DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 21, 28, 35 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hwang et al. (US20250056342A1) in view of Tsai et al. (US20190297537A1).
Regarding claim 21, Hwang teaches a method performed by a user equipment (UE), the method comprising: receiving a radio resource control (RRC) reconfiguration message indicating that a random access channel (RACH)-less handover (HO) is configured; determining, based on the RRC reconfiguration message, whether a configured grant (CG) is configured for an initial uplink (UL) transmission for the RACH-less HO (Paragraph [0081]: In the RACH-less handover, information on a UL resource (i.e. UL-grant resource) for first UL transmission to be performed by the terminal in the target cell may be provided in advance to the terminal from the target cell via the source cell. That is, when the RACH-less handover is performed, a UL grant for the UL resource (i.e. UL-grant resource) of the target base station may be provided to the terminal in a pre-configured UL-grant scheme. Paragraph [0085]: FIG. 5 is a sequence chart for describing a RACH-less handover procedure according to an exemplary embodiment of the present disclosure. Paragraph [0093]: The source base station 520 may transmit a handover command to the terminal 510 (S540). In this case, the handover command message may be transmitted to the terminal through an RRC reconfiguration message (i.e. RRCReconfiguration message). The RRC reconfiguration message transmitted to the terminal may include information on the UL grant of the target base station previously received through the handover request acknowledge message.)
performing, when the CG is configured, the initial UL transmission (Paragraph [0092]: In this case, the target base station 530 may transmit the handover request acknowledge message by including information on an uplink resource (i.e. information on a UL-grant) for the terminal 510 to perform first UL transmission (e.g. transmission of an RRCReconfigurationComplete message) in the target cell, which is allocated in the pre-configured UL-grant scheme or the dynamic UL-grant scheme described above. Paragraph [0096]: The terminal may transmit a UL message (e.g. RRCReconfigurationComplete) to the target base station 530 in the UL-grant resource of the target base station 530.)
Hwang does not explicitly teach monitoring a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH).
However, Tsai teaches monitoring a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) (Paragraph [0147]: FIG. 14 illustrates examples of a system 1400 for performing an RACH-less HO procedure. Paragraph [0157]: In some examples, the one or more HO parameters and/or the second RRC reconfiguration message 1414 may comprise a command to perform the HO (e.g., an HO command). Alternatively and/or additionally, the second RRC reconfiguration message 1414 may comprise the one or more pre-allocated UL grants (and/or one or more second pre-allocated UL grants) for accessing the T-Cell 1475. Paragraph [0163]: In some examples, responsive to completion of the one or more HO complete operations 1420, the UE may monitor 1422 a (initial) PDCCH 1424 for DL and/or UL data scheduling. For example, information associated with DL and/or UL data scheduling may be received via the monitoring 1422 the PDCHH 1424.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide monitoring a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH), as taught by Tsai in the system of Hwang, so that upon completion of the handover operations, the UE can perform data scheduling by monitoring the PDCCH, and further transmit data to or receive data from the target cell/gNB (Tsai: Paragraphs [0147], [0157], [0163], [0164]).
Regarding claim 28, Hwang teaches a method performed by a base station, the method comprising: transmitting a radio resource control (RRC) reconfiguration message indicating (i) that a random access channel (RACH)-less handover (HO) is configured and (ii) that a configured grant (CG) is configured for an initial uplink (UL) transmission for the RACH-less HO; receiving the initial UL transmission (see rejection for claim 21);
Hwang does not explicitly teach transmitting a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH).
However, Tsai teaches transmitting a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) (see rejection for claim 21, also see paragraph [0168] of Tsai).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide transmitting a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH), as taught by Tsai in the system of Hwang, so that upon completion of the handover operations, the UE can perform data scheduling based on the PDCCH, and further transmit data to or receive data from the target cell/gNB (Tsai: Paragraphs [0147], [0157], [0163], [0164]).
Regarding claim 35, Hwang teaches an electronic device comprising: at least one processor including processing circuitry; and memory storing instructions, wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor individually or collectively, cause the electronic device to: (Paragraph [0051]: Referring to FIG. 2 , a communication node 200 may comprise at least one processor 210, a memory 220, and a transceiver 230 connected to the network for performing communications. Paragraph [0052]: The processor 210 may execute a program stored in at least one of the memory 220 and the storage device 260.)
receive a radio resource control (RRC) reconfiguration message indicating that a random access channel (RACH)-less handover (HO) is configured; determine, based on the RRC reconfiguration message, whether a configured grant (CG) is configured for an initial uplink (UL) transmission for the RACH-less HO; perform, when the CG is configured, the initial UL transmission (see rejection for claim 21);
Hwang does not explicitly teach to monitor a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH).
However, Tsai teaches to monitor a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) (see rejection for claim 21);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to monitor a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH), as taught by Tsai in the system of Hwang, so that upon completion of the handover operations, the UE can perform data scheduling by monitoring the PDCCH, and further transmit data to or receive data from the target cell/gNB (Tsai: Paragraphs [0147], [0157], [0163], [0164]).
Claims 22, 23, 29, 30, 36, 37 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hwang et al. (US20250056342A1) in view of Tsai et al. (US20190297537A1), and further in view of Awada et al. (US20250106708A1)
Regarding claim 22, the combination of Hwang and Tsai teaches the method of claim 21 (see rejection for claim 21);
The combination of Hwang and Tsai does not explicitly teach wherein the PDCCH monitored is quasi co-located with a synchronization signal block (SSB) associated with the initial UL transmission.
