Claim Objections
Claim 7 is objected to because of the following informalities: the acronym HARQ is not defined in the claim.
Claim 10 is objected to because of the following informalities: “MCS occupied by the first signal” cannot be found in specification and the acronym MCS is also not defined in the claim.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 4, 12-17, are 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Papasakellariou et al. US 20220086894 A1 (Domestic Priority September 14, 2020) in view of Liu et al. US 20220264341 A1 (Foreign Priority August 2, 2019).
Regarding claim 1, Papasakellariou discloses a first node for wireless communications, comprising: a first receiver, receiving a first information block, the first information block being used to indicate a DCI format (see, DCI format associated with blocks, section 0120) monitored in a first search space (see, UE typically receives/monitors PDCCH for detections of DCI formats with CRC scrambled by a C-RNTI according to a UE-specific search space (USS), section 0081); and receiving a first DCI (i.e., Downlink Control Information) in the first search space (see, UE receives a configuration for a search space set to monitor PDCCH wherein the search space set configuration includes a DCI format, section 0117), the first DCI using a DCI format that is a first DCI format (see, DCI format fields includes Number of bits Identifier for DCI formats, section 0087-0089); and a first transceiver, operating a first signal (see, transceiver receiving and transmitting for a first group of cells, sections 0006-0007), the first DCI indicating at least one of time-domain resources or frequency-domain resources (see, DCI format fields includes frequency domain and time domain, section 0087-0089; noted, DCI bits or data bits rate matched to assigned time/frequency resources, section 0078) occupied by the first signal (see, control signals conveying DL control information (DCI), section 0072); the operating being receiving, or the operating being transmitting (see, time-domain signal being transmitted, section 0064); wherein a candidate for the DCI format monitored in the first search space includes a first DCI candidate format set; whether the first DCI format is in Size Alignment with a second DCI format is related to whether the first DCI format belongs to the first DCI candidate format set; when the first DCI format belongs to the first DCI candidate format set, the first DCI format is not in Size Alignment with the second DCI format; when the first DCI format does not belong to the first DCI candidate format set, the first DCI format is in Size Alignment with the second DCI format; the second DCI format is a DCI format other than the first DCI candidate format set.
Papasakellariou discloses all claim limitations but fail to explicitly disclose: wherein a candidate for the DCI format monitored in the first search space includes a first DCI candidate format set; whether the first DCI format is in Size Alignment with a second DCI format is related to whether the first DCI format belongs to the first DCI candidate format set; when the first DCI format belongs to the first DCI candidate format set, the first DCI format is not in Size Alignment with the second DCI format; when the first DCI format does not belong to the first DCI candidate format set, the first DCI format is in Size Alignment with the second DCI format; the second DCI format is a DCI format other than the first DCI candidate format set.
However Liu ‘341 from a similar field of endeavor disclose: wherein a candidate for the DCI format monitored in the first search space includes a first DCI candidate format set (see, a DCI format set associated with a UE-specific search space (USS) or a common search space (CSS), section 0171 Liu ‘341); whether the first DCI format is in Size Alignment (see, the alignment of the size of a DCI format, section 0189 Liu ‘341) with a second DCI format is related to whether the first DCI format belongs to the first DCI candidate format set (see, size of DCI format C may be different from the size of the DCI format set B, section 0193 Liu ‘341); when the first DCI format belongs to the first DCI candidate format set, the first DCI format is not in Size Alignment with the second DCI format (see, different DCI formats need to be size aligned to have a same size thus they were originally not in size alignment, section 0198 Liu ‘341); when the first DCI format does not belong to the first DCI candidate format set, the first DCI format is in Size Alignment with the second DCI format (see, a UE may perform a DCI size alignment operation via padding or truncating some bits of some fields for a DCI format until the DCI format size equals to another DCI size, section 0182 Liu ‘341); the second DCI format is a DCI format other than the first DCI candidate format set (see, different DCI formats may have different DCI format sizes, section 0182 Liu ‘341).
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claim invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to modify the node of Papasakellariou and with the size alignment of Liu ‘341. The motivation would have been to improve where to search for candidates for a DCI format.
Papasakellariou discloses all claim limitations but fail to explicitly disclose: Regarding claim 2, the first node according to claim 1, characterized in that when the first DCI format belongs to the first DCI candidate format set, the first DCI format is in Size Alignment with a third DCI format, the third DCI format being a DCI candidate format in the first DCI candidate format set.
