DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to application 18/922,299 filed 10/21/2024.
Claims 1-20 presented for examination.
Double Patenting Analysis
Current application 18/922,299 is a continuation of U.S Patent 12,126,847. It is determined that a double patenting rejection is not required because the claims of the current application are patentably distinct from the claims of the parent application. The parent claims are directed to determining and communicating a global frame rate based on frame-rate parameters received from multiple animation sources, without requiring any change to an already rendered or displayed animation. In contrast, the current claims require dynamically switching a frame rate for animated content to a different frame rate at a scheduled transition timing based on a newly determined global frame rate, including timing-controlled transitions aligned with system timing signals (e.g., VSYNC or timestamps) and subsequently rendering at even quanta of the new global frame rate. Because the parent claims can be fully practiced without performing any scheduled frame-rate switching or runtime transition control, and because the current claims cannot be practiced without those additional operational steps, the claims are not identical in scope and are not merely obvious variants of one another. Accordingly, neither statutory double patenting nor obviousness-type double patenting applies, as the current claims recite a distinct invention directed to runtime frame-rate transition control rather than frame-rate determination alone.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu et al., Pat No US 9,589,540 (hereafter Wu) and further in view of Wood et al., Pat No US 10,325,573 (hereafter Wood).
Regarding Claim 1, Wu discloses a method comprising:
providing, from a first animation source and to a system process, first frame rate parameters corresponding to a first animated content generated by the first animation source, the first frame rate parameters including at least one frame rate parameter different from a first global frame rate previously received by the first animation source [col.3, lines 19-23: Discloses a first animation source; and col.5, lines 18-21: Discloses each of the stages (a system process) of playback streams 300, 350 (e.g., decoder, deinterlacer, decoded video data, deinterlaced video data) can provide information 312, 362 about the video frame rate; and col.5, lines 28-30: Discloses the compositor 320 receives the information (frame rate parameters) about the video frame rate 312, 362 from each playback stream. Thus, animation/video sources provide frame rate information to a compositor. These parameters originate from the animation sources and may change over time, satisfying provision of frame rate parameters different from a previously selected global rate.];
receiving, from the system process, a second global frame rate based on the first frame rate parameters and second frame rate parameters corresponding to a second animated content provided by a second animation source, wherein the second global frame rate is different from the first global frame rate [col.5, lines 30-33: Discloses the compositor 320 combines the information about the video frame rates (first and second frame rate parameters) to select a refresh rate 324 that is appropriate for both playback streams when composited; and col.3, lines 8-11: Discloses selecting the refresh rate can include selecting the refresh rate according to a least common multiple of both the first video frame rate and the second video frame rate. Therefore, deriving a single global refresh/frame rate based on frame rate parameters from two different animation sources (first and second content), and dynamically updating the rate during playback.]; and
Wu does not explicitly disclose switching a first frame rate for the first animation content to a second frame rate compatible with the second global frame rate at a scheduled transition timing (emphasis added to distinguish the elements not taught by Wu). However, in analogous art, Wood discloses performing refresh rate changes at controlled, timing-aware transition points using stored timing data, corresponding to switching frame rates at a scheduled transition timing. The operating system computes timing data to allow a smooth transition from the custom mode back to the standard mode [FIG.5, col.4, lines 46-50, col.6, lines 35-59]. And the refresh rate is changed when a buffered frame of the display data is consumed [col.6, lines 66-67, col.7, lines 1-4]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify Wu with this feature, as taught by Wood in order to yield predictable result such as stable and visually smooth runtime frame-rate transitions when a new global frame rate is selected [Wood: col.4, lines 46-49].
Regarding Claim 2, the combined teachings of Wu and Wood discloses the method of claim 1, and Wood further discloses further comprising:
receiving, with the second global frame rate, a time stamp indicating the scheduled transition timing when the switching is to occur [col.4, lines 46-49: Discloses having the timing data for the standard mode available allow a smooth transition from the custom mode back to the standard mode to occur.; and col.6, lines 54-63: Discloses use a custom refresh rate, the application begins sending 508 frames of data flagged to be played back at the custom refresh rate. As such frames are buffered, the operating system computes 510 timing data for each buffered frame for displaying the frame in the standard mode. Timing data for the custom mode can 60 be provided by the application or retrieved by the operating system or otherwise made available to the operating system. Timing data for both the standard mode and custom mode are stored; and col.6, lines 66-67, col.7, lines 1-2: Discloses the refresh rate is changed 512 by the operating system when a buffered frame, flagged for use in. the custom mode, is consumed by the operating system for display. Thus, Wood teaches receiving and using timing data (e.g., frame timing / buffer consumption timing) associated with refresh-rate changes, corresponding to receiving a time stamp indicating when switching is to occur.]. This claim is rejected on the same grounds as claim 1.
