DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
This action is in reply to the response filed 16 April 2026.
Claims 1, 7, 9, 10, 13, 16, 19, and 20 have been amended.
Claims 9 and 14 have been cancelled
Claims 1-20 are pending and have been examined.
This action is FINAL.
Response to Amendments and Remarks
Claim Objections
Claims 10 was objected to for being a substantial duplicate of claim 9. While Applicant indicated that claim 10 was cancelled the claim status shows that claim 10 is still pending. Accordingly, the objection of claim 10 is maintained below. withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-20 were rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The Applicant has amended the claims to overcome or render moot each of the rejections under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph,. Accordingly, the rejection of claims 1-20 under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, has been withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 16-20 were rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Applicant’s arguments, see page 9, filed 16 April 2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 16-20 under 35 U.S.C. 101 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Accordingly, the rejection of claims 16-20 under 35 U.S.C. 101 has been withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC §§ 102 and 103
Claim(s) 1, 3-5, 7, 11-20 are is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Benemann et al. (US-20220394156-A1, hereinafter “Benemann”).
Claim(s) 2 were rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Benemann in view of Christiansen et al. (GB2606740A, hereinafter “Christiansen”).
Claim(s) 6 were rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Benemann in view of Yin et al. (US-20230388481-A1, hereinafter “Yin”).
Claim(s) 8 were rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Benemann in view of Li et al. (US-20190180467-A1, hereinafter “Li”).
Claim(s) 9-10 were rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Benemann in view of Zink et al. (US-20180173992-A1, hereinafter “Zink”).
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 10-11, filed 16 April 2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1-20 under 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that Benemann does not teach “segment the image data using a neural network trained on agricultural object data to identify agricultural objects in the image data” stating:
While Benemann mentions that a perception component can include functionality to perform object detection, segmentation, and/or classification to indicate a presence of an entity and classify the entity as an entity type (e.g., car, pedestrian, cyclist, animal, building, tree, road surface, curb, sidewalk, unknown, etc.), this is fundamentally different from segmenting image data using a neural network specifically trained on agricultural object data to identify agricultural objects. See Benemann, [0107]. The Examiner alleges that Benemann discloses the vehicle "may be" an agricultural vehicle and interpreted objects detected by the vehicle as "agricultural object data." Office Action, page 28. However, the mere possibility that a vehicle could be an agricultural vehicle does not teach a neural network that is specifically trained on agricultural object data to identify agricultural objects. The neural networks of Benemann are general-purpose machine learning algorithms that generate outputs based on learned parameters, not neural networks specifically trained on agricultural object datasets. See Benemann, [0113]-[0114].
In contrast, the present application describes neural networks trained with agricultural object datasets for object recognition models including semantic segmentation, instance segmentation, and panoptic segmentation. As-Filed Specification, [0062]. The specification further describes that the trained neural network is trained on a corpus of agricultural object data, such as agricultural vehicles, agricultural equipment, agricultural tools and implements, structures, animals, agricultural crops, and other objects and obstacles encountered in agricultural environments. As-Filed Specification, [0080].
The examiner respectfully disagrees. As defined by Applicant agricultural objects may include structures, such as buildings, animals, and other obstacles such as trees (see [0080] of instant specification). As recognized by Applicant in their response, Benemann teaches the perception component can classify entities including animals, buildings, and trees (See Benemann [0107] “In some instances, the perception component 1122 can include functionality to perform object detection, segmentation, and/or classification. In some examples, the perception component 1122 can provide processed sensor data that indicates a presence of an entity that is proximate to the vehicle 1102 and/or a classification of the entity as an entity type (e.g., car, pedestrian, cyclist, animal, building, tree, road surface, curb, sidewalk, unknown, etc.)…”). Thus, it is clear that Benemann is classifying and identifying “agricultural objects” as defined by Applicant. Further, the perception component 1122 of Benemann is a component of memory 1118 and Benemann teaches that the components of memory (e.g. the perception component) can be implemented in a trained neural network (see Benemann [0113-0115] ). For the perception component to be able to classify the agricultural objects (animals, buildings, trees) it must be trained on these objects. Further, the fact that the Benemann may be trained on a broad range of objects does not negate that the broad range of objects also includes training on agricultural objects such as animals, buildings and trees.
Applicant further argues:
Furthermore, Benemann does not describe or teach "identify[ing] an agricultural object in the fused data as a fused instance, the fused instance representing the identified agricultural object and including depth information of the identified agricultural object derived from the LiDAR data" as recited in claims 1, 16, and 19, as amended. The fusion of Benemann involves associating image data with LIDAR data based on the association of a portion of the LIDAR data with a portion of a scan line, producing associated data that may be used as an input for controlling movement of the vehicle. See Benemann, [0019]. The sensor association components use time data associated with a scan line to determine an association between at least a portion of the scan line and at least a portion of the LIDAR data, associating pixel data with LIDAR points that were captured substantially contemporaneously. See Benemann, [0046]-[0047].
The examiner respectfully disagrees. First, the examiner points out the claim limitation above is rejected under 112(b) for being indefinite. It is not clear what is intended by this limitation. The specification does not describe “identify[ing] an agricultural object in the fused data as a fused instance”. For purposes of the examination the examiner will interpret this limitation to mean identifying an agricultural object.
Benemann discloses identifying agricultural object (See Benemann [0107] “In some instances, the perception component 1122 can include functionality to perform object detection, segmentation, and/or classification. In some examples, the perception component 1122 can provide processed sensor data that indicates a presence of an entity that is proximate to the vehicle 1102 and/or a classification of the entity as an entity type (e.g., car, pedestrian, cyclist, animal, building, tree, road surface, curb, sidewalk, unknown, etc.)…”).
Benemann discloses fusing lidar data and image data of an agricultural object as rejected below and further teaches that the agricultural objects (fused instances) include depth information based on the LIDAR data (see at least Benemann [0071] “According to some examples, the image processing component(s) 602 may receive, as input, distance data 606 associated with one or more scan lines of the rolling shutter image capture. As a non-limiting example, the distance data 606 may be associated with LIDAR data captured by a LIDAR sensor. The LIDAR sensor may capture LIDAR data associated with the object, and the LIDAR data may include distance data 606 representing a distance between the LIDAR sensor and the object at a given time. The distance data 606 may be used to determine a distance between the image sensor and the object at a given time.” See also Benemann [0019] [0047] and Figure 8, element 816 and [0084-0085] for support for fusing LIDAR and image data).
Applicant’s remaining arguments rely on the purported deficiencies of Benemann addressed above.
Claim Objections
Applicant is advised that should claim 9 be found allowable, claim 10 will be objected to under 37 CFR 1.75 as being a substantial duplicate thereof. When two claims in an application are duplicates or else are so close in content that they both cover the same thing, despite a slight difference in wording, it is proper after allowing one claim to object to the other as being a substantial duplicate of the allowed claim. See MPEP § 608.01(m).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation “segment the image data using a neural network trained on agricultural object data to identify agricultural objects in the image data” and “identify an agricultural object in the fused data as a fused instance including, the fused instance representing the identified agricultural object and including depth information of the identified agricultural object derived from the LiDAR data”. It is not clear what is intended by the limitation of “identify an agricultural object in the fused data as a fused instance”. For example, is not clear if this limitation requires a separate step of identifying from the first limitation reciting identifying. The specification does not support two separate steps of identifying the agricultural object(s). Further, it is not clear what is meant by “identify an agricultural object in the fused data as a fused instance”. It is not clear what the steps would be to identify the fused data as a fused instance. Once the data is fused then the object is a fused instance. The examiner cannot find support for identifying an object as a fused instance, as claimed. Rather, the specification provides support for creating a fused instance by fusing the data and then providing the fused instance to the vehicle controller (see [0004]). For purposes of the examination the examiner will interpret this limitation to mean identifying an agricultural object. Claims 16 and 19 have similar recitations and are rejected for the same reasons.
Claim 3 recites “using agricultural object data”. Claim 3 depends from claim 1 which recites “agricultural object data”. It is not clear if the agricultural object data of claim 3 is the same or different than that recited in claim 1.
Claims 2-15 depend from claim 1 and are similarly rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, based on their dependency on claim 1.
Claims 17-18 depend from claim 16 and are similarly rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, based on their dependency on claim 16.
Claim 20 depend from claim 19 and is similarly rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, based on its dependency on claim 19.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3-5, 7, 11-20 are is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Benemann et al. (US-20220394156-A1, hereinafter “Benemann”).
Regarding claim 1, Benemann discloses an agricultural vehicle (see at least Benemann [0029] “In some examples, the vehicle 102 may be an automobile having four wheels and respective tires for each of the wheels. Other types and configurations of vehicles are contemplated, such as, for example, vans, sport utility vehicles, cross-over vehicles, trucks, buses, agricultural vehicles, and construction vehicles. The vehicle 102 may be powered by one or more internal combustion engines, one or more electric motors, hydrogen power, or any combination thereof.”), comprising:
a propulsion system configured to move the agricultural vehicle (see at least Benemann [0029] “In some examples, the vehicle 102 may be an automobile having four wheels and respective tires for each of the wheels. Other types and configurations of vehicles are contemplated, such as, for example, vans, sport utility vehicles, cross-over vehicles, trucks, buses, agricultural vehicles, and construction vehicles. The vehicle 102 may be powered by one or more internal combustion engines, one or more electric motors, hydrogen power, or any combination thereof.” See also Figure 11, [0110] “In at least one example, the vehicle computing device 1104 can include one or more system controllers 1126, which can be configured to control steering, propulsion, braking, safety, emitters, communication, and other systems of the vehicle 1102. These system controller(s) 1126 can communicate with and/or control corresponding systems of the drive module(s) 1114 and/or other components of the vehicle 1102.”and [0122] “The drive module(s) 1114 can include many of the vehicle systems, including a high voltage battery, a motor to propel the vehicle, an inverter to convert direct current from the battery into alternating current for use by other vehicle systems, a steering system including a steering motor and steering rack (which can be electric), a braking system including hydraulic or electric actuators, a suspension system including hydraulic and/or pneumatic components…”)
a steering system configured to orient the agricultural vehicle (see at least Benemann [0029] “In some examples, the vehicle 102 may be an automobile having four wheels and respective tires for each of the wheels. Other types and configurations of vehicles are contemplated, such as, for example, vans, sport utility vehicles, cross-over vehicles, trucks, buses, agricultural vehicles, and construction vehicles. The vehicle 102 may be powered by one or more internal combustion engines, one or more electric motors, hydrogen power, or any combination thereof.” See also Figure 11, [0110] “In at least one example, the vehicle computing device 1104 can include one or more system controllers 1126, which can be configured to control steering, propulsion, braking, safety, emitters, communication, and other systems of the vehicle 1102. These system controller(s) 1126 can communicate with and/or control corresponding systems of the drive module(s) 1114 and/or other components of the vehicle 1102.”and [0122] “The drive module(s) 1114 can include many of the vehicle systems, including a high voltage battery, a motor to propel the vehicle, an inverter to convert direct current from the battery into alternating current for use by other vehicle systems, a steering system including a steering motor and steering rack (which can be electric), a braking system including hydraulic or electric actuators, a suspension system including hydraulic and/or pneumatic components…”)
a vehicle controller configured to provide at least one navigational command to at least one of the propulsion system and the steering system (see at least Benemann [0029] “In some examples, the vehicle 102 may be an automobile having four wheels and respective tires for each of the wheels. Other types and configurations of vehicles are contemplated, such as, for example, vans, sport utility vehicles, cross-over vehicles, trucks, buses, agricultural vehicles, and construction vehicles. The vehicle 102 may be powered by one or more internal combustion engines, one or more electric motors, hydrogen power, or any combination thereof.” See also Figure 11, [0110] “In at least one example, the vehicle computing device 1104 can include one or more system controllers 1126, which can be configured to control steering, propulsion, braking, safety, emitters, communication, and other systems of the vehicle 1102. These system controller(s) 1126 can communicate with and/or control corresponding systems of the drive module(s) 1114 and/or other components of the vehicle 1102.”and [0122] “The drive module(s) 1114 can include many of the vehicle systems, including a high voltage battery, a motor to propel the vehicle, an inverter to convert direct current from the battery into alternating current for use by other vehicle systems, a steering system including a steering motor and steering rack (which can be electric), a braking system including hydraulic or electric actuators, a suspension system including hydraulic and/or pneumatic components…” See also [0019] “Furthermore, the computing system may associate (e.g., fuse) image data with LIDAR data based at least in part on the association of the portion of the LIDAR data with the portion of the scan line, producing associated data. The associated data may be used as an input for controlling movement of the vehicle in some examples.”)
