DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over McNamara et al. (WO 2011/077419 A1) in view of Jo et al. (WO 2023/068842 A1).
Regarding claim 1, McNamara discloses a system for producing refined hydrocarbons from waste plastics comprising an extruder (4) for melting/pretreating waste plastics; pyrolysis chambers (6) receiving the melted plastics and producing pyrolysis gases; contactors (7) receiving the pyrolysis gases; pipe (12) connecting each contactor and pyrolysis chamber such that heavier/long-chain hydrocarbons condensed in the contactor flow back through pipe (12) into the pyrolysis chamber for further thermal degradation; and downstream atmospheric and vacuum distillation columns (20, 26) for obtaining fuel products (McNamara, Fig. 1 and pp. 5-7; see particularly the disclosure that pyrolysis gases rise through pipe 12 into contactor 7, heavier chains condense on baffle plates 13 and run back for further pyrolysis).
McNamara therefore teaches the claimed pretreatment device, pyrolysis reactor, condensate-return connection pipe, and distillation device, but does not expressly characterize contactor (7) as a “hot filter.”
Jo teaches producing waste-plastic pyrolysis gas by introducing waste plastics into a pyrolysis reactor at 400–550°C and directly introducing the resulting pyrolysis gas into a hot filter filled with a neutralizing agent to produce pyrolysis oil (Jo, WO 2023/068842 A1, claim 1; see also description of the pyrolysis and lightening processes).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ the hot-filter treatment taught by Jo as the pyrolysis-gas treatment device in the system of McNamara to remove impurities from and/or upgrade the hot pyrolysis gas before downstream product recovery, thereby obtaining treated pyrolysis oil suitable for subsequent refining.
Regarding claim 2, McNamara in view of Jo teaches the system of claim 1. Jo further teaches a hot filter filled with particulate treatment material, but does not expressly teach that the particulate material is in the form of beads.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the particulate material of the hot filter of McNamara as modified by Jo in the form of beads, since bead-shaped particulate material would provide a packed bed having interstitial spaces permitting passage of the pyrolysis gas while providing surface area for contact between the pyrolysis gas and the particulate treatment material.
Regarding claim 3, Jo further teaches that the material of the hot filter comprises aluminum oxide (Al₂O₃). Accordingly, Jo teaches the claimed beads including at least one selected from silica sand (SiO₂) and aluminum oxide (Al₂O₃).
Regarding claim 4, McNamara in view of Jo teaches the system of claim 1. Jo further teaches operating the hot filter at a high temperature (see Jo: ¶[6] and ¶[34]), but does not expressly disclose at least two heaters provided outside the hot filter.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide two or more heaters outside the hot filter of McNamara as modified by Jo in order to supply heat to and maintain the hot filter at its desired high operating temperature, since the number and placement of heaters necessary to maintain the operating temperature of the hot filter would have been within the level of ordinary skill in the art.
Conclusion
/TAM M NGUYEN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1771