DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the plurality of protrusions being configured to engage a substrate thereby to elevate the second surface relative to the substrate; the panel perimeter formed in a shape of a plate/bowl; a panel comprising a substrate as well as the substrate comprising a plate/bowl provided independent of the panel; and the plurality of ribs being configured to engage a substrate thereby to elevate the second surface relative to the substrate must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: In the Applicant’s remarks they noted that “particularly with respect to the cross-sectional views (i.e., FIGS. 1B, 1D, 2B, etc.), the panel is shown oriented 180 degrees from how it would be positioned during actual use”. However, nowhere in the Specification is there any such mention of this. The configurations of the drawings and the description of the use of the invention appear to be at odds with one another. The Examiner suggests that the Applicant amend the Specification to include some sort of language indicating that drawings are inverted/upside down/shown oriented 180 degrees from how it would be positioned during actual use in order to clarify what is shown and claimed by the disclosure.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 9 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claims 9 and 10 have been amended to claim “the substrate comprises a plate provided independent of the panel” and “the substrate comprises a bowl provided independent of the panel”, respectively. This appears to be in direct contradiction of claim 1, which claims 9 and 10 depend from which states the claimed invention is “A panel for facilitating insertion of a utensil through a food item, the panel comprising:… the plurality of protrusions is configured to engage a substrate thereby to elevate the second surface relative to the substrate and create a vacuum space between the second surface and the substrate…”. Based on this language it appears as though the substrate is a part of the panel. It is unclear how it can be a part of the panel but also independent of the panel such that the panel (including the substrate) is placed on top of the plate/bowl (which is also supposed to be the substrate). Based on this lack of clarity, claims 9 and 10 are unable to be examined further such that prior art is able to be applied.
Claims 1-3, 6-18, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 1 and 11 state “the plurality of protrusions is configured to engage a substrate thereby to elevate the second surface relative to the substrate and create a vacuum space between the second surface and the substrate” and “the plurality of ribs… is configured to engage a substrate thereby to elevate the second surface relative to the substrate and create a vacuum space between the second surface and the substrate”, respectively. As best the Examiner can understand, based on what is shown in the figures there appears to be an empty space created between the substrate and the second surface when the protrusions/ribs contact the substrate. Based on the Applicant’s disclosure it is unclear how exactly a vacuum space is created in that empty space. How is the air between the second surface and the substrate evacuated? The claims have been examined below as best the Examiner can understand. However, further clarification and correction are required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, 6, 11, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Pharr (US 2012/0228187).
Regarding Claim 1
Pharr teaches a panel (Fig, 1 and 3) capable of facilitating insertion of a utensil through a food item, the panel comprising: a first surface (11) configured to receive the food item, wherein the first surface is substantially planar: a second surface (13) opposite of, and spaced by a panel thickness from, the first surface; a panel perimeter extending from the first surface to the second surface to define an overall panel shape; and a plurality of protrusions (15) extending outward from the second surface and away from the first surface, wherein the plurality of protrusions is configured to engage a substrate (surface the panel is placed on) thereby to elevate the second surface relative to the substrate; wherein the panel is formed of an elastic panel material that is flexible, resilient, and food-grade (Paragraphs [0034], [0035], and [0038]).
Pharr does not specifically teach the plurality of protrusions is configured to engage a substrate thereby to elevate the second surface relative to the substrate and create a vacuum space between the second surface and the substrate. However, as stated above, it appears as though Applicant’s invention does not create a vacuum space, but rather an empty space between the second surface and the substrate. Pharr teaches the plurality of protrusions is configured to engage a substrate thereby to elevate the second surface relative to the substrate and create an empty space between the second surface and the substrate. As such, the claimed limitation of the plurality of protrusions is configured to engage a substrate thereby to elevate the second surface relative to the substrate and create a “vacuum” space between the second surface and the substrate, does not appear to provide patentable distinction over the prior art of record.
Regarding Claim 2
Pharr teaches the elastic panel material comprises food-grade silicone.
Regarding Claim 3
Pharr teaches the substrate is coupled to the second surface of the panel (inasmuch as Applicant shows) and is formed of a rigid material.
