DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“gluing mechanism” in claim 1. The specification discloses that “the gluing mechanism includes a mounting plate, a side of the mounting plate is provided with a glue scraping head configured to apply a glue to the rewinding reel, a glue-scraping drive assembly that is configured to drive the glue scraping head to approach or leave the rewinding reel is disposed between the glue scraping head and the mounting plate, and the glue scraping head includes a glue scraping surface fitting with a shape of an outer surface of the rewinding reel”. However, some of these structures are also means plus function elements, such as the glue-scraping drive assembly and the glue scraping head.
“glue-scraping drive assembly” in claim 1. The specification discloses that this is a structure “that is configured to drive the glue scraping head to approach or leave the rewinding reel is disposed between the glue scraping head and the mounting plate”. One example of this structure is provided in claim 3, which recites “a connecting plate disposed on a side of the mounting plate, wherein a glue-scraping drive member that is configured to drive the connecting plate to approach or leave the rewinding reel is disposed between the connecting plate and the mounting plate; an adjustment seat, disposed on a side of the connecting plate away from the mounting plate and rotatably connected to the connecting plate, wherein a first elastic member is disposed between the adjustment seat and the connecting plate; a transition frame disposed on a side of the adjustment seat away from the connecting plate, wherein a second elastic member is disposed between the transition frame and the adjustment seat; and a loading plate disposed in the transition frame, wherein a third elastic member is disposed between the loading plate and the transition frame, and the loading plate is detachably connected to the glue scraping head.” Note that the glue-scraping drive member and the first, second and third elastic members are also interpreted under 35 USC 112f.
“glue scraping head” in claim 1. The specification and later claim 2 discloses/claims that the glue scraping head comprises the sufficient structure of “a glue scraping seat, wherein the glue scraping seat is provided with a glue flow hole for the liquid glue to flow in; and a scraper, disposed on a side of the glue scraping seat and detachably connected to the glue scraping seat, wherein a glue outlet is formed between the scraper and the glue scraping seat, and the glue outlet is located on the glue scraping surface and communicates with the glue flow hole”.
“gluing supply mechanism” in claim 1. The specification discloses the sufficient structure is that “The glue supply mechanism 3 includes a glue storage tank 31 for storing the liquid glue.” See also claim 7, claiming that “the glue supply mechanism comprises: a glue storage tank disposed on a side of the mounting plate, wherein the glue storage tank is provided with a glue extruding member configured to extrude the liquid glue; and a glue supply valve disposed on a side of the mounting plate, wherein the glue storage tank and the glue scraping head both communicate with the glue supply valve.” Note that the glue extruding member is also interpreted under 35 USC 112(f).
“glue-scraping drive member” in claim 3. The specification discloses the sufficient structure is that “the glue-scraping drive member 121 is preferably but not limited to a glue-scraping cylinder”
“first elastic member”, “second elastic member” and “third elastic member” in claim 3. The specification discloses the sufficient structure is that of a spring (see paragraphs 0048, 0049, and 0050, respectively).
“drying assembly” in claim 5. The specification discloses the sufficient structure is that “the drying assembly includes an air nozzle, the air nozzle is disposed on a side of the adjustment seat, an air inlet end of the air nozzle is provided with a hot air pipe, and the hot air pipe communicates with the air nozzle.”
“glue extruding member” in claim 7. The specification discloses the sufficient structure is that “the glue extruding member 311 is preferably but not limited to a cylinder.”
“cleaning assembly” in claim 8. The specification discloses the sufficient structure is that “in a preferred embodiment, the cleaning assembly 5 includes a fixed seat 51. The fixed seat 51 is fixedly connected to the frame 4. A side of the fixed seat 51 is provided with a connecting seat 52. In some specific embodiments shown, the connecting seat 52 includes a first seat body 521 and a second seat body 522. The first seat body 521 and the second seat body 522 are respectively arranged corresponding to the two glue scraping heads 16.” Additional structure can include the structures of paragraphs 0066-0072 for embodiment 3 and paragraphs 0073-0076 for embodiment 4.
“moving assembly” in claim 8. The specification discloses the sufficient structure is that “the moving assembly 41 includes a linear module 411 mounted on the frame 4. A side of the linear module 411 is provided with a drag chain 412.”
