``Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status
DETAILED ACTION
This application, filed on 10/22/2024, is a CON of 16/092,211 filed on 10/8/2018 now abandoned, which is a 371 of PCT/US17/26086 filed on 4/5/2017, which claims benefit of 62/323,663 filed on 4/16/2016.
The effective filing date of the current application is April 16, 2016.
Claims 40-64 are pending.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement filed on 4/1/2025 complies with 37 CFR 1.98(a)(2), which requires a legible copy of each cited foreign patent document; each non-patent literature publication or that portion which caused it to be listed; and all other information or that portion which caused it to be listed. All references were considered.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Group I, claims 40-49, in the reply filed on August 22, 2026 is acknowledged.
The traversal is on the grounds that the Office did not provide evidence that the solid magnetic macroporous polymeric hybrid scaffolds of Group I, having the particular properties of claims 40-49, can be made by electrospinning, as the prior art had not previously contemplated the claimed compositions (See Remarks dated 8/22/2026, p.7 2nd paragraph); and that the processes of Group II cannot be used to make polymersomes, which are microscopic hollow vesicles made from amphiphilic block copolymers, whereas the processes of Group II, start with a water-soluble polymer and end up with a water-insoluble polymer; there are no amphiphilic materials used in or resulting from the claimed processes (See Remarks dated 8/22/2026, p.7 3rd paragraph).
This is not found persuasive, as evidenced by Nicknejad et al. (“Electrospinning of Cross-Linked Magnetic Chitosan Nanofibers for Protein Release”, AAPS PharmSciTech, 2015, Vol. 16, No.6, pp.1480-1486). Nicknejad discloses electrospun PVA fibers that contain iron-based nanoparticles, and that cross-linked nanofibers were found to contain uniformly dispersed Fe3O4 nanoparticles (abstract). As this is a materially different process than the method of Group II, the inventions of Group I and Group II are distinct.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claims 50-64 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on August 22, 2026.
Claims 40-49 are being examined.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 40-49 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention.
Claim 40 recites “consisting essentially of a cross-linked water-insoluble polymer and an approximately uniform distribution of embedded magnetic microparticle aggregates” in lines 2-3, which limits the solid magnetic macroporous polymeric hybrid scaffold to cross-linked water-insoluble polymer and magnetic microparticle aggregates. Claim 40 further recites seven wherein clauses A) – G) in lines 5-16, which all recite the phrase “said scaffold comprises”, making unclear what elements are included or excluded from the scaffold structure, because “comprises” is an open-ended transitional phrase and “consisting essentially of” is not. See MPEP §2111.03.
Claim 40 recites D) said scaffold comprises an effective magnetic surface area for incorporating BNCs within said macropores that is about total 1-15m2/g. It is unclear whether the required surface area is of the scaffold as a whole, or if the required surface area is of the macropores contained within the scaffold. It is suggested that the phrase “for incorporating BNCs within said macropores” can be deleted.
Claims 41-49 are rejected for depending from rejected claim 40 but failing to remedy the indefiniteness therein.
Claims 43-46 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends.
Claim 43 recites “the solid magnetic macroporous polymeric hybrid scaffold of claim 40, wherein said scaffold comprises PVC and CMC”.
Claim 44 recites “the solid magnetic macroporous polymeric hybrid scaffold of claim 40, wherein said scaffold comprises PVC and alginate”.
Claim 45 recites “the solid magnetic macroporous polymeric hybrid scaffold of claim 40, wherein said scaffold comprises PVC and HEC”.
Claim 46 recites “the solid magnetic macroporous polymeric hybrid scaffold of claim 40, wherein said scaffold comprises PVC and EHEC”.