However, Awada teaches wherein the PDCCH monitored is quasi co-located with a synchronization signal block (SSB) associated with the initial UL transmission (Paragraph [0081]: RACH-less HO has been discussed for NR beamformed system in Rel. 16 but was not specified. Herein, Quasi-co Location (QCL) information of the PUSCH grant has been discussed for Option 1. For instance, a PUSCH grant is QCL with a specific RS index (SSB or CSI-RS) if the transmission of RS index (from network side) shares the same channel properties (doppler shift, doppler spread, average delay, delay spread, spatial RX parameter) as the received signal (payload) on PUSCH grant. Similarly, for Option 2, a PDCCH transmission from a (target) cell is QCL with a specific RS (SSB or CSI-RS) if the reception of RS index (from UE side) shares the same channel properties as the reception of PDCCH signal.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide wherein the PDCCH monitored is quasi co-located with a synchronization signal block (SSB) associated with the initial UL transmission, as taught by Awada in the combined system of Hwang and Tsai, in order to share the same channel properties as the reception of PDCCH signal (Awada: Paragraph [0081]).
Regarding claim 23, the combination of Hwang and Tsai teaches the method of claim 21 further comprising: (see rejection for claim 21);
Hwang does not explicitly teach determining, based on the RRC reconfiguration message, a transmission configuration indication (TCI) state identifier (ID) configured for the RACH-less HO; and indicating, to lower layers, TCI state information included in the TCI state ID, wherein monitoring the PDCCH further comprises monitoring the PDCCH using a beam indicated by the TCI state ID.
However, Tsai teaches determining, based on the RRC reconfiguration message, a transmission configuration indication (TCI) state identifier (ID) configured for the RACH-less HO; (Paragraph [0147]: FIG. 14 illustrates examples of a system 1400 for performing an RACH-less HO procedure. Paragraph [0158]: For example, if the one or more pre-allocated UL grants (and/or the one or more second pre-allocated UL grants) for accessing the T-Cell 1475 are comprised within the second RRC reconfiguration message 1414, the one or more pre-allocated UL grants (and/or the one or more second pre-allocated UL grants) may be calculated based upon the second RRC reconfiguration message 1414. Paragraph [0344]: In the context of one or more of the embodiments illustrated in FIGS. 18-36, and discussed above, in one embodiment, the signal may be an RRC reconfiguration message. Alternatively and/or additionally, the signal may comprise mobility control information. Alternatively and/or additionally, the signal may comprise one or more beam identifiers, one or more DL signal identifiers, one or more SSB identifiers, one or more CSI-RS identifiers, a TCI state indication and/or a candidate list of beams.)
and indicating, to lower layers, TCI state information included in the TCI state ID; wherein monitoring the PDCCH further comprises monitoring the PDCCH using TCI state ID (Paragraph [0145]: 3GPP R2-1803796 provides information associated with MAC CEs for NR MIMO. In some examples, a network may indicate a Transmission Configuration Indicator (TCI) state for PDCCH reception for a control resource set (CORESET) of a Serving Cell by sending the TCI State Indication for UE-specific PDCCH MAC CE. If a MAC entity receives a TCI State Indication for UE-specific PDCCH MAC CE on a Serving Cell, the MAC entity may indicate to lower layers, information associated with the TCI State Indication for UE-specific PDCCH MAC CE. Paragraph [0146]: FIG. 13 illustrates a diagram 1300 of an exemplary TCI State indication for UE-specific PDCCH MAC CE. A TCI State ID field indicates the TCI state identified by TCI-StateId. [0147]: FIG. 14 illustrates examples of a system 1400 for performing an RACH-less HO procedure. Paragraph [0157]: In some examples, the one or more HO parameters and/or the second RRC reconfiguration message 1414 may comprise a command to perform the HO (e.g., an HO command). Alternatively and/or additionally, the second RRC reconfiguration message 1414 may comprise the one or more pre-allocated UL grants (and/or one or more second pre-allocated UL grants) for accessing the T-Cell 1475. Paragraph [0163]: In some examples, responsive to completion of the one or more HO complete operations 1420, the UE may monitor 1422 a (initial) PDCCH 1424 for DL and/or UL data scheduling. For example, information associated with DL and/or UL data scheduling may be received via the monitoring 1422 PDCHH 1424.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide determining, based on the RRC reconfiguration message, a transmission configuration indication (TCI) state identifier (ID) configured for the RACH-less HO; and indicating, to lower layers, TCI state information included in the TCI state ID; wherein monitoring the PDCCH further comprises monitoring the PDCCH using TCI state ID, as taught by Tsai in the system of Hwang, so that the lower layers can get information associated with the TCI State Indication for UE-specific PDCCH (Tsai: Paragraphs [0145], [0146], [0147], [0157], [0163]).
The combination of Hwang and Tsai does not explicitly teach the PDCCH using a beam indicated by the TCI state ID.