“cleaning drive assembly” in claim 9. The specification discloses the sufficient structure is that “The cleaning drive assembly 54 includes a connecting rod 543. The connecting rod 543 is mounted on the connecting seat 52. A moving cylinder 541 is arranged between the connecting rod 543 and the fixed seat 51. The cylinder tube of the moving cylinder 541 is mounted on the fixed seat 51, and the piston rod of the moving cylinder 541 is connected to the connecting rod 543. The moving cylinder 541 drives the connecting seat 52 to reciprocate relative to the fixed seat 51 through the extension and retraction of the piston rod. Further, a guide rail 511 is arranged on the side of the fixed seat 51 close to the connecting seat 52. A guide block 542 is slidably connected within the guide rail 511. The guide block 542 is connected to the connecting seat 52. The guide rail 511 and the guide block 542 cooperate to guide the reciprocating motion of the connecting seat 52.”
“rewinding drive member” in claim 10. The specification discloses the sufficient structure is that “the rewinding drive member 58 includes a stepper motor 581.”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The term “a fixed shaft–type rewinding reel” in line 1 of each of claims 1-10 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “a fixed shaft–type rewinding reel” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. See especially MPEP 2173.05(b) III. E., which recites:
E. "Type"
The addition of the word "type" to an otherwise definite expression (e.g., Friedel-Crafts catalyst) extends the scope of the expression so as to render it indefinite. Ex parte Copenhaver, 109 USPQ 118 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1955). Likewise, the phrase "ZSM-5-type aluminosilicate zeolites" was held to be indefinite because it was unclear what "type" was intended to convey. The interpretation was made more difficult by the fact that the zeolites defined in the dependent claims were not within the genus of the type of zeolites defined in the independent claim. Ex parte Attig, 7 USPQ2d 1092 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1986).
As the term is repeated in each of claims 1-10, claims 2-10 are also indefinite for the same reason, because the addition of the word "type" to an otherwise definite expression extends the scope of the expression so as to render it indefinite.
Additionally, each of claim 2-10 recites the limitation "a fixed shaft–type rewinding reel" in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in each of claims 2-10 because it appears that the rewinding reel in claims 2-10 is the same rewinding reel as introduced in claim 1.
The examiner suggests removing the reference to “-type” and using “a fixed shaft rewinding reel” for claim 1 and “the fixed shaft rewinding reel” for claims 2-10.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by Biagiotti (US 5653401 A).
As to claim 1, Biagiotti discloses An automatic gluing apparatus for a fixed shaft–type rewinding reel (“cores”; see column 1, lines 48-50, disclosing “A first object of the present invention is to provide an apparatus for applying glue on tubular cores, which is of simple construction and easy to maintain.”), comprising:
a gluing mechanism (“a group 37 for the application of glue on the outer surface of the tubular cores, as illustrated in details in FIGS. 2 to 4.”), wherein the gluing mechanism comprises a mounting plate (“L shaped section 53”), a side of the mounting plate is provided with a glue scraping head (“This particular arrangement allows an optimal distribution of the glue which is in part scraped away by the surface 61 which acts as a scraper downstream of the dispensing opening 43.”) configured to apply a glue to the rewinding reel, a glue-scraping drive assembly (“conveyor 33” and “transmission wheel 33C”, which drives the core A into the ) that is configured to drive the glue scraping head to approach or leave the rewinding reel is disposed between the glue scraping head and the mounting plate, and the glue scraping head comprises a glue scraping surface (surface 61) fitting with a shape of an outer surface of the rewinding reel; and
a glue supply mechanism, disposed on a side of the mounting plate, connected to the glue scraping head, and configured to supply the glue to the glue scraping head (“The distributor comprises a tubular chamber 41, of rectangular cross-section in the drawing, which extends substantially the entire width of the machine. The chamber 41 forms a reservoir for the glue, the latter being fed substantially continuously and under slight pressure to a chamber or opening 43…”).
See especially marked up Figure 2 below:
See also column 3, line 25 to column 5, line 6, disclosing:
FIG. 1 shows, in a very schematic way, the structure of an automatic surface rewinder wherein the apparatus according to the invention is applied. It will be appreciated that the construction of the rewinder may vary, with respect to that illustrated, without departing from the inventive idea on which the gluer is based.