a camera sensor having a camera field of view (CFOV), the camera sensor operably coupled to the agricultural vehicle (see at least Benemann Figure 1, sensors 106 including camera. See also Figure 5A, first field of view 508 from image sensor 502. See also [0105] “In the illustrated example, the vehicle 1102 is an autonomous vehicle; however, the vehicle 1102 could be any other type of vehicle, or any other system having at least an image capture device (e.g., a camera enabled smartphone). [0117] “As another example, the camera sensors can include multiple cameras disposed at various locations about the exterior and/or interior of the vehicle 1102.” See also [0049] “In some examples, the example 500a may include an image sensor 502, a LIDAR sensor 504, and/or a computing system 506 (e.g., the vehicle computing system 108 described with reference to FIG. 1). The image sensor 502 may have a first field of view 508. The LIDAR sensor 504 may have a second field of view 510. In various examples, a field of view may be associated with the portion of the environment sensed by a sensor at a given time. In some examples, the computing system 506 may include sensor synchronization component(s) 512, synchronization condition(s) 514, timestamp component(s) 110, and/or time data 112.”See also [0051-0052])
a light detection and ranging (LiDAR) sensor having a LiDAR field of view (LFOV), the LiDAR sensor operably coupled to the agricultural vehicle (see at least Benemann Figure 1, sensors 106 including LIDAR. See also Figure 5A, second field of view 508 from LIDAR sensor 504. [0117] “For instance, the LIDAR sensors can include individual LIDAR sensors located at the corners, front, back, sides, and/or top of the vehicle 1102.” See also [0049] “In some examples, the example 500a may include an image sensor 502, a LIDAR sensor 504, and/or a computing system 506 (e.g., the vehicle computing system 108 described with reference to FIG. 1). The image sensor 502 may have a first field of view 508. The LIDAR sensor 504 may have a second field of view 510. In various examples, a field of view may be associated with the portion of the environment sensed by a sensor at a given time. In some examples, the computing system 506 may include sensor synchronization component(s) 512, synchronization condition(s) 514, timestamp component(s) 110, and/or time data 112.”See also [0051-0052]); and
an imaging controller in operable communication with the camera sensor and the LiDAR sensor (see at least Figure 5A, computing system 506. See at least [0049] “In some examples, the computing system 506 may include sensor synchronization component(s) 512, synchronization condition(s) 514, timestamp component(s) 110, and/or time data 112.” See also “[0069] According to some examples, the example 600 may include one or more image processing components 602. In some examples, the image processing component(s) 602 may reside in the vehicle computing system 108 (described herein with reference to FIG. 1), the computing system 506 (described herein with reference to FIG. 5A), the vehicle computing device 1104 (described herein with reference to FIG. 11), and/or the computing devices 1140 (described herein with reference to FIG. 11).” See also [0110] “ In at least one example, the vehicle computing device 1104 can include one or more system controllers 1126, which can be configured to control steering, propulsion, braking, safety, emitters, communication, and other systems of the vehicle 1102. These system controller(s) 1126 can communicate with and/or control corresponding systems of the drive module(s) 1114 and/or other components of the vehicle 1102.”), the imaging controller comprising:
at least one processor (see at least [0126-0127] “The computing device(s) 1140 can include processor(s) 1144 and a memory 1146 storing a maps(s) component 1148, the timestamp component(s) 110, the sensor association component(s) 418, the sensor synchronization component(s) 512, and/or the image processing component(s) 602…[0127] The processor(s) 1116 of the vehicle 1102 and the processor(s) 1144 of the computing device(s) 1140 can be any suitable processor capable of executing instructions to process data and perform operations as described herein.”); and
at least one non-transitory computer-readable storage medium having instructions store thereon that, when executed by the at least one processor cause the imaging controller to (see at least [0127-0128] “0127] The processor(s) 1116 of the vehicle 1102 and the processor(s) 1144 of the computing device(s) 1140 can be any suitable processor capable of executing instructions to process data and perform operations as described herein…t 0128] Memory 1118 and 1146 are examples of non-transitory computer-readable media. The memory 1118 and 1146 can store an operating system and one or more software applications, instructions, programs, and/or data to implement the methods described herein and the functions attributed to the various systems.):
receive LiDAR data from the LiDAR sensor, the LiDAR data including an angular value within the LFOV (see at least Benemann [0019], “In some examples, a LIDAR sensor of the vehicle may capture LIDAR data (e.g., LIDAR points) within a second field of view of the LIDAR sensor which may at least partially overlap with the first field of view of the image sensor.” See also [0023] “Furthermore, the computing system may determine a second orientation of the second field of view and/or a second pose associated with the LIDAR sensor. In some examples, the respective orientations and/or the respective poses associated with the image sensor and/or the LIDAR sensor may be tracked. According to some examples, the orientations and/or the poses may be tracked relative to one another. The computing system may use field of view orientation information and/or pose information as an input for causing the image sensor to initiate the rolling shutter image capture of the first field of view, e.g., such that at least a first portion of the first field of view (associated with the image sensor) overlaps at least a second portion of the second field of view (associated with the LIDAR sensor) in accordance with the synchronization condition(s). …See also [0050-0054] for discussion regarding angular value of LFOV “[0050] According to some examples, the second field of view 510 of the LIDAR sensor 504 may move relative to the first field of view 508 of the image sensor 502. In some examples, the second field of view 510 may be rotatable (e.g., about one or more axes). In some non-limiting examples, the second field of view 510 may be rotatable 360 degrees. In some examples, the amount of rotation may be less than 360 degrees.”. See also [0054] “In some examples, the sensor synchronization component(s) 512 may determine a first pose of the image sensor 502. The first pose may include a first position and/or a first orientation (e.g., an x-, y-, z-position, roll, pitch, and/or yaw) associated with the image sensor 502. Furthermore, the sensor synchronization component(s) 512 may determine a second pose of the LIDAR sensor 504. The second pose may include a second position and/or a second orientation (e.g., an x-, y-, z-position, roll, pitch, and/or yaw) associated with the LIDAR sensor 504. In some examples, the respective poses of the image sensor 502 and/or the LIDAR sensor 504 may be tracked. According to some examples, the first pose and the second pose may be tracked relative to one another. The sensor synchronization component(s) 512 may use the pose information (e.g., the first pose, the second pose, etc.) as an input for causing the image sensor 502 to initiate the rolling shutter image capture 518 of the first field of view 508, e.g., such that at least a first portion of the first field of view 508 overlaps at least a second portion of the second field of view 510 in accordance with the synchronization condition(s) 514.”)
determine a relative angular value of the LiDAR data with respect to the CFOV (see at least Benemann [0050-0054], [0054] “In some examples, the sensor synchronization component(s) 512 may determine a first pose of the image sensor 502. The first pose may include a first position and/or a first orientation (e.g., an x-, y-, z-position, roll, pitch, and/or yaw) associated with the image sensor 502. Furthermore, the sensor synchronization component(s) 512 may determine a second pose of the LIDAR sensor 504. The second pose may include a second position and/or a second orientation (e.g., an x-, y-, z-position, roll, pitch, and/or yaw) associated with the LIDAR sensor 504. In some examples, the respective poses of the image sensor 502 and/or the LIDAR sensor 504 may be tracked. According to some examples, the first pose and the second pose may be tracked relative to one another. The sensor synchronization component(s) 512 may use the pose information (e.g., the first pose, the second pose, etc.) as an input for causing the image sensor 502 to initiate the rolling shutter image capture 518 of the first field of view 508, e.g., such that at least a first portion of the first field of view 508 overlaps at least a second portion of the second field of view 510 in accordance with the synchronization condition(s) 514.”);
receive image data from the camera sensor (see at least Benemann [0017], “[0017] In some examples, an image sensor of a vehicle (e.g., an autonomous vehicle) may capture an image of a scene within a first field of view of the image sensor. In some examples, the image capture may be performed by scanning across the scene (e.g., vertically or horizontally) to capture a portion of the scene (e.g., a first scan line) before capturing another portion of the scene (e.g., a second scan line), and so on, such as in a rolling shutter image capture.” See also Figure 1, sensors 106 including camera. See also [0105] [0117] for showing the image sensor may be a camera.)