Regarding Claim 11
Pharr teaches a panel (Fig. 1 and 3) capable of facilitating insertion of a utensil through a food item, the panel comprising: a first surface (11) configured to receive the food item, wherein the first surface is substantially planar a second surface (13) opposite of, and spaced by a panel thickness from, the first surface; a panel perimeter extending from the first surface to the second surface to define an overall panel shape; and a plurality of ribs (shown below) extending outward from the second surface and away from the first surface, wherein the plurality of ribs is formed in a parallel line pattern and is configured to engage a substrate thereby to elevate the second surface relative to the substrate; and wherein the panel is formed of an elastic panel material that is flexible, resilient, and food-grade (Paragraphs [0034], [0035], and [0038]).
[AltContent: textbox (Ribs (example))]
[AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: roundedrect][AltContent: roundedrect][AltContent: roundedrect]
Pharr does not specifically teach the plurality of ribs is configured to engage a substrate thereby to elevate the second surface relative to the substrate and create a vacuum space between the second surface and the substrate. However, as stated above, it appears as though Applicant’s invention does not create a vacuum space, but rather an empty space between the second surface and the substrate. Pharr teaches the plurality of ribs is configured to engage a substrate thereby to elevate the second surface relative to the substrate and create an empty space between the second surface and the substrate. As such, the claimed limitation of the plurality of ribs being configured to engage a substrate thereby to elevate the second surface relative to the substrate and create a “vacuum” space between the second surface and the substrate, does not appear to provide patentable distinction over the prior art of record.
Regarding Claim 20
Pharr teaches the elastic panel material comprises food-grade silicone.
Claim(s) 3, 7, 8, and 12-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pharr as applied to claims 1, 6, and 11 above.
Regarding Claim 3
Pharr teaches all the limitations of claim 1 as shown above. Pharr further teaches a rim (14) coincident with the panel perimeter. Pharr teaches the rim is used as a barrier to contain messes (Paragraph [0036]). However, Pharr does not teach a rim extending outward from the second surface and away from the first surface, wherein the rim includes a rim surface configured to engage the substrate.
It would have been an obvious matter of design choice to a person of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of filing, to have a second rim extending downward from the second surface to engage the substrate, since it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. See MPEP 2144.04(VI)(B). Such a rim would further be able to provide as an additional barrier that keeps any potential mess from getting underneath the panel. Further, Applicant has not disclosed that a rim extending outward from the second surface and away from the first surface, wherein the rim includes a rim surface configured to engage the substrate provides an advantage, is used for a particular purpose or solves a stated problem. As such, the claim of a rim extending outward from the second surface and away from the first surface, wherein the rim includes a rim surface configured to engage the substrate does not provide patentable distinction over the prior art of record.
Regarding Claims 7 and 8
Pharr teaches all the limitations of claim 1 as shown above. Pharr further teaches the panel perimeter is rounded in shape, as one may find with the perimeter shape of a plate or bowl. While Pharr does not specifically teach the substrate being formed in the shape of a plate or a bowl, the panel of Pharr is more than capable of having the substrate be formed in the shape of a plate (i.e. a flat circle) or a bowl and would still work in its intended manner. As such, the claim of the substrate being formed in the shape of a plate or bowl does not provide patentable distinction over the prior art of record.
Regarding Claim 12
Pharr teaches all the limitations of claim 11 as shown above. Pharr does not specifically teach the panel thickness is between 0.050 inches and 0.125 inches. It would have been an obvious matter of design choice to a person of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of filing, to have a panel thickness between 0.050 inches and 0.125 inches, since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the size of a component. A change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. See MPEP 2144.04(IV)(A). Further, Applicant has not disclosed that the panel thickness being between 0.050 inches and 0.125 inches provides an advantage, is used for a particular purpose or solves a stated problem. As such, the claim of the panel thickness is between 0.050 inches and 0.125 inches does not provide patentable distinction over the prior art of record.