Indicated by N is the web material which is fed to the winding region and guided by the rollers 1 and 3. Numeral 5 indicates a perforation group comprised of a fixed roller 7 with a counterblade cooperating with a plurality of blades disposed on the rotary roller 9. The perforation group 5 provides transverse perforation lines across the web material N.
Indicated by 11 and 13 are first and second winding rollers rotating in counterclockwise direction and defining a nip 15 through which the web material N passes and into which cores A are fed to wind the web into logs. Reference L indicates a log just formed and unloaded from the winding region onto an inclined discharge surface 17 towards further processing means (not shown). Numeral 19 indicates a third winding roller carried by oscillating arms 21 hinged at 23 on the machine frame. The oscillation motion of the roller 19 about the axis 23 makes it possible to keep under control, in a manner well-known in the art, the winding of the log L and, thus, the increase of its diameter. Numeral 25 indicates an inserting member which provides for successively inserting cores A into the nip 15. The inserting member 25 is hinged at 21 to the machine frame and moves with an oscillation motion according to double arrow f25.
The cores A are picked up from a container 31 by a chain conveyor 33 carrying a plurality of pushers 35 each of which makes up a seat for a respective core A. In FIG. 1 there are illustrated only few pushers 35 disposed along the conveyor 33, but it is understood that they are distributed uniformly and at regular intervals throughout the length of the conveyor.
Disposed along the path of the conveyor 33, upstream of the region of insertion of the cores into the rewinder, is a group 37 for the application of glue on the outer surface of the tubular cores, as illustrated in details in FIGS. 2 to 4.
The distributor comprises a tubular chamber 41, of rectangular cross-section in the drawing, which extends substantially the entire width of the machine. The chamber 41 forms a reservoir for the glue, the latter being fed substantially continuously and under slight pressure to a chamber or opening 43 delimited by the walls 45 and 47. The glue reaches the chamber delimited by the opposite surfaces of walls 45 and 47 through a duct 49 and a slot 51 formed in the lower surface of the L-shaped section, generally indicated by 53, which forms the wall 47.
The wall 45 is firmly fixed to the reservoir 41 by screw means 55, while the L-shaped section 53 which defines the wall 47 is firmly connected to the structure 41 by screws 56 and engaged to the wall 45 by screw means 59, so as to allow the distance between the opposing surfaces of walls 45 and 47 to be adjusted and, therefore, to adjust the width of the opening 43 from which the glue C overflows.
The wall 45 ends at top with a surface 61 which is substantially parallel to the direction F of advancement of the cores fed by conveyor 33. On the other hand, the wall 47 is defined on top by a surface 63 which is sharply inclined with respect to the direction F and forming, with the inner surface 65 of the wall 47, a sharp edge. The edge formed by the surfaces 63 and 65 is located, with respect to the plane of movement of the cores A, just below the flat surface 61.
The glue C which overflows from the opening 43 is collected in a storage tank 67 located beneath the reservoir 41 and illustrated in FIGS. 1 and 4. From the storage tank 67 the glue is drawn out through a pump 69 which provides for re-circulating the glue through a conduit schematically shown at 71 which, via a series of branches 71A, 7lB and 71C (three in FIG. 4) pumps the glue back into the tubular reservoir 41. The presence of branches 71A, 7lB, 71C allows the glue to be fed to different points along the length of the tubular reservoir 41 so as to have a substantially uniform supply of glue overflowing across the entire length of the opening 43.This is necessary especially because the glue used for the cores is particularly viscous and, thereby, able to be pumped along the reservoir 41 only with difficulty.
As shown in FIG. 4, the bottom of the storage tank 67 is inclined so as to facilitate the collection of glue sucked by pump 69 from the lowest region of the bottom of tank 67. The tank is supported by the side panels, indicated by 73, through supports 75 provided with screw-operated adjusting means 77 which allow the adjustment of the vertical position of the whole group 37 with respect to the chains 33A, 33B.