segment the image data using a neural network trained on agricultural object data to identify agricultural objects in the image data (see at least Benemann, Figure 1, scan line of image frame 116, See also [0016-0017] “This disclosure is directed to techniques for adding time data to portions of an image at capture (e.g., scan lines of an image frame during a rolling shutter image capture)…[0017] In some examples, an image sensor of a vehicle (e.g., an autonomous vehicle) may capture an image of a scene within a first field of view of the image sensor. In some examples, the image capture may be performed by scanning across the scene (e.g., vertically or horizontally) to capture a portion of the scene (e.g., a first scan line) before capturing another portion of the scene (e.g., a second scan line), and so on, such as in a rolling shutter image capture. The rolling shutter image capture may produce scan lines of an image frame. A scan line may include scan line data (e.g., pixel data) and end of line data. The end of line data may indicate an end of the scan line.” See also [0024] and [0046-0054] for more in depth discussion. See also [0107] “In some instances, the perception component 1122 can include functionality to perform object detection, segmentation, and/or classification. In some examples, the perception component 1122 can provide processed sensor data that indicates a presence of an entity that is proximate to the vehicle 1102 and/or a classification of the entity as an entity type (e.g., car, pedestrian, cyclist, animal, building, tree, road surface, curb, sidewalk, unknown, etc.)…” See also [0113-0115] for disclosure of neural network which teaches components of 1118 can be implement as a neural network, further 1118 includes the perception component 1122 which performs the segmenting )
fuse the LiDAR data and the image data based at least partially on the relative angular value to create fused data (see at least Benemann [0019] “Furthermore, the computing system may associate (e.g., fuse) image data with LIDAR data based at least in part on the association of the portion of the LIDAR data with the portion of the scan line, producing associated data. The associated data may be used as an input for controlling movement of the vehicle in some examples.” [0024] The techniques discussed herein can improve a functioning of a computing device in a number of ways. For example, the techniques discussed herein may include adding time data to individual scan lines of an image frame, which may allow a computing device to accurately align (or otherwise associate) pixels of the image frame with LIDAR points, e.g., to achieve accurate multi-modal sensor fusion, sensor calibration, 3D reconstruction, multi-modal calibration, and the like. [0047] As a non-limiting example, the sensor association component(s) 418 may associate, based at least in part on the time data of the scan line, at least a portion of the pixel data of the scan line with one or more LIDAR points 416 of the LIDAR data. In some cases, the association may indicate that the portion of the pixel data and the LIDAR point(s) were captured substantially contemporaneously (e.g., during a time period that satisfies a time threshold). In some examples, the sensor association component(s) 418 may associate (e.g., fuse) a portion of the image data with a portion of the LIDAR data to produce associated data 420. For example, the association may be based at least in part on the association between the portion of the pixel data and the LIDAR point(s). In some examples, the associated data 420 may be used to control movement of a vehicle (e.g., the vehicle 102 described with reference to FIG. 1). The examiner notes that the time threshold of Benemann is based on the relative angular value as discussed in [0046-0054].);
identify an agricultural object in the fused data as a fused instance, the fused instance representing the identified agricultural object and including depth information of the identified agricultural object derived from the LiDAR (see the 112(b) rejection above. For purposes of the examination the examiner will interpret this limitation to mean identifying an agricultural object. Benemann discloses identifying agricultural object See Benemann [0107] “In some instances, the perception component 1122 can include functionality to perform object detection, segmentation, and/or classification. In some examples, the perception component 1122 can provide processed sensor data that indicates a presence of an entity that is proximate to the vehicle 1102 and/or a classification of the entity as an entity type (e.g., car, pedestrian, cyclist, animal, building, tree, road surface, curb, sidewalk, unknown, etc.)…” See also at least Benemann [0019] and [0047] as cited above. Further Benemann teaches that the fused instances include depth information based on the LIDAR data. [0071] “According to some examples, the image processing component(s) 602 may receive, as input, distance data 606 associated with one or more scan lines of the rolling shutter image capture. As a non-limiting example, the distance data 606 may be associated with LIDAR data captured by a LIDAR sensor. The LIDAR sensor may capture LIDAR data associated with the object, and the LIDAR data may include distance data 606 representing a distance between the LIDAR sensor and the object at a given time. The distance data 606 may be used to determine a distance between the image sensor and the object at a given time.” See also Figure 8, element 816 and [0084-0085])
provide at least the fused instance to the vehicle controller (see at least Benemann [0019] Furthermore, the computing system may associate (e.g., fuse) image data with LIDAR data based at least in part on the association of the portion of the LIDAR data with the portion of the scan line, producing associated data. The associated data may be used as an input for controlling movement of the vehicle in some examples.” See also [0047] “In some examples, the sensor association component(s) 418 may associate (e.g., fuse) a portion of the image data with a portion of the LIDAR data to produce associated data 420. For example, the association may be based at least in part on the association between the portion of the pixel data and the LIDAR point(s). In some examples, the associated data 420 may be used to control movement of a vehicle (e.g., the vehicle 102 described with reference to FIG. 1).” See also [0085] “At 818, the process 800 may include controlling movement of a vehicle (e.g., an autonomous vehicle). For example, the movement of the vehicle may be controlled based at least in part on the associated data. As a non-limiting example, the associated data may indicate a location of an obstacle in the environment of the vehicle. A trajectory and/or a route that avoids a collision between the vehicle and the obstacle may be determined based at least in part on the associated data. The vehicle may be controlled to move along the trajectory and/or route.” The examiner notes that the term associated data is the fused data as discloses in [0019] and [0047].)
wherein the vehicle controller is configured to provide the at least one navigational command based at least partially on the fused instance (see at least Benemann Figure 8, step 818 “Control, based at least in part of the associated data, movement of a vehicle”). See also [0019] Furthermore, the computing system may associate (e.g., fuse) image data with LIDAR data based at least in part on the association of the portion of the LIDAR data with the portion of the scan line, producing associated data. The associated data may be used as an input for controlling movement of the vehicle in some examples.” See also [0024] “Consequently, the computing system of the vehicle may be able to improve its detection of objects (e.g., obstacles) and its trajectory and/or route planning, e.g., to control movement of the vehicle to avoid colliding with obstacles.” See also [0047] “In some examples, the sensor association component(s) 418 may associate (e.g., fuse) a portion of the image data with a portion of the LIDAR data to produce associated data 420. For example, the association may be based at least in part on the association between the portion of the pixel data and the LIDAR point(s). In some examples, the associated data 420 may be used to control movement of a vehicle (e.g., the vehicle 102 described with reference to FIG. 1).” See also [0085] “At 818, the process 800 may include controlling movement of a vehicle (e.g., an autonomous vehicle). For example, the movement of the vehicle may be controlled based at least in part on the associated data. As a non-limiting example, the associated data may indicate a location of an obstacle in the environment of the vehicle. A trajectory and/or a route that avoids a collision between the vehicle and the obstacle may be determined based at least in part on the associated data. The vehicle may be controlled to move along the trajectory and/or route.”)
Regarding claim 3, Benemann discloses the agricultural vehicle of claim 1, wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the imaging controller to provide the image data to a neural network trained using agricultural object data (The examiner would like to point out that agricultural object data is a broad term that can be interpreted as any object that an agricultural vehicle could detect including other vehicles, trees, plants, ground, etc. Benemann teaches a neural network that is trained in [00113-0117] “In some instances, aspects of some or all of the components discussed herein can include any models, algorithms, and/or machine learning algorithms. For example, in some instances, the components in the memory 1118 (and the memory 1146, discussed below) can be implemented as a neural network…. As can be understood in the context of this disclosure, a neural network can utilize machine learning, which can refer to a broad class of such algorithms in which an output is generated based on learned parameters.” Further, Benemann discloses that the vehicle may be an agricultural vehicle in [0029] “Other types and configurations of vehicles are contemplated, such as, for example, vans, sport utility vehicles, cross-over vehicles, trucks, buses, agricultural vehicles, and construction vehicles.” The examiner notes that the vehicle can be an agricultural vehicle and objects that the vehicle detects and is capable of classifying (based on training) would be agricultural object data. Further [0107] teaches that that agricultural vehicle can classify the object by entity type including other vehicles, animals and trees. The other vehicles, animals and trees are interpreted as agricultural objects. See at least Benemann [0107] “In some instances, the perception component 1122 can include functionality to perform object detection, segmentation, and/or classification. In some examples, the perception component 1122 can provide processed sensor data that indicates a presence of an entity that is proximate to the vehicle 1102 and/or a classification of the entity as an entity type (e.g., car, pedestrian, cyclist, animal, building, tree, road surface, curb, sidewalk, unknown, etc.).” Machine learning is predicting based on known properties learned from training data.)
Regarding claim 4, Benemann discloses the agricultural vehicle of claim 3, wherein the neural network is selected from a plurality of neural networks trained on the agricultural object data associated with an agricultural task (The examiner would like to point out that agricultural object data is a broad term that can be interpreted as any object that an agricultural vehicle could detect including other vehicles, trees, plants, ground, etc. Similarly, an agricultural task is any task that an agricultural vehicle is capable of performing including propulsion, steering, braking, etc. As explained above, Benemann teaches a neural network that is trained in [00113-0117] “In some instances, aspects of some or all of the components discussed herein can include any models, algorithms, and/or machine learning algorithms. For example, in some instances, the components in the memory 1118 (and the memory 1146, discussed below) can be implemented as a neural network…. As can be understood in the context of this disclosure, a neural network can utilize machine learning, which can refer to a broad class of such algorithms in which an output is generated based on learned parameters.” Further, Benemann discloses that the vehicle may be an agricultural vehicle in [0029] “Other types and configurations of vehicles are contemplated, such as, for example, vans, sport utility vehicles, cross-over vehicles, trucks, buses, agricultural vehicles, and construction vehicles.” The examiner notes that the vehicle can be an agricultural vehicle and objects that the vehicle detects and is capable of classifying (based on training) would be agricultural object data associated with an agricultural task. Further [0107] teaches that that agricultural vehicle can classify the object by entity type including other vehicles, buildings, animals and trees. The other vehicles, animals and trees are interpreted as agricultural objects. See at least Benemann [0107] “In some instances, the perception component 1122 can include functionality to perform object detection, segmentation, and/or classification. In some examples, the perception component 1122 can provide processed sensor data that indicates a presence of an entity that is proximate to the vehicle 1102 and/or a classification of the entity as an entity type (e.g., car, pedestrian, cyclist, animal, building, tree, road surface, curb, sidewalk, unknown, etc.).” Machine learning is predicting based on known properties learned from training data. Further, the examiner notes Applicants examples of agricultural objects to include vehicles, buildings, trees animals (instant specification [0080]).