Regarding Claim 3, the combined teachings of Wu and Wood discloses the method of claim 1, and Wood further discloses wherein the scheduled transition timing of switching corresponds to a VSYNC signal [col.6, lines 66-67, col.7, lines 1-2: Discloses the refresh rate is changed 512 by the operating system when a buffered frame, flagged for use in. the custom mode, is consumed by the operating system for display. Changing refresh rates at frame-boundary consumption corresponds to vertical synchronization (VSYNC), which is the standard signal used to align display refresh operations.]. This claim is rejected on the same grounds as claim 1.
Regarding Claim 4, the combined teachings of Wu and Wood discloses the method of claim 1, and Wu further discloses wherein the first frame rate parameters include at least one frame rate parameter different from second frame rate parameters previously provided by the first animation source to the system process [claim 6: Discloses determining the first video frame rate and selecting the refresh rate are repeated during playback of the sequence of images to adapt the refresh rate to the first video frame rate. Repeated provision of frame-rate parameters over time implying that later-provided parameters differ from previously provided parameters,].
Regarding Claim 5, the combined teachings of Wu and Wood discloses the method of claim 1, and Wu further discloses wherein, after receiving the second global frame rate and prior to switching the first frame rate for the first animation content, the second animation source provides updated second frame rate parameters to the system process, the method further comprising:
receiving a third global frame rate different from the second global frame rate, the third global frame rate based on the first frame rate parameters and the updated second frame rate parameters, the third global frame rate replacing the second global frame rate [col.6, line 28: Discloses video frame rates can vary over time; and claim 6: Discloses determining the first video frame rate and selecting the refresh rate are repeated during playback of the sequence of images to adapt the refresh rate to the first video frame rate. Updated frame-rate parameters may be received before a prior refresh rate is applied, and that a newly selected global refresh rate can replace a previously selected one.].
Regarding Claim 6, the combined teachings of Wu and Wood discloses the method of claim 1, and Wu further discloses wherein the second global frame rate corresponds to a frame rate compatible with the first frame rate parameters and the second frame rate parameters [col.5, lines 30-33: Discloses the compositor 320 combines the information about the video frame rates to select a refresh rate 324 that is appropriate for both playback streams when composited. Thus, discloses selecting a refresh rate compatible with frame-rate parameters from animation sources.].
Regarding Claim 7, the combined teachings of Wu and Wood discloses the method of claim 1, and Wu further discloses wherein the first frame rate parameters include to two or more of a minimum frame rate, a maximum frame rate, or a preferred frame rate [col.1, lines 60-62: Discloses the compositor can receive information describing video frame rates from a source file, bit stream, metadata accompanying a source file or bit stream. Thus, receiving multiple forms of frame-rate metadata, which under BRI encompasses minimum, maximum, and preferred frame-rate parameters.].
Regarding Claim 8, the combined teachings of Wu and Wood discloses the method of claim 1, and Wu further discloses further comprising:
after switching the first frame rate for the first animation content, providing the first animated content at an even-quanta of the second global frame rate to a rendering service [claim 5: Discloses refresh rate is not an integer multiple of the first video frame rate, one or more images of the sequence of images is repeated of the sequence of images by the compositor in the output display data during playback. Thus, providing rendered content synchronized to integer multiples of the selected global refresh rate, corresponding to even-quanta rendering.].
Regarding Claim 9, the combined teachings of Wu and Wood discloses the method of claim 1, and Wu further discloses wherein the first frame rate parameters include a minimum frame rate and a maximum frame rate, wherein the second frame rate comprises a frame rate which is interposed between the minimum frame rate and the maximum frame rate, and which is closest to the second global frame rate [col.3, lines 8-11: Discloses selecting the refresh rate can include selecting the refresh rate according to a least common multiple of both the first video frame rate and the second video frame rate; and FIG.5 item 518, col.6, lines 51-53, claim 1: Discloses selecting a lowest available refresh rate higher than the target rate as the refresh rate. Selecting a refresh rate within available constraints that best matches the global target rate corresponds to choosing a rate interposed between minimum and maximum values.].