However, Awada teaches the PDCCH using a beam indicated by the TCI state ID (Paragraph [0081]: Similarly, for Option 2, a PDCCH transmission from a (target) cell is QCL with a specific RS (SSB or CSI-RS) if the reception of RS index (from UE side) shares the same channel properties as the reception of PDCCH signal. Paragraph [0082]: TCI states defines the Quasi Co-Location (QCL) information for receiving the PDCCH or PDSCH signal. In particular, TCI state indicates for the UE the RS index (SSB index or CSI-RS index) for which the channel information(s) (doppler shift, doppler spread, average delay, delay spread, spatial RX parameter) apply for receiving PDCCH or PDSCH signals. The TCI states are configured to the UE by CU using an RRC Reconfiguration message. For triggering a beam switch within the same cell, the MAC layer of the serving base station updates the TCI-state ID (which is associated with a particular RS index). For instance, if the UE was using the QCL information of SSB index 1 (associated with TCI state ID 1) to receive/transmit (to the serving cell), the UE needs to start using QCL information of for example SSB index 2 (associated with TCI state 2) if the MAC CE sent by the DU contains TCI State ID 2.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the PDCCH using a beam indicated by the TCI state ID, as taught by Awada in the combined system of Hwang and Tsai, so that the same channel properties can be shared (Awada: Paragraphs [0081], [0082]).
Regarding claim 29, the combination of Hwang and Tsai teaches the method of claim 28 (see rejection for claim 28);
The combination of Hwang and Tsai does not explicitly teach wherein the PDCCH is quasi co-located with a synchronization signal block (SSB) associated with the initial UL transmission.
However, Awada teaches wherein the PDCCH is quasi co-located with a synchronization signal block (SSB) associated with the initial UL transmission (see rejection for claim 22);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide wherein the PDCCH is quasi co-located with a synchronization signal block (SSB) associated with the initial UL transmission, as taught by Awada in the combined system of Hwang and Tsai, in order to share the same channel properties as the reception of PDCCH signal (Awada: Paragraph [0081]).
Regarding claim 30, the combination of Hwang and Tsai teaches the method of claim 28 (see rejection for claim 28);
Hwang does not explicitly teach wherein: a transmission configuration indication (TCI) state identifier (ID) is configured for the RACH-less HO based on the RRC reconfiguration message, and the PDCCH is transmitted based on a beam indicated by the TCI state ID.
However, Tsai teaches wherein: a transmission configuration indication (TCI) state identifier (ID) is configured for the RACH-less HO based on the RRC reconfiguration message, and the PDCCH is transmitted based on TCI state ID (see rejection for claim 23);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide wherein: a transmission configuration indication (TCI) state identifier (ID) is configured for the RACH-less HO based on the RRC reconfiguration message, and the PDCCH is transmitted based on TCI state ID, as taught by Tsai in the system of Hwang, in order to get information associated with the TCI State Indication for UE-specific PDCCH (Tsai: Paragraphs [0145], [0146], [0147], [0157], [0163]).
The combination of Hwang and Tsai does not explicitly teach the PDCCH based on a beam indicated by the TCI state ID.
However, Awada teaches the PDCCH based on a beam indicated by the TCI state ID (see rejection for claim 23);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the PDCCH based on a beam indicated by the TCI state ID, as taught by Awada in the combined system of Hwang and Tsai, so that the same channel properties can be shared (Awada: Paragraphs [0081], [0082]).
Regarding claim 36, the combination of Hwang and Tsai teaches the electronic device of claim 35 (see rejection for claim 35);
The combination of Hwang and Tsai does not explicitly teach wherein the PDCCH monitored is quasi co-located with a synchronization signal block (SSB) associated with the initial UL transmission.
However, Awada teaches wherein the PDCCH monitored is quasi co-located with a synchronization signal block (SSB) associated with the initial UL transmission (see rejection for claim 22);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide wherein the PDCCH monitored is quasi co-located with a synchronization signal block (SSB) associated with the initial UL transmission, as taught by Awada in the combined system of Hwang and Tsai, in order to share the same channel properties as the reception of PDCCH signal (Awada: Paragraph [0081]).
Regarding claim 37, the combination of Hwang and Tsai teaches the electronic device of claim 35, wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor individually or collectively, further cause the electronic device to: (see rejection for claim 35);
Hwang does not explicitly teach to determine, based on the RRC reconfiguration message, a transmission configuration indication (TCI) state identifier (ID) configured for the RACH-less HO; indicate, to lower layers, TCI state information included in the TCI state ID; and monitor the PDCCH using a beam indicated by the TCI state ID.
However, Tsai teaches to determine, based on the RRC reconfiguration message, a transmission configuration indication (TCI) state identifier (ID) configured for the RACH-less HO; indicate, to lower layers, TCI state information included in the TCI state ID; and monitor the PDCCH using TCI state ID (see rejection for claim 23);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to determine, based on the RRC reconfiguration message, a transmission configuration indication (TCI) state identifier (ID) configured for the RACH-less HO; indicate, to lower layers, TCI state information included in the TCI state ID; and monitor the PDCCH using TCI state ID, as taught by Tsai in the system of Hwang, so that the lower layers can get information associated with the TCI State Indication for UE-specific PDCCH (Tsai: Paragraphs [0145], [0146], [0147], [0157], [0163]).
The combination of Hwang and Tsai does not explicitly teach the PDCCH using a beam indicated by the TCI state ID.
However, Awada teaches the PDCCH using a beam indicated by the TCI state ID (see rejection for claim 23);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the PDCCH using a beam indicated by the TCI state ID, as taught by Awada in the combined system of Hwang and Tsai, so that the same channel properties can be shared (Awada: Paragraphs [0081], [0082]).
Claims 24, 31, 38 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hwang et al. (US20250056342A1) in view of Tsai et al. (US20190297537A1), and further in view of Awada et al. (US20250106708A1) and Zhou et al. (US20200314664A1).