However Liu ‘341 from a similar field of endeavor disclose: the first node according to claim 1, characterized in that when the first DCI format belongs to the first DCI candidate format set, the first DCI format is in Size Alignment with a third DCI format, the third DCI format being a DCI candidate format in the first DCI candidate format set (see, DCI size alignment procedure is complete, different DCI formats can be part of a DCI format set, section 0204 Liu ‘341).
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claim invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to modify the node of Papasakellariou and with the size alignment of Liu ‘341. The motivation would have been to improve where to search for candidates for a DCI format.
Papasakellariou discloses all claim limitations but fail to explicitly disclose: Regarding claim 4, the first node according to claim 1, characterized in that the meaning of that the first DCI format is in Size Alignment with the second DCI format includes at least one of: - the first DCI format and the second DCI format being indicated by one field in a same RRC IE; or - the first DCI format and the second DCI format achieving identical payload sizes through padding or truncation.
However Liu ‘341 from a similar field of endeavor disclose: the first node according to claim 1, characterized in that the meaning of that the first DCI format is in Size Alignment with the second DCI format includes at least one of: - the first DCI format and the second DCI format being indicated by one field in a same RRC IE; or - the first DCI format and the second DCI format achieving identical payload sizes through padding or truncation (see, a UE may perform a DCI size alignment operation via padding or truncating some bits of some fields for a DCI format until the DCI format size equals to another DCI size, section 0182 Liu ‘341).
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claim invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to modify the node of Papasakellariou and with the size alignment of Liu ‘341. The motivation would have been to improve where to search for candidates for a DCI format.
Regarding claim 12, Papasakellariou discloses the first node according to claim 1, characterized in that the first DCI candidate format set includes Q1 DCI formats (see, scheduling a UE on a first cell, section 0101), and any one of the Q1 DCI formats is used to indicate multiple serving cells (see, a DCI format that schedules PUSCH transmissions from a UE on multiple cell, section 0107), Q1 being a positive integer greater than 1.
Regarding claim 13, Papasakellariou discloses the first node according to claim 1, characterized in that the second DCI format is used to schedule one cell (see, a DCI format 1_2 scheduling a PDSCH reception by a UE on a single cell, section 0087; noted, a DCI format 0_2 scheduling a PUSCH transmission from a UE on a single cell, section 0088), and any DCI format in the first DCI candidate format set is used to schedule multiple cells (see, a DCI format that schedules PUSCH transmissions from a UE on multiple cell, section 0107).
Regarding claim 14, Papasakellariou discloses the first node according to claim 1, characterized in that any DCI format in the first DCI candidate format set is used to schedule up to N1 cells (see, a DCI format that schedules PUSCH transmissions from a UE on multiple cell, section 0107), N1 being a positive integer greater than 1, N1 being configurable.
Regarding claim 15, Papasakellariou discloses the first node according to claim 1, characterized in that the first DCI format is used for downlink scheduling and the third DCI format is used for uplink scheduling (see, a DCI format 1_2 scheduling a PDSCH reception by a UE on a single cell, section 0087; noted, a DCI format 0_2 scheduling a PUSCH transmission from a UE on a single cell, section 0088), or the first DCI format is used for downlink scheduling and the third DCI format is used for downlink scheduling (see, a DCI format 1_2 scheduling a PDSCH reception by a UE on a single cell, section 0087; noted, a DCI format 0_2 scheduling a PUSCH transmission from a UE on a single cell, section 0088).
Papasakellariou discloses all claim limitations but fail to explicitly disclose: Regarding claim 16, the first node according to claim 1, characterized in that when the first DCI format is in Size Alignment with the second DCI format: a payload size of the first DCI format is larger than a payload size of the second DCI format, and the second DCI format achieves the same payload size as the first DCI format through padding bits; or the payload size of the first DCI format is smaller than the payload size of the second DCI format, and the first DCI format achieves the same payload size as the second DCI format through padding bits.