Moreover, FIG. 4 shows also the position of walls 45 and 47 defining the opening 43, with respect to the chains 33A and 33B making up the conveyor 33 and on which the core A rests. As clearly shown in FIG. 4, the walls 45, 47 are interrupted in two points to allow the passage of chains 33A and 33B which must carry the relevant cores A in such a way as to cause them to travel on a plane tangent to the opening 43, from which the flat surface 61 of wall 45 is made to slightly project.
Disposed above the reservoir 41 is a transversal section 79 to which flexible plates 81 are connected, which are flare-shaped to allow the passage of the cores A therebelow. Each plate 81 has a flat portion 81A anchored at one end to the section 79, and a distal portion 8lB, inclined with respect to the portion 81A and intended for contacting the upper surface of the cores A. The position of the plates 81 is such that the travel of a core A will cause a flexing of said plates 81 which, as a result, will force said cores against the pushers 35 and the chains 33A and 33B of the conveyor 33. This prevents the cores A from rolling on the surface 61 during the passage thereof through the glue-distributing group 37. This particular arrangement allows an optimal distribution of the glue which is in part scraped away by the surface 61 which acts as a scraper downstream of the dispensing opening 43. The plates 81 extend to the farthest edge of surface 61, so that the pressure of said plates on the core A stops simultaneously with the action of the surface 61.
As to claim 2, Biagiotti discloses wherein the glue scraping head further comprises: a glue scraping seat (see “walls 45 and 47”), wherein the glue scraping seat is provided with a glue flow hole (duct 49) for the liquid glue to flow in; and a scraper (surface 63), disposed on a side of the glue scraping seat and detachably connected to the glue scraping seat, wherein a glue outlet (slot 51 and opening 43) is formed between the scraper and the glue scraping seat, and the glue outlet is located on the glue scraping surface and communicates with the glue flow hole. See column 3, line 66 to column 4, line 23, disclosing:
(7) The distributor comprises a tubular chamber 41, of rectangular cross-section in the drawing, which extends substantially the entire width of the machine. The chamber 41 forms a reservoir for the glue, the latter being fed substantially continuously and under slight pressure to a chamber or opening 43 delimited by the walls 45 and 47. The glue reaches the chamber delimited by the opposite surfaces of walls 45 and 47 through a duct 49 and a slot 51 formed in the lower surface of the L-shaped section, generally indicated by 53, which forms the wall 47.
(8) The wall 45 is firmly fixed to the reservoir 41 by screw means 55, while the L-shaped section 53 which defines the wall 47 is firmly connected to the structure 41 by screws 56 and engaged to the wall 45 by screw means 59, so as to allow the distance between the opposing surfaces of walls 45 and 47 to be adjusted and, therefore, to adjust the width of the opening 43 from which the glue C overflows.
(9) The wall 45 ends at top with a surface 61 which is substantially parallel to the direction F of advancement of the cores fed by conveyor 33. On the other hand, the wall 47 is defined on top by a surface 63 which is sharply inclined with respect to the direction F and forming, with the inner surface 65 of the wall 47, a sharp edge. The edge formed by the surfaces 63 and 65 is located, with respect to the plane of movement of the cores A, just below the flat surface 61.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Biagiotti (US 5653401 A) as applied to claims 1-2 above, and further in view of Watanabe (US 20100189916 A1).
As to claim 7, Biagiotti discloses wherein the glue supply mechanism comprises: a glue storage tank (tubular chamber 41) disposed on a side of the mounting plate, wherein the glue storage tank is provided with a glue extruding member (opening 43) configured to extrude the liquid glue; See column 3, line 66, disclosing:
The distributor comprises a tubular chamber 41, of rectangular cross-section in the drawing, which extends substantially the entire width of the machine. The chamber 41 forms a reservoir for the glue, the latter being fed substantially continuously and under slight pressure to a chamber or opening 43 delimited by the walls 45 and 47. The glue reaches the chamber delimited by the opposite surfaces of walls 45 and 47 through a duct 49 and a slot 51 formed in the lower surface of the L-shaped section, generally indicated by 53, which forms the wall 47.
However, Biagiotti does not disclose a glue supply valve disposed on a side of the mounting plate, wherein the glue storage tank and the glue scraping head both communicate with the glue supply valve.