Regarding claim 24, the combination of Hwang, Tsai, and Awada teaches the method of claim 23 (see rejection for claim 23);
The combination of Hwang, Tsai, and Awada does not explicitly teach wherein a reference signal associated with PDCCH receptions for scheduling an initial physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) transmission and a downlink (DL) reference signal (RS) configured by a TCI state associated with the TCI state ID are quasi co-located.
However, Zhou teaches wherein a reference signal associated with PDCCH receptions for scheduling an initial physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) transmission and a downlink (DL) reference signal (RS) configured by a TCI state associated with the TCI state ID are quasi co-located (Paragraph [0407]: In an example, a wireless device may perform a RACH-less handover. The RACH-less handover may be employed for reducing handover latency. FIG. 27A and FIG. 27B show examples of RACH-less handover. Paragraph [0415]: One of example embodiments comprises receiving from a base station first configuration parameter of downlink RSs (e.g., SSBs and/or CSI-RSs) and a second parameter indicating a default beam is used for PUSCH. The wireless device may determine to apply the default beam in response to: the second parameter indicating the default beam is used. The default beam for PUSCH transmission may be associated with one of the downlink RSs. The one of the downlink RSs may be indicated in the second parameter. Paragraph [0416]: In an example, a base station may transmit to a wireless device one or more RRC messages comprising configuration parameters of a cell, the configuration parameters comprising first parameters of downlink RSs (e.g., SSBs and/or CSI-RSs) and a second parameter for PUSCH transmission beam determination. The second parameter may comprise at least one of: an indication of one of the downlink RSs, a TCI index, and/or an SRI index. In an example, the second parameter comprising the indication of the one of the downlink RSs (or the TCI index, the SRI index) may indicate that a default beam is used for the PUSCH. Paragraph [0417]: In an example, the wireless device may determine a SRI for the PUSCH, the SRI being associated with one of the downlink RSs, in response to: …..the wireless device being in the RRC connected state and the second parameter indicating that default beam is used for PUSCH transmission. The wireless device may determine the SRI associated with a downlink RS indicated based on the second parameter. The wireless device may transmit, based on the determined SRI, the PUSCH with a same spatial domain filter used for receiving the downlink RS, or receiving a DMRS (e.g., for a PDCCH) QCL-ed with the downlink RS.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide wherein a reference signal associated with PDCCH receptions for scheduling an initial physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) transmission and a downlink (DL) reference signal (RS) configured by a TCI state associated with the TCI state ID are quasi co-located, as taught by Zhou in the combined system of Hwang, Tsai, and Awada, so that the wireless device may improve uplink transmission and/or throughput and/or uplink transmission latency (Zhou: Paragraphs [0415] – [0418]).
Regarding claim 31, the combination of Hwang, Tsai, and Awada teaches the method of claim 30 (see rejection for claim 30);
The combination of Hwang, Tsai, and Awada does not explicitly teach wherein a reference signal associated with PDCCH transmissions for scheduling an initial physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) reception and a downlink (DL) reference signal (RS) configured by a TCI state associated with the TCI state ID are quasi co-located.
However, Zhou teaches wherein a reference signal associated with PDCCH transmissions for scheduling an initial physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) reception and a downlink (DL) reference signal (RS) configured by a TCI state associated with the TCI state ID are quasi co-located (see rejection for claim 24);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide wherein a reference signal associated with PDCCH transmissions for scheduling an initial physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) reception and a downlink (DL) reference signal (RS) configured by a TCI state associated with the TCI state ID are quasi co-located, as taught by Zhou in the combined system of Hwang, Tsai, and Awada, in order to improve uplink transmission and/or throughput and/or uplink transmission latency (Zhou: Paragraphs [0415] – [0418]).
Regarding claim 38, the combination of Hwang, Tsai, and Awada teaches the electronic device of claim 37 (see rejection for claim 37);
The combination of Hwang, Tsai, and Awada does not explicitly teach wherein a reference signal associated with PDCCH receptions for scheduling an initial physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) transmission and a downlink (DL) reference signal (RS) configured by a TCI state associated with the TCI state ID are quasi co-located.
However, Zhou teaches wherein a reference signal associated with PDCCH receptions for scheduling an initial physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) transmission and a downlink (DL) reference signal (RS) configured by a TCI state associated with the TCI state ID are quasi co-located (see rejection for claim 24);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide wherein a reference signal associated with PDCCH receptions for scheduling an initial physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) transmission and a downlink (DL) reference signal (RS) configured by a TCI state associated with the TCI state ID are quasi co-located, as taught by Zhou in the combined system of Hwang, Tsai, and Awada, so that the wireless device may improve uplink transmission and/or throughput and/or uplink transmission latency (Zhou: Paragraphs [0415] – [0418]).
Claims 25, 26, 32, 33, 39, 40 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hwang et al. (US20250056342A1) in view of Tsai et al. (US20190297537A1), and further in view of Tsai et al. (US20190297547A1) hereinafter Tsai2, and Zhou et al. (US20200314664A1).
Regarding claim 25, the combination of Hwang and Tsai teaches the method of claim 21, further comprising: (see rejection for claim 21);
The combination of Hwang and Tsai does not explicitly teach determining, based on the RRC reconfiguration message, a synchronization signal block (SSB) index configured for the RACH-less HO; and indicating, to lower layers, the SSB index, wherein monitoring the PDCCH further comprises monitoring the PDCCH using a beam indicated by the SSB index.
