DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they include the following reference character(s) not mentioned in the description: “61 (fig. 3)”.
The drawings are objected to because the lead lines of the reference numbers 52a, 52b, 54a, and 54b in figure 4 do not point to a mounting hole.
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the drawing of “a front wall and a rear wall (claims 2 and 12) must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Interpretation
If claim limitations in this application that use the word "means" (or "step"), they are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, except as otherwise indicated in an Office action. Conversely, if claim limitations in this application that do not use the word "means" (or "step"), they are not being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, except as otherwise indicated in an Office action.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 4-11, and 13-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Klemm et al. (hereinafter “Klemm”) (US 3,099,203).
Regarding claim 1, Klemm discloses an agricultural baler (fig. 1), comprising:
a bale chamber (11) having a discharge outlet (see an area to the right of a blade (40) as shown in fig. 2 or the drawing #1 below); and
a bale splitting system (40) including:
a cutting mechanism (41) downstream of the discharge outlet (fig. 2), the cutting mechanism being configured to split a bale or crop material discharged from the discharge outlet in half and output two smaller bales or two smaller stacks of crop material (fig. 1),
wherein the cutting mechanism (41) is angled forwardly or rearwardly (see a blade 41 is angled rearwardly (fig. 2)) relative to a top wall (see col. 2, line 19) or a bottom wall (22 and col. 2, lines 20-21) of the bale chamber.
Drawing #1 :
Regarding claim 4, the agricultural baler of claim 1, wherein the cutting mechanism comprises a knife having a knife blade (41) with a sharpened angled edge (fig. 3).
Regarding claim 5, the agricultural baler of claim 4, wherein the sharpened angled edge (41) is arranged to face the discharge outlet proximal to a tying assembly (13) (see figure 2).
Regarding claim 6, the agricultural baler of claim 4, wherein the knife blade (41) extends at an angle along a height of the bale chamber (fig. 2).
Regarding claim 7, the agricultural baler of claim 4, wherein the sharpened angled edge (41) is configured to slice the bale at least in half by the sharpened angled edge passing at least through a height of the bale (fig. 2) and (col.3, lines 37-47, and fig. 1).
Regarding claim 8, the agricultural baler of claim 4, wherein the cutting mechanism (40 and 41) is positioned to split the bale after the bale is bound with twine (see “the bale are to be divided after they are formed and tied” in col. 3, lines 44-45) and wherein the sharpened angled edge (41) is configured to slice the bale in half without cutting the twine (fig. 1).
Regarding claim 9, the agricultural baler of claim 4, wherein the cutting mechanism (40 and 41) is positioned to split the bale before the bale is bound with twine (fig. 2).
Regarding claim 10, the agricultural baler of claim 4, wherein the knife (41) is mounted to a mount arranged at an upper side of the agricultural baler and/or at a lower side of the agricultural baler (see fig. 2).
Regarding claim 11, Klemm discloses an agricultural baler (fig. 1), comprising:
a bale chamber (11) having a discharge outlet (see the drawing above); and
a bale splitting system including: two cutting mechanisms [a combination #1 of a blade 40, 41 and a blade 46 when the blade 46 is in a position as shown in figure 5 OR a combination #2 of a blade 40, 41 and a blade 27 as shown in figure 3] that face the discharge outlet (see the drawing # 2 below for the combination #2 and figure 5 for the combination #1), each of the two cutting mechanisms being angled in an opposite direction relative to the bottom wall or the top wall of the bale chamber (see fig. 2, which shows the blade 41 and 46 are angled in opposite directions for the combination #1, and fig. 3. shows the blade 41 and the blade 27 are angled in opposite directions for the combination #2 as set for above).
Drawing #2:
Regarding claim 13, the agricultural baler of claim 11, wherein each of the two cutting mechanisms (41 and 46) or (41 and 27) comprises a knife having a knife blade with a sharpened angled edge (see figure 3).
Regarding claim 14, the agricultural baler of claim 13, wherein each sharpened angled edge (41 and 27) is arranged to face the discharge outlet (see the drawing #2 above) of the bale chamber proximal to a tying assembly (13 and 36) (see fig. 2).
Regarding claim 15, the agricultural baler of claim 13, wherein each knife blade (41, 46, and 27) extends along a height of the bale chamber at a different angle relative to the bottom wall or the top wall of the bale chamber (see figure 2).
Regarding claim 16, the agricultural baler of claim 13, wherein each sharpened angled edge (41 and 46) is configured to slice the bale at least in half by each sharpened angled edge passing at least through a respective half portion of a height of the bale (figure 5).
Regarding claim 17, the agricultural baler of claim 13, wherein the two cutting mechanisms (40-41 and 45-46) are positioned to split the bale after the bale is bound with twine (see “the bale are to be divided after they are formed and tied” in col. 3, lines 44-45) and wherein each sharpened angled edge is configured to slice the bale in half without cutting the twine (figs. 1 and 5).
Regarding claim 18, the agricultural baler of claim 13, wherein the two cutting mechanisms (41 and 46) are “positioned to” split the bale before the bale is bound with twine (fig. 2).
Regarding claim 19, the agricultural baler of claim 1, wherein the bale splitting system is a separate structure configured to be added into the agricultural baler (Klemm discloses the blade 40-41 is mounted in the bale chamber (col. 3, lines 61-62) and the blade 45-46 is mounted on the plunger (col. 4, lines 3-4); therefore, Klemm discloses both of the blades are separate structures before they are added to the bale chamber and the plunger of the baler).
Regarding claim 20, the agricultural baler of claim 1, wherein the bale splitting system is built into the agricultural baler (fig. 2).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Klemm in view of Glady (US 2022/0248608 A1).
Regarding claim 2, the agricultural baler of claim 1, Klemm discloses the cutting mechanism (40 and 41) as set forth above. Flemm does not expressly disclose a position of the cutting mechanism relative to a front wall and a rear wall of the bale chamber is adjustable.
Glady discloses an agriculture baler (fig. 2) having a cutting mechanism (64) (fig. 5A), wherein the cutting mechanism having a plurality of vertically spaced lines of mounting holes 75a, 75b, and 75c (fig. 10B) for adjusting the cutting mechanism (64) vertically relative to a front side wall and a rear side wall depending upon the size of the bales to be produced (see para. 29).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make the cutting mechanism of Klemm adjustable as taught by Glady, in order to adjust the cutting mechanism when there is a need to produce a different size of bale.
Regarding claim 12, the agricultural baler of claim 11, Klemm discloses the two cutting mechanisms as set forth above. Flemm does not expressly disclose a respective position of the cutting mechanism relative to a front wall and a rear wall of the bale chamber is adjustable.
Glady discloses an agriculture baler (fig. 2) having a cutting mechanism (64) (fig. 5A), wherein the cutting mechanism having a plurality of vertically spaced lines of mounting holes 75a, 75b, and 75c (fig. 10B) for adjusting the cutting mechanism (64) vertically relative to a front side wall and a rear side wall depending upon the size of the bales to be produced (see para. 29).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make the cutting mechanisms of Klemm adjustable as taught by Glady, in order to adjust the cutting mechanisms when there is a need to produce a different size of bale.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 3 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
Regarding claim 3, the claim would be allowable because the prior art of record, considered alone or combination, neither anticipated nor renders obvious “an angle between the cutting mechanism and the bottom wall or the top wall of the bale chamber is adjustable”, in combination with all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 2020/0000041A1, US 8,904,926, US 7,895,944B2, US 2,067,083, and US 2,105,215 disclose balers, each having a bale splitting system.
JIMMY T. NGUYEN
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3725
/JIMMY T NGUYEN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3725