Watanabe makes discloses a supply mechanism which also includes a supply valve (valves 1020 and 1030)disposed on a side of the mounting plate, wherein the storage tank and the scraping head (see doctor blade 800) both communicate with the supply valve in order to enable “replenishment state”, and thus makes obvious a glue supply valve disposed on a side of the mounting plate, wherein the glue storage tank and the glue scraping head both communicate with the glue supply valve. See especially paragraphs 0105-0107, disclosing:
[0105] Also, as exemplified in FIG. 3, resin replenish means to the dispenser 500 is preferably provided with a drum 1000 containing the liquid photosensitive laser engraved resin 30, a drum press device 1010 discharging a constant amount of the liquid resin 30, opening/closing electromagnetic valves 1020 and 1030 controlling supply and shut-off of the liquid resin 30, and an air-bleeding valve 1040, and a temperature control mechanism is preferably equipped in a supply path of the liquid resin 30 from the drum 1000 to the dispenser 500 for stabilizing a temperature (final purpose is stability of the viscosity).
[0106] In the resin replenishment of the liquid photosensitive laser engraved resin dispenser 500, the air-bleeding valve 1040 is opened, the switching electromagnetic valves 1020 and 1030 are controlled into a resin replenishment state, and then, the liquid resin 30 contained in the drum 1000 is pushed out and fed by the drum press device 1010, and when a resin containing portion of the dispenser 500 becomes full, the air-bleeding valve 1040 is closed, and the switching electromagnetic valves 1020 and 1030 are controlled into a liquid-feed stop state. In the liquid photosensitive adhesive dispenser 300 and the liquid photosensitive cushion resin dispenser 400, a cartridge container containing the liquid photosensitive adhesive and a cartridge container containing the liquid photosensitive cushion resin 20 prepared by uniformly mixing the thermally expanded microcapsule and the liquid photosensitive resin in a predetermined weight ratio by a commercial mixer offline immediately before start of the plate making are loaded, and the cartridge containers are maintained at a predetermined temperature by the temperature control mechanism.
[0107] FIG. 8 is an outline sectional diagram for explaining the recovery mechanism of the liquid photosensitive resin. As exemplified in FIG. 8, the recovery mechanism for bank formation of the liquid photosensitive cushion resin 20 and the liquid photosensitive laser engraved resin 30 is provided with a doctor elevation mechanism provided with position detecting means capable of elevation to a position according to a desired application thickness and an elevation function, the doctor blade 800 provided with a highly accurate distal-end blade having one face 801 in contact with the liquid photosensitive cushion resin 20 in the taper shape and an opposite face in contact with the laser engraved resin 30 perpendicular, a doctor recovered resin gutter 810 with a temperature control function into which a recovered resin 80 flows, an application recovered resin gutter 820 with a temperature control function into which a recovered resin 70 flows, and a pail 1100 for containing the recovered resins 70 and 80. A doctor taper shape 801 of the doctor blade 800 has an inclination angle of preferably from 30 to 75.degree., more preferably from 30 to 60.degree., further preferably from 40 to 50.degree., the most preferably 45.degree. according to the viscosity of the liquid photosensitive cushion resin 20. If the angle .alpha. is 30.degree. or more, the resin bank 15 tends to be held on the inclined face of the doctor blade 18. On the other hand, if the angle .alpha. is 75.degree. or less, the resin bank 15 present on the doctor blade 18 does not obstruct rotation of the sleeve 10 but can form a smooth application surface on the sleeve 10. When the liquid photosensitive resin is recovered, the liquid photosensitive resin is preferably rotated in a direction opposite to the rotation of application of the liquid photosensitive resin on the sleeve 100 for recovery. Specifically, the direction is opposite to the rotating direction (arrow A) of the sleeve 100 in FIG. 3 and the rotating direction (arrow B) of the sleeve 100 in FIG. 8, and by rotating in the direction opposite to the application direction, the resin can be recovered efficiently.
See Figure 3, below:
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to have utilized a glue supply valve disposed on a side of the mounting plate, wherein the glue storage tank and the glue scraping head both communicate with the glue supply valve as suggested by Watanabe in order to achieve a replenishment state.
Claim(s) 8-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Biagiotti (US 5653401 A) as applied to claims 1-2 above, and further in view of Nozaka (US 4991507 A).