Each of claims 43-46 depend from claim 40, which recites a solid magnetic macroporous polymeric hybrid scaffold “consisting essentially of a cross-linked water-insoluble polymer” … wherein “A) said water-insoluble polymer comprises polyvinyl alcohol (PVA)”. Thus, by reciting that the scaffold “comprises PVC and CMC” in claim 43; “comprises PVC and alginate” in claim 44; “comprises PVC and HEC” in claim 45, and “comprises PVC and EHEC” in claim 46, claims 43-46 require a narrower limitation of water-insoluble polymer” and do not further limit claim 40 from which they each depend, and therefore are improper dependent claims.
Applicant may cancel the claims, amend the claims to place the claims in proper dependent form, rewrite the claims in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claims comply with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 40, 42 and 47-49 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Corgie et al. (WO2014055853A1, published on April 10, 2014) in view of Wang et al. (“Crosslinking of Polyvinyl Alcohol (PVA) Fibrous Membranes with Glutaraldehyde and PEG Diacylchloride”, Journal of Applied Polymer Science, 2010, Vol. 116, pp.3249-3255), Hu et al. (US 2003/0138490A1, published on July 24, 2003), Gottschall et al. (US 2014/0046023A1, published on February 13, 2014) and Wu et al. (CN104624166A, published on May 20, 2015). As the original Wu publication is in Chinese, an English translation is relied upon for support.
Regarding claim 40, the limitation “for incorporating bionanocatalysts (BNC)” is being interpreted as an intended use that does not materially affect the structure of the scaffold. The limitation “wherein said scaffold comprises an effective magnetic surface area for incorporating BNCs within said macropores that is about total 1-15m2/g within macropores formed by said MMPs” is being interpreted as requiring the scaffold to comprise an effective surface area of 1-15m2/g. The limitation “wherein said scaffold was formed by mixing said MMPs with a water-soluble polymer that is cross-linked to cause said scaffold to have a bulk density of between about 0.01 and about 10 g/ml” is interpreted as a product-by-process limitation, and will be interpreted as requiring the scaffold to have a bulk density of 0.01 - 10 g/mL.
Corgie teaches a hierarchical catalyst composition comprising a continuous or particulate macroporous scaffold in which is incorporated mesoporous aggregates of magnetic nanoparticles, wherein an enzyme is embedded in mesopores of the mesoporous aggregates of magnetic nanoparticles (relevant to a solid magnetic macroporous scaffold) (abstract). Corgie teaches that the continuous macroporous scaffold (or precursor thereof) has a polymeric composition (relevant to a macroporous polymeric hybrid scaffold) (description, paragraph 0046). Corgie teaches that the polymeric macroporous scaffold does not dissolve or degrade in water or other medium in which the hierarchical catalyst is intended to be used (relevant to solid; relevant to water-insoluble polymer) (description, paragraph 0046).
Corgie teaches that polymeric composition can be a synthetic organic polymer including polyvinyl alcohol (relevant to wherein said polymer comprises polyvinyl alcohol (PVA)) (description, paragraph 0046).
Corgie teaches that the magnetic nanoparticle or BNC has a size in the nanoscale, i.e., generally no more than 500 nm, teaching that in different embodiments, the magnetic nanoparticles have a size of 50nm up to 500nm, which encompasses the claimed range of about 50-500 nm (relevant to wherein said MMPs are about 50-500nm in size) (description, paragraph 0034).
Corgie teaches that the macroporous scaffold contains macropores having a range of sizes, including 1 micron and 50 µm in size (relevant to scaffold comprises pores of about 1 to about 50 µm in size) (description, paragraph 0042).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of a PVA polymer, MMPs of 50-500nm in size, and scaffold pore sizes of 1 to 50µm as taught individually by Corgie into a single embodiment, because it would have amounted to combining known features together in a predictable way to result in a magnetic macroporous polymeric hybrid scaffold. One of ordinary skill would reasonably expect that combining these known prior art elements together into a single embodiment would predictably result in a magnetic macroporous polymeric hybrid scaffold having comprising the selected individual elements.
Corgie does not disclose whether the polymer is cross-linked. Corgie does not disclose concentration of the MMPs in the scaffold, effective magnetic surface area, bulk density, and mass magnetic susceptibility.