However Liu ‘341 from a similar field of endeavor disclose: the first node according to claim 1, characterized in that when the first DCI format is in Size Alignment with the second DCI format: a payload size of the first DCI format is larger than a payload size of the second DCI format (see, zero-padding bits to increase a payload size where the size of a DCI format (DCI format size, DCI size) may refer to the payload size of the DCI format, section 0181 Liu; noted, padding can be used to adjust the payload size, section 0189 Liu ‘341), and the second DCI format achieves the same payload size as the first DCI format through padding bits (see, zero-padding bits to increase a payload size where the size of a DCI format (DCI format size, DCI size) may refer to the payload size of the DCI format, section 0181 Liu; noted, padding can be used to adjust the payload size, section 0189 Liu ‘341); or the payload size of the first DCI format is smaller than the payload size of the second DCI format (see, zero-padding bits to increase a payload size where the size of a DCI format (DCI format size, DCI size) may refer to the payload size of the DCI format, section 0181 Liu; noted, padding can be used to adjust the payload size, section 0189 Liu ‘341), and the first DCI format achieves the same payload size as the second DCI format through padding bits (see, zero-padding bits to increase a payload size where the size of a DCI format (DCI format size, DCI size) may refer to the payload size of the DCI format, section 0181 Liu; noted, padding can be used to adjust the payload size, section 0189 Liu ‘341).
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claim invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to modify the node of Papasakellariou and with the padding of Liu ‘341. The motivation would have been to improve where to search for candidates for a DCI format.
Papasakellariou discloses all claim limitations but fail to explicitly disclose: Regarding claim 17, the first node according to claim 2, characterized in that when the first DCI format is in Size Alignment with the third DCI format: a payload size of the first DCI format is larger than a payload size of the third DCI format, and the third DCI format achieves the same payload size as the first DCI format through padding bits; or the payload size of the first DCI format is smaller than the payload size of the third DCI format, and the first DCI format achieves the same payload size as the third DCI format through padding bits.
However Liu ‘341 from a similar field of endeavor disclose: the first node according to claim 2, characterized in that when the first DCI format is in Size Alignment with the third DCI format: a payload size of the first DCI format is larger than a payload size of the third DCI format (see, zero-padding bits to increase a payload size where the size of a DCI format (DCI format size, DCI size) may refer to the payload size of the DCI format, section 0181 Liu; noted, padding can be used to adjust the payload size, section 0189 Liu ‘341), and the third DCI format achieves the same payload size as the first DCI format through padding bits (see, zero-padding bits to increase a payload size where the size of a DCI format (DCI format size, DCI size) may refer to the payload size of the DCI format, section 0181 Liu; noted, padding can be used to adjust the payload size, section 0189 Liu ‘341); or the payload size of the first DCI format is smaller than the payload size of the third DCI format (see, zero-padding bits to increase a payload size where the size of a DCI format (DCI format size, DCI size) may refer to the payload size of the DCI format, section 0181 Liu; noted, padding can be used to adjust the payload size, section 0189 Liu ‘341), and the first DCI format achieves the same payload size as the third DCI format through padding bits (see, zero-padding bits to increase a payload size where the size of a DCI format (DCI format size, DCI size) may refer to the payload size of the DCI format, section 0181 Liu; noted, padding can be used to adjust the payload size, section 0189 Liu ‘341).
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claim invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to modify the node of Papasakellariou and with the size alignment of Liu ‘341. The motivation would have been to improve where to search for candidates for a DCI format.
Regarding claim 19, Papasakellariou disclose a second node for wireless communications, comprising: a first transmitter, transmitting a first information block, the first information block being used to indicate a DCI format (see, DCI format associated with blocks, section 0120) monitored in a first search space (see, UE typically receives/monitors PDCCH for detections of DCI formats with CRC scrambled by a C-RNTI according to a UE-specific search space (USS), section 0081); and transmitting a first DCI in the first search space (see, UE receives a configuration for a search space set to monitor PDCCH wherein the search space set configuration includes a DCI format, section 0117), the first DCI using a DCI format that is a first DCI format (see, DCI format fields includes Number of bits Identifier for DCI formats, section 0087-0089); and a second transceiver, executing a first signal (see, transceiver receiving and transmitting for a first group of cells, sections 0006-0007), the first DCI indicating at least one of time-domain resources or frequency-domain resources (see, DCI format fields includes frequency domain and time domain, section 0087-0089; noted, DCI bits or data bits rate matched to assigned time/frequency resources, section 0078) occupied by the first signal (see, control signals conveying DL control information (DCI), section 0072); the executing being transmitting, or the executing being receiving (see, time-domain signal being transmitted, section 0064); wherein a candidate for the DCI format monitored in the first search space includes a first DCI candidate format set; whether the first DCI format is in Size Alignment with a second DCI format is related to whether the first DCI format belongs to the first DCI candidate format set; when the first DCI format belongs to the first DCI candidate format set, the first DCI format is not in Size Alignment with the second DCI format; when the first DCI format does not belong to the first DCI candidate format set, the first DCI format is in Size Alignment with the second DCI format; the second DCI format is a DCI format other than the first DCI candidate format set.
