DETAILED ACTION
This is the first office action for application number 18/922,315, Mobile Phone Holder, filed on October 21, 2024.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the wave structure, initially cited in claim 3, must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, and 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by U.S. Patent No. 8,950,715 to Chiu et al., hereinafter, Chiu. Chiu discloses a mobile phone holder (Fig. 1), comprising: a support member (50), comprising a through hole (51); a rotating assembly (30, 40, & 60), comprising a rotating disc (40) and a base (30), wherein the rotating disc is rotatably disposed on the base by taking an axis of the base as a rotation center, and one side of the base away from the rotating disc is configured to be bonded to a mobile phone; the support member is rotatably connected to the rotating disc, and the rotating assembly is capable of passing through the through hole (Figs. 3 & 9); and a suction pad (10), fixed on one side of the rotating disc away from the base; wherein when the rotating disc rotates with the axis of the base as the rotation center (Col. 3, lines 27-39), the rotating disc is capable of self-locking at a rotation stop position; and wherein the support member comprises an opening (Fig. 2), the rotating disc is provided with a connecting portion (46), and the connecting portion is located at the opening; the rotating assembly further comprises a positioning shaft (90), and the positioning shaft is passed through the connecting portion and two ends of the positioning shaft are located in two ends (52) of the support member, respectively, to connect the support member with the connecting portion.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 8, 9, and 14-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chiu in view of U.S. Patent No. 7,878,467 to Chen et al., hereinafter, Chen. Chiu discloses the claimed invention except for the limitation of wherein an adhesive sticker is on the one side of the base away from the rotating disc, and the adhesive sticker is used for bonding the mobile phone.
Chen teaches a suction cup structure (1) having a suction cup pad (10), wherein an adhesive sticker (20) is on the one side of pad opposite another side, and the adhesive sticker is used for bonding to an object.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the suction pad in Chiu to have includes an adhesive sticker as taught by Chen for the purpose of enhancing the attachment of the suction pad to a smooth or rough surface to ensure that the holder is securely attached to the object being supported.
Claim(s) 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chiu in view of U.S. Patent No. 3,101,567 to Stiller. Chiu further discloses that the suction pad (10) has a base plate. Chiu discloses the claimed invention except for the limitation of wherein the suction pad comprises a base plate and a plurality of suction cups, and the plurality of suction cups are arranged on the base plate at equal intervals.
Stiller teaches a suction cup holding device (10) having a base plate (12) and a plurality of suction cups (14 or 15), and the plurality of suction cups are arranged on the base plate at equal intervals.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the suction plate in Chiu to have included the suction plate having a plurality of suction cups as taught by Stiller for the purpose of increasing the adhering properties of the suction pad to ensure the holding power between the object and the holder.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-6,10-13, and 17-19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: the limitations of the rotating disc being rotatably sleeved outside the base cited in dependent claims 3 and 6, in combination with the other elements recited in the claims, respectively and including the limitations of the base claims and intervening claims, is not found in the prior art.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. U.S. Patent No. 12,471,722 to Jakobuco is directed to a suction cup holder, and relates to the technical field of mobile phone holders. U.S. Patent No. 12,031,669 to Whitten is directed to a mounting assembly that can couple to a case for handheld electronic devices, the assembly including a ring that can be rotated between a deployed configuration and a stowed configuration. U.S. Patent No. 11,784,675 to Zhang is directed to a mobile device holder including an attachment assembly and a support assembly. U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2018/0359346 to Chen is directed to a rotary ring support attachable to a flat-panel electronic device. French Publication No. 3049835 is directed to a system for attaching an accessory for a portable electronic device.
/ANITA M KING/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3632 January 5, 2026