Wang teaches that for most applications, polyvinyl alcohol (PVA) must be made insoluble in water by either crosslinking of grafting hydrophobic segments to the PVA hydroxyl groups (relevant to a cross-linked water-insoluble polymer; wherein said polymer comprises polyvinyl alcohol (PVA)) (p.3249, 1st column – 1st paragraph).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to cross-link PVA to make it water-insoluble as taught by Wang, as a method of obtaining a water-insoluble magnetic macroporous polymeric hybrid scaffold taught by Corgie, because Wang teaches that in order to make PVA insoluble, it must be crosslinked or grafted with hydrophobic segments. Since Corgie teaches the polymer does not degrade or dissolve in water, there is a reasonable expectation of success.
Hu teaches synthesis and uses of polymer gel nanoparticle networks (title). Hu teaches reacting said network of nanoparticles with at least a first cross-linking agent under conditions effective to substantially crosslink the network of nanoparticles to produce the desired nanostructured polymeric gel (description, paragraph 0029). Hu discloses that the polymeric gel nanoparticles may be comprised of HPC, NIPA, PVA, PPO, PEO, PPO copolymer or PEO copolymer nanoparticles (description, paragraph 0030). Hu further discloses that the disclosed nanoparticle matrix and structured nanoparticle networks disclosed herein … may be formulated such that the networks and nanoparticle formulations will contain at least about 0.1% of the active compound entrapped or contained within the particles or the particle matrix, although the percentage of the active ingredient(s) may, of course, be varied and may conveniently be between about 0.5% or 2% and up to and including about 70% or 80% or more of the weight or volume of the total nanoparticulate matrix formulation (relevant to wherein said scaffold comprises about 20% to 95% w/w MMP) (description, paragraph 0107).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to adjust MMP concentration to 20% to 80% w/w as taught by Hu for the concentration of magnetic nanoparticles or aggregates in the scaffold of Corgie in view of Wang. Hu teaches a nanostructured polymeric gel having nanoparticle matrix structures with embedded cross-linked active ingredients. Both Corgie and Hu teach polymeric hybrid scaffolds, and embedding nanoparticles within the scaffold. One of ordinary skill in the art would reasonably expect that selecting 20% to 80% w/w MMPs taught by Hu would predictably result in the magnetic macroporous polymeric hybrid scaffold of Corgie having the desired concentration of MMPs.
Gottschall teaches specific sorbent for binding proteins and peptides, and separation method using the same (title). Gottschall teaches a solid support material or at least the carrier is a porous material having a pore size of from 10nm to 400nm, or a specific surface area of from 1m2/g to 1,000 m2/g, or a porosity of from 30% to 80% by volume (relevant to scaffold comprises an effective surface area that is about total 1-15 m2/g) (description, paragraph 0076). Gottschall teaches that the sorbent can be used for the immobilization of at least one protein or peptide onto the sorbent, which may be a potential advantage in application such as the preparation of filterable reagents or catalysts, the surface-bound culture of cells, in drug delivery devices, or in drug discovery screenings (relevant to a scaffold that comprises an effective surface area for incorporating bionanocatalysts (BNC)) (description, paragraph 0375). Gottschall further teaches that the sorbent according to the invention comprises a solid support material, the surface of which comprises first residues comprising a binuclear heteroaromatic structure comprising besides carbon atoms at least one of the heteroatoms N, O, S, and second residues comprising a mononuclear heteroaromatic structure comprising besides carbon atoms at least one of the heteroatoms N, O, S (description, paragraph 0043). Gottschall teaches that the total density of residues amounts to from 0.1 mol/dm3 to 1.0 mol/dm3, preferably at least about 0.3 mol/dm3 (relevant to scaffold has a bulk density of between about 0.01 and about 10 g/mL) (description, paragraph 0063). Assuming the residues are made of benzopyrrole, which has a molecular mass of 117.15 g/mol, the resulting bulk density would be 11.715 – 117.15 g/dm3, which is 0.0117 – 0.117 g/mL.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify the magnetic macroporous polymeric hybrid scaffold, as taught by Corgie in view of Wang and Hu, by selecting an effective surface area for incorporating catalysts between 1 and 1000 m2/g and a bulk density of 0.01 to 0.1 g/mL taught by Gottschall, because Gottschall teaches surface immobilization of catalytic molecules on sorbent structures with a small pore size and 30-80% porosity is beneficial for the preparation of catalysts. One of ordinary skill in the art would reasonably expect that selecting the surface area, porosity, and bulk density ranges taught by Gottschall for the scaffold taught by Corgie would predictably result in a magnetic macroporous polymeric hybrid scaffold suitable for incorporating bionanocatalysts, because these features were known in the art.
