DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5 and 7-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Leyva eta l. (U.S. Publication No. 2017/0209610) in view of Kain et al. (U.S. Publication No. 2014/0193294).
Concerning claims 1, 12 and 17, Leyva discloses a sanitizing system, comprising:
A base including an opening to a sanitizing chamber (135), the sanitizing chamber (135) comprising at least one exhaust port (125);
A lid (132) configured to transition from an open lid position to a closed lid position, wherein the lid is configured to extend across the opening to the sanitizing chamber (135) when the lid is in the closed position (paragraph 15; Figure 1);
A sanitizing gas generator (202) configured to generate a sanitizing gas, the sanitizing gas generator located within the base (paragraphs 15-22);
An outlet (110) configured to fluidly couple a first end of a continuous positive airway pressure (CPAP) hose (115) to the sanitizing gas generator (paragraph 18);
A passageway (105) configured to be secured to the CPAP hose (115) such that a second end of the CPAP hose is in fluid communication with the sanitizing chamber (paragraphs 15-20); and
A primary fan or pump located within the base, and configured to push or draw at least a portion of the sanitizing gas through the CPAP hose (115) to the sanitizing chamber in the base (paragraphs 15-20).
Leyva does not appear to disclose a secondary fan or pump located within the base, and configured to push or draw gas within the sanitizing chamber through the at least one exhaust port and outside of the sanitizing chamber when the lid is in the closed lid position to seal the chamber. Kain discloses a sanitizing system that includes a base (101) with a sanitizing chamber (Figure 2), and an opening that is closed by a lid/door (500) as set forth in paragraphs 21-23; wherein the system also includes a sanitizing gas generator (353) within the base (Figures 2 & 3; paragraph 29), and a primary fan or pump (319) located within the base (Figures 2 & 3) configured to push gas within the sanitizing chamber (paragraphs 38 & 39). The reference continues to disclose a secondary fan or pump (333) located within the base (Figures 2 & 3), and configured to push or draw gas within the sanitizing chamber through at least one exhaust port (354) when the lid (500) is in the closed lid position to seal the chamber in order to expedite converting the sanitizing gas into a harmless exhausted gas flow (paragraphs 29 and 42-44). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the system of Leyva with a secondary fan or pump located within the base, and configured to push or draw gas within the sanitizing chamber through the at least one exhaust port and outside of the sanitizing chamber when the lid is in the closed lid position to seal the chamber in order to expedite converting the sanitizing gas into a harmless exhausted gas flow as exemplified by Kain.
Therefore, claims 1, 12 & 17 are not patentable over Leyva in view of Kain (herein referred to as modified Leyva).
Regarding claims 2, 13 and 18, modified Leyva continues to disclose a filter (paragraph 23 of Leyva; numeral 339 of Kain disclosed in paragraphs 42 & 44), wherein the secondary fan or pump is configured to push or draw the gas withing the sanitizing chamber through a filter (paragraph 23 of Leyva; paragraphs 42 & 44 of Kain).
With respect to claim 3, Leyva does not appear to disclose that the filter is a filter cartridge comprising a shell and a filter media housed within the shell, the shell comprising a filter inlet and a filter outlet. Nonetheless, Kain continues to disclose that the filter is a filter cartridge comprising a shell and a filter media housed within the shell, the shell comprising a filter inlet and a filter outlet in order to house a catalyst converting element that decomposes the sanitizing gas into a harmless byproduct (paragraphs 42-44). Thus, it would have also been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize a filter with a filter cartridge comprising a shell and a filter media housed within the shell, the shell comprising a filter inlet and a filter outlet in Leyva in order to house a catalyst converting element that decomposes the sanitizing gas into a harmless byproduct as exemplified by Kain.
As such, claim 3 is not patentable over Leyva in view of Kain as well.
Concerning claims 4 & 8, modified Leyva discloses that the secondary fan or pump is located downstream of said filter outlet (See explanation to claims 2, 3, 13 and 18 above).
Regarding claims 5, 9, 14 and 19, modified Leyva does not appear to disclose that the secondary fan is located upstream of said filter. Nonetheless, In re Japikse, 181 F.2d 1019, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950) (Claims to a hydraulic power press which read on the prior art except with regard to the position of the starting switch were held unpatentable because shifting the position of the starting switch would not have modified the operation of the device.); In re Kuhle, 526 F.2d 553, 188 USPQ 7 (CCPA 1975) (the particular placement of a contact in a conductivity measuring device was held to be an obvious matter of design choice). See MPEP 2144.04 [VI](C). Thus, the placement of the secondary fan upstream from the filter does not create a patentable distinction over the secondary fan being located downstream of the filter in modified Leyva.
Therefore, claims 5, 14 and 19 are not patentable over Leyva in view of Kain as well.
Concerning claim 7, Leyva does not appear to disclose that the base comprises a filter tray that is movable between an open and closed position, the filter tray configured to receive the filter. However, Kain continues to disclose a filter tray (330) that is movable between an open and closed position (paragraphs 33 & 27), the filter tray configured to receive the filter (339) in order to allow access to the components of a filter system (paragraphs 27, 33, 42 and 43). Therefore, It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a filter tray that is movable between an open and closed position in the system of Leyva, the filter tray configured to receive the filter in order to allow access to the components of a filter system as exemplified by Kain.
Thus, claim 7 is not patentable over Leyva in view of Kain as well.
With respect to claims 10 & 15, Leyva continues to disclose the CPAP hose (115), wherein a first end of the CPAP hose (115) is configured to be fluidly coupled to an outlet of the sanitizing gas generator and the CPAP hose (115) is configured to be secured to the base such that a second end of the CPAP hose is in fluid communication with the sanitizing chamber (paragraph 15; Figures 1 & 2).
