses the limitations of claim 1, and Gao further discloses the technical fluid system is a modular technical fluid system and wherein the cooling fluid circuit and the technical fluid circuit are each configured to fluidically couple to another respective cooling fluid circuit and technical fluid circuit of another modular technical fluid system (see configuration of Fig. 6, w/ 501,502 connected to each of 504,505).
Regarding claim 9, Gao discloses a data center cooling system (Fig. 2/6), comprising: a liquid cooling system (212,213) comprising one or more liquid cooling connectors (213) configured to fluidically couple to a server heat exchanger (212) of a cabinet; an air cooling system (224) comprising one or more computer room air conditioning (CRAC) units configured to cool supply air (liquid-air heat exchanger, page 8); and one or more technical fluid systems (250) fluidically coupled to the liquid cooling system and the air cooling system, wherein each technical fluid system comprises: a technical fluid circuit comprising one or more technical fluid pumps (232) configured to deliver a technical fluid to the liquid cooling system and the air cooling system; a primary heat exchanger (231) configured to transfer heat from the technical fluid to a cooling fluid; a heat rejection unit (225) configured to remove heat from the cooling fluid; and a cooling fluid circuit comprising one or more cooling fluid pumps (241) configured to circulate the cooling fluid between the PHEX and the heat rejection unit.
Regarding claim 10, Gao discloses the limitations of claim 9, and Gao further discloses the one or more technical fluid systems comprises two or more technical fluid systems (see modular configuration including 501/502/503).
Regarding claim 11, Gao discloses the limitations of claim 10, and Gao further discloses a technical fluid header configured to fluidically couple the liquid cooling system and the air cooling system to the two or more technical fluid systems (see common headers of 501/502/503).
Regarding claim 13, Gao discloses the limitations of claim 10, and Gao further discloses a cooling fluid header configured to fluidically couple the cooling fluid circuits of each of the two or more technical fluid systems (see common headers of 504/505).
Regarding claim 15, Gao discloses (see Fig. 2/6) a method for cooling cabinets of a data center, comprising: delivering, by one or more technical fluid systems (250), a technical fluid to one or more server heat exchangers (212) of a liquid cooling system and one or more computer room air conditioning (224) units of an air cooling system, by at least, for each technical fluid system: circulating, by one or more technical fluid pumps (232) of a technical fluid circuit, the technical fluid between a primary heat exchanger (231) and each of the liquid cooling system and the air cooling system to absorb heat from the one or more SHEXs and the one or more CRAC units; and circulating, by one or more cooling fluid pumps (241) of a cooling fluid circuit, a cooling fluid between the PHEX and a heat rejection unit (225) to transfer heat from the technical fluid to the cooling fluid and remove the heat from the cooling fluid.
Regarding claim 16, Gao discloses the limitations of claim 15, and Gao further discloses discharging, by the one or more CRAC units, cooled supply air (liquid-air heat exchanger, page 8).
Regarding claim 17, Gao discloses the limitations of claim 15, and Gao further discloses the one or more technical fluid systems comprises two or more technical fluid systems (see modular configuration including 501/502/503).
Regarding claim 18, Gao discloses the limitations of claim 15, and Gao further discloses the liquid cooling system and the air cooling system are fluidically coupled to the two or more technical fluid systems via a technical fluid header (see common headers of 501/502/503).
Regarding claim 19, Gao discloses the limitations of claim 17, and Gao further discloses the cooling fluid circuits of each of the two or more technical fluid systems are fluidically coupled via a cooling fluid header (see common headers of 504/505).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gao (CN113727574A) in view of Magcale (US20230189485A1).
Regarding claim 4, Gao teaches the limitations of claim 3, and Gao does not teach a skid frame configured to support the PHEX, the cooling fluid circuit, the heat rejection unit, and the technical fluid circuit.
Magcale teaches a skid frame (see frame 201; Fig. 2 & ¶[0043]) configured to support the PHEX, the cooling fluid circuit, the heat rejection unit, and the technical fluid circuit (cooling systems - ¶[0026]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Gao to include the skid frame of Magcale to support the cooling systems, in order to reduce installation and construction time (¶[0004-0005]).
Claim(s) 5-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gao (CN113727574A) in view of Magcale (US20230189485A1) and Harrington (US20250130000A1).
Regarding claims 5-6, Gao teaches the limitations of claim 4, and Gao does not teach a technical fluid filtration unit; and a technical fluid treatment unit, wherein the technical fluid filtration unit is configured to provide filtration of less than or equal to 25 micron, and wherein the technical fluid treatment system is configured to maintain a corrosion inhibitor in the technical fluid.
Harrington teaches a technical fluid filtration unit; and a technical fluid treatment unit (ACQ; Fig. 1), wherein the technical fluid filtration unit is configured to provide filtration of less than or equal to 25 micron (1 micron filter - ¶[0114]), and wherein the technical fluid treatment system is configured to maintain a corrosion inhibitor in the technical fluid (¶[0127]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Gao to include the filtration and treatment units of Harrington, in order to reduce biological growth and reduce corrosion (¶[0114], ¶[0127]).
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gao (CN113727574A).
Regarding claim 7, Gao teaches the limitations of claim 1, and Gao is silent to the technical fluid system has a cooling capacity of at least 2500 kilowatts (kW), however, such a cooling capacity would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. MPEP 2144.05(II). In the instant case, Gao teaches the number and power of electronic components requires increased cooling capacity (see Page 2).
Claim(s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gao (CN113727574A) in view of Harrington (US20250130000A1).
Regarding claim 12, Gao teaches the limitations of claim 11, and Gao does not teach a technical fluid filtration unit fluidically coupled to the technical fluid header; and a technical fluid treatment unit fluidically coupled to the technical fluid header.
Harrington teaches technical fluid filtration unit (1 micron filter - ¶[0114]), fluidically coupled to the technical fluid system; and a technical fluid treatment unit (ACQ; Fig. 1) fluidically coupled to the technical fluid system (¶[0127]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Gao to include the filtration and treatment units of Harrington to the fluid header of Gao, in order to reduce biological growth and reduce corrosion (¶[0114], ¶[0127]).
Claim(s) 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gao (CN113727574A) in view of Jenkins (US20220144666A1).
Regarding claim 14, Gao teaches the limitations of claim 13, and Gao does not teach a cooling fluid filtration unit fluidically coupled to the cooling fluid header; and a cooling fluid treatment unit fluidically coupled to the cooling fluid header.
Jenkins teaches a cooling fluid filtration unit (112; Fig. 5) fluidically coupled to the cooling fluid system; and a cooling fluid treatment unit (115) fluidically coupled to the cooling fluid system.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Gao to include the filtration and treatment units of Jenkins to the fluid header of Gao, in order to prevent fouling and undesirable cooling water conditions (¶[0003]).
Claim(s) 8 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gao (CN113727574A) in view of Lyon (US20170064874A1).
Regarding claims 8/20, Gao teaches the limitations of claim 1/15, and Gao does not teach the technical fluid comprises a mixture of water and glycol, and wherein the cooling fluid comprises water.
Lyon teaches the technical fluid comprises a mixture of water and glycol (¶[0062]), and wherein the cooling fluid comprises water (¶[0128]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Gao to include the fluids of Lyon, as it has been held obvious to provide a simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results (see MPEP 2143). In the instant case, as taught by Lyon, water and glycol mixtures for use as a technical fluid and water as a cooling fluid are known to be suitable for the intended purpose.
Conclusion
/ERIC S RUPPERT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3763