Papasakellariou discloses all claim limitations but fail to explicitly disclose: wherein a candidate for the DCI format monitored in the first search space includes a first DCI candidate format set; whether the first DCI format is in Size Alignment with a second DCI format is related to whether the first DCI format belongs to the first DCI candidate format set; when the first DCI format belongs to the first DCI candidate format set, the first DCI format is not in Size Alignment with the second DCI format; when the first DCI format does not belong to the first DCI candidate format set, the first DCI format is in Size Alignment with the second DCI format; the second DCI format is a DCI format other than the first DCI candidate format set.
However Liu ‘341 from a similar field of endeavor disclose: wherein a candidate for the DCI format monitored in the first search space includes a first DCI candidate format set (see, a DCI format set associated with a UE-specific search space (USS) or a common search space (CSS), section 0171 Liu ‘341); whether the first DCI format is in Size Alignment (see, the alignment of the size of a DCI format, section 0189 Liu ‘341) with a second DCI format is related to whether the first DCI format belongs to the first DCI candidate format set (see, size of DCI format C may be different from the size of the DCI format set B, section 0193 Liu ‘341); when the first DCI format belongs to the first DCI candidate format set, the first DCI format is not in Size Alignment with the second DCI format (see, different DCI formats need to be size aligned to have a same size thus they were originally not in size alignment, section 0198 Liu ‘341); when the first DCI format does not belong to the first DCI candidate format set, the first DCI format is in Size Alignment with the second DCI format (see, a UE may perform a DCI size alignment operation via padding or truncating some bits of some fields for a DCI format until the DCI format size equals to another DCI size, section 0182 Liu ‘341); the second DCI format is a DCI format other than the first DCI candidate format set (see, different DCI formats may have different DCI format sizes, section 0182 Liu ‘341).
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claim invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to modify the node of Papasakellariou and with the size alignment of Liu ‘341. The motivation would have been to improve where to search for candidates for a DCI format.
Regarding claim 20, Papasakellariou discloses a method in a first node for wireless communications, comprising: receiving a first information block, the first information block being used to indicate a DCI format (see, DCI format associated with blocks, section 0120) monitored in a first search space (see, UE typically receives/monitors PDCCH for detections of DCI formats with CRC scrambled by a C-RNTI according to a UE-specific search space (USS), section 0081); and receiving a first DCI in the first search space (see, UE receives a configuration for a search space set to monitor PDCCH wherein the search space set configuration includes a DCI format, section 0117), the first DCI using a DCI format that is a first DCI format (see, DCI format fields includes Number of bits Identifier for DCI formats, section 0087-0089); and operating a first signal, the first DCI indicating at least one of time-domain resources or frequency-domain resources (see, DCI format fields includes frequency domain and time domain, section 0087-0089; noted, DCI bits or data bits rate matched to assigned time/frequency resources, section 0078) occupied by the first signal (see, control signals conveying DL control information (DCI), section 0072); the operating being receiving, or the operating being transmitting (see, time-domain signal being transmitted, section 0064); wherein a candidate for the DCI format monitored in the first search space includes a first DCI candidate format set; whether the first DCI format is in Size Alignment with a second DCI format is related to whether the first DCI format belongs to the first DCI candidate format set; when the first DCI format belongs to the first DCI candidate format set, the first DCI format is not in Size Alignment with the second DCI format; when the first DCI format does not belong to the first DCI candidate format set, the first DCI format is in Size Alignment with the second DCI format; the second DCI format is a DCI format other than the first DCI candidate format set.