Regarding claim 5, Benemann discloses the agricultural vehicle of claim 1, wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the imaging controller to project the LiDAR data onto the image data value (see at least Benemann [0019] “Furthermore, the computing system may associate (e.g., fuse) image data with LIDAR data based at least in part on the association of the portion of the LIDAR data with the portion of the scan line, producing associated data. The associated data may be used as an input for controlling movement of the vehicle in some examples.” [0024] The techniques discussed herein can improve a functioning of a computing device in a number of ways. For example, the techniques discussed herein may include adding time data to individual scan lines of an image frame, which may allow a computing device to accurately align (or otherwise associate) pixels of the image frame with LIDAR points, e.g., to achieve accurate multi-modal sensor fusion, sensor calibration, 3D reconstruction, multi-modal calibration, and the like. [0047] As a non-limiting example, the sensor association component(s) 418 may associate, based at least in part on the time data of the scan line, at least a portion of the pixel data of the scan line with one or more LIDAR points 416 of the LIDAR data. In some cases, the association may indicate that the portion of the pixel data and the LIDAR point(s) were captured substantially contemporaneously (e.g., during a time period that satisfies a time threshold). In some examples, the sensor association component(s) 418 may associate (e.g., fuse) a portion of the image data with a portion of the LIDAR data to produce associated data 420. For example, the association may be based at least in part on the association between the portion of the pixel data and the LIDAR point(s). In some examples, the associated data 420 may be used to control movement of a vehicle (e.g., the vehicle 102 described with reference to FIG. 1).” See also [0084]);
Regarding claim 7, Benemann discloses the agricultural vehicle of claim 1, wherein segmenting comprises performing an instance segmentation operation on the image data (see at least Benemann, Figure 1, scan line of image frame 116, See also [0016-0017] “This disclosure is directed to techniques for adding time data to portions of an image at capture (e.g., scan lines of an image frame during a rolling shutter image capture)…[0017] In some examples, an image sensor of a vehicle (e.g., an autonomous vehicle) may capture an image of a scene within a first field of view of the image sensor. In some examples, the image capture may be performed by scanning across the scene (e.g., vertically or horizontally) to capture a portion of the scene (e.g., a first scan line) before capturing another portion of the scene (e.g., a second scan line), and so on, such as in a rolling shutter image capture. The rolling shutter image capture may produce scan lines of an image frame. A scan line may include scan line data (e.g., pixel data) and end of line data. The end of line data may indicate an end of the scan line.” See also [0024] and [0046-0054] for more in depth discussion. See also [0107] “In some instances, the perception component 1122 can include functionality to perform object detection, segmentation, and/or classification. In some examples, the perception component 1122 can provide processed sensor data that indicates a presence of an entity that is proximate to the vehicle 1102 and/or a classification of the entity as an entity type (e.g., car, pedestrian, cyclist, animal, building, tree, road surface, curb, sidewalk, unknown, etc.)…”)
Regarding claim 11, Benemann discloses the agricultural vehicle of claim 1, wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor, further cause the imaging controller to select a portion of the image data having a lateral position based at least partially on the relative angular value of the LiDAR data (see at least Benemann [0031] “ According to some implementations, a sensor 106 (e.g., an image sensor such as a rolling shutter image capture device) of the vehicle 102 may capture an image of a scene within a field of view associated with the sensor 106. In some examples, the image capture may be performed by scanning across the scene (e.g., vertically or horizontally) to capture a portion of the scene (e.g., a first scan line) before capturing another portion of the scene (e.g., a second scan line), such as in a rolling shutter image capture. FIG. 1 includes an example representation of a rolling shutter image capture 114 of a scene that is within a field of view of a sensor 106 of the vehicle 102. As indicated in this non-limiting example, the rolling shutter image capture 114 may be performed by horizontally scanning across the scene. The rolling shutter image capture may produce scan lines (e.g., scan line 1, scan line 2, . . . scan line n) of an image frame 116. The scan lines may include scan line data (e.g., pixel data 118). Furthermore, in some examples, the scan lines may be associated with, and/or may include, end of line data (e.g., as indicated in FIG. 2).” See also [0046-0054]. For example [0052] “In some examples, the sensor synchronization component(s) 512 may determine a first orientation of the first field of view 508 of the image sensor 502. Furthermore, the sensor synchronization component(s) 512 may determine a second orientation of the second field of view 510 of the LIDAR sensor 504. In some examples, the respective orientations of the image sensor 502 and/or the LIDAR sensor 504 may be tracked. According to some examples, the first orientation and the second orientation may be tracked relative to one another. The sensor synchronization component(s) 512 may use field of view orientation information (e.g., the first orientation, the second orientation, etc.) as an input for causing the image sensor 502 to initiate the rolling shutter image capture 518 of the first field of view 508, e.g., such that at least a first portion of the first field of view 508 overlaps at least a second portion of the second field of view 510 in accordance with the synchronization condition(s) 514. In various examples, the second field of view 510 may move relative to the first field of view 508 during the rolling shutter image capture 518.” The examiner notes that the time threshold of Benemann is based on the relative angular value as discussed in [0046-0054].);
Regarding claim 12, Benemann discloses the agricultural vehicle of claim 1, wherein the image data includes a plurality of slices of the CFOV captured within a scan of the LiDAR data (see at least Benemann [0031] “ According to some implementations, a sensor 106 (e.g., an image sensor such as a rolling shutter image capture device) of the vehicle 102 may capture an image of a scene within a field of view associated with the sensor 106. In some examples, the image capture may be performed by scanning across the scene (e.g., vertically or horizontally) to capture a portion of the scene (e.g., a first scan line) before capturing another portion of the scene (e.g., a second scan line), such as in a rolling shutter image capture. FIG. 1 includes an example representation of a rolling shutter image capture 114 of a scene that is within a field of view of a sensor 106 of the vehicle 102. As indicated in this non-limiting example, the rolling shutter image capture 114 may be performed by horizontally scanning across the scene. The rolling shutter image capture may produce scan lines (e.g., scan line 1, scan line 2, . . . scan line n) of an image frame 116. The scan lines may include scan line data (e.g., pixel data 118). Furthermore, in some examples, the scan lines may be associated with, and/or may include, end of line data (e.g., as indicated in FIG. 2).” See also [0046-0054]. For example [0052] “In some examples, the sensor synchronization component(s) 512 may determine a first orientation of the first field of view 508 of the image sensor 502. Furthermore, the sensor synchronization component(s) 512 may determine a second orientation of the second field of view 510 of the LIDAR sensor 504. In some examples, the respective orientations of the image sensor 502 and/or the LIDAR sensor 504 may be tracked. According to some examples, the first orientation and the second orientation may be tracked relative to one another. The sensor synchronization component(s) 512 may use field of view orientation information (e.g., the first orientation, the second orientation, etc.) as an input for causing the image sensor 502 to initiate the rolling shutter image capture 518 of the first field of view 508, e.g., such that at least a first portion of the first field of view 508 overlaps at least a second portion of the second field of view 510 in accordance with the synchronization condition(s) 514. In various examples, the second field of view 510 may move relative to the first field of view 508 during the rolling shutter image capture 518.” The examiner notes that the time threshold of Benemann is based on the relative angular value as discussed in [0046-0054].);
Regarding claim 13, Benemann discloses the agricultural vehicle of claim 1, wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor, further cause the imaging controller to determine from the agricultural vehicle to an object identified in the fused instance and provide the distance to the vehicle controller (see at least Benemann [0019] and [0047] as cited above and [0071] “According to some examples, the image processing component(s) 602 may receive, as input, distance data 606 associated with one or more scan lines of the rolling shutter image capture. As a non-limiting example, the distance data 606 may be associated with LIDAR data captured by a LIDAR sensor. The LIDAR sensor may capture LIDAR data associated with the object, and the LIDAR data may include distance data 606 representing a distance between the LIDAR sensor and the object at a given time. The distance data 606 may be used to determine a distance between the image sensor and the object at a given time. The image processing component(s) 602 may modify, based at least in part on the distance data 606 and/or time data added to one or more of the scan lines of the image frame associated with the distorted image 604, the distorted image 604 to correct and/or compensate for the distortion effect(s) of the distorted image 604. The image processing component(s) 602 may output a corrected image 608 (e.g., image data associated with a corrected image). In some examples, the corrected image 608 may be distorted less than the distorted image 604, as the image processing component(s) 602 have corrected and/or compensated for the distortion effect(s) of the distorted image 604.” See also see at least Benemann [0019] Furthermore, the computing system may associate (e.g., fuse) image data with LIDAR data based at least in part on the association of the portion of the LIDAR data with the portion of the scan line, producing associated data. The associated data may be used as an input for controlling movement of the vehicle in some examples.” See also [0047] “In some examples, the sensor association component(s) 418 may associate (e.g., fuse) a portion of the image data with a portion of the LIDAR data to produce associated data 420. For example, the association may be based at least in part on the association between the portion of the pixel data and the LIDAR point(s). In some examples, the associated data 420 may be used to control movement of a vehicle (e.g., the vehicle 102 described with reference to FIG. 1).” See also [0085] “At 818, the process 800 may include controlling movement of a vehicle (e.g., an autonomous vehicle). For example, the movement of the vehicle may be controlled based at least in part on the associated data. As a non-limiting example, the associated data may indicate a location of an obstacle in the environment of the vehicle. A trajectory and/or a route that avoids a collision between the vehicle and the obstacle may be determined based at least in part on the associated data. The vehicle may be controlled to move along the trajectory and/or route.” The examiner notes that the term associated data is the fused data as disclosed in [0019] and [0047].)
Regarding claim 14, Benemann discloses the agricultural vehicle of claim 13, wherein the imaging controller further comprises instructions thereon that, when executed by the at least one processor, causes the imaging controller to record a location and orientation of the fused instance to a storage device (see at least Benemann [0083] “At 814, the process 800 may include determining an association between the measurement and at least a portion of the scan line. For example, the association may be determined based at least in part on the first time data and/or the second time data. In some examples, the measurement and the portion of the scan line may be associated based at least in part on a determination that a time difference between the first time data and the second time data satisfies a threshold time difference. For example, the threshold time difference may be set to a low value such that the measurement and the portion of the scan line are associated with one another if they are captured substantially contemporaneously. The association between the measurement and the portion of the scan line may be mapped in a database in some examples. In some examples, the measurement and the portion of the scan line may be associated with one another regardless of the time difference between the first time data and the second time data.”.)
Regarding claim 15, Benemann discloses the agricultural vehicle of claim 13, wherein the imaging controller further comprises instructions thereon that, when executed by the at least one processor, causes the imaging controller to record a location and velocity of at least one moving object identified in the fused data (see at least Benemann [0107] “In some instances, the perception component 1122 can include functionality to perform object detection, segmentation, and/or classification. In some examples, the perception component 1122 can provide processed sensor data that indicates a presence of an entity that is proximate to the vehicle 1102 and/or a classification of the entity as an entity type (e.g., car, pedestrian, cyclist, animal, building, tree, road surface, curb, sidewalk, unknown, etc.). In additional and/or alternative examples, the perception component 1122 can provide processed sensor data that indicates one or more characteristics associated with a detected entity (e.g., a tracked object) and/or the environment in which the entity is positioned. In some examples, characteristics associated with an entity can include, but are not limited to, an x-position (global and/or local position), a y-position (global and/or local position), a z-position (global and/or local position), an orientation (e.g., a roll, pitch, yaw), an entity type (e.g., a classification), a velocity of the entity, an acceleration of the entity, an extent of the entity (size), etc. Characteristics associated with the environment can include, but are not limited to, a presence of another entity in the environment, a state of another entity in the environment, a time of day, a day of a week, a season, a weather condition, an indication of darkness/light, etc.” See also “[0111-0112] “The memory 1118 can further include one or more maps (not shown) that can be used by the vehicle 1102 to navigate within the environment. For the purpose of this discussion, a map can be any number of data structures modeled in two dimensions, three dimensions, or N-dimensions that are capable of providing information about an environment, such as, but not limited to, topologies (such as intersections), streets, mountain ranges, roads, terrain, and the environment in general. In some instances, a map can include, but is not limited to: texture information (e.g., color information (e.g., RGB color information, Lab color information, HSV/HSL color information), and the like), intensity information (e.g., LIDAR information, RADAR information, and the like); spatial information (e.g., image data projected onto a mesh, individual “surfels” (e.g., polygons associated with individual color and/or intensity)), reflectivity information (e.g., specularity information, retroreflectivity information, BRDF information, BSSRDF information, and the like). In one example, a map can include a three-dimensional mesh of the environment. In some instances, the map can be stored in a tiled format, such that individual tiles of the map represent a discrete portion of an environment and can be loaded into working memory as needed. In at least one example, the one or more maps can include at least one map (e.g., images and/or a mesh). In some examples, the vehicle 1102 can be controlled based at least in part on the maps. That is, the maps can be used in connection with the localization component 1120, the perception component 1122, and/or the planning component 1124 to determine a location of the vehicle 1102, identify objects in an environment, and/or generate routes and/or trajectories to navigate within an environment….[0112] In some examples, the one or more maps can be stored on a remote computing device(s) (such as the computing device(s) 1140) accessible via network(s) 1142. In some examples, multiple maps can be stored based on, for example, a characteristic (e.g., type of entity, time of day, day of week, season of the year, etc.). Storing multiple maps can have similar memory requirements, but increase the speed at which data in a map can be accessed.”)