Wu teaches magnetic carbon-based composite environmental materials and preparation method and application thereof (title). Wu teaches that the magnetic carbon-based composite environmental material of the invention is compounded by rice straw/goethite/attapulgite clay to realize carbide-magnetization-oxide nanocomposite, which improves the strength of the material and the magnetization enables the material to be electromagnetically adsorbed (p.2, 4th paragraph from the bottom). Wu teaches that the magnetic carbon-based composite environmental material of the invention has a flexural strength of 12 MPa, a mass magnetic susceptibility of 11.6 x 10-4 m3/kg, and an apparent porosity of 63.9% (relevant to wherein said scaffold has a mass magnetic susceptibility of about 1.0 x 10-3 to about 1 x 10-4 m3/kg) (p.3, 2nd paragraph).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to optimize the mass magnetic susceptibility of the scaffold of Corgie in view of Wang, Hu, and Gottschall, to 11.6 x 10-4 m3/kg as taught by Wu. Both Corgie and Wu teach magnetic-based composite materials having embedded magnetic components, and teach that these materials could have applications in catalysis. One of ordinary skill in the art would reasonably expect that optimizing the magnetic nanoparticle content would predictably result in the desired mass magnetic susceptibility of 11.6 x 10-4 m3/kg, because this value was known in the art at the time of invention.
Regarding claim 42, Corgie discloses the polymeric composition can be any of the solid organic, inorganic, or hybrid organic-inorganic polymer compositions known in the art, and may be synthetic or a biopolymer that acts as a binder (description, paragraph 0046). Corgie teaches synthetic organic polymers including the vinyl addition polymers (e.g., polyethylene, polypropylene, polystyrene, polyacrylic acid or polyacrylate salt, polymethacrylic acid or polymethacrylate salt, poly(methyl-methacrylate), polyvinyl acetate, polyvinyl alcohol, and the like), fluoropolymers (e.g., polyvinylfluoride, polyvinylidenefluoride, polytetrafluoroethylene, and the like), the epoxides (e.g., phenolic resins, resorcinol – formaldehyde resins), the polyamides, the polyurethanes, the polyesters, the polyimides, the polybenzimidazoles, and copolymers thereof, or biopolymers including polysaccharides (e.g., cellulose, hemicellulose, xylan, chitosan, inulin, dextran, agarose, and alginic acid) (description, paragraph 0046).
Regarding claim 47-48, Corgie teaches that hierarchical hybrid catalysts can be assembled by the process shown in FIG. 9, which shows an aggregated structure comprising MNP and MMP into a 1000nm structure (description, paragraph 0112, and FIG. 9).
Corgie does not identify if said scaffold is formed in the shape of a monolith (claim 47) or said scaffold is a powder (claim 48).