Regarding Claim 10, the combined teachings of Wu and Wood discloses the method of claim 1, and Wu further discloses wherein the first animated content corresponds to a scrolling animation [col.3, line 22: Discloses animation and touch-input-related graphics as playback streams whose frame-rate parameters are determined based on user input, which encompasses scrolling animation.], and wherein the first animation source is configured to determine the first frame rate parameters by:
receiving a user scrolling input [col.3, line 22: Discloses the first playback stream can be used to select the refresh rate.]; and
applying the user scrolling input to a model to obtain the first frame rate parameters [col.3, lines 19-23: Discloses if a first playback stream includes one of graphics animation, display related to touch input, and a video game, and the video frame rate of this first playback stream can be used to select the refresh rate.].
Regarding Claim 11, Wu discloses an electronic device [col.7, lines 1-10: Discloses electronic device.] comprising:
a memory [FIG.6, col.7, line 25: Discloses memory]; and
one or more processors [FIG.6, col.7, line 24: Discloses processors] configured to:
provide, from a first animation source and to a system process, first frame rate parameters corresponding to a first animated content generated by the first animation source, the first frame rate parameters including at least one frame rate parameter different from a first global frame rate previously received by the first animation source [col.3, lines 19-23: Discloses a first animation source; and col.5, lines 18-21: Discloses each of the stages (a system process) of playback streams 300, 350 (e.g., decoder, deinterlacer, decoded video data, deinterlaced video data) can provide information 312, 362 about the video frame rate; and col.5, lines 28-30: Discloses the compositor 320 receives the information about the video frame rate 312, 362 from each playback stream; and claim 6: Discloses determining the first video frame rate and selecting the refresh rate are repeated during playback of the sequence of images to adapt the refresh rate to the first video frame rate. Thus, animation/video sources (first and second animated content) provide frame rate parameters to a system process (compositor). Because refresh-rate selection is repeated during playback, newly provided frame rate parameters may differ from a previously selected global frame rate.];
receive, from the system process, a second global frame rate based on the first frame rate parameters and second frame rate parameters corresponding to a second animated content provided by a second animation source, wherein the second global frame rate is different from the first global frame rate [col.5, lines 30-33: Discloses the compositor 320 combines the information about the video frame rates (first and second frame rate parameters) to select a refresh rate 324 that is appropriate for both playback streams when composited; and col.3, lines 8-11: Discloses selecting the refresh rate can include selecting the refresh rate according to a least common multiple of both the first video frame rate and the second video frame rate. Therefore, deriving a single global refresh/frame rate based on frame rate parameters from two different animation sources (first and second content), and dynamically updating the rate during playback.]; and
Wu does not explicitly disclose switch a first frame rate for the first animation content to a second frame rate compatible with the second global frame rate at a scheduled transition timing (emphasis added to distinguish the elements not taught by Wu). However, in analogous art, Wood discloses performing refresh rate changes at controlled, timing-aware transition points using stored timing data, corresponding to switching frame rates at a scheduled transition timing. The operating system computes timing data to allow a smooth transition from the custom mode back to the standard mode [FIG.5, col.4, lines 46-50, col.6, lines 35-59]. And the refresh rate is changed when a buffered frame of the display data is consumed [col.6, lines 66-67, col.7, lines 1-4]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify Wu with this feature, as taught by Wood in order to yield predictable result such as stable and visually smooth runtime frame-rate transitions when a new global frame rate is selected [Wood: col.4, lines 46-49].
Regarding Claim 12, the combined teachings of Wu and Wood discloses the electronic device of claim 11, and Wood further discloses wherein the one or more processors are further configured to:
receive, with the second global frame rate, a time stamp indicating the scheduled transition timing when the switching is to occur [col.4, lines 46-49: Discloses having the timing data for the standard mode available allow a smooth transition from the custom mode back to the standard mode to occur.; and col.6, lines 54-63: Discloses use a custom refresh rate, the application begins sending 508 frames of data flagged to be played back at the custom refresh rate. As such frames are buffered, the operating system computes 510 timing data for each buffered frame for displaying the frame in the standard mode. Timing data for the custom mode can 60 be provided by the application or retrieved by the operating system or otherwise made available to the operating system. Timing data for both the standard mode and custom mode are stored; and col.6, lines 66-67, col.7, lines 1-2: Discloses the refresh rate is changed 512 by the operating system when a buffered frame, flagged for use in. the custom mode, is consumed by the operating system for display. Thus, Wood teaches receiving and using timing data (e.g., frame timing / buffer consumption timing) associated with refresh-rate changes, corresponding to receiving a time stamp indicating when switching is to occur.]. This claim is rejected on the same grounds as claim 11.