Regarding claim 16, Benemann discloses a method of controlling an agricultural vehicle, the method comprising:
receiving LiDAR data from a LiDAR sensor, the LiDAR data including an angular value within a LiDAR field of view (see at least Benemann [0019], “In some examples, a LIDAR sensor of the vehicle may capture LIDAR data (e.g., LIDAR points) within a second field of view of the LIDAR sensor which may at least partially overlap with the first field of view of the image sensor.” See also [0023] “Furthermore, the computing system may determine a second orientation of the second field of view and/or a second pose associated with the LIDAR sensor. In some examples, the respective orientations and/or the respective poses associated with the image sensor and/or the LIDAR sensor may be tracked. According to some examples, the orientations and/or the poses may be tracked relative to one another. The computing system may use field of view orientation information and/or pose information as an input for causing the image sensor to initiate the rolling shutter image capture of the first field of view, e.g., such that at least a first portion of the first field of view (associated with the image sensor) overlaps at least a second portion of the second field of view (associated with the LIDAR sensor) in accordance with the synchronization condition(s). …See also [0050-0054] for discussion regarding angular value of LFOV “[0050] According to some examples, the second field of view 510 of the LIDAR sensor 504 may move relative to the first field of view 508 of the image sensor 502. In some examples, the second field of view 510 may be rotatable (e.g., about one or more axes). In some non-limiting examples, the second field of view 510 may be rotatable 360 degrees. In some examples, the amount of rotation may be less than 360 degrees.”. See also [0054] “In some examples, the sensor synchronization component(s) 512 may determine a first pose of the image sensor 502. The first pose may include a first position and/or a first orientation (e.g., an x-, y-, z-position, roll, pitch, and/or yaw) associated with the image sensor 502. Furthermore, the sensor synchronization component(s) 512 may determine a second pose of the LIDAR sensor 504. The second pose may include a second position and/or a second orientation (e.g., an x-, y-, z-position, roll, pitch, and/or yaw) associated with the LIDAR sensor 504. In some examples, the respective poses of the image sensor 502 and/or the LIDAR sensor 504 may be tracked. According to some examples, the first pose and the second pose may be tracked relative to one another. The sensor synchronization component(s) 512 may use the pose information (e.g., the first pose, the second pose, etc.) as an input for causing the image sensor 502 to initiate the rolling shutter image capture 518 of the first field of view 508, e.g., such that at least a first portion of the first field of view 508 overlaps at least a second portion of the second field of view 510 in accordance with the synchronization condition(s) 514.”);
determining a relative angular value of the LiDAR data with respect to a camera field of view (see at least Benemann [0050-0054], [0054] “In some examples, the sensor synchronization component(s) 512 may determine a first pose of the image sensor 502. The first pose may include a first position and/or a first orientation (e.g., an x-, y-, z-position, roll, pitch, and/or yaw) associated with the image sensor 502. Furthermore, the sensor synchronization component(s) 512 may determine a second pose of the LIDAR sensor 504. The second pose may include a second position and/or a second orientation (e.g., an x-, y-, z-position, roll, pitch, and/or yaw) associated with the LIDAR sensor 504. In some examples, the respective poses of the image sensor 502 and/or the LIDAR sensor 504 may be tracked. According to some examples, the first pose and the second pose may be tracked relative to one another. The sensor synchronization component(s) 512 may use the pose information (e.g., the first pose, the second pose, etc.) as an input for causing the image sensor 502 to initiate the rolling shutter image capture 518 of the first field of view 508, e.g., such that at least a first portion of the first field of view 508 overlaps at least a second portion of the second field of view 510 in accordance with the synchronization condition(s) 514.”);
receiving image data from a camera sensor (see at least Benemann [0017], “[0017] In some examples, an image sensor of a vehicle (e.g., an autonomous vehicle) may capture an image of a scene within a first field of view of the image sensor. In some examples, the image capture may be performed by scanning across the scene (e.g., vertically or horizontally) to capture a portion of the scene (e.g., a first scan line) before capturing another portion of the scene (e.g., a second scan line), and so on, such as in a rolling shutter image capture.” See also Figure 1, sensors 106 including camera. See also [0105] [0117] for showing the image sensor may be a camera.)
segmenting the image data using a neural network trained on agricultural object data to identify agricultural objects in the image data (see at least Benemann, Figure 1, scan line of image frame 116, See also [0016-0017] “This disclosure is directed to techniques for adding time data to portions of an image at capture (e.g., scan lines of an image frame during a rolling shutter image capture)…[0017] In some examples, an image sensor of a vehicle (e.g., an autonomous vehicle) may capture an image of a scene within a first field of view of the image sensor. In some examples, the image capture may be performed by scanning across the scene (e.g., vertically or horizontally) to capture a portion of the scene (e.g., a first scan line) before capturing another portion of the scene (e.g., a second scan line), and so on, such as in a rolling shutter image capture. The rolling shutter image capture may produce scan lines of an image frame. A scan line may include scan line data (e.g., pixel data) and end of line data. The end of line data may indicate an end of the scan line.” See also [0024] and [0046-0054] for more in depth discussion. See also [0107] “In some instances, the perception component 1122 can include functionality to perform object detection, segmentation, and/or classification. In some examples, the perception component 1122 can provide processed sensor data that indicates a presence of an entity that is proximate to the vehicle 1102 and/or a classification of the entity as an entity type (e.g., car, pedestrian, cyclist, animal, building, tree, road surface, curb, sidewalk, unknown, etc.)…” See also [0113-0115] for disclosure of neural network which teaches components of 1118 can be implement as a neural network, further 1118 includes the perception component 1122 which performs the segmenting );
fusing the LiDAR data and the image data based at least partially on the relative angular value to create fused data (see at least Benemann [0019] “Furthermore, the computing system may associate (e.g., fuse) image data with LIDAR data based at least in part on the association of the portion of the LIDAR data with the portion of the scan line, producing associated data. The associated data may be used as an input for controlling movement of the vehicle in some examples.” [0024] The techniques discussed herein can improve a functioning of a computing device in a number of ways. For example, the techniques discussed herein may include adding time data to individual scan lines of an image frame, which may allow a computing device to accurately align (or otherwise associate) pixels of the image frame with LIDAR points, e.g., to achieve accurate multi-modal sensor fusion, sensor calibration, 3D reconstruction, multi-modal calibration, and the like. [0047] As a non-limiting example, the sensor association component(s) 418 may associate, based at least in part on the time data of the scan line, at least a portion of the pixel data of the scan line with one or more LIDAR points 416 of the LIDAR data. In some cases, the association may indicate that the portion of the pixel data and the LIDAR point(s) were captured substantially contemporaneously (e.g., during a time period that satisfies a time threshold). In some examples, the sensor association component(s) 418 may associate (e.g., fuse) a portion of the image data with a portion of the LIDAR data to produce associated data 420. For example, the association may be based at least in part on the association between the portion of the pixel data and the LIDAR point(s). In some examples, the associated data 420 may be used to control movement of a vehicle (e.g., the vehicle 102 described with reference to FIG. 1). The examiner notes that the time threshold of Benemann is based on the relative angular value as discussed in [0046-0054].);
identifying an agricultural object in the fused data as a fused instance, the fused instance representing the identified agricultural object and including depth information of the identified agricultural object derived from the LiDAR (see the 112(b) rejection above. For purposes of the examination the examiner will interpret this limitation to mean identifying an agricultural object. Benemann discloses identifying agricultural object See Benemann [0107] “In some instances, the perception component 1122 can include functionality to perform object detection, segmentation, and/or classification. In some examples, the perception component 1122 can provide processed sensor data that indicates a presence of an entity that is proximate to the vehicle 1102 and/or a classification of the entity as an entity type (e.g., car, pedestrian, cyclist, animal, building, tree, road surface, curb, sidewalk, unknown, etc.)…” See also at least Benemann [0019] and [0047] as cited above. Further Benemann teaches that the fused instances include depth information based on the LIDAR data. [0071] “According to some examples, the image processing component(s) 602 may receive, as input, distance data 606 associated with one or more scan lines of the rolling shutter image capture. As a non-limiting example, the distance data 606 may be associated with LIDAR data captured by a LIDAR sensor. The LIDAR sensor may capture LIDAR data associated with the object, and the LIDAR data may include distance data 606 representing a distance between the LIDAR sensor and the object at a given time. The distance data 606 may be used to determine a distance between the image sensor and the object at a given time.” See also Figure 8, element 816 and [0084-0085]); and
providing at least the fused instance to a vehicle controller (see at least Benemann [0019] Furthermore, the computing system may associate (e.g., fuse) image data with LIDAR data based at least in part on the association of the portion of the LIDAR data with the portion of the scan line, producing associated data. The associated data may be used as an input for controlling movement of the vehicle in some examples.” See also [0047] “In some examples, the sensor association component(s) 418 may associate (e.g., fuse) a portion of the image data with a portion of the LIDAR data to produce associated data 420. For example, the association may be based at least in part on the association between the portion of the pixel data and the LIDAR point(s). In some examples, the associated data 420 may be used to control movement of a vehicle (e.g., the vehicle 102 described with reference to FIG. 1).” See also [0085] “At 818, the process 800 may include controlling movement of a vehicle (e.g., an autonomous vehicle). For example, the movement of the vehicle may be controlled based at least in part on the associated data. As a non-limiting example, the associated data may indicate a location of an obstacle in the environment of the vehicle. A trajectory and/or a route that avoids a collision between the vehicle and the obstacle may be determined based at least in part on the associated data. The vehicle may be controlled to move along the trajectory and/or route.” The examiner notes that the term associated data is the fused data as discloses in [0019] and [0047].).