Gottschall further discloses solid support materials are the so-called monolithic chromatography media which are cast as a single macroscopic entity of the desired (usually rod-like) shape as opposed to classical compressible column packings made of loose microscopic particles (description, paragraph 0213). Gottschall further teaches monolithic columns can consist of silica or polymeric materials, such as, for example, polymethacrylates, and their microstructure can contain fibrous capillaries or sintered particle agglomerates (relevant claim 8 - to wherein said scaffold is formed in the shape of a monolith; relevant to claim 9 - wherein said scaffold is cast into any shape) (description, paragraph 0213).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to form the magnetic macroporous polymeric hybrid scaffold taught by Corgie into a monolith as taught by Gottschall to obtain a single macroscopic entity of the desired shape, because Gottschall teaches that monolith structures can be formed of sintered particle agglomerates, and Corgie teaches aggregated particles forming a second hierarchical structure.
Regarding claim 49, Corgie does not identify whether said scaffold is in the form of a powder, wherein said powder comprises particles of about 150 to 1000 µm in size.
Gottschall teaches that the solid support material is a particulate material having a particle size of from 5 µm to 500 µm (description, paragraph 0077).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify the magnetic macroporous polymeric hybrid scaffold of Corgie in the form of a powder as taught by Gottschall, because one of ordinary skill would have found it beneficial to provide a porous carrier material with known surface area. One of ordinary skill would reasonably expect that material surface area could be calculated based on particle size, which would predictably result in being able to determine available surface area of the scaffold for binding.
Claim 41 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Corgie et al. (WO2014055853A1, published on April 10, 2014) in view of Wang et al. (“Crosslinking of Polyvinyl Alcohol (PVA) Fibrous Membranes with Glutaraldehyde and PEG Diacylchloride”, Journal of Applied Polymer Science, 2010, Vol. 116, pp.3249-3255), Hu et al. (US 2003/0138490A1, published on July 24, 2003), Gottschall et al. (US 2014/0046023A1, published on February 13, 2014) and Wu et al. (CN104624166A, published on May 20, 2015) as applied to claim 40 above, and further in view of Bhattacharjee et al. (“Nanofibrous Nonmulberry Silk/PVA Scaffold for Osteoinduction and Osseointegration”, Biopolymers, 2015, Vol. 103, No. 5, pp. 271-284, published online 22 November 2014).
Corgie in view of Wang, Hu, Gottschall and Wu do not teach wherein the contact angle for said scaffold with water is about 0-90 degrees.
However, Bhattacharjee teaches poly-vinyl alcohol and nonmulberry tasar silk fibroin of Antheraea mylitta blended to fabricate nanofibrous scaffolds for bone regeneration (abstract). Bhattacharjee teaches that the contact angle of PVA alone was 68.77° for advancing contact angle, 79.42° for receding contact angle, and 74.1 + 1.25° for mean contact angle (p.274, Table II – Contact Angle and Tensile Properties of Nanofibrous Matrices). Bhattacharjee further teaches that the contact angle of PVA decreased with increasing fibroin content, indicating increased hydrophilicity of the SF/PVA nanofibrous matrices with increased SF concentration (p. 274, 1st column – Dynamic Contact Angle, and Table II).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to prepare the magnetic macroporous polymeric hybrid scaffold taught by Corgie in view of Wang, Hu, Gottschall and Wu to comprise a contact angle for said scaffold with water that is about 0-90 degrees, because Bhattacharjee teaches that PVA alone has a mean contact angle of 74.1 + 1.25°. One of ordinary skill in the art would reasonably expect that modifying a scaffold comprising PVA would predictably result in a hydrophilic contact angle between 0-90°, because the contact angle of materials comprising PVA was well-known in the art at the time of invention.
Claims 43-46 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Corgie et al. (WO2014055853A1, published on April 10, 2014) in view of Wang et al. (“Crosslinking of Polyvinyl Alcohol (PVA) Fibrous Membranes with Glutaraldehyde and PEG Diacylchloride”, Journal of Applied Polymer Science, 2010, Vol. 116, pp.3249-3255), Hu et al. (US 2003/0138490A1, published on July 24, 2003), Gottschall et al. (US 2014/0046023A1, published on February 13, 2014) and Wu et al. (CN104624166A, published on May 20, 2015) as applied to claim 40 above, and further in view of Melbouci (US 2007/0135312 A1, published on June 14, 2007).
