DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(4) because reference character “155” has been used to designate both the interior space and the retractable leash, and reference character “185” has been used to designate both one or more buttons and safety lock mechanism.
Claim Objections
Claims 8-10 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claims 8-10 recite “pool member” and should be amended to recite “spool member”
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4, 13-15, and 17-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Hill (US 2020/0060239 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Hill discloses a pet leash comprising:
a housing (housing 101, fig. 1) comprising sidewalls, a bottom, and a top that define an interior space (figs. 1 & 2A), the housing having a graspable member adapted to be grasped by a handler (handle portion 101b);
a lead (main line 160, fig. 2A) comprising a length of material extending from a pet connecting member to a housing end of the lead (Para. [0040], “[e]nd 160e can be coupled to a connector 165, which can, in turn, be coupled to an extension line 166 (e.g., for connecting to a collar, harness, or other restraining system for a subject, e.g., an animal, such as a pet or the like) via a link 167.”; as shown in fig. 1), the housing end of the lead being received within the interior space of the housing (as shown in fig. 2A);
a lead retraction mechanism (wind-up spool 140, fig. 2A) associated with the housing and adapted to allow the lead to be retracted into the housing or extended from the housing (Para. [0040], “[a] main line 160 can have an end 160e, and can be coiled about wind-up spool 140”; as shown in fig. 2A & 2B);
a retraction control mechanism (brake mechanism 170 having a manually actuated brake switch 172, fig. 2A) adapted to control the lead retraction mechanism to allow a handler to selectively control the retraction into and extension from the housing of the lead to selectively adjust the length of the lead extending from the housing (Para. [0041], “Retractable leash 100 can also include an optional brake mechanism 170 having a manually actuated brake switch 172 and brake leg 174. When actuated, brake leg 174 can provide frictional forces upon contact thereof with portions of wind-up spool 140 (e.g., with side surfaces of wind-up spool 140, such as side surface 144), which can prevent retraction and extension of main line 160.”); and
a safety locking mechanism (switch 254, fig. 4A) associated with the housing (fig. 4A) and adapted to be in an unactuated position where the lead retraction mechanism operates under the control of the retraction control mechanism (Para. [0054], “switch 254 is shown in its unactuated state and main line 260 is fully coiled about spool 240. In this embodiment, spring 254s is in a relaxed state and applies force to pin 254p, retaining pin 254p at an upper portion of switch 254. In this position, no portion of pin 254p is in contact with channel 252”; as shown in fig. 4A) and in an actuated position where the safety locking mechanism prevents extension of the lead from the housing (Para. [0054], “when switch 254 is actuated (e.g., via user operation of manual mechanism, 254m), pin 254p can compresses spring 254s and enters entry area 252c at channel end 254b of channel 252…[a]s main line 260 continues to extend, pin 254p can continue to traverse channel 252 until it reaches channel end 252a. At this point (FIGS. 7a and 7b), pin 254p can fully compress spring 254s, traversal of pin 254p is halted, and further extension of main line 260 is restricted”; as shown in Fig. 7A, when the pin 254p reaches the end of the channel 252a then extension of the main line 260 is restricted).
Regarding claim 2, Hill discloses the invention in claim 1, and further discloses wherein the safety locking mechanism comprises an actuator (Para. [0052], “switch 254 can include a manual mechanism 254m”, fig. 3C) moveable relative to the housing to cause the safety locking mechanism to move from the unactuated position to the actuated position (Para. [0052], “switch 254 can be disposed at a slot 203 such that movement of manual mechanism 254m, disposed on an external side of housing 201, can cause pin 254p, disposed on an internal side of housing 201, to traverse guide path 254g.”. Examiner notes, movement of the manual mechanism 254m causes the switch to move from the unactuated position to the actuated position; see unactuated position in fig. 4A and actuated position in fig. 7A).
Regarding claim 3, Hill discloses the invention in claim 1, and further discloses wherein the safety locking mechanism comprises an actuator (manual mechanism 254m, fig. 3C) moveable relative to the housing to cause the safety locking mechanism to move from the unactuated position (Para. [0054], as shown in fig. 4A, switch 254 is shown in its unactuated state. In this position, no portion of pin 254p is in contact with channel 252) to the actuated position (Para. [0054], as shown in fig. 7A when the switch 254 is actuated [e.g., via user operation of manual mechanism, 254m], pin 254p can compress spring 254s and enters entry area 252c at channel end 254b of channel 252), and from the actuated position to the unactuated position (Para. [0052], “switch 254 can be disposed at a slot 203 such that movement of manual mechanism 254m, disposed on an external side of housing 201, can cause pin 254p, disposed on an internal side of housing 201, to traverse guide path 254g”. Examiner notes, operation of the manual mechanism 254m causes the traversal of pin 254p in the guide path 254g to move from an actuated position to the unactuated position).