Regarding Claim 13, the combined teachings of Wu and Wood discloses the electronic device of claim 11, and Wood further discloses wherein the scheduled transition timing of switching corresponds to a VSYNC signal [col.6, lines 66-67, col.7, lines 1-2: Discloses the refresh rate is changed 512 by the operating system when a buffered frame, flagged for use in. the custom mode, is consumed by the operating system for display. Changing refresh rates at frame-boundary consumption corresponds to vertical synchronization (VSYNC), which is the standard signal used to align display refresh operations.]. This claim is rejected on the same grounds as claim 11.
Regarding Claim 14, the combined teachings of Wu and Wood discloses the electronic device of claim 11, and Wu further discloses wherein, after receiving the second global frame rate and prior to switching the first frame rate for the first animation content, the second animation source provides updated second frame rate parameters to the system process, and wherein the one or more processors are further configured to:
receive a third global frame rate different from the second global frame rate, the third global frame rate based on the first frame rate parameters and the updated second frame rate parameters, the third global frame rate replacing the second global frame rate [col.6, line 28: Discloses video frame rates can vary over time; and claim 6: Discloses determining the first video frame rate and selecting the refresh rate are repeated during playback of the sequence of images to adapt the refresh rate to the first video frame rate. Updated frame-rate parameters may be received before a prior refresh rate is applied, and that a newly selected global refresh rate can replace a previously selected one.].
Regarding Claim 15, the combined teachings of Wu and Wood discloses the electronic device of claim 11, and Wu further discloses wherein the first frame rate parameters include to two or more of a minimum frame rate, a maximum frame rate, or a preferred frame rate [col.1, lines 60-62: Discloses the compositor can receive information describing video frame rates from a source file, bit stream, metadata accompanying a source file or bit stream. Thus, receiving multiple forms of frame-rate metadata, which under BRI encompasses minimum, maximum, and preferred frame-rate parameters.].
Regarding Claim 16, the combined teachings of Wu and Wood discloses the electronic device of claim 11, and Wu further discloses further comprising:
after switching the first frame rate for the first animation content to the second frame rate, providing the first animated content at an even-quanta of the second global frame rate to a rendering service [claim 5: Discloses refresh rate is not an integer multiple of the first video frame rate, one or more images of the sequence of images is repeated of the sequence of images by the compositor in the output display data during playback. Thus, providing rendered content synchronized to integer multiples of the selected global refresh rate, corresponding to even-quanta rendering.].
Regarding Claim 17, the combined teachings of Wu and Wood discloses the electronic device of claim 11, and Wu further discloses wherein the first frame rate parameters include a minimum frame rate and a maximum frame rate, wherein the second frame rate comprises a frame rate which is interposed between the minimum frame rate and the maximum frame rate, and which is closest to the second global frame rate[ col.3, lines 8-11: Discloses selecting the refresh rate can include selecting the refresh rate according to a least common multiple of both the first video frame rate and the second video frame rate; and FIG.5 item 518, col.6, lines 51-53, claim 1: Discloses selecting a lowest available refresh rate higher than the target rate as the refresh rate. Selecting a refresh rate within available constraints that best matches the global target rate corresponds to choosing a rate interposed between minimum and maximum values.].
Regarding Claim 18, the combined teachings of Wu and Wood discloses the electronic device of claim 11, and Wu further discloses wherein the first animated content corresponds to a scrolling animation [col.3, line 22: Discloses animation and touch-input-related graphics as playback streams whose frame-rate parameters are determined based on user input, which encompasses scrolling animation.], and wherein the one or more processors are further configured to determine the first frame rate parameters by:
receiving a user scrolling input [col.3, line 22: Discloses the first playback stream can be used to select the refresh rate.]; and
applying the user scrolling input to a model to obtain the first frame rate parameters [col.3, lines 19-23: Discloses if a first playback stream includes one of graphics animation, display related to touch input, and a video game, and the video frame rate of this first playback stream can be used to select the refresh rate.].
