DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 5-6, 8-14, 16-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Van Horn (US20140165626A1) in view of Numata (JP6860095B1) via the English language equivalent (US20220341674A1), and Shimoya (US6401804B1).
Regarding claims 1, 5-6, 9-12, Van Horn teaches a heat exchanger (cooler – Fig. 1) that is provided in a refrigeration apparatus (Fig. 1) configured to be capable of performing a refrigeration cycle where an evaporation pressure of a refrigerant (1-chloro-3,3,3-trifluoropropene - ¶[0002]) is lower than an atmospheric pressure (below atmospheric pressure ¶[0038]), and that functions as an evaporator (flooded evaporator - ¶[0038]).
Van Horn does not explicitly teach the heat exchanger comprising: a shell forming an internal space; and a plate stack arranged in the internal space and including a plurality of heat transfer plates, wherein the plurality of heat transfer plates include first plates and second plates alternately arranged in a front-to-rear direction, the first plates and the second plates each have a corrugated pattern, a first channel sandwiched between a front surface of each first plate and a back surface of an associated second plate forms a refrigerant channel through which the refrigerant flows, a second channel sandwiched between a back surface of each first plate and a front surface of an associated second plate forming a heating medium channel through which a heating medium that exchanges heat with the refrigerant in the refrigerant channel flows, the refrigerant channel including a first channel on a back side of each second plate and a second channel on a front side of each first plate.
Numata teaches, a low-pressure refrigerant flooded evaporator type heat exchanger (¶[0015] & ¶[0053]), wherein the heat exchanger (see Fig. 1-3) comprising: a shell (shell 20) forming an internal space (internal space 21); and a plate stack (plate stack 40) arranged in the internal space and including a plurality of heat transfer plates (heat transfer plates 50a,50b), wherein the plurality of heat transfer plates include first plates and second plates alternately arranged in a front-to-rear direction, the first plates and the second plates each have a corrugated pattern (see pattern thereof), a first channel (41) sandwiched between a front surface of each first plate and a back surface of an associated second plate forms a refrigerant channel through which the refrigerant flows, a second channel (42) sandwiched between a back surface of each first plate and a front surface of an associated second plate forming a heating medium channel through which a heating medium that exchanges heat with the refrigerant in the refrigerant channel flows, the refrigerant channel including a first channel on a back side of each second plate and a second channel on a front side of each first plate.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Van Horn to include the shell and plate heat exchanger of Numata, in order to provide a heat exchanger with improved performance (¶[0064]).
Van Horn as modified teaches the limitations of claims 1, and Van Horn does not teach wherein a pitch P, which is an interval between a center line of the first channel in the front-to-rear direction and a center line of the second channel in the front-to-rear direction between the plurality of heat transfer plates is more than 1.2/1.5 mm and 2.1 mm or less.
Shimoya teaches wherein a pitch P, which is an interval between a center line of the first channel in the front-to-rear direction and a center line of the second channel in the front-to-rear direction (corresponds to vertical direction of Fig. 12), between the plurality of heat transfer plates is more than 1.2/1.5 mm and 2.1 mm or less, to balance strength and weight of the evaporator (Col. 15, lines 40-55, specifically, h is less than 2 mm and thickness = 0.1/0.35 mm, resulting in a pitch as defined in the instant application of an overlapping range of P < 1.9 mm).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Van Horn to include the pitch of Shimoya, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. MPEP 2144.05(II).
Regarding claim 2, Van Horn as modified teaches the limitations of claim 1, and Van Horn further teaches the heat exchanger is provided in the refrigeration apparatus (R) configured to be capable of performing a refrigeration cycle where the evaporation pressure of the refrigerant at 0° C. or more is lower than the atmospheric pressure (see evaporator temperature and pressure of R-1233zd in Tables 2-4).
Regarding claim 3, Van Horn as modified teaches the limitations of claim 2, and Van Horn further teaches wherein the heat exchanger is provided in the refrigeration apparatus (R) using 1-chloro-3,3,3-trifluoropropene as the refrigerant (1-chloro-3,3,3-trifluoropropene - ¶[0002]).