Regarding claim 4, Hill discloses the invention in claim 1, and further discloses wherein the safety locking mechanism comprises an actuator (manual mechanism 254m, fig. 3C) moveable relative to the housing to cause the safety locking mechanism to move from the unactuated position (Para. [0054], as shown in fig. 4A, switch 254 is shown in its unactuated state. In this position, no portion of pin 254p is in contact with channel 252) to the actuated position (Para. [0054], as shown in fig. 7A when the switch 254 is actuated [e.g., via user operation of manual mechanism, 254m], pin 254p can compress spring 254s and enters entry area 252c at channel end 254b of channel 252), and wherein the actuator is moveable in a direction orthogonal to a direction of extension of the lead out of the housing (as shown in fig. 3A, the switch 254 moves up and down via the manual mechanism 254m which is in a direction orthogonal to a direction of extension of the lead out of the housing. See annotated fig. 1 below).
Annotated fig. 1: annotated image of Hill’s fig. 3A
Regarding claim 13, Hill discloses the invention in claim 1, and further discloses wherein the safety locking mechanism comprises an actuator (manual mechanism 254m, fig. 3C) manually moveable relative to the housing to cause the safety locking mechanism to move from the unactuated position (Para. [0054], as shown in fig. 4A, switch 254 is shown in its unactuated state. In this position, no portion of pin 254p is in contact with channel 252) to the actuated position (Para. [0054], as shown in fig. 7A when the switch 254 is actuated [e.g., via user operation of manual mechanism, 254m], pin 254p can compress spring 254s and enters entry area 252c at channel end 254b of channel 252).
Regarding claim 14, Hill discloses a pet leash comprising:
a housing (housing 101, fig. 1) comprising sidewalls, a bottom, and a top that define an interior space (figs. 1 & 2A), the housing having a graspable member adapted to be grasped by a handler (handle portion 101b);
a lead (main line 160, fig. 2A) comprising a length of material extending from a pet connecting member to a housing end of the lead (Para. [0040], “[e]nd 160e can be coupled to a connector 165, which can, in turn, be coupled to an extension line 166 (e.g., for connecting to a collar, harness, or other restraining system for a subject, e.g., an animal, such as a pet or the like) via a link 167.”; as shown in fig. 1), the housing end of the lead being received within the interior space of the housing (as shown in fig. 2A);
a lead retraction mechanism (wind-up spool 140, fig. 2A) associated with the housing and adapted to allow the lead to be retracted into the housing or extended from the housing (Para. [0040], “[a] main line 160 can have an end 160e, and can be coiled about wind-up spool 140”; as shown in fig. 2A & 2B), the lead retraction mechanism comprising a spooling mechanism (wind-up spool 140, fig. 2A), the spooling mechanism comprising:
a spool member (wind-up spool 140, fig. 2A) that is rotatable about a spool axis (Para. [0040], “a wind-up spool 140 can be mounted, via a center hole 142, to a column 105 protruding from the inner face of the second housing side”; as shown in fig. 2B), the spool member having a lead receiving channel adapted to receive the lead in a spooling manner (Para. [0051], “channel 252 can be defined in a side surface 250 of wind-up spool 240”; as shown in fig. 3F), and
a spring adapted to bias the rotating spool member in a rotational direction that retracts the lead into the housing (Para. [0040], “Retractable leash 100 can also include a spring or spring-like mechanism (not visible in the drawing figures) that provides a constant recoil force for retracting main line 160 whenever it is extended from wind-up spool 140.”), and
a safety locking mechanism (switch 254, fig. 4A) associated with the housing (fig. 4A) and adapted to be in an unactuated position where the lead can be extended from the housing (Para. [0054], “switch 254 is shown in its unactuated state and main line 260 is fully coiled about spool 240. In this embodiment, spring 254s is in a relaxed state and applies force to pin 254p, retaining pin 254p at an upper portion of switch 254. In this position, no portion of pin 254p is in contact with channel 252”; as shown in fig. 4A) and in an actuated position where the safety locking mechanism prevents of the lead from being extended from the housing (Para. [0054], “when switch 254 is actuated (e.g., via user operation of manual mechanism, 254m), pin 254p can compresses spring 254s and enters entry area 252c at channel end 254b of channel 252…[a]s main line 260 continues to extend, pin 254p can continue to traverse channel 252 until it reaches channel end 252a. At this point (FIGS. 7a and 7b), pin 254p can fully compress spring 254s, traversal of pin 254p is halted, and further extension of main line 260 is restricted”; as shown in Fig. 7A, when the pin 254p reaches the end of the channel 252a then extension of the main line 260 is restricted),
wherein the safety locking mechanism comprises an actuator (Para. [0052], “switch 254 can include a manual mechanism 254m”, fig. 3C) moveable relative to the housing in a direction parallel to the spool axis to cause the safety locking mechanism to move from the unactuated position to the actuated position (Para. [0052], “switch 254 can be disposed at a slot 203 such that movement of manual mechanism 254m, disposed on an external side of housing 201, can cause pin 254p, disposed on an internal side of housing 201, to traverse guide path 254g.”. Examiner notes, movement of the manual mechanism 254m causes the switch to move from the unactuated position to the actuated position; see unactuated position in fig. 4A and actuated position in fig. 7A).