Regarding Claim 19, Wu discloses a non-transitory machine-readable medium storing instructions which, when executed by one or more processors [col.2, lines 22-26: Discloses computer storage medium, with computer program instructions
stored on the computer storage medium which, when processed by a processing device, instruct the processing device to perform a process.], cause the one or more processors to perform operations including:
providing, from a first animation source and to a system process, first frame rate parameters corresponding to a first animated content generated by the first animation source, the first frame rate parameters including at least one frame rate parameter different from a first global frame rate previously received by the first animation source [col.3, lines 19-23: Discloses a first animation source; and col.5, lines 18-21: Discloses each of the stages (a system process) of playback streams 300, 350 (e.g., decoder, deinterlacer, decoded video data, deinterlaced video data) can provide information 312, 362 about the video frame rate; and col.5, lines 28-30: Discloses the compositor 320 receives the information about the video frame rate 312, 362 from each playback stream; and claim 6: Discloses determining the first video frame rate and selecting the refresh rate are repeated during playback of the sequence of images to adapt the refresh rate to the first video frame rate. Thus, animation/video sources (first and second animated content) provide frame rate parameters to a system process (compositor). Because refresh-rate selection is repeated during playback, newly provided frame rate parameters may differ from a previously selected global frame rate.];
receiving, from the system process, a second global frame rate based on the first frame rate parameters and second frame rate parameters corresponding to a second animated content provided by a second animation source, wherein the second global frame rate is different from the first global frame rate [col.5, lines 30-33: Discloses the compositor 320 combines the information about the video frame rates (first and second frame rate parameters) to select a refresh rate 324 that is appropriate for both playback streams when composited; and col.3, lines 8-11: Discloses selecting the refresh rate can include selecting the refresh rate according to a least common multiple of both the first video frame rate and the second video frame rate. Therefore, deriving a single global refresh/frame rate based on frame rate parameters from two different animation sources (first and second content), and dynamically updating the rate during playback.]; and
Wu does not explicitly disclose switching a first frame rate for the first animation content to a second frame rate compatible with the second global frame rate at a scheduled transition timing (emphasis added to distinguish the elements not taught by Wu). However, in analogous art, Wood discloses performing refresh rate changes at controlled, timing-aware transition points using stored timing data, corresponding to switching frame rates at a scheduled transition timing. The operating system computes timing data to allow a smooth transition from the custom mode back to the standard mode [FIG.5, col.4, lines 46-50, col.6, lines 35-59]. And the refresh rate is changed when a buffered frame of the display data is consumed [col.6, lines 66-67, col.7, lines 1-4]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify Wu with this feature, as taught by Wood in order to yield predictable result such as stable and visually smooth runtime frame-rate transitions when a new global frame rate is selected [Wood: col.4, lines 46-49].
Regarding Claim 20, the combined teachings of Wu and Wood discloses the non-transitory machine-readable medium of claim 19, and further discloses the operations further including:
after switching the first frame rate for the first animation content to the second frame rate, providing the first animated content at an even-quanta of the second global frame rate to a rendering service, wherein the scheduled transition timing of switching corresponds to a VSYNC signal or a time stamp provided by the system process [Wu – col.2, lines 63-65: Discloses if the refresh rate is not an integer multiple of the rate of display, one or more images can be repeated during playback; and col.3, lines 8-11: Discloses selecting the refresh rate can include selecting the refresh rate according to a least common multiple of both the first video frame rate and the second video frame rate; and Wood - FIG.5, col.4, lines 46-50, col.6, lines 35-59: Discloses the operating system computes timing data to allow a smooth transition from the custom mode back to the standard mode; and col.6, lines 66-67, col.7, lines 1-4: Discloses the refresh rate is changed when a buffered frame of the display data is consumed. Therefore, Wu discloses providing animated content synchronized to integer multiples (even quanta) of a global refresh rate. Wood teaches performing refresh-rate switching at timing-controlled transition points corresponding to VSYNC signals or system-provided timing data.]. This claim is rejected on the same grounds as claim 19.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Mantor et al., (US 8,854,381) – Discloses a plurality of virtual engines configured to receive, from an operating system (OS), a plurality of tasks substantially in parallel with each other and includes a scheduling module that schedules the plurality of tasks [col.3, lines 3-11].
/ADIL OCAK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2426