As to claim 8, Biagiotti does not disclose wherein a side of the gluing mechanism is provided with a frame, the frame is provided with a cleaning assembly, and a moving assembly that is configured to drive the gluing mechanism to approach or leave the cleaning assembly is disposed between the frame and the gluing mechanism.
However, Nozaka makes obvious wherein a side of the application mechanism is provided with a frame (“frame 39”), the frame is provided with a cleaning assembly (“cleaning system 40”) , and a moving assembly (“This cleaning unit 40 is mounted on parallel rails 41 close to the impression cylinder 1 so that the unit is freely movable and detachable”) that is configured to drive the application mechanism to approach or leave the cleaning assembly is disposed between the frame and the application mechanism in order that “the cleaning of the impression cylinder is simplified and automated to result in labor savings and increased productivity”, which would make obvious the full limitation of wherein a side of the gluing mechanism is provided with a frame, the frame is provided with a cleaning assembly, and a moving assembly that is configured to drive the gluing mechanism to approach or leave the cleaning assembly is disposed between the frame and the gluing mechanism. Nozaka teaches starting at column 7, line 50, that:
The cleaning system according to the third embodiment shown in FIG. 7, FIG. 8 and FIG. 9 is provided at a diagonally lower position where it causes the least obstruction, wherein a cleaning unit 40 comprises a frame 39 housing a magazine roll (with a spring brake) 5 for the cleaning cloth 4 that performs the cleaning of the impression cylinder 1, a take-up roll 6 that is rotated by a take-up servo motor 6a to take-up the cleaning cloth 4, a guide roller 33, guide plate 34 and guide roller 35 to guide the cleaning cloth 4 with respect to the impression cylinder 1 and between the magazine roll 5 and the take-up roll 6, a line-contact blade 36 on the rear side of the cleaning cloth 4 so as to press the cleaning cloth 4 onto the arcuate circumferential surface of the impression cylinder 1 between guide plate 34 and guide roller 35, a surface pressure pad 37, and multiple air cylinders 38 in an array to press the pressure pad 37 in the direction of the axis of the impression cylinder 1. This cleaning unit 40 is mounted on parallel rails 41 close to the impression cylinder 1 so that the unit is freely movable and detachable.
However, it is also possible to provide an apparatus having the same mechanism, at the upper part of the impression cylinder. Moreover, in this embodiment, the combination of the magazine roll (with a spring brake) 5 and the servo motor ensures that a constant tensile force is always applied to the cleaning cloth 4 so that a voltage is applied to the servo motor only when the cleaning cloth 4 is to be taken-up, and the necessary amount of cleaning cloth 4 is taken-up. Because of this, there is no interference between the cleaning cloth 4 and the loosening fingers. The power supplied to the cleaning unit 40 is from the same source as that for the printing press and so when there is a power failure, the cleaning unit 40 and the printing press can both be brought to a stop at the same time, and therefore enhance the safety. The line contact blade 36 is a piece of aluminum that has been processed into an L-shape. A material that has been plated with hard chromium can be used to improve the durability. In addition, the surface pressure pad 37 is fixed to the C-shaped aluminum chamber 37a by an adhesive and is mounted as a whole to the horizontal part where the line-contact blade 36 for the C-shaped chamber forms an L-shape, the line-contact blade 36 and the surface pressure pad 37 form a single unit, and the multiple air cylinders 38 for pressing, cause the cleaning cloth 4 to be guided by the C-shaped groove guide 42 against the impression cylinder 1 and at the same time for the line-contact blade 36 to be pressed in a line against the impression cylinder 1 and for the surface pressure pad 37 to press against the surface of the impression cylinder 1. In addition, for the linecontact blade 36 and the surface pressure pad 37 to simultaneously press the cleaning cloth 4 against the surface of the impression cylinder 1, it is necessary for the surface of the sponge to be soft so that it can form an angle of about 5.degree. to 10.degree., and for the material to be resistant to both solvents and water (P.P., P.E., PVC, etc.).
Such a configuration enables dirt on the impression cylinder 1 to be brought into contact with the cleaning cloth 4 held in line contact by the line-contact blade 36, and therefore be wiped off, and also for other dirt to be wiped off by the cleaning cloth 4 where it is in surface contact. It is of course possible to use rotary actuators in place of the air cylinders 38 used for pressing and the use of hydraulic or electrical drive can be substituted for compressed air drive.