Regarding claim 15, Hill discloses the invention in claim 14, and further discloses wherein the actuator (manual mechanism 254m, fig. 3C) comprises a stop member (pin 254p, fig. 3C) that engages the spool member in a manner that prevents the spool member from rotating when the safety locking mechanism is in the actuated position (as shown in fig. 7A, when the pin 254p engages the channel 252 of the spool 240, this prevents the spool member from rotating when the switch 254 is in the actuated position).
Regarding claim 17, Hill discloses the invention in claim 14, and further discloses wherein the pet leash further comprises a retraction control mechanism (brake mechanism 170 having a manually actuated brake switch 172, fig. 2A) adapted to control the lead retraction mechanism to allow a handler to selectively control the retraction into and extension from the housing of the lead to selectively adjust the length of the lead extending from the housing (Para. [0041], “Retractable leash 100 can also include an optional brake mechanism 170 having a manually actuated brake switch 172 and brake leg 174. When actuated, brake leg 174 can provide frictional forces upon contact thereof with portions of wind-up spool 140 (e.g., with side surfaces of wind-up spool 140, such as side surface 144), which can prevent retraction and extension of main line 160.”; as shown in fig. 2A), wherein the retraction control mechanism and the safety locking mechanism are independent from one another (as shown in fig. 4A, the brake mechanism 170 and the switch 254 are independent from one another).
Regarding claim 18, Hill discloses the invention in claim 14, and further discloses wherein the pet leash further comprises a retraction control mechanism (brake mechanism 170, fig. 2A) adapted to control the lead retraction mechanism to allow a handler to selectively control the retraction into and extension from the housing of the lead to selectively adjust the length of the lead extending from the housing (Para. [0041], “Retractable leash 100 can also include an optional brake mechanism 170 having a manually actuated brake switch 172 and brake leg 174. When actuated, brake leg 174 can provide frictional forces upon contact thereof with portions of wind-up spool 140 (e.g., with side surfaces of wind-up spool 140, such as side surface 144), which can prevent retraction and extension of main line 160”; as shown in fig. 2A), wherein the retraction control mechanism comprises a locking feature (brake mechanism 170 having a brake leg 174, fig. 2A) that prevents rotation of the spool member (see Para. [0041] above, when actuated, brake leg 174 can provide frictional forces upon contact of the wind-up spool 140, which can prevent retraction and extension of main line 160).