Regarding claims 43-46, Corgie teaches that the continuous macroporous scaffold has a polymeric composition, which can be any of the solid organic, inorganic, or hybrid organic-inorganic polymer compositions known in the art, and may be a biopolymer that acts as a binder (description, paragraph 0046). Corgie further teaches that examples of biopolymers include polysaccharides (e.g., cellulose, hemicellulose, xylan, chitosan, inulin, dextran, agarose, and alginic acid) (description, paragraph 0046).
Corgie in view of Wang, Hu, Gottschall and Wu do not teach wherein the scaffold comprises PVA and CMC (claim 43); the scaffold comprises PVA and alginate (claim 44); the scaffold comprises PVA and HEC (claim 45); or the scaffold comprises PVA and EHEC (claim 46).
However, Melbouci teaches solvent free fluidized polymer suspensions of cellulosic derivatives and/or polyvinyl alcohol (PVA) for use in oil field applications such as completion fluids, drilling fluids and oil well cement slurries (description, paragraph 0002). Melbouci teaches that the cellulose ether can be hydroxyethyl cellulose (HEC) (relevant to claim 45), methyl cellulose (MC), hydroxypropyl cellulose (HPC) ethyl hydroxyethyl cellulose (EHEC) (relevant to claim 46) (description, paragraph 0013). Melbouci further teaches that the composition can be stabilized with a minor amount of low molecular weight CMC (relevant to claim 43), xanthan gum, and/or sodium alginate (relevant to claim 44) (description, paragraph 0015). Melbouci teaches that in addition to water soluble polysaccharides, synthetic polymers such as polyvinyl alcohol (PVA) could also be suspended in such a fluid polymer suspension (description, paragraph 0018). Melbouci teaches that the cellulose ether compounds are listed as PLONAR (Pose Little Or No Risk) substances (description, paragraphs 0009, 0015).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify the magnetic macroporous polymeric hybrid scaffold taught by Corgie in view of Wang, Hu, Gottschall and Wu to create a scaffold comprising PVA and CMC, PVA and sodium alginate, PVA and HEC, or PVA and EHEC. One of ordinary skill in the art would reasonably expect that creating a polymeric scaffold comprising PVA and any of CMC, sodium alginate, HEC or EHEC would predictably result in a stable flowable fluidized polymer suspension that could be cross-linked into a macroporous polymeric scaffold, because each of these PVA blends were known in the art.
Double Patenting
Claims 40-49 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-19 of U.S. Patent No. 9,765,324 in view of Corgie et al. (WO2014055853A1, published on April 10, 2014), Wang et al. (“Crosslinking of Polyvinyl Alcohol (PVA) Fibrous Membranes with Glutaraldehyde and PEG Diacylchloride”, Journal of Applied Polymer Science, 2010, Vol. 116, pp.3249-3255), Hu et al. (US 2003/0138490A1, published on July 24, 2003), Gottschall et al. (US 2014/0046023A1, published on February 13, 2014) and Wu et al. (CN104624166A, published on May 20, 2015). As the original Wu publication is in Chinese, an English translation is relied upon for support.
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other. The instant claims are directed to a magnetic macroporous polymeric hybrid scaffold, comprising a cross-linked water-insoluble polymer and an approximately uniform distribution of embedded magnetic microparticles (MMP); wherein said polymer comprises polyvinyl alcohol (PVA); wherein said MMPs are about 50-500 nm in size; wherein said scaffold comprises pores of about 1 to about 50 µm in size; wherein said scaffold comprises about 20% to 95% w/w MMP; wherein said scaffold comprises an effective surface area for incorporating bionanocatalysts (BNC) that is about total 1-15m2/g; wherein the total effective surface area for incorporating the enzymes is about 50 to 200 m2/g; wherein said scaffold has a bulk density of between about 0.01 and about 10g/ml; and wherein said scaffold has a mass magnetic susceptibility of about 1.0x10-3 to about 1x10-4 m3/kg.