However, Tsai2 teaches determining, based on the RRC reconfiguration message, a synchronization signal block (SSB) index configured for the RACH-less HO; wherein monitoring the PDCCH further comprises monitoring the PDCCH using a beam indicated by the SSB index (Paragraph [0154]: In a second embodiment, a PDCCH may be monitored using one or more beams associated with a DL signal (of a target cell) configured in an RRC reconfiguration message. A UE may transmit a measurement report to a network prior to performing an RACH-less HO procedure. The target cell may determine one or more beams to be used by the UE for PDCCH monitoring (based upon the measurement report). Alternatively and/or additionally, the target cell may indicate (to the UE) (e.g., via a TCI state, indicated by a TCI State ID field (e.g., TCI-StateID)) the one or more beams to be used by the UE for PDCCH monitoring. The target cell may include beam information (e.g., one or more beam identifiers, one or more DL signal identifiers, one or more SSB identifiers, one or more CSI-RS identifiers, a TCI state indication (for PDCCH reception for a CORESET of the target cell), a candidate list of beams (e.g., a list of TCI-StateID fields, such as tci-StatesPDCCH, etc.)) in an RRC reconfiguration message.)
and indicating, to lower layers, the SSB index (Paragraph [0077]: In some examples, the RRCConnectionReconfiguration message may comprise the mobilityControlInfo. if the received RRCConnectionReconfiguration message includes an rach-Skip, configure lower layers to apply the rach-Skip for the target MCG; configure lower layers in accordance with any additional fields, that may not be covered in previous operations, if included in the received mobilityControlInfo. Paragraph [0094]: In some examples, a network may indicate a Transmission Configuration Indicator (TCI) state for PDCCH reception for a control resource set (CORESET) of a Serving Cell by sending the TCI State Indication for UE-specific PDCCH MAC CE. If a MAC entity receives a TCI State Indication for UE-specific PDCCH MAC CE on a Serving Cell, the MAC entity may indicate to lower layers, information associated with the TCI State Indication for UE-specific PDCCH MAC CE. Paragraph [0096]: In addition, the UE may be configured with a candidate list of beams (also referred to TCI state and/or SRI and/or spatial QCL assumption) corresponding to the CORESET for monitoring PDCCH. The configuration of PDCCH (e.g., PDCCH-Config) may configure the UE with a control resource set list (e.g., controlResourceSetToAddModList), and each control resource set (ControlResourceSet) may be configured with a TCI state list (tci-StatesPDCCH). The network may further indicate and/or activate a TCI state (of the configured TCI state list) for PDCCH reception for a CORESET of a Serving Cell by sending the TCI State Indication for UE-specific PDCCH MAC CE. Paragraph [0098]: The RRCReconfiguration message may convey information for measurement configuration, mobility control, radio resource configuration (including RBs, MAC main configuration and physical channel configuration).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide determining, based on the RRC reconfiguration message, a synchronization signal block (SSB) index configured for the RACH-less HO; and indicating, to lower layers, the SSB index, wherein monitoring the PDCCH further comprises monitoring the PDCCH using a beam indicated by the SSB index, as taught by Tsai2 in the combined system of Hwang and Tsai, so that a PDCCH may be monitored using one or more beams configured in an RRC reconfiguration message (Tsai2: Paragraphs [0077], [0094], [0096], [0098], [0154]).
The combination of Hwang, Tsai, and Tsai2 does not explicitly teach monitoring the PDCCH using a beam indicated by the SSB index.
However, Zhou teaches monitoring the PDCCH using a beam indicated by the SSB index (Paragraph [0439]: In an example, the target gNB may determine the one or more TCI states based on the measurement reports of the wireless device, e.g., a first TCI state comprising an SSB/CSI-RS index of an SSB/CSI-RS with a highest RSRP value among one or more SSBs/CSI-RSs comprised in the measurement reports, or a second TCI state comprising an SSB/CSI-RS index of an SSB/CSI-RS with a second highest RSRP value among one or more SSBs/CSI-RSs comprised in the measurement reports. In an example, the wireless device may monitor PDCCH candidates in at least one of the one or more search space sets in at least one of the one or more control resource sets with at least one of the one or more TCI states. In an example, each of the one or more TCI states may comprise at least a reference signal resource index (e.g., SSB index or CSI-RS index). In an example, when a TCI state comprises an SSB index, the wireless device may monitor PDCCH by assuming that DM-RS antenna port associated with PDCCH receptions is quasi co-located with SS/PBCH block identified by the SSB index. Paragraph [0441]: In an example, the wireless device may monitor the PDCCH candidates by assuming that DM-RS antenna port associated with PDCCH receptions is quasi co-located with SSB or CSI-RS identified by a TCI state configured in the PDCCH configurations.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide monitoring the PDCCH using a beam indicated by the SSB index, as taught by Zhou in the combined system of Hwang, Tsai, and Tsai2, so that channel robustness of PUSCH transmission to the target gNB can be improved, and latency of the RACH-less handover procedure can be reduced (Zhou: Paragraphs [0439], [0441], [0446]).
Regarding claim 26, the combination of Hwang, Tsai, Tsai2, and Zhou teaches the method of claim 25 (see rejection for claim 25);
The combination of Hwang and Tsai does not explicitly teach wherein a reference signal associated with PDCCH receptions for scheduling an initial physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) transmission and a synchronization signal and physical broadcast channel (SS/PBCH) block indicated by the SSB index are quasi co-located.