Regarding claim 19, Hill discloses a method of walking a pet on a leash, the method comprising:
providing a pet leash (retractable leash 100, fig. 1) comprising:
a housing (housing 101, fig. 1) comprising sidewalls, a bottom, and a top that define an interior space (figs. 1 & 2A), the housing having a graspable member adapted to be grasped by a handler (handle portion 101b);
a lead (main line 160, fig. 2A) comprising a length of material extending from a pet connecting member to a housing end of the lead (Para. [0040], “[e]nd 160e can be coupled to a connector 165, which can, in turn, be coupled to an extension line 166 (e.g., for connecting to a collar, harness, or other restraining system for a subject, e.g., an animal, such as a pet or the like) via a link 167.”; as shown in fig. 1), the housing end of the lead being received within the interior space of the housing (as shown in fig. 2A);
a lead retraction mechanism (wind-up spool 140, fig. 2A) associated with the housing and adapted to allow the lead to be retracted into the housing or extended from the housing (Para. [0040], “[a] main line 160 can have an end 160e, and can be coiled about wind-up spool 140”; as shown in fig. 2A & 2B);
a retraction control mechanism (manually actuated brake switch 172, fig. 2A) adapted to control the lead retraction mechanism to allow a handler to selectively control the retraction into and extension from the housing of the lead to selectively adjust the length of the lead extending from the housing (Para. [0041], “Retractable leash 100 can also include an optional brake mechanism 170 having a manually actuated brake switch 172 and brake leg 174. When actuated, brake leg 174 can provide frictional forces upon contact thereof with portions of wind-up spool 140 (e.g., with side surfaces of wind-up spool 140, such as side surface 144), which can prevent retraction and extension of main line 160.”); and
a safety locking mechanism (switch 254, fig. 4A) associated with the housing (fig. 4A) and adapted to be in an unactuated position where the lead retraction mechanism operates under the control of the retraction control mechanism (Para. [0054], “switch 254 is shown in its unactuated state and main line 260 is fully coiled about spool 240. In this embodiment, spring 254s is in a relaxed state and applies force to pin 254p, retaining pin 254p at an upper portion of switch 254. In this position, no portion of pin 254p is in contact with channel 252”; as shown in fig. 4A) and in an actuated position where the safety locking mechanism prevents extension of the lead from the housing (Para. [0054], “when switch 254 is actuated (e.g., via user operation of manual mechanism, 254m), pin 254p can compresses spring 254s and enters entry area 252c at channel end 254b of channel 252…[a]s main line 260 continues to extend, pin 254p can continue to traverse channel 252 until it reaches channel end 252a. At this point (FIGS. 7a and 7b), pin 254p can fully compress spring 254s, traversal of pin 254p is halted, and further extension of main line 260 is restricted”; as shown in Fig. 7A, when the pin 254p reaches the end of the channel 252a then extension of the main line 260 is restricted),
connecting the pet connecting member to a pet to be walked (Para. [0040], “[e]nd 160e can be coupled to a connector 165, which can, in turn, be coupled to an extension line 166 (e.g., for connecting to a collar, harness, or other restraining system for a subject, e.g., an animal, such as a pet or the like) via a link 167”);
grasping the graspable member of the housing (handle 101b, fig. 1);
operating the retraction control mechanism to select a length of lead to extend from the housing (Para. 0041], “Retractable leash 100 can also include an optional brake mechanism 170 having a manually actuated brake switch 172 and brake leg 174. When actuated, brake leg 174 can provide frictional forces upon contact thereof with portions of wind-up spool 140 (e.g., with side surfaces of wind-up spool 140, such as side surface 144), which can prevent retraction and extension of main line 160”); and
when desired, actuating the safety locking mechanism (switch 254, fig. 4A) to prevent further extension of the lead from the housing (Para. [0054], “when the pin 254p reaches the end of the channel 252a then extension of the main line 260 is restricted”. Examiner notes, the pin 254p moves within the guide path 254g via the user operating the manual mechanism 254m).
Regarding claim 20, Hill discloses a method according to claim 19, and further comprising when desired, unactuating the safety locking mechanism to allow extension of the lead from the housing (Para. [0054], “switch 254 is shown in its unactuated state and main line 260 is fully coiled about spool 240. In this embodiment, spring 254s is in a relaxed state and applies force to pin 254p, retaining pin 254p at an upper portion of switch 254. In this position, no portion of pin 254p is in contact with channel 252”; as shown in fig. 4A).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5-6, 8, and 10-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hill (US 2020/0060239 A1).
Regarding claim 5, Hill discloses a pet leash according to claim 1 wherein the lead retraction mechanism comprises a spooling mechanism (wind-up spool 140, fig. 2A), the spooling mechanism comprising:
a spool member (wind-up spool 140, fig. 2A) that is rotatable about a spool axis (Para. [0040], “a wind-up spool 140 can be mounted, via a center hole 142, to a column 105 protruding from the inner face of the second housing side”; as shown in fig. 2B), the spool member having a lead receiving channel adapted to receive the lead in a spooling manner (Para. [0051], “channel 252 can be defined in a side surface 250 of wind-up spool 240”; as shown in fig. 3F),
a spring adapted to bias the rotating spool member in a rotational direction that retracts the lead into the housing (Para. [0040], “Retractable leash 100 can also include a spring or spring-like mechanism (not visible in the drawing figures) that provides a constant recoil force for retracting main line 160 whenever it is extended from wind-up spool 140.”).