…
Still furthermore, in order to prevent the cleaning cloth 4 from coming into contact with the impression cylinder 1 during the printing process, an air cylinder 48 separates the cleaning unit 40 from the impression cylinder 1 so that the interval between the cleaning cloth 4 and the impression cylinder 1 is about 10 mm. In this embodiment, an encoder (4096 pulses/rotation) is used as the means of detecting the position of the impression cylinder 1 (impression cylinder fingers 3). Alternatively however, a contact sensor, a photoelectric sensor or the like can be provided as the means of detecting the fingers 3, and as in the previously described embodiment, a finger release cam 14 can be used to avoid contact with the fingers. A spring is incorporated as a safety mechanism in order to prevent the line-contact blade 36 and the surface pressure pad 37 from separating from the impression cylinder 1 and a proximity sensor is used to detect the operation of the pressure contact portion s that the operation of the printing press and the cleaning system is stopped should an abnormality be detected.
…
According to the present invention, the line-contact blade 36 and the surface pressure pad 37 on the rear side of the cleaning cloth 4 with respect to the impression cylinder 1, are pressed towards the impression cylinder 1 by a plural number of air cylinders 38 provided in a line along the length so that the line-contact blade 36 and surface pressure pad 37 are pressed towards the impression cylinder 1 at a uniform pressure along their entire length, and so that the pressure force of the surface pressure pad 37 is added to the line-contact pressure of the cleaning cloth 4 with respect to the arcuate circumferential surface of the impression cylinder 1 and so that unlike cleaning systems where a conventional pad is used to press the cleaning cloth against the impression cylinder, more uniform and effective cleaning can be performed for from the fingers to the tail end of the impression cylinder. Moreover, the combination of the line-contact blade 36 and the surface pressure pad 37 enables the cleaning time to be shortened when compared to the method where only a surface pressure pad 37 is used to press the cleaning cloth 4 against the impression cylinder 1, and the method where only a line-contact blade 36 is used to achieve the same. In addition to this, the relative position of the cleaning cloth 4 with respect to the impression cylinder 1 can be freely changed by the multiple number of air cylinders 48 upon the detection of the finger position by encoder signals from the rotation of the impression cylinder. It is therefore not necessary to provide a finger escape cam 14 to enable control for the separation of the cleaning cloth 4 from the fingers 3. In addition, the cleaning unit 40 can be moved and fixed along cleaning unit support rails 41 in the direction of the length of the cylinder so as to facilitate the repair and exchange of the cleaning unit.
…
Accordingly, the cleaning of the impression cylinder is simplified and automated to result in labor savings and increased productivity, and the cleaning system of the present invention can be easily mounted to the bottom portion of printing presses where this had been previously impossible due to lack of space for adjustment of the contact precision between the blade and the impression cylinder.
See Figure 7, below:
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to have utilized wherein a side of the gluing mechanism is provided with a frame, the frame is provided with a cleaning assembly, and a moving assembly that is configured to drive the gluing mechanism to approach or leave the cleaning assembly is disposed between the frame and the gluing mechanism as suggested by Nozaka such that the cleaning is simplified and automated to result in labor savings and increased productivity.
As to claim 9, Biagiotti does not disclose wherein the cleaning assembly comprises: a fixed seat disposed on the frame; and a cleaning box disposed on a side of the fixed seat, wherein a side of the cleaning box is provided with a cleaning cloth for wiping the glue scraping head, and a cleaning drive assembly that is configured to drive the cleaning box to approach or leave the glue scraping head is disposed between the cleaning box and the fixed seat.