Regarding claim 17, Benemann discloses the method of claim 16, further comprising collecting a plurality of portions of image data and compiling the image data before fusing the LiDAR data with the image data (see at least Benemann [0016] “This disclosure is directed to techniques for adding time data to portions of an image at capture (e.g., scan lines of an image frame during a rolling shutter image capture).” [0084] “At 816, the process 800 may include associating (e.g., fusing) at least part of the first data with at least part of the second data to produce associated data. For example, associating the data may be based at least in part on the association between the measurement and the scan line. In some examples, at least part of the first data may be associated with at least part of the second data based at least in part on a determination that a time difference between the first time data and the second time data satisfies a threshold time difference.” The examiner notes “that at least one part” implies a plurality of portions can be used. See also [0071] “According to some examples, the image processing component(s) 602 may receive, as input, distance data 606 associated with one or more scan lines of the rolling shutter image capture. As a non-limiting example, the distance data 606 may be associated with LIDAR data captured by a LIDAR sensor. The LIDAR sensor may capture LIDAR data associated with the object, and the LIDAR data may include distance data 606 representing a distance between the LIDAR sensor and the object at a given time. The distance data 606 may be used to determine a distance between the image sensor and the object at a given time. The image processing component(s) 602 may modify, based at least in part on the distance data 606 and/or time data added to one or more of the scan lines of the image frame associated with the distorted image 604, the distorted image 604 to correct and/or compensate for the distortion effect(s) of the distorted image 604. The image processing component(s) 602 may output a corrected image 608 (e.g., image data associated with a corrected image). In some examples, the corrected image 608 may be distorted less than the distorted image 604, as the image processing component(s) 602 have corrected and/or compensated for the distortion effect(s) of the distorted image 604.” See also [0070] ).
Regarding claim 18, Benemann discloses the method of claim 17, wherein the plurality of portions of image data are selected from a plurality of frames of image data (see at least Benemann [0070] “In some examples, the image processing component(s) 602 may be configured to perform image processing on images. In example 600, the image processing component(s) 602 receives, as input, a distorted image 604 (e.g., image data associated with a distorted image). In some examples, the distorted image 604 may be associated with an image frame having time data added with individual scan lines, e.g., by the timestamp component(s) 110, which may also be useful to perform image rectification, sensor calibration, cross-modal calibration, 3D reconstruction, tracking, feature extraction, multi-modal sensor fusion, and the like. In various examples, the distorted image 604 may include one or more distortion effects, e.g., distortion effects caused by motion associated with a rolling shutter image capture. As non-limiting examples, the distortion effect(s) may include wobble, skew, spatial aliasing, and/or temporal aliasing. The distorted image 604 may include the distortion effect(s) because the image data may be obtained via a rolling shutter image capture of an object, and the rolling shutter image capture may be performed by a moving image sensor. That is, each of the scan lines may be associated with a respective portion of the object being imaged at one or more respective distances (e.g., in view of relative motion between the image sensor and the object). See also [0024] “The computing system of the vehicle, for example, may generate a more accurate representation of the environment of the vehicle by making such associations using time data associated with individual scan lines as compared to using time data associated with an image frame as a whole. Consequently, the computing system of the vehicle may be able to improve its detection of objects (e.g., obstacles) and its trajectory and/or route planning, e.g., to control movement of the vehicle to avoid colliding with obstacles.” See also [0016], [0071] and [0084] as cited above with respect to claim 17.)
Regarding claim 19, Benemann discloses a device for controlling an agricultural vehicle (see at least Benemann [0029] “In some examples, the vehicle 102 may be an automobile having four wheels and respective tires for each of the wheels. Other types and configurations of vehicles are contemplated, such as, for example, vans, sport utility vehicles, cross-over vehicles, trucks, buses, agricultural vehicles, and construction vehicles. The vehicle 102 may be powered by one or more internal combustion engines, one or more electric motors, hydrogen power, or any combination thereof.”), the device comprising:
a camera sensor having a camera field of view (CFOV), the camera sensor configured to be operably coupled to an agricultural vehicle (see at least Benemann Figure 1, sensors 106 including camera. See also Figure 5A, first field of view 508 from image sensor 502. See also [0105] “In the illustrated example, the vehicle 1102 is an autonomous vehicle; however, the vehicle 1102 could be any other type of vehicle, or any other system having at least an image capture device (e.g., a camera enabled smartphone). [0117] “As another example, the camera sensors can include multiple cameras disposed at various locations about the exterior and/or interior of the vehicle 1102.” See also [0049] “In some examples, the example 500a may include an image sensor 502, a LIDAR sensor 504, and/or a computing system 506 (e.g., the vehicle computing system 108 described with reference to FIG. 1). The image sensor 502 may have a first field of view 508. The LIDAR sensor 504 may have a second field of view 510. In various examples, a field of view may be associated with the portion of the environment sensed by a sensor at a given time. In some examples, the computing system 506 may include sensor synchronization component(s) 512, synchronization condition(s) 514, timestamp component(s) 110, and/or time data 112.”See also [0051-0052])
a light detection and ranging (LiDAR) sensor having a LiDAR field of view (LFOV), the LiDAR sensor configured to be operably coupled to the agricultural vehicle (see at least Benemann Figure 1, sensors 106 including LIDAR. See also Figure 5A, second field of view 508 from LIDAR sensor 504. [0117] “For instance, the LIDAR sensors can include individual LIDAR sensors located at the corners, front, back, sides, and/or top of the vehicle 1102.” See also [0049] “In some examples, the example 500a may include an image sensor 502, a LIDAR sensor 504, and/or a computing system 506 (e.g., the vehicle computing system 108 described with reference to FIG. 1). The image sensor 502 may have a first field of view 508. The LIDAR sensor 504 may have a second field of view 510. In various examples, a field of view may be associated with the portion of the environment sensed by a sensor at a given time. In some examples, the computing system 506 may include sensor synchronization component(s) 512, synchronization condition(s) 514, timestamp component(s) 110, and/or time data 112.”See also [0051-0052]); and
an imaging controller in data communication with the camera sensor and the LiDAR sensor(see at least Figure 5A, computing system 506. See at least [0049] “In some examples, the computing system 506 may include sensor synchronization component(s) 512, synchronization condition(s) 514, timestamp component(s) 110, and/or time data 112.” See also “[0069] According to some examples, the example 600 may include one or more image processing components 602. In some examples, the image processing component(s) 602 may reside in the vehicle computing system 108 (described herein with reference to FIG. 1), the computing system 506 (described herein with reference to FIG. 5A), the vehicle computing device 1104 (described herein with reference to FIG. 11), and/or the computing devices 1140 (described herein with reference to FIG. 11).” See also [0110] “ In at least one example, the vehicle computing device 1104 can include one or more system controllers 1126, which can be configured to control steering, propulsion, braking, safety, emitters, communication, and other systems of the vehicle 1102. These system controller(s) 1126 can communicate with and/or control corresponding systems of the drive module(s) 1114 and/or other components of the vehicle 1102.”), the imaging controller comprising:
at least one processor (see at least [0126-0127] “The computing device(s) 1140 can include processor(s) 1144 and a memory 1146 storing a maps(s) component 1148, the timestamp component(s) 110, the sensor association component(s) 418, the sensor synchronization component(s) 512, and/or the image processing component(s) 602…[0127] The processor(s) 1116 of the vehicle 1102 and the processor(s) 1144 of the computing device(s) 1140 can be any suitable processor capable of executing instructions to process data and perform operations as described herein.”); and
at least one non-transitory computer-readable storage medium having instructions store thereon that, when executed by the at least one processor cause the imaging controller to (see at least [0127-0128] “0127] The processor(s) 1116 of the vehicle 1102 and the processor(s) 1144 of the computing device(s) 1140 can be any suitable processor capable of executing instructions to process data and perform operations as described herein…t 0128] Memory 1118 and 1146 are examples of non-transitory computer-readable media. The memory 1118 and 1146 can store an operating system and one or more software applications, instructions, programs, and/or data to implement the methods described herein and the functions attributed to the various systems.):
receive LiDAR data from the LiDAR sensor, the LiDAR data including an angular value within the LFOV (see at least Benemann [0019], “In some examples, a LIDAR sensor of the vehicle may capture LIDAR data (e.g., LIDAR points) within a second field of view of the LIDAR sensor which may at least partially overlap with the first field of view of the image sensor.” See also [0023] “Furthermore, the computing system may determine a second orientation of the second field of view and/or a second pose associated with the LIDAR sensor. In some examples, the respective orientations and/or the respective poses associated with the image sensor and/or the LIDAR sensor may be tracked. According to some examples, the orientations and/or the poses may be tracked relative to one another. The computing system may use field of view orientation information and/or pose information as an input for causing the image sensor to initiate the rolling shutter image capture of the first field of view, e.g., such that at least a first portion of the first field of view (associated with the image sensor) overlaps at least a second portion of the second field of view (associated with the LIDAR sensor) in accordance with the synchronization condition(s). …See also [0050-0054] for discussion regarding angular value of LFOV “[0050] According to some examples, the second field of view 510 of the LIDAR sensor 504 may move relative to the first field of view 508 of the image sensor 502. In some examples, the second field of view 510 may be rotatable (e.g., about one or more axes). In some non-limiting examples, the second field of view 510 may be rotatable 360 degrees. In some examples, the amount of rotation may be less than 360 degrees.”. See also [0054] “In some examples, the sensor synchronization component(s) 512 may determine a first pose of the image sensor 502. The first pose may include a first position and/or a first orientation (e.g., an x-, y-, z-position, roll, pitch, and/or yaw) associated with the image sensor 502. Furthermore, the sensor synchronization component(s) 512 may determine a second pose of the LIDAR sensor 504. The second pose may include a second position and/or a second orientation (e.g., an x-, y-, z-position, roll, pitch, and/or yaw) associated with the LIDAR sensor 504. In some examples, the respective poses of the image sensor 502 and/or the LIDAR sensor 504 may be tracked. According to some examples, the first pose and the second pose may be tracked relative to one another. The sensor synchronization component(s) 512 may use the pose information (e.g., the first pose, the second pose, etc.) as an input for causing the image sensor 502 to initiate the rolling shutter image capture 518 of the first field of view 508, e.g., such that at least a first portion of the first field of view 508 overlaps at least a second portion of the second field of view 510 in accordance with the synchronization condition(s) 514.”)