Regarding Claim 13
Pharr teaches all the limitations of claim 11 as shown above. Pharr further appears to teach, but does not specifically state the overall panel shape comprises a circular shape. It would have been an obvious matter of design choice to a person of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of filing, to have the overall panel shape comprise a circular shape, since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the size of a component. A change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. See MPEP 2144.04(IV)(A). Further, Applicant has not disclosed that the overall panel shape comprising a circular shape provides an advantage, is used for a particular purpose or solves a stated problem. As such, the claim of the overall panel shape comprising a circular shape does not provide patentable distinction over the prior art of record.
Regarding Claim 14
Pharr teaches all the limitations of claim 11 as shown above. Pharr further teaches a rim (14) coincident with the panel perimeter. Pharr teaches the rim is used as a barrier to contain messes (Paragraph [0036]). However, Pharr does not teach a rim surface configured to engage the substrate.
It would have been an obvious matter of design choice to a person of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of filing, to have a second rim extending downward such that a rim surface engages the substrate, since it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. See MPEP 2144.04(VI)(B). Such a rim would further be able to provide as an additional barrier that keeps any potential mess from getting underneath the panel. Further, Applicant has not disclosed that a rim surface configured to engage the substrate provides an advantage, is used for a particular purpose or solves a stated problem. As such, the claim of a rim surface configured to engage the substrate does not provide patentable distinction over the prior art of record.
Regarding Claim 15
Modified Pharr teaches all the limitations of claim 14 as shown above. Pharr further teaches each rib of the plurality of ribs comprises a rib height; and the (lower) rim comprises a rim height. Pharr does not specifically teach the rim height being equal to the rib height; and the rim height being between 0.050 inches and 0.125 inches. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of filing, to have the rim height be equal to the rib height in order to ensure that the rim provided a complete barrier to the space under the second surface and keep the area with the plurality of ribs isolated. It would have further been an obvious matter of design choice to a person of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of filing, to have the rim height being between 0.050 inches and 0.125 inches, since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the size of a component. A change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. See MPEP 2144.04(IV)(A). Further, Applicant has not disclosed that the rim height being between 0.050 inches and 0.125 inches provides an advantage, is used for a particular purpose or solves a stated problem. As such, the claim of the rim comprises a rim height equal to the rib height; and the rim height is between 0.050 inches and 0.125 inches does not provide patentable distinction over the prior art of record.
Regarding Claims 16 and 17
Pharr teaches all the limitations of claim 11 as shown above. Pharr further teaches each of the ribs has a rib width and a rib height. Pharr does not specifically teach each rib of the plurality of ribs comprises a rib width between 0.050 inches and 0.125 inches, and a rib height between 0.050 inches and 0.125 inches. It would have been an obvious matter of design choice to a person of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of filing, to have each rib of the plurality of ribs comprise a rib width between 0.050 inches and 0.125 inches, and a rib height between 0.050 inches and 0.125 inches, since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the size of a component. A change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. See MPEP 2144.04(IV)(A). Further, Applicant has not disclosed that having each rib of the plurality of ribs comprise a rib width between 0.050 inches and 0.125 inches, and a rib height between 0.050 inches and 0.125 inches, is used for a particular purpose or solves a stated problem. As such, the claim of having each rib of the plurality of ribs comprise a rib width between 0.050 inches and 0.125 inches, and a rib height between 0.050 inches and 0.125 inches does not provide patentable distinction over the prior art of record.
Regarding Claim 18
Pharr teaches all the limitations of claim 11 as shown above. Pharr does not specifically teach the plurality of ribs comprises between 5 and 10 individual ribs. It would have been an obvious matter of design choice to a person of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of filing, to have between 5 and 10 individual ribs, since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. See MPEP 2144.04(VI)(C). Further, Applicant has not disclosed that having between 5 and 10 individual ribs provides an advantage, is used for a particular purpose or solves a stated problem. As such, the claim of having between 5 and 10 individual ribs does not provide patentable distinction over the prior art of record.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 and 11 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Further pertinent prior art includes but is not limited to that which is listed in the attached Notice of References Cited.
/JENNIFER CASTRIOTTA/Examiner, Art Unit 3733
/NATHAN J JENNESS/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3733 15 September 2026