Claim 1 of ‘324 is directed to a hierarchical catalyst composition comprising a continuous magnetic macroporous scaffold in which is incorporated self-assembled mesoporous aggregates of magnetic nanoparticles (relevant to a magnetic macroporous scaffold comprising embedded magnetic microparticle (MMP) aggregates).
Claim 10 of ‘324 recites the continuous magnetic macroporous scaffold has a polymeric composition (relevant to magnetic macroporous polymeric hybrid scaffold).
Claim 14 of ‘324 recites the polymeric composition comprises a synthetic polymer.
Claim 15 of ‘324 recites the synthetic polymer includes polyvinyl alcohol (relevant to said polymer comprises polyvinyl alcohol (PVA)).
Claim 11 of ‘324 recites that the magnetic macroporous scaffold has macropores having a pore size of at least about 50nm to about 100 µm (relevant to said scaffold comprises pores of about 1 to about 50 µm in size).
Patent ‘324 claims do not recite an approximately uniform distribution of embedded magnetic microparticles (MMP); wherein said MMPs are about 50-500 nm in size; said scaffold comprises about 20% to 95% w/w MMP; said scaffold comprises an effective surface area for incorporating bionanocatalysts (BNC) that is about total 1-15m2/g; said scaffold has a bulk density of between about 0.01 and about 10g/ml; or wherein said scaffold has a mass magnetic susceptibility of about 1.0x10-3 to about 1x10-4 m3/kg.
However, as discussed above, Corgie teaches that the polymeric macroporous scaffold does not dissolve or degrade in water or other medium in which the hierarchical catalyst is intended to be used (relevant to water-insoluble polymer) (description, paragraph 0046).
Corgie teaches that the magnetic nanoparticle or BNC has a size in the nanoscale, i.e., generally no more than 500 nm, teaching that in different embodiments, the magnetic nanoparticles have a size of 50nm up to 500nm, which encompasses the claimed range of about 50-500 nm (relevant to wherein said MMPs are about 50-500nm in size) (description, paragraph 0034).
As discussed above, Wang teaches that for most applications, polyvinyl alcohol (PVA) must be made in-soluble in water by either crosslinking of grafting hydrophobic segments to the PVA hydroxyl groups (relevant to a cross-linked water-insoluble polymer) (p.3249, 1st column – 1st paragraph).
As discussed above, Hu further discloses that the disclosed nanoparticle matrix and structured nanoparticle networks disclosed herein … may be formulated such that the networks and nanoparticle formulations will contain at least about 0.1% of the active compound entrapped or contained within the particles or the particle matrix, although the percentage of the active ingredient(s) may, of course, be varied and may conveniently be between about 0.5% or 2% and up to and including about 70% or 80% or more of the weight or volume of the total nanoparticulate matrix formulation (relevant to said scaffold comprises about 20% to 95% w/w MMP) (description, paragraph 0107).
As discussed above, Gottschall teaches a solid support material or at least the carrier is a porous material having a pore size of from 10nm to 400nm, or a specific surface area of from 1 m2/g to 1,000 m2/g, or a porosity of from 30% to 80% by volume (description, paragraph 0076). Gottschall teaches that the sorbent can be used for the immobilization of at least one protein or peptide onto the sorbent, which may be a potential advantage in application such as the preparation of filterable reagents or catalysts, the surface-bound culture of cells, in drug delivery devices, or in drug discovery screenings (relevant to scaffold comprises an effective surface area for incorporating bionanocatalysts (BNC) that is about total 1-15 m2/g) (description, paragraph 0375).