determine a relative angular value of the LiDAR data with respect to the CFOV (see at least Benemann [0050-0054], [0054] “In some examples, the sensor synchronization component(s) 512 may determine a first pose of the image sensor 502. The first pose may include a first position and/or a first orientation (e.g., an x-, y-, z-position, roll, pitch, and/or yaw) associated with the image sensor 502. Furthermore, the sensor synchronization component(s) 512 may determine a second pose of the LIDAR sensor 504. The second pose may include a second position and/or a second orientation (e.g., an x-, y-, z-position, roll, pitch, and/or yaw) associated with the LIDAR sensor 504. In some examples, the respective poses of the image sensor 502 and/or the LIDAR sensor 504 may be tracked. According to some examples, the first pose and the second pose may be tracked relative to one another. The sensor synchronization component(s) 512 may use the pose information (e.g., the first pose, the second pose, etc.) as an input for causing the image sensor 502 to initiate the rolling shutter image capture 518 of the first field of view 508, e.g., such that at least a first portion of the first field of view 508 overlaps at least a second portion of the second field of view 510 in accordance with the synchronization condition(s) 514.”);
receive image data from the camera sensor (see at least Benemann [0017], “[0017] In some examples, an image sensor of a vehicle (e.g., an autonomous vehicle) may capture an image of a scene within a first field of view of the image sensor. In some examples, the image capture may be performed by scanning across the scene (e.g., vertically or horizontally) to capture a portion of the scene (e.g., a first scan line) before capturing another portion of the scene (e.g., a second scan line), and so on, such as in a rolling shutter image capture.” See also Figure 1, sensors 106 including camera. See also [0105] [0117] for showing the image sensor may be a camera.)
segment the image data using a neural network trained on agricultural object data to identify agricultural objects in the image data (see at least Benemann, Figure 1, scan line of image frame 116, See also [0016-0017] “This disclosure is directed to techniques for adding time data to portions of an image at capture (e.g., scan lines of an image frame during a rolling shutter image capture)…[0017] In some examples, an image sensor of a vehicle (e.g., an autonomous vehicle) may capture an image of a scene within a first field of view of the image sensor. In some examples, the image capture may be performed by scanning across the scene (e.g., vertically or horizontally) to capture a portion of the scene (e.g., a first scan line) before capturing another portion of the scene (e.g., a second scan line), and so on, such as in a rolling shutter image capture. The rolling shutter image capture may produce scan lines of an image frame. A scan line may include scan line data (e.g., pixel data) and end of line data. The end of line data may indicate an end of the scan line.” See also [0024] and [0046-0054] for more in depth discussion. See also [0107] “In some instances, the perception component 1122 can include functionality to perform object detection, segmentation, and/or classification. In some examples, the perception component 1122 can provide processed sensor data that indicates a presence of an entity that is proximate to the vehicle 1102 and/or a classification of the entity as an entity type (e.g., car, pedestrian, cyclist, animal, building, tree, road surface, curb, sidewalk, unknown, etc.)…” See also [0113-0115] for disclosure of neural network which teaches components of 1118 can be implement as a neural network, further 1118 includes the perception component 1122 which performs the segmenting )
fuse the LiDAR data and the image data based at least partially on the relative angular value to create fused data(see at least Benemann [0019] “Furthermore, the computing system may associate (e.g., fuse) image data with LIDAR data based at least in part on the association of the portion of the LIDAR data with the portion of the scan line, producing associated data. The associated data may be used as an input for controlling movement of the vehicle in some examples.” [0024] The techniques discussed herein can improve a functioning of a computing device in a number of ways. For example, the techniques discussed herein may include adding time data to individual scan lines of an image frame, which may allow a computing device to accurately align (or otherwise associate) pixels of the image frame with LIDAR points, e.g., to achieve accurate multi-modal sensor fusion, sensor calibration, 3D reconstruction, multi-modal calibration, and the like. [0047] As a non-limiting example, the sensor association component(s) 418 may associate, based at least in part on the time data of the scan line, at least a portion of the pixel data of the scan line with one or more LIDAR points 416 of the LIDAR data. In some cases, the association may indicate that the portion of the pixel data and the LIDAR point(s) were captured substantially contemporaneously (e.g., during a time period that satisfies a time threshold). In some examples, the sensor association component(s) 418 may associate (e.g., fuse) a portion of the image data with a portion of the LIDAR data to produce associated data 420. For example, the association may be based at least in part on the association between the portion of the pixel data and the LIDAR point(s). In some examples, the associated data 420 may be used to control movement of a vehicle (e.g., the vehicle 102 described with reference to FIG. 1). The examiner notes that the time threshold of Benemann is based on the relative angular value as discussed in [0046-0054].);
identify an agricultural object in the fused data as a fused instance, the fused instance representing the identified agricultural object and including depth information of the identified agricultural object derived from the LiDAR (see the 112(b) rejection above. For purposes of the examination the examiner will interpret this limitation to mean identifying an agricultural object. Benemann discloses identifying agricultural object See Benemann [0107] “In some instances, the perception component 1122 can include functionality to perform object detection, segmentation, and/or classification. In some examples, the perception component 1122 can provide processed sensor data that indicates a presence of an entity that is proximate to the vehicle 1102 and/or a classification of the entity as an entity type (e.g., car, pedestrian, cyclist, animal, building, tree, road surface, curb, sidewalk, unknown, etc.)…” See also at least Benemann [0019] and [0047] as cited above. Further Benemann teaches that the fused instances include depth information based on the LIDAR data. [0071] “According to some examples, the image processing component(s) 602 may receive, as input, distance data 606 associated with one or more scan lines of the rolling shutter image capture. As a non-limiting example, the distance data 606 may be associated with LIDAR data captured by a LIDAR sensor. The LIDAR sensor may capture LIDAR data associated with the object, and the LIDAR data may include distance data 606 representing a distance between the LIDAR sensor and the object at a given time. The distance data 606 may be used to determine a distance between the image sensor and the object at a given time.” See also Figure 8, element 816 and [0084-0085]); and
provide at least the fused instance to the vehicle controller (see at least Benemann [0019] Furthermore, the computing system may associate (e.g., fuse) image data with LIDAR data based at least in part on the association of the portion of the LIDAR data with the portion of the scan line, producing associated data. The associated data may be used as an input for controlling movement of the vehicle in some examples.” See also [0047] “In some examples, the sensor association component(s) 418 may associate (e.g., fuse) a portion of the image data with a portion of the LIDAR data to produce associated data 420. For example, the association may be based at least in part on the association between the portion of the pixel data and the LIDAR point(s). In some examples, the associated data 420 may be used to control movement of a vehicle (e.g., the vehicle 102 described with reference to FIG. 1).” See also [0085] “At 818, the process 800 may include controlling movement of a vehicle (e.g., an autonomous vehicle). For example, the movement of the vehicle may be controlled based at least in part on the associated data. As a non-limiting example, the associated data may indicate a location of an obstacle in the environment of the vehicle. A trajectory and/or a route that avoids a collision between the vehicle and the obstacle may be determined based at least in part on the associated data. The vehicle may be controlled to move along the trajectory and/or route.” The examiner notes that the term associated data is the fused data as discloses in [0019] and [0047].)
Regarding claim 20, Benemann discloses the device of claim 19 wherein the imaging controller further comprises a communication interface configured to transmit the fused instance to the vehicle controller (see at least Figure 5A, computing system 506. See at least [0049] “In some examples, the computing system 506 may include sensor synchronization component(s) 512, synchronization condition(s) 514, timestamp component(s) 110, and/or time data 112.” See also “[0069] According to some examples, the example 600 may include one or more image processing components 602. In some examples, the image processing component(s) 602 may reside in the vehicle computing system 108 (described herein with reference to FIG. 1), the computing system 506 (described herein with reference to FIG. 5A), the vehicle computing device 1104 (described herein with reference to FIG. 11), and/or the computing devices 1140 (described herein with reference to FIG. 11).” See also [0110] “ In at least one example, the vehicle computing device 1104 can include one or more system controllers 1126, which can be configured to control steering, propulsion, braking, safety, emitters, communication, and other systems of the vehicle 1102. These system controller(s) 1126 can communicate with and/or control corresponding systems of the drive module(s) 1114 and/or other components of the vehicle 1102.”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Benemann in view of Christiansen et al. (GB2606740A, hereinafter “Christiansen”).
Regarding claim 2, Benemann discloses the agricultural vehicle of claim 1, further comprising controlling the agricultural vehicle based at least partially on the fused instance(See at least Benemann [0029] In some examples, the vehicle 102 may be an automobile having four wheels and respective tires for each of the wheels. Other types and configurations of vehicles are contemplated, such as, for example, vans, sport utility vehicles, cross-over vehicles, trucks, buses, agricultural vehicles, and construction vehicles. [0024] Consequently, the computing system of the vehicle may be able to improve its detection of objects (e.g., obstacles) and its trajectory and/or route planning, e.g., to control movement of the vehicle to avoid colliding with obstacles.” ). However, Benemann but does not explicitly disclose that the agricultural vehicle includes at least one agricultural implement configured to manipulate an agricultural product, and wherein the vehicle controller is further configured to provide an implement command to the agricultural implement based at least partially on the fused instance.
Christensen teaches the agricultural vehicle of claim 1, further comprising at least one agricultural implement configured to manipulate an agricultural product, and wherein the vehicle controller is further configured to provide an implement command to the agricultural implement based at least partially on the fused instance (see at least Christensen pages 11-12 “The sensor data (image data) received from the camera 30b is analysed by the processor 104 to identify residue material pieces within the image data and using the position information obtained through analysis of the sensor data from LIDAR unit 30a, a characteristic of each residue material piece is determined. Here, the characteristic determined by the processor 104 comprises a length of residue material piece(s) identified in the sensor data, determined in the manner described hereinbelow. Based on the determined characteristic, one or more control signals are output from the processor 104 for controlling operation of one or more systems of the agricultural machine in dependence on the determined characteristic….Output 108 of the controller 102 is operatively coupled to the chopper assembly 29, and is used to output control signals 113 generated by processor 104 for controlling operation of the chopper assembly 29 in dependence on the determined characteristic(s) of the residue material piece(s). As discussed below, this can involve controlling an operating speed and/or frequency of the chopper assembly 29 to control the length(s) to which the residue material is cut when passing through the chopper assembly 29….In an extension of the control system 100 and combine 10 embodying the control system 100, the processor 104 may be configured to generate and output one or more control signals for controlling one or more further operating parameters of the combine 10 or one or more systems thereof. For example, this may include controlling a forward speed of the combine 10, or controlling an operating speed/parameter of one or more sub-systems of the combine, including the header 12, conveyors 14, crop processing / cleaning apparatus, etc. Each of these controls may affect the speed and or density of flow of residue material supplied to the chopper assembly 29 and hence a cutting length obtained by the chopper assembly 29.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Benemann with the teaching of Christiansen to use the fused instance of the object to control an implement of an agricultural vehicle with a reasonable expectation of success, because as Christensen teaches the fused sensor information allows the system to control the chopper to cut to a desired length and to better aid in uniformness of the spread material (see at least Christensen page 5 “The processor 104 may determine from the multiple residue material pieces, a maximum observed length of residue material pieces. If this length is greater than expected or desired, one or more control measures may be taken, e.g. by controlling a feed rate of material into the chopper assembly 29 (here slowing / reducing the feed rate) to ensure the material is engaged by the chopper assembly 29 for longer to provide greater cutting.” See also page 1)
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Benemann in view of Yin et al. (US-20230388481-A1, hereinafter “Yin”).