However, Tsai2 teaches a synchronization signal and physical broadcast channel (SS/PBCH) block indicated by the SSB index (Paragraph [0096]: In addition, the UE may be configured with a candidate list of beams (also referred to TCI state and/or SRI and/or spatial QCL assumption) corresponding to the CORESET for monitoring PDCCH. Paragraph [0154]: In a second embodiment, a PDCCH may be monitored using one or more beams associated with a DL signal (of a target cell) configured in an RRC reconfiguration message. A UE may transmit a measurement report to a network prior to performing an RACH-less HO procedure. The target cell may determine one or more beams to be used by the UE for PDCCH monitoring (based upon the measurement report). Alternatively and/or additionally, the target cell may indicate (to the UE) (e.g., via a TCI state, indicated by a TCI State ID field (e.g., TCI-StateID)) the one or more beams to be used by the UE for PDCCH monitoring. The target cell may include beam information (e.g., one or more beam identifiers, one or more DL signal identifiers, one or more SSB identifiers, one or more CSI-RS identifiers, a TCI state indication (for PDCCH reception for a CORESET of the target cell), a candidate list of beams (e.g., a list of TCI-StateID fields, such as tci-StatesPDCCH, etc.)) in an RRC reconfiguration message.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a synchronization signal and physical broadcast channel (SS/PBCH) block indicated by the SSB index, as taught by Tsai2 in the combined system of Hwang and Tsai, so that a PDCCH may be monitored using one or more beams configured in an RRC reconfiguration message (Tsai2: Paragraphs [0096], [0154]).
The combination of Hwang, Tsai, and Tsai2 does not explicitly teach wherein a reference signal associated with PDCCH receptions for scheduling an initial physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) transmission and a synchronization signal and physical broadcast channel (SS/PBCH) block indicated by the SSB index are quasi co-located.
However, Zhou teaches wherein a reference signal associated with PDCCH receptions for scheduling an initial physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) transmission and a synchronization signal and physical broadcast channel (SS/PBCH) block indicated by the SSB index are quasi co-located (Paragraph [0407]: In an example, a wireless device may perform a RACH-less handover. The RACH-less handover may be employed for reducing handover latency. FIG. 27A and FIG. 27B show examples of RACH-less handover. Paragraph [0415]: One of example embodiments comprises receiving from a base station first configuration parameter of downlink RSs (e.g., SSBs and/or CSI-RSs) and a second parameter indicating a default beam is used for PUSCH. The wireless device may determine to apply the default beam in response to: the second parameter indicating the default beam is used. The default beam for PUSCH transmission may be associated with one of the downlink RSs. The one of the downlink RSs may be indicated in the second parameter. Paragraph [0416]: In an example, a base station may transmit to a wireless device one or more RRC messages comprising configuration parameters of a cell, the configuration parameters comprising first parameters of downlink RSs (e.g., SSBs and/or CSI-RSs) and a second parameter for PUSCH transmission beam determination. The second parameter may comprise at least one of: an indication of one of the downlink RSs, a TCI index, and/or an SRI index. In an example, the second parameter comprising the indication of the one of the downlink RSs (or the TCI index, the SRI index) may indicate that a default beam is used for the PUSCH. Paragraph [0417]: In an example, the wireless device may determine a SRI for the PUSCH, the SRI being associated with one of the downlink RSs, in response to: …..the wireless device being in the RRC connected state and the second parameter indicating that default beam is used for PUSCH transmission. The wireless device may determine the SRI associated with a downlink RS indicated based on the second parameter. The wireless device may transmit, based on the determined SRI, the PUSCH with a same spatial domain filter used for receiving the downlink RS, or receiving a DMRS (e.g., for a PDCCH) QCL-ed with the downlink RS. Paragraph [0419]: FIG. 29 shows an example flowchart of uplink beam management. At 2910, a wireless device receives first parameters of downlink RSs and a second parameter indicating that a default beam is used for uplink transmission. At 2920, the wireless device receives a DCI indicating a first uplink transmission via a PUSCH resource. At 2930, the wireless device determines, for the first uplink transmission, spatial relation information is associated with one of the downlink RSs, in response to the second parameter indicating that the default beam is used. At 2940, the wireless device transmits a TB via the PUSCH resource and according to the spatial relation information. Paragraph [0420]: According to an example embodiment, the downlink RSs comprise at least one of: one or more CSI-RSs, one or more SSBs, and/or one or more SRSs. Paragraph [0439]: In an example, when a TCI state comprises an SSB index, the wireless device may monitor PDCCH by assuming that DM-RS antenna port associated with PDCCH receptions is quasi co-located with SS/PBCH block identified by the SSB index. Also see paragraphs [0425], [0426], [0439], [0441]).)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide wherein a reference signal associated with PDCCH receptions for scheduling an initial physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) transmission and a synchronization signal and physical broadcast channel (SS/PBCH) block indicated by the SSB index are quasi co-located, as taught by Zhou in the combined system of Hwang, Tsai, and Awada, so that the wireless device may improve uplink transmission and/or throughput and/or uplink transmission latency (Zhou: Paragraphs [0415] – [0420], [0439], [0440]).
Regarding claim 32, the combination of Hwang and Tsai teaches the method of claim 28 (see rejection for claim 28);
The combination of Hwang and Tsai does not explicitly teach wherein: a synchronization signal block (SSB) index is configured for the RACH-less HO based on the RRC reconfiguration message, and the PDCCH is transmitted based on a beam indicated by the SSB index.