Concerning claims 11, 16 and 20, Leyva also discloses that the base is configured to form a seal with an intermediate portion of the CPAP hose (115) when the lid (132) is transitioned from the open lid position to the closed lid position to seal the chamber (paragraph 15).
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Leyva eta l. (U.S. Publication No. 2017/0209610) in view of Kain et al. (U.S. Publication No. 2014/0193294) as applied to claim 2 above, and further in view of Beam et al. (U.S. Publication No. 2006/0034737).
Leyva is relied upon as set forth above. Leyva does not appear to disclose a filter detection sensor configured to detect said filter and output a filter detection signal; and a controller configured to permit or prevent generation of said sanitizing gas based at least in part on said filter detection signal. Beam discloses a method of sanitizing by generating a sanitizing gas from a gas generator (paragraph 16) located in a housing (10), wherein the housing is provided with a filter (paragraph 15) as shown in Figure 1. The reference continues to disclose a filter detection sensor configured to detect said filter and output a filter detection signal, and a controller configured to permit or prevent generation of said sanitizing gas based at least in part on said filter detection signal in order to ensure that the filter is properly installed (paragraph 24). As such, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the system of Leyva with a filter detection sensor configured to detect said filter and output a filter detection signal, and a controller configured to permit or prevent generation of said sanitizing gas based at least in part on said filter detection signal in order to ensure that the filter is properly installed as exemplified by Beam.
Thus, claim 6 is not patentable over Leyva in view of Kain and Beam.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-24 of U.S. Patent No. 12,168,079 (herein referred to as ‘079).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because all of the limitations of the instant application are met by claims 1-24 of ‘079.
More specifically, each claim a sanitizing system comprising a base including an opening to a sanitizing chamber, the sanitizing chamber comprising at least one exhaust port; and a lid configured to transition from an open lid position to a closed lid position, wherein the lid is configured to extend across the opening to the sanitizing chamber when the lid is in the closed position. Further, each claim a sanitizing gas generator configured to generate a sanitizing gas, the sanitizing gas generator located within the base; an outlet configured to fluidly couple a first end of a continuous positive airway pressure (CPAP) hose to the sanitizing gas generator; and a passageway configured to be secured to the CPAP hose such that a second end of the CPAP hose is in fluid communication with the sanitizing chamber. Still further, both claim a primary fan or pump configured to push or draw at least a portion of the sanitizing gas through the CPAP hose to the sanitizing chamber in the base; and a secondary fan or pump configured to push or draw gas within the sanitizing chamber through the at least one exhaust port and outside of the sanitizing chamber when the lid is in the closed lid position; wherein the primary fan or pump and the secondary fan or pump are both co-located within the base. See claims 1, 10, 23 and 24 of ‘079.
As such, the obviousness type double patenting rejection exists.
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-21 of U.S. Patent No. 12,280,169 (herein referred to as ‘169).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because all of the limitations of the instant application are met by claims 1-21 of ‘169.
More specifically, each claim a sanitizing system comprising a base including an opening to a sanitizing chamber, the sanitizing chamber comprising at least one exhaust port; and a lid configured to transition from an open lid position to a closed lid position, wherein the lid is configured to extend across the opening to the sanitizing chamber when the lid is in the closed position. Further, each claim a sanitizing gas generator configured to generate a sanitizing gas, the sanitizing gas generator located within the base; an outlet configured to fluidly couple a first end of a continuous positive airway pressure (CPAP) hose to the sanitizing gas generator; and a passageway configured to be secured to the CPAP hose such that a second end of the CPAP hose is in fluid communication with the sanitizing chamber. Still further, both claim a primary fan or pump configured to push or draw at least a portion of the sanitizing gas through the CPAP hose to the sanitizing chamber in the base; and a secondary fan or pump configured to push or draw gas within the sanitizing chamber through the at least one exhaust port and outside of the sanitizing chamber when the lid is in the closed lid position; wherein the primary fan or pump and the secondary fan or pump are both co-located within the base. See claims 1, 11-13, 16-18 and 21 of ‘169.
As such, the obviousness type double patenting rejection exists.
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-19 of U.S. Patent No. 11,484,613 (herein referred to as ‘613).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because all of the limitations of the instant application are met by claims 1-19 of ‘613.
More specifically, each claim a sanitizing system comprising a base including an opening to a sanitizing chamber, the sanitizing chamber comprising at least one exhaust port; and a lid configured to transition from an open lid position to a closed lid position, wherein the lid is configured to extend across the opening to the sanitizing chamber when the lid is in the closed position. Further, each claim a sanitizing gas generator configured to generate a sanitizing gas, the sanitizing gas generator located within the base; an outlet configured to fluidly couple a first end of a continuous positive airway pressure (CPAP) hose to the sanitizing gas generator; and a passageway configured to be secured to the CPAP hose such that a second end of the CPAP hose is in fluid communication with the sanitizing chamber. Still further, both claim a primary fan or pump configured to push or draw at least a portion of the sanitizing gas through the CPAP hose to the sanitizing chamber in the base; and a secondary fan or pump configured to push or draw gas within the sanitizing chamber through the at least one exhaust port and outside of the sanitizing chamber when the lid is in the closed lid position; wherein the primary fan or pump and the secondary fan or pump are both co-located within the base. See claims 1 and 11 of ‘613.
As such, the obviousness type double patenting rejection exists.
Conclusion
/KEVIN JOYNER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1799