Regarding claims 8 and 13-14, Van Horn as modified further teaches a refrigeration apparatus (Fig. 1) comprising: the heat exchanger of claim 1-3 (as modified above), the refrigeration apparatus being configured to be capable of performing the refrigeration cycle where the evaporation pressure of the refrigerant is lower than the atmospheric pressure (below atmospheric pressure ¶[0038]).
Regarding claims 16-17, Van Horn further teaches a refrigeration apparatus (Fig. 1) comprising: the heat exchanger of claim 5-6 (as modified above), the refrigeration apparatus being configured to be capable of performing the refrigeration cycle where the evaporation pressure of the refrigerant is lower than the atmospheric pressure (below atmospheric pressure ¶[0038]).
Claim(s) 7 and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Van Horn (US20140165626A1) in view of Numata (JP6860095B1), via the English language equivalent (US20220341674A1), Shimoya (US6401804B1) and Kilmer (US6644388B1).
Regarding claim 7, Van Horn as modified teaches the limitations of claim 1, and Van horn as modified does not teach wherein a surface of the heat transfer plate has a rough portion.
Kilmer teaches (see Fig. 1-5) wherein a surface of the heat transfer plate has a rough portion (textured features – 6/26).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Van Horn to include the rough portion of Kilmer, in order to improve heat transfer (Col. 4, lines 30-45).
Regarding claim 18, Van Horn as modified further teaches a refrigeration apparatus (Fig. 1) comprising: the heat exchanger of claim 7 (as modified above), the refrigeration apparatus being configured to be capable of performing the refrigeration cycle where the evaporation pressure of the refrigerant is lower than the atmospheric pressure (below atmospheric pressure ¶[0038]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 8/10/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues the pitch of Shimoya is only a resul-effective variable with respect to the air flow outside of the plates, and thus is not proper rationale for optimizing the pitch to the recited value. Further Applicant argues the pitch as claimed recognizes and solves a specific problem, not identified by Shimoya. Further, Applicant argues an ordinarily skilled artisan would not look to Shimoya, as it is directed to a refrigerant/air heat exchanger, not a refrigerant/water heat exchanger.
Examiner contends the result effective variable, as illustrated by Shimoya is applicable to Van Horn. First, Examiner contends that Shimoya is directed to performing heat exchange via heat exchanging plates for an inside fluid and an outside fluid, with refrigerant and air being the primary disclosed example, and thus a skilled artisan would not consider the fluid to be restricted only to those two fluids. The result effective variable (pitch) is known, as taught by Shimoya, to be optimized to balance heat transfer performance, reducing weight, and improving corrosion resistance.
Further, regarding claims 1-3, 5-7, 9-11, and 12 are directed to a heat exchanger capable of exchanging heat between refrigerant and a heating medium, and thus Applicant’s arguments are not commensurate in scope with the claims, as these are merely statements of intended use.
In response to applicant's argument that the disclosed invention obtains suppressed bubble spread, the fact that the inventor has recognized another advantage which would flow naturally from following the suggestion of the prior art cannot be the basis for patentability when the differences would otherwise be obvious. See Ex parte Obiaya, 227 USPQ 58, 60 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1985).
In response to applicant's argument that Shimoya is nonanalogous art, it has been held that a prior art reference must either be in the field of the inventor’s endeavor or, if not, then be reasonably pertinent to the particular problem with which the inventor was concerned, in order to be relied upon as a basis for rejection of the claimed invention. See In re Oetiker, 977 F.2d 1443, 24 USPQ2d 1443 (Fed. Cir. 1992). In this case, while Applicant suggests a skilled artisan would not look to Shimoya, as different fluids are used, Examiner contends that plate heat exchangers for the purpose of exchanging heat between two fluids would be considered analogous, and one would look to any such heat exchangers for benefits thereof.
For at least the reasons stated above, Applicant’s arguments are found unpersuasive and the rejection is maintained.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ERIC S RUPPERT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3763