However, Nozaka discloses wherein the cleaning assembly comprises: a fixed seat (“surface pressure pad 37”) disposed on the frame; and a cleaning box (“C-shaped aluminum chamber 37a”) disposed on a side of the fixed seat, wherein a side of the cleaning box is provided with a cleaning cloth (“cleaning cloth 4”) for wiping the glue scraping head, and a cleaning drive assembly (“This cleaning unit 40 is mounted on parallel rails 41 close to the impression cylinder 1 so that the unit is freely movable and detachable.”) that is configured to drive the cleaning box to approach or leave the glue scraping head is disposed between the cleaning box and the fixed seat. See the citations above in the rejection of parent claim 8.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to have utilized wherein the cleaning assembly comprises: a fixed seat disposed on the frame; and a cleaning box disposed on a side of the fixed seat, wherein a side of the cleaning box is provided with a cleaning cloth for wiping the glue scraping head, and a cleaning drive assembly that is configured to drive the cleaning box to approach or leave the glue scraping head is disposed between the cleaning box and the fixed seat as suggested by Nozaka such that the cleaning is simplified and automated to result in labor savings and increased productivity.
As to claim 10, Biagiotti does not disclose wherein one side of the cleaning box is provided with an unwinding roller configured to unwind the cleaning cloth, the other side is provided with a rewinding roller configured to rewind the cleaning cloth, and the rewinding roller is in transmissive connection with a rewinding drive member configured to drive the rewinding roller to rotate.
However, Nozaka discloses and makes obvious wherein one side of the cleaning box is provided with an unwinding roller (magazine roll 5) configured to unwind the cleaning cloth, the other side is provided with a rewinding roller (take-up roll 6) configured to rewind the cleaning cloth, and the rewinding roller is in transmissive connection (via “take-up servo motor 6a”, which is a functional equivalent of a stepper motor) with a rewinding drive member configured to drive the rewinding roller to rotate. Nozaka teaches starting at column 7, line 50, that:
The cleaning system according to the third embodiment shown in FIG. 7, FIG. 8 and FIG. 9 is provided at a diagonally lower position where it causes the least obstruction, wherein a cleaning unit 40 comprises a frame 39 housing a magazine roll (with a spring brake) 5 for the cleaning cloth 4 that performs the cleaning of the impression cylinder 1, a take-up roll 6 that is rotated by a take-up servo motor 6a to take-up the cleaning cloth 4, a guide roller 33, guide plate 34 and guide roller 35 to guide the cleaning cloth 4 with respect to the impression cylinder 1 and between the magazine roll 5 and the take-up roll 6, a line-contact blade 36 on the rear side of the cleaning cloth 4 so as to press the cleaning cloth 4 onto the arcuate circumferential surface of the impression cylinder 1 between guide plate 34 and guide roller 35, a surface pressure pad 37, and multiple air cylinders 38 in an array to press the pressure pad 37 in the direction of the axis of the impression cylinder 1. This cleaning unit 40 is mounted on parallel rails 41 close to the impression cylinder 1 so that the unit is freely movable and detachable.
See also Figure 7, below:
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to have utilized wherein one side of the cleaning box is provided with an unwinding roller configured to unwind the cleaning cloth, the other side is provided with a rewinding roller configured to rewind the cleaning cloth, and the rewinding roller is in transmissive connection with a rewinding drive member configured to drive the rewinding roller to rotate as suggested by Nozaka such that the cleaning is simplified and automated to result in labor savings and increased productivity.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-6 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The prior art of record, such as the Biagiotti, Watanabe and Nozaka references applied above, do not disclose the additional limitation of “wherein the glue-scraping drive assembly comprises: a connecting plate disposed on a side of the mounting plate, wherein a glue-scraping drive member that is configured to drive the connecting plate to approach or leave the rewinding reel is disposed between the connecting plate and the mounting plate; an adjustment seat, disposed on a side of the connecting plate away from the mounting plate and rotatably connected to the connecting plate, wherein a first elastic member is disposed between the adjustment seat and the connecting plate; a transition frame disposed on a side of the adjustment seat away from the connecting plate, wherein a second elastic member is disposed between the transition frame and the adjustment seat; and a loading plate disposed in the transition frame, wherein a third elastic member is disposed between the loading plate and the transition frame, and the loading plate is detachably connected to the glue scraping head” in combination with the other limitations of parent claim 1.
A number of the individual elements of claim 3 are known. Biagiotti discloses a number of frame and plate structures in Figures 2 and 3, only discloses a single flexible member (81b). Similarly, Nozaka only discloses a single coil spring 27. Neither would make obvious the full limitation of claim 3.
Conclusion
The examiner can normally be reached M-F 10-6:30.
/GEORGE R KOCH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1745
GRK