Papasakellariou discloses all claim limitations but fail to explicitly disclose: wherein a candidate for the DCI format monitored in the first search space includes a first DCI candidate format set; whether the first DCI format is in Size Alignment with a second DCI format is related to whether the first DCI format belongs to the first DCI candidate format set; when the first DCI format belongs to the first DCI candidate format set, the first DCI format is not in Size Alignment with the second DCI format; when the first DCI format does not belong to the first DCI candidate format set, the first DCI format is in Size Alignment with the second DCI format; the second DCI format is a DCI format other than the first DCI candidate format set.
However Liu ‘341 from a similar field of endeavor disclose: wherein a candidate for the DCI format monitored in the first search space includes a first DCI candidate format set (see, a DCI format set associated with a UE-specific search space (USS) or a common search space (CSS), section 0171 Liu ‘341); whether the first DCI format is in Size Alignment (see, the alignment of the size of a DCI format, section 0189 Liu ‘341) with a second DCI format is related to whether the first DCI format belongs to the first DCI candidate format set (see, size of DCI format C may be different from the size of the DCI format set B, section 0193 Liu ‘341); when the first DCI format belongs to the first DCI candidate format set, the first DCI format is not in Size Alignment with the second DCI format (see, different DCI formats need to be size aligned to have a same size thus they were originally not in size alignment, section 0198 Liu ‘341); when the first DCI format does not belong to the first DCI candidate format set, the first DCI format is in Size Alignment with the second DCI format (see, a UE may perform a DCI size alignment operation via padding or truncating some bits of some fields for a DCI format until the DCI format size equals to another DCI size, section 0182 Liu ‘341); the second DCI format is a DCI format other than the first DCI candidate format set (see, different DCI formats may have different DCI format sizes, section 0182 Liu ‘341).
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claim invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to modify the node of Papasakellariou and with the size alignment of Liu ‘341. The motivation would have been to improve where to search for candidates for a DCI format.
Claims 3, 5, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Papasakellariou et al. US 20220086894 A1 (Domestic Priority September 14, 2020) in view of Liu et al. US 20220264341 A1 (Foreign Priority August 2, 2019), and in further view of Liu et al. US 20250007762 A1 (Foreign Priority March 11, 2022).
The combination of Papasakellariou and Liu ‘341 discloses all claim limitations but fail to explicitly disclose: Regarding claim 3, the first node according to claim 1, characterized in that a target DCI format is any DCI format in the first DCI candidate format set, and the target DCI format comprises a first field; the first field in the target DCI format is used to determine L1 serving cells, L1 being a positive integer greater than 1.
However Liu ‘762 from a similar field of endeavor disclose: the first node according to claim 1, characterized in that a target DCI format is any DCI format in the first DCI candidate format set (see, DCI Format carried by the first PDCCH candidate is one of DCI Formats, section 0616-0617 Liu ‘762), and the target DCI format comprises a first field (see, one field included in a DCI format, section 0479 Liu ‘762); the first field in the target DCI format is used to determine L1 serving cells (see, at least one of a number of bits of at least one field included in a DCI format is related to a number of serving cells, section 0433 Liu ‘762), L1 being a positive integer greater than 1.
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claim invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to modify the combination of Papasakellariou and Liu ‘341 and with the serving cells of Liu ‘762. The motivation would have been to improve multi-carrier communications.
The combination of Papasakellariou and Liu ‘341 discloses all claim limitations but fail to explicitly disclose: Regarding claim 5, the first node according to claim 1, characterized in comprising: the first receiver, receiving a second information block; wherein the second information block is used to determine a second search space; the first DCI occupies one or more PDCCH candidates in the first search space; the second search space corresponds to a fourth DCI format; the first DCI format comprises the first field, the first field in the first DCI format being used to determine K1 serving cells, K1 being a positive integer greater than 1; the fourth DCI format comprises the first field, the first field in the fourth DCI format being used to determine K4 serving cell(s), K4 being a positive integer; the first DCI format belongs to the first DCI candidate format set; the K1 being greater than the K4 is used to determine that the first node cancels monitoring of a PDCCH in the second search space.