Hill does not appear to specifically disclose one or more radially extending projections near the
circumferential periphery of the rotatable spool member.
However, in an alternative embodiment, Hill discloses one or more radially extending projections near the circumferential periphery of the rotatable spool member (as shown in fig. 17A).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Hill such that the spool member had radially extending projections in order to provide additional reinforcement for the brake leg 174 to engage with, to prevent retraction and extension of the main line.
Regarding claim 6, Hill discloses the invention in claim 5, and further discloses wherein when the safety locking mechanism is in the actuated position (fig. 7A), the safety locking mechanism engages the spool member in a manner that prevents rotation of the spool member (Para. [0054], after main line 260 has extended from housing 201 by a certain amount. As main line 260 continues to extend, pin 254p can continue to traverse channel 252 until it reaches channel end 252a. At this point (FIGS. 7a and 7b), pin 254p can fully compress spring 254s, traversal of pin 254p is halted, and further extension of main line 260 is restricted”. As shown in fig. 7A).
Regarding claim 8, Hill discloses the invention in claim 5, and further discloses wherein the safety locking mechanism (switch 254, fig. 4A) comprises an actuator (manual mechanism 254m, fig. 3C) moveable relative to the housing to cause the safety locking mechanism to move from the unactuated position (Para. [0054], as shown in fig. 4A, switch 254 is shown in its unactuated state. In this position, no portion of pin 254p is in contact with channel 252) to the actuated position (Para. [0054], as shown in fig. 7A when the switch 254 is actuated [e.g., via user operation of manual mechanism, 254m], pin 254p can compress spring 254s and enters entry area 252c at channel end 254b of channel 252), wherein movement of the actuator causes a stop member (pin 254p, fig. 3C) to be moved into a position where the stop member engages the spool member in a manner that prevents rotation of the spool member (Para. [0054], “[a]t this point (FIGS. 7a and 7b), pin 254p can fully compress spring 254s, traversal of pin 254p is halted, and further extension of main line 260 is restricted”; as shown in fig. 7A when the pin 254p reaches channel end 252a, it prevents rotation of the spool member).
Regarding claim 10, Hill discloses the invention in claim 5, and further discloses wherein the safety locking mechanism (switch 254, fig. 4A) comprises an actuator (manual mechanism 254m, fig. 3C) moveable relative to the housing to cause the safety locking mechanism to move from the unactuated position (Para. [0054], as shown in fig. 4A, switch 254 is shown in its unactuated state. In this position, no portion of pin 254p is in contact with channel 252) to the actuated position (Para. [0054], as shown in fig. 7A when the switch 254 is actuated [e.g., via user operation of manual mechanism, 254m], pin 254p can compress spring 254s and enters entry area 252c at channel end 254b of channel 252), wherein movement of the actuator causes a stop member (pin 254p, fig. 3C) to be moved into a position where the stop member engages the spool member in a manner that prevents rotation of the spool member (Para. [0054], “[a]t this point (FIGS. 7a and 7b), pin 254p can fully compress spring 254s, traversal of pin 254p is halted, and further extension of main line 260 is restricted”; as shown in fig. 7A when the pin 254p reaches channel end 252a, it prevents rotation of the spool member), and wherein the stop member is moved in a direction parallel to the spool axis (as shown in fig. 7A).
Regarding claim 11, Hill discloses the invention in claim 5, and further discloses wherein the retraction control mechanism (brake mechanism 170 having a manually actuated brake switch 172, fig. 2A) controls the rotation of the spool member (Para. [0041], “Retractable leash 100 can also include an optional brake mechanism 170 having a manually actuated brake switch 172 and brake leg 174. When actuated, brake leg 174 can provide frictional forces upon contact thereof with portions of wind-up spool 140 (e.g., with side surfaces of wind-up spool 140, such as side surface 144), which can prevent retraction and extension of main line 160”).
Regarding claim 12, Hill discloses the invention in claim 5, and further discloses wherein the retraction control mechanism controls the rotation of the spool member and includes a locking feature (brake leg 174, fig. 2A) that prevents rotation of the spool mechanism (Para. [0041], “[w]hen actuated, brake leg 174 can provide frictional forces upon contact thereof with portions of wind-up spool 140 (e.g., with side surfaces of wind-up spool 140, such as side surface 144), which can prevent retraction and extension of main line 160”).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 7, 9, and 16 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s invention: See PTO 892.
/N.A./Examiner, Art Unit 3647 /Christopher D Hutchens/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3647