Regarding claim 6, Benemann discloses the agricultural vehicle of claim 1, wherein there is a lateral width of the CFOV and a lateral width of the LFOV and discloses maximizing the overlap of the respective fields of view (see at least Benemann [0019] “In some examples, a LIDAR sensor of the vehicle may capture LIDAR data (e.g., LIDAR points) within a second field of view of the LIDAR sensor which may at least partially overlap with the first field of view of the image sensor.” See also [0022-0023] “As non-limiting examples, the synchronization condition(s) may include an amount of overlap between the first field of view (associated with the image sensor) and the second field of view (associated with the LIDAR sensor), and/or an overlap between a first particular portion of the first field of view and a second particular portion of the second field of view, etc. As a non-limiting example, capturing of image data may be triggered such that the center of the image is captured substantially simultaneously with a spinning LIDAR sensor aligning with a field of view of the image sensor…. The computing system may use field of view orientation information and/or pose information as an input for causing the image sensor to initiate the rolling shutter image capture of the first field of view, e.g., such that at least a first portion of the first field of view (associated with the image sensor) overlaps at least a second portion of the second field of view (associated with the LIDAR sensor) in accordance with the synchronization condition(s). In at least some examples, such initialization may be timed so as to optimize (e.g., maximize) an overlap of the respective fields of view.” See also [0051] “s non-limiting examples, the synchronization condition(s) 514 may include an amount of overlap between the first field of view 508 and the second field of view 510, and/or an overlap between a first particular portion of the first field of view 508 and a second particular portion of the second field of view 510, etc. In at least some examples, the synchronization may be such that a capturing the center scan line in an image corresponds with LIDAR data capture substantially directed to a field of view of the image sensor. In such an example, the amount of LIDAR data which is associated with the same region of an environment associated with the image data is optimized (e.g., maximized).” The examiner notes that maximizing the region would include the lateral widths of the fields of view to be equal. ) However, Benemann does not explicitly disclose wherein a lateral width of the CFOV and a lateral width of the LFOV are equal.
Yin teaches wherein a lateral width of the CFOV and a lateral width of the LFOV are equal (see at least Yin Figure 5B and [0102] “The LiDAR field of view 512 may correspond to a sensing area of the LiDAR sensor 202b at the phase angle 510. In certain cases, the sensing area can be a maximum sensing area of the LiDAR sensor 202b.Depending on the camera and LiDAR systems used, the camera field of view 508 may be the same or different than the LiDAR field of view 512. Depending on the arrangement of the camera and LiDAR systems used, the camera center line 506 may be aligned with the phase angle 510 or angled at an offset.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Benemann with the teaching of Yin, to choose to use the same FOV of the camera and the LIDAR with a reasonable expectation of success, because as Yin teaches that the camera field of view and the lidar field of view can be the same as each other or they can be different and thus there a finite number of identified predictable potential solutions. That is, it is obvious to try either the same or different FOV as taught by Yin to provide the maximum overlap as desired by Benemann. One or ordinary skill in the art could have pursued the known potential options (a FOV being the same or different) with a reasonable expectation of success. If this leads to anticipated success, it is likely product of innovation, but of ordinary skill and common sense.
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Benemann in view of Li et al. (US-20190180467-A1, hereinafter “Li”).
Regarding claim 8, Benemann discloses the agricultural vehicle of claim 1, wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor, further cause the imaging controller to cause the camera sensor to collect the image data based at least partially on a frame [rate] of the LiDAR sensor (See at least Benemann [0048] FIG. 5A is a schematic diagram illustrating an example 500a of synchronizing rolling shutter image capture of an image sensor field of view with LIDAR data capture of a LIDAR sensor field of view, in accordance with examples of the disclosure. In some examples, the example 500a may include one or multiple features, components, and/or functionality of examples described herein with reference to FIGS. 1-4 and 5B-11.” See also [0051] “ In various examples, the sensor synchronization component(s) 512 may facilitate the synchronization of image data capture (e.g., by the image sensor 502) with LIDAR data capture (e.g., by the LIDAR sensor 504). For example, the sensor synchronization component(s) 512 may trigger the image sensor 502 to perform a rolling shutter image capture 518 of a scene during a time period in which the LIDAR sensor 504 is capturing LIDAR data of at least a portion of the scene. By synchronizing sensor data capture in this manner, the computing system 506 may be able to accurately associate (e.g., temporally and/or spatially) image data with LIDAR data…”)
However, Benemann does not explicitly state that the synchronization is based on the frame rate of the LIDAR sensor. Li teaches that the synchronization is based on the frame rate of the LIDAR sensor (see at least Figure 16 and [0091] “In some embodiments, the LiDAR image and the radar image may be fused to generate a compensated image. Detailed methods regarding the fusion of the LiDAR image and the radar image may be found elsewhere in present disclosure (See, e.g., FIG. 15 and the descriptions thereof). In some embodiments, the camera 410, the LiDAR device 420 and the radar device 430 may work concurrently or individually. In a case that they are working individually at different time frame rates, a synchronization method may be employed. Detailed method regarding the synchronization of the frames of the camera 410, the LiDAR device 420 and/or the radar device 430 may be found elsewhere in the present disclosure (See e.g., FIG. 16 and the descriptions thereof).” and [0153] FIG. 16 is a schematic diagram of a synchronization between camera, LiDAR device, and/or radar device according to some embodiments of the present disclosure. As shown in FIG. 16, the frame rates of a camera (e.g., camera 410), a LiDAR device (e.g., LiDAR device 420) and a radar device (e.g., radar device 430) are different. Assuming that the camera, the LiDAR device and the radar device start to work simultaneously at a first time frame T1, a camera image, a LiDAR point cloud image, and a radar image may be generated roughly at the same time (e.g., synchronized). However, the subsequent images are not synchronized due to the different frame rates. In some embodiments, a device with slowest frame rate among the camera, the LiDAR device, and the radar device may be determined (In the example of FIG. 16, it's the camera). The control unit 150 may record each of the time frames of the camera images that camera captured and may search for other LiDAR images and radar images that are close to the time of each of the time frames of the camera images. For each of the time frames of the camera images, a corresponding LiDAR image and a corresponding radar image may be obtained. For example, a camera image 1610 is obtained at T2, the control unit 150 may search for a LiDAR image and a radar image that are closest to T2 (e.g., the LiDAR image 1620 and radar image 1630). The camera image and the corresponding LiDAR image and radar image are extracted as a set. The three images in a set is assumed to be obtained at the same time and synchronized.” ).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Benemann with the teaching of Li to cause the camera to collect the image data based on the frame rate of the LIDAR sensor, with a reasonable expectation of success, because as Li teaches this allows for synchronization of the images for fusion resulted in more accurate information for navigation (see [0003] and [0152-0153]).
Claim(s) 9-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Benemann in view of Zink et al. (US-20180173992-A1, hereinafter “Zink”).
Regarding claims 9 and 10, Benemann discloses the agricultural vehicle of claim 1, wherein the camera sensor includes [a photoreceptor array], and the image data is collected from a portion of the [photoreceptor array] that is less than an entire area of [the photoreceptor array], wherein the portion is based at least partially on an angular position of a scanner of the LiDAR sensor within the LFOV during exposure of the camera sensor (see at least Benemann [0017], “[0017] In some examples, an image sensor of a vehicle (e.g., an autonomous vehicle) may capture an image of a scene within a first field of view of the image sensor. In some examples, the image capture may be performed by scanning across the scene (e.g., vertically or horizontally) to capture a portion of the scene (e.g., a first scan line) before capturing another portion of the scene (e.g., a second scan line), and so on, such as in a rolling shutter image capture.” See also Figure 1, sensors 106 including camera. See also [0105] [0117] for showing the image sensor may be a camera.” See also [0050-0054] “[0052] In some examples, the sensor synchronization component(s) 512 may determine a first orientation of the first field of view 508 of the image sensor 502. Furthermore, the sensor synchronization component(s) 512 may determine a second orientation of the second field of view 510 of the LIDAR sensor 504. In some examples, the respective orientations of the image sensor 502 and/or the LIDAR sensor 504 may be tracked. According to some examples, the first orientation and the second orientation may be tracked relative to one another. The sensor synchronization component(s) 512 may use field of view orientation information (e.g., the first orientation, the second orientation, etc.) as an input for causing the image sensor 502 to initiate the rolling shutter image capture 518 of the first field of view 508, e.g., such that at least a first portion of the first field of view 508 overlaps at least a second portion of the second field of view 510 in accordance with the synchronization condition(s) 514. In various examples, the second field of view 510 may move relative to the first field of view 508 during the rolling shutter image capture 518…[0053] According to some implementations, the sensor synchronization component(s) 512 may time the rolling shutter image capture 518 such that at least a portion of the scan lines (e.g., scan line 1, scan line 2, . . . scan line n) of an image frame associated with a scene are captured while the LIDAR sensor 504 is capturing LIDAR data associated with at least a portion of the scene (e.g., at least a portion of the scene is within the second field of view 510 of the LIDAR sensor 504). In some examples, the sensor synchronization component(s) 512 may time the rolling shutter image capture 518 such that a majority of the scan lines of the image frame are captured during a time period associated with the LIDAR sensor 504 capturing the second field of view 510 of at least a portion of the scene, e.g., as indicated in FIG. 5A… [0053] According to some implementations, the sensor synchronization component(s) 512 may time the rolling shutter image capture 518 such that at least a portion of the scan lines (e.g., scan line 1, scan line 2, . . . scan line n) of an image frame associated with a scene are captured while the LIDAR sensor 504 is capturing LIDAR data associated with at least a portion of the scene (e.g., at least a portion of the scene is within the second field of view 510 of the LIDAR sensor 504).” See at least [0046-0054] for the angular value.).
Benemann does not explicitly state that there is a photoreceptor array however, Zink teaches that a photoreceptor array is convention in a camera. (see at least Zink Figure 3 and [0069] “FIG. 3 further illustrates the limitations of conventional video camera 320 and is provided to explain its operation and limitations. As shown in FIG. 3, a video camera 320 senses rays of light 305, 310 reflected from an object 300 in an environment. A lens 315 focuses the rays of light onto a photoreceptor array 325 and the camera 320 may include filters for filtering the light as well. The photoreceptor array 325 converts the light energy into a spatial digital image. As a result of camera operation, a temporal sequence of images 330 representing changes in the environment is output. This is the conventional operation of video cameras in general which results in a temporal sequence of spatial images with no mechanism to differentiate subsequent analysis of image data included in that sequence of frames.”)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Benemann with the camera of Zink having photoreceptors, because as Zink teaches the camera is a conventional camera for object detection (see Zink abstract and Figure 6).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Christiansen US-20230113645-A1 and Christiansen US-20230114174-A1 are cited for teaching recited claim limitations and these references would be available under 102(a)(1) unless an exception applied.
US-20220171061-A1 to Kim is cited for determining the error between a GPS signal and a LIDAR sensor signal to account for a difference in positioning between the sensors.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JENNIFER M ANDA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3662