However Liu ‘762 from a similar field of endeavor disclose: the first node according to claim 1, characterized in comprising: the first receiver, receiving a second information block; wherein the second information block is used to determine a second search space (see, first information block is used to explicitly or implicitly indicate that the first cell set includes multiple serving cells being scheduled by the same PDCCH or the same DCI format, section 0321 Liu ‘762); the first DCI occupies one or more PDCCH candidates in the first search space (see, DCI Format carried by the first PDCCH candidate is one of DCI Formats, section 0616-0617 Liu ‘762); the second search space corresponds to a fourth DCI format (see, DCI Format carried by the first PDCCH candidate is one of DCI Formats, section 0616-0617 Liu ‘762); the first DCI format comprises the first field (see, one field included in a DCI format, section 0479 Liu ‘762), the first field in the first DCI format being used to determine K1 serving cells, K1 being a positive integer greater than 1 (see, see, at least one of a number of bits of at least one field included in a DCI format is related to a number of serving cells, section 0433 Liu ‘762); the fourth DCI format comprises the first field, the first field in the fourth DCI format being used to determine K4 serving cell(s), K4 being a positive integer (see, at least one of a number of bits of at least one field included in a DCI format is related to a number of serving cells, section 0433 Liu ‘762); the first DCI format belongs to the first DCI candidate format set (see, DCI Format carried by the first PDCCH candidate is one of DCI Formats, section 0616-0617 Liu ‘762); the K1 being greater than the K4 is used to determine that the first node cancels monitoring of a PDCCH in the second search space (see, when the number of PDCCH candidates using the first SCS monitored in the first time window is configured to exceed the first threshold, the first node of the present application may drop monitoring the PDCCH candidates using the first SCS beyond the first threshold, section 0177 Liu ‘762).
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claim invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to modify the combination of Papasakellariou and Liu ‘341 and with the serving cells of Liu ‘762. The motivation would have been to improve multi-carrier communications.
The combination of Papasakellariou and Liu discloses all claim limitations but fail to explicitly disclose: Regarding claim 18, the first node according to claim 2, characterized in that the first signal comprises K1 sub-signals, and the K1 sub-signals are respectively transmitted on K1 serving cells, the first DCI is used to indicate the K1 serving cells, and the first DCI comprises K1 fields, the K1 fields respectively corresponding to the K1 sub-signals.
However Liu ‘762 from a similar field of endeavor disclose: the first node according to claim 2, characterized in that the first signal comprises K1 sub-signals, and the K1 sub-signals are respectively transmitted on K1 serving cells (see, number of PDCCH candidates being monitored for a serving cell, section 0518 Liu ‘762), the first DCI is used to indicate the K1 serving cells (see, at least one of a number of bits of at least one field included in a DCI format is related to a number of serving cells, section 0433 Liu ‘762), and the first DCI comprises K1 fields, the K1 fields respectively corresponding to the K1 sub-signals (see, number of PDCCH candidates for scheduling a cell subset corresponding to the first identifier is configured or predefined, section 0579 Liu ‘762).
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claim invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to modify the combination of Papasakellariou and Liu ‘341 and with the serving cells of Liu ‘762. The motivation would have been to improve multi-carrier communications.
Claims 6-7, 9, and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Papasakellariou et al. US 20220086894 A1 (Domestic Priority September 14, 2020) in view of Liu et al. US 20220264341 A1 (Foreign Priority August 2, 2019), and in further view of Yi et al. US 20230217456 A1 (Domestic Priority September 22, 2020).
The combination of Papasakellariou and Liu ‘341 discloses all claim limitations but fail to explicitly disclose: Regarding claim 6, the first node according to claim 1, characterized in that the frequency-domain resources occupied by the first signal are associated to at least two serving cells.
However Yi from a similar field of endeavor disclose: the first node according to claim 1, characterized in that the frequency-domain resources occupied by the first signal are associated to at least two serving cells (see, a number of serving cells associated with configurations in the frequency domain, section 0129 Yi).
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claim invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to modify the combination of Papasakellariou and Liu ‘341 and with the frequency domain of Yi. The motivation would have been to improve transmission of CSI.
The combination of Papasakellariou and Liu ‘341 discloses all claim limitations but fail to explicitly disclose: Regarding claim 7, the first node according to claim 1, characterized in that the first signal is generated by M1 bit blocks, M1 being a positive integer greater than 1, the M1 bit blocks respectively occupying M1 HARQ process numbers.
However Yi from a similar field of endeavor disclose: the first node according to claim 1, characterized in that the first signal is generated by M1 bit blocks (see, generation mechanism associated with bits, section 0226 Yi; noted, bit associated with transport block, section 0277 Yi), M1 being a positive integer greater than 1 (see, no indication of the bits not being positive, sections 0226-0238), the M1 bit blocks respectively occupying M1 HARQ process numbers (see, bit size for the HARQ process # field, section 0238 Yi).