However, Tsai2 teaches wherein: a synchronization signal block (SSB) index is configured for the RACH-less HO based on the RRC reconfiguration message, and the PDCCH is transmitted based on a beam indicated by the SSB index (see rejection for claim 25);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide wherein: a synchronization signal block (SSB) index is configured for the RACH-less HO based on the RRC reconfiguration message, and the PDCCH is transmitted based on a beam indicated by the SSB index, as taught by Tsai2 in the combined system of Hwang and Tsai, so that a PDCCH may be transmitted based on the configuration in an RRC reconfiguration message (Tsai2: Paragraphs [0077], [0094], [0096], [0098], [0154]).
The combination of Hwang, Tsai, and Tsai2 does not explicitly teach PDCCH is transmitted based on a beam indicated by the SSB index.
However, Zhou teaches PDCCH is transmitted based on a beam indicated by the SSB index (see rejection for claim 25);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide that PDCCH is transmitted based on a beam indicated by the SSB index, as taught by Zhou in the combined system of Hwang, Tsai, and Tsai2, so that channel robustness of PUSCH transmission to the target gNB can be improved, and latency of the RACH-less handover procedure can be reduced (Zhou: Paragraphs [0439], [0441], [0446]).
Regarding claim 33, the combination of Hwang, Tsai, Tsai2, and Zhou teaches the method of claim 32 (see rejection for claim 32);
The combination of Hwang and Tsai does not explicitly teach wherein a reference signal associated with PDCCH transmissions for scheduling an initial physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) reception and a synchronization signal and physical broadcast channel (SS/PBCH) block indicated by the SSB index are quasi co-located.
However, Tsai2 teaches a synchronization signal and physical broadcast channel (SS/PBCH) block indicated by the SSB index (see rejection for claim 26);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a synchronization signal and physical broadcast channel (SS/PBCH) block indicated by the SSB index, as taught by Tsai2 in the combined system of Hwang and Tsai, so that a PDCCH may be transmitted based on the configuration in an RRC reconfiguration message (Tsai2: Paragraphs [0096], [0154]).
The combination of Hwang, Tsai, and Tsai2 does not explicitly teach wherein a reference signal associated with PDCCH transmissions for scheduling an initial physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) reception and a synchronization signal and physical broadcast channel (SS/PBCH) block indicated by the SSB index are quasi co-located.
However, Zhou teaches wherein a reference signal associated with PDCCH transmissions for scheduling an initial physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) reception and a synchronization signal and physical broadcast channel (SS/PBCH) block indicated by the SSB index are quasi co-located (see rejection for claim 26);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide wherein a reference signal associated with PDCCH transmissions for scheduling an initial physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) reception and a synchronization signal and physical broadcast channel (SS/PBCH) block indicated by the SSB index are quasi co-located, as taught by Zhou in the combined system of Hwang, Tsai, and Awada, in order to improve uplink transmission and/or throughput and/or uplink transmission latency (Zhou: Paragraphs [0415] – [0420], [0439], [0440]).
Regarding claim 39, the combination of Hwang and Tsai teaches the electronic device of claim 35, wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor individually or collectively, further cause the electronic device to: (see rejection for claim 35);
The combination of Hwang and Tsai does not explicitly teach to determine, based on the RRC reconfiguration message, a synchronization signal block (SSB) index configured for the RACH-less HO; indicate, to lower layers, the SSB index; and monitor the PDCCH using a beam indicated by the SSB index.
However, Tsai2 teaches to determine, based on the RRC reconfiguration message, a synchronization signal block (SSB) index configured for the RACH-less HO; indicate, to lower layers, the SSB index; and monitor the PDCCH using a beam indicated by the SSB index (see rejection for claim 25);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to determine, based on the RRC reconfiguration message, a synchronization signal block (SSB) index configured for the RACH-less HO; indicate, to lower layers, the SSB index; and monitor the PDCCH using a beam indicated by the SSB index, as taught by Tsai2 in the combined system of Hwang and Tsai, so that a PDCCH may be monitored using one or more beams configured in an RRC reconfiguration message (Tsai2: Paragraphs [0077], [0094], [0096], [0098], [0154]).
The combination of Hwang, Tsai, and Tsai2 does not explicitly teach to monitor the PDCCH using a beam indicated by the SSB index.
However, Zhou teaches to monitor the PDCCH using a beam indicated by the SSB index (see rejection for claim 25);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to monitor the PDCCH using a beam indicated by the SSB index, as taught by Zhou in the combined system of Hwang, Tsai, and Tsai2, so that channel robustness of PUSCH transmission to the target gNB can be improved, and latency of the RACH-less handover procedure can be reduced (Zhou: Paragraphs [0439], [0441], [0446]).
Regarding claim 40, the combination of Hwang, Tsai, Tsai2, and Zhou teaches the electronic device of claim 39 (see rejection for claim 39);
The combination of Hwang and Tsai does not explicitly teach wherein a reference signal
associated with PDCCH receptions for scheduling an initial physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) transmission and a synchronization signal and physical broadcast channel (SS/PBCH) block indicated by the SSB index are quasi co-located.
However, Tsai2 teaches a synchronization signal and physical broadcast channel (SS/PBCH) block indicated by the SSB index (see rejection for claim 26);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a synchronization signal and physical broadcast channel (SS/PBCH) block indicated by the SSB index, as taught by Tsai2 in the combined system of Hwang and Tsai, so that a PDCCH may be monitored using one or more beams configured in an RRC reconfiguration message (Tsai2: Paragraphs [0096], [0154]).