Gottschall further teaches that the sorbent according to the invention comprises a solid support material, the surface of which comprises first residues comprising a binuclear heteroaromatic structure comprising besides carbon atoms at least one of the heteroatoms N, O, S, and second residues comprising a mononuclear heteroaromatic structure comprising besides carbon atoms at least one of the heteroatoms N, O, S (description, paragraph 0043). Gottschall teaches that the total density of residues amounts to from 0.1 mol/dm3 to 1.0 mol/dm3, preferably at least about 0.3 mol/dm3 (relevant to scaffold has a bulk density of between about 0.01 and about 10 g/mL) (description, paragraph 0063). Assuming the residues are made of benzopyrrole, which has a molecular mass of 117.15 g/mol, the resulting bulk density would be 11.715 – 117.15 g/dm3, which is 0.0117 – 0.117 g/mL.
As discussed above, Wu teaches that the magnetic carbon-based composite environmental material of the invention has a flexural strength of 12 MPa, a mass magnetic susceptibility of 11.6 x 10-4 m3/kg, and an apparent porosity of 63.9% (relevant to wherein said scaffold has a mass magnetic susceptibility of about 1.0 x 10-3 to about 1 x 10-4 m3/kg) (p.3, 2nd paragraph).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the continuous magnetic macroporous scaffold recited by the claims of Patent ‘324 with the MMPs of 50-500nm in size, scaffold pore sizes of 1 to 50µm, and the total effective surface area of 50 to 200 m2/g, as taught individually by Corgie, because it would have amounted to combining known features together in a predictable way to result in a magnetic macroporous polymeric hybrid scaffold. Corgie teach magnetic macroporous scaffolds comprising a polymeric component and embedded magnetic particles. One of ordinary skill would reasonably expect that combining these known prior art elements together into a single embodiment would predictably result in a magnetic macroporous polymeric hybrid scaffold comprising the selected individual elements.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the continuous magnetic macroporous scaffold recited by the claims of Patent ‘324 in view of Corgie to further comprise cross-linked polyvinyl alcohol taught by Wang and comprise 20% to 80% w/w of magnetic nanoparticles taught by Hu, because Wang teaches making PVA insoluble in water by cross-linking and Hu teaches a nanostructured polymeric gel having nanoparticle matrix structures. Hu teach polymeric hybrid scaffolds and the use of PVA as a polymer. One of ordinary skill in the art would reasonably expect that cross-linking PVA taught by Wang and incorporating a desired weight percent of magnetic nanoparticles taught by Hu would predictably result in the magnetic macroporous polymeric hybrid scaffold comprising a crosslinked water-insoluble polymer and embedded magnetic microparticles.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify the continuous magnetic macroporous scaffold recited by the claims of Patent ‘324 in view of Corgie by using an effective surface area for incorporating catalysts between 1 and 1000 m2/g and a bulk density of 0.01 to 0.1 g/mL taught by Gottschall, because Gottschall teaches surface immobilization of catalytic molecules on sorbent structures with a small pore size and 30-80% porosity is beneficial for the preparation of catalysts, which would predictably result in a magnetic macroporous polymeric hybrid scaffold having the desired bulk density and effective surface area considered suitable for the intended use of incorporating bionanocatalysts, because these features of scaffolds were known in the art.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the continuous magnetic macroporous scaffold recited by Patent ‘324 in view of Corgie to optimize the magnetic susceptibility to 11.6 x 10-4 m3/kg as taught by Wu. Wu teaches magnetic-based composite materials having embedded magnetic components and these materials could have applications in catalysis. One of ordinary skill in the art would reasonably expect that optimizing the magnetic nanoparticle content would predictably result in the desired mass magnetic susceptibility of 11.6 x 10-4 m3/kg, because this value was known in the art at the time of invention.
Therefore, the instant claims are obvious over the reference claims of Patent ‘324 in view of Corgie, Wang, Hu, Gottschall and Wu.
Conclusion
/DEEPA MISHRA/Examiner, Art Unit 1657
/LOUISE W HUMPHREY/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1657