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claim invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to modify the combination of Papasakellariou and Liu ‘341 and with the HARQ of Yi. The motivation would have been to improve transmission of CSI.
The combination of Papasakellariou and Liu ‘341 discloses all claim limitations but fail to explicitly disclose: Regarding claim 9, the first node according to claim 1, characterized in that the first information block is used to indicate multiple DCI formats monitored in the first search space.
However Yi from a similar field of endeavor disclose: the first node according to claim 1, characterized in that the first information block is used to indicate multiple DCI formats monitored in the first search space (see, RRC messages comprising configuration parameters of one or more CORESETs and one or more search space sets where configuration parameters may indicate one or more DCI formats to be monitored by the UE, sections 0197 Yi).
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claim invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to modify the combination of Papasakellariou and Liu ‘341 and with the monitoring of Yi. The motivation would have been to improve transmission of CSI.
The combination of Papasakellariou and Liu ‘341 discloses all claim limitations but fail to explicitly disclose: Regarding claim 11, the first node according to claim 1, characterized in that the first DCI indicates a TCI (i.e., Transmission Configuration Indication) corresponding to the first signal.
However Yi from a similar field of endeavor disclose: the first node according to claim 1, characterized in that the first DCI indicates a TCI (i.e., Transmission Configuration Indication) corresponding to the first signal (see, configuration parameters may indicate/comprise a TCI state in a DCI for the first cell, section 0298 Yi).
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claim invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to modify the combination of Papasakellariou and Liu ‘341 and with the TCI of Yi. The motivation would have been to improve transmission of CSI.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Papasakellariou et al. US 20220086894 A1 (Domestic Priority September 14, 2020) in view of Liu et al. US 20220264341 A1 (Foreign Priority August 2, 2019), and in further view of Zhang et al. US 20210219189 A1 (Foreign Priority January 10, 2020).
The combination of Papasakellariou and Liu ‘341 discloses all claim limitations but fail to explicitly disclose: Regarding claim 8, the first node according to claim 1, characterized in that an RRC signaling corresponding to the first information block includes a SearchSpace IE in TS 38.331.
However Zhang from a similar field of endeavor disclose: the first node according to claim 1, characterized in that an RRC signaling corresponding to the first information block includes a SearchSpace IE in TS 38.331 (see, first information set comprises one or more fields in a SearchSpace IE in TS 38.331, section 0446 Zhang; noted, first information set comprises an IE in an RRC Message in TS 38.331, section 0399 Zhang).
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claim invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to modify the combination of Papasakellariou and Liu ‘341 and with the SearchSpace IE of Zhang. The motivation would have been to improve cell handover.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Papasakellariou et al. US 20220086894 A1 (Domestic Priority September 14, 2020) in view of Liu et al. US 20220264341 A1 (Foreign Priority August 2, 2019), and in further view of Wu et al. US 20200169988 A1 (Foreign Priority November 23, 2018).
The combination of Papasakellariou and Liu ‘341 discloses all claim limitations but fail to explicitly disclose: Regarding claim 10, the first node according to claim 1, characterized in that the first DCI indicates the time-domain resources occupied by the first signal, the frequency-domain resources occupied by the first signal and an MCS occupied by the first signal.
However Wu from a similar field of endeavor disclose: the first node according to claim 1, characterized in that the first DCI indicates the time-domain resources occupied by the first signal (see, time-domain resources occupied by the first time-frequency resource group, sections 0154-0158 Wu; noted, a Time domain resource assignment filed in a DCI signaling, section 0391 Wu), the frequency-domain resources occupied by the first signal (see, first radio signal includes occupied frequency-domain resources, section 0357 Wu) and an MCS occupied by the first signal (see, first radio signal includes MCS, section 0357 Wu; noted, an MCS employed by a first radio signal, section 0478 Wu).
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claim invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to modify the combination of Papasakellariou and Liu ‘341 and with the MCS of Wu. The motivation would have been to improve signaling is used for determining a time-frequency resource group.
Conclusion
/PATRICK YIPAO PEI/Examiner, Art Unit 2473
/KWANG B YAO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2473