The combination of Hwang, Tsai, and Tsai2 does not explicitly teach wherein a reference signal
associated with PDCCH receptions for scheduling an initial physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) transmission and a synchronization signal and physical broadcast channel (SS/PBCH) block indicated by the SSB index are quasi co-located.
However, Zhou teaches wherein a reference signal associated with PDCCH receptions for
scheduling an initial physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) transmission and a synchronization signal and physical broadcast channel (SS/PBCH) block indicated by the SSB index are quasi co-located (see rejection for claim 26);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to provide wherein a reference signal associated with PDCCH receptions for scheduling an initial physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) transmission and a synchronization signal and physical broadcast channel (SS/PBCH) block indicated by the SSB index are quasi co-located, as taught by Zhou in the combined system of Hwang, Tsai, and Awada, so that the wireless device may improve uplink transmission and/or throughput and/or uplink transmission latency (Zhou: Paragraphs [0415] – [0420], [0439], [0440]).
Claims 27, 34 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hwang et al. (US20250056342A1) in view of Tsai et al. (US20190297537A1), and further in view of Huang et al. (US12231221B1).
Regarding claim 27, the combination of Hwang and Tsai teaches the method of claim 21 (see rejection for claim 21);
The combination of Hwang and Tsai does not explicitly teach wherein: a parameter indicates time information on when a cell provided via a non-terrestrial network (NTN) quasi-Earth fixed system is going to stop serving a currently covered area, and the parameter is an UL time synchronization reference point of the cell.
However, Huang teaches wherein: a parameter indicates time information on when a cell provided via a non-terrestrial network (NTN) quasi-Earth fixed system is going to stop serving a currently covered area, and the parameter is an UL time synchronization reference point of the cell (Col 30, lines 64-67; Col 31, lines 1-31: The NW could provide NTN information to the UE. The NTN information may be the parameters needed for the UE to access a NW via NTN access. The NTN information may be or comprise at least one or more NTN configurations (e.g., NTN-Config), a time information (e.g., t-Service), a reference location (e.g., referenceLocation) and a distance threshold (e.g., distance Thresh). The NTN information and/or NTN configuration (e.g., NTN-Config) may be or comprise satellite assistance information. The NW could provide the NTN information to the UE in an NTN-specific system information (e.g., SIB19) or a Radio Resource Control (RRC) message (e.g., RRCReconfiguration), e.g., via a serving cell. The NTN-specific system information may be a System Information Block (SIB) comprising NTN information. The NTN configuration (e.g., NTN-Config) may be or comprise (at least) epoch time (e.g., epochTime), validity duration (e.g., ntn-UISyncValidityDuration), satellite ephemeris (e.g., ephemerisInfo), and/or common Timing Advance (TA) (e.g., ta-Info). The validity duration (e.g., ntn-UISyncValidityDuration) may indicate the maximum time during which the UE can apply the satellite information and/or NTN-specific system information (e.g., SIB19) without having acquired a new one. The validity duration (e.g., ntn-UISyncValidityDuration) and/or epoch time (e.g., epochTime) may be associated with (or applied to) the NTN-specific system information (e.g., SIB19), NTN configuration (e.g., NTN-Config), satellite information, satellite ephemeris (e.g., ephemerisInfo), and/or common TA (e.g., ta-Info). The time information (e.g., t-Service) may be the stop serving time of the serving cell. The time information (e.g., t-Service) may be a timing when the UE would leave the coverage of the serving cell. The time information (e.g., t-Service) may indicate the time information on when the serving cell is going to stop serving the area it is currently covering. Also see after Col 21, Col 22 under NTN-Config field descriptions Ephemerisinfo epoch Time).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide wherein: a parameter indicates time information on when a cell provided via a non-terrestrial network (NTN) quasi-Earth fixed system is going to stop serving a currently covered area, and the parameter is an UL time synchronization reference point of the cell, as taught by Huang in the combined system of Hwang and Tsai, so that the UE can access a network via NTN access, and the time information can indicate the stop serving time of the serving cell (Huang: Col 30, lines 64-67; Col 31, lines 1-31).
Regarding claim 34, the combination of Hwang and Tsai teaches the method of claim 28 (see rejection for claim 28);
The combination of Hwang and Tsai does not explicitly teach wherein: a parameter indicates time information on when a cell provided via a non-terrestrial network (NTN) quasi-Earth fixed system is going to stop serving a currently covered area, and the parameter is an UL time synchronization reference point of the cell.
However, Huang teaches wherein: a parameter indicates time information on when a cell provided via a non-terrestrial network (NTN) quasi-Earth fixed system is going to stop serving a currently covered area, and the parameter is an UL time synchronization reference point of the cell (see rejection for claim 27);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide wherein: a parameter indicates time information on when a cell provided via a non-terrestrial network (NTN) quasi-Earth fixed system is going to stop serving a currently covered area, and the parameter is an UL time synchronization reference point of the cell, as taught by Huang in the combined system of Hwang and Tsai, so that the UE can access a network via NTN access, and the time information can indicate the stop serving time of the serving cell (Huang: Col 30, lines 64-67; Col 31, lines 1-31).
Conclusion
/L.C./Examiner, Art Unit 2461
/HUY D VU/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2461