DETAILED ACTION
Specification
Amended portion of the specification filed on 7/24/2026 is okay to enter.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on 7/24/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In response to the argument (regarding a rack) presented on p.10 of the Applicant’s Remarks, it is determined that Nakaniwa should have this limitation in order to obtain a whole image of the a human worn apron 30 as shown in Fig. 7 (a) or would be obvious to have such a rack in order to obtain a whole image of the apron 30 as shown in Fig. 7(a).
In response to the argument (regarding “moving both the x-ray source and the digital radiographic detector in conjunction to multiple different and predesignated vertical positions and multiple different and predesignated horizontal positions, whereby each radiographic image of the human worn apron is acquired at only one of the multiple predesignated positions” recited in claim 1, it is determined that Nakaniwa teaches obtaining partial images in Fig. 7(b). In order to take these partial images, X-ray source and the digital radiographic detector should be moving.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3, 7, and 8 – 11, and 13 – 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Nakaniwa (JP 2023 – 90581 A; see provided a translation copy).
With respect to independent claim 1, Nakaniwa teaches in Fig. 1 s method comprising:
disposing a human worn apron 30, the apron comprising radiopaque material X-ray protective in paragraph [0012], between an x-ray source and a digital radiographic detector as disclosed in paragraph [0014];
securing the human worn apron in a rack configured to hold the human worn apron in a fully unfolded and extended position in Fig. 7(a) Nakaniwa shows an x-ray image showing a whole apron 30, therefore, Nakaniwa should have a rack or the like in order to hold the apron in fully unfolded and extended position;
acquiring radiographic images of the human worn apron as disclosed in paragraph [0014] including moving both the x-ray source and the digital radiographic detector in conjunction to multiple different and predesignated vertical positions and multiple different and predesignated horizontal positions, whereby each radiographic image of the human worn apron is acquired at only one of the multiple predesignated positions Nakaniwa teaches obtaining partial images in Fig. 7(b) ; see paragraph [0038]. In order to obtain these partial images, X-ray source and detector in Nakaniwa should have been moved.; and
examining the acquired radiographic images of the human worn apron to identify gaps hole in paragraph [0012] in the radiopaque material.
With respect to dependent claim 3, Nakaniwa teaches constructing the human worn apron 30 with the radiopaque material in a chest area of the human worn apron.
With respect to dependent claim 7, Nakaniwa teaches in Fig. 7(b) with capturing the radiographic images of the human worn apron in the digital radiographic detector at the multiple predesignated positions in a predetermined sequence.
With respect to dependent claim 8, Nakaniwa teaches in Fig. 1 capturing an array of c × r images of the apron, where c and r are each an integer greater than one.
With respect to independent claim 10, as discussed above in the rejection justification to claim 1 above, Nakaniwa teaches an apparatus for radiographically imaging a radiopaque human worn apron in an unfolded and extended position as shown in Fig. 7(a), the apparatus comprising:
a moveable x-ray source as discussed above in order to obtain the partial images in Fig. 7(b) configured to be moved to multiple different and predesignated vertical positions and multiple different and predesignated horizontal positions;
a moveable digital x-ray detector as discussed above in order to obtain the partial images in Fig. 7(b) configured to be moved to multiple different and predesignated vertical positions and multiple different and predesignated horizontal positions in conjunction with the moveable x-ray source; and
a rack as discussed above for securing in the unfolded and extended position the human worn apron between the moveable x-ray source and the moveable digital x-ray detector;
whereby a plurality of radiographic images of the human worn apron are captured in the moveable digital x-ray detector each at one of the predesignated positions of the moveable digital x-ray detector as shown in Fig. 7(b).
With respect to dependent claim 9, Nakaniwa is silent with stitching together the acquired images. Stitching images is well-known at the time of the claimed invention was filed. In view of this, it would be obvious at the time of the claimed invention was filed to modify the teaching of Nakaniwa in order to inspect entire area of X-ray protective clothing. This is in consistency with the Supreme Court Decision of the KSR. V. International Co.: Obvious to try – choosing form a finite number of predictable results.
With respect to dependent claim 11, The limitation of “a motor drive for moving the movable x-ray source to each of the multiple different and predesignated positions relative to the secured human worn apron” would be available within the ordinary skilled art in order to move an X-ray source. This is in consistency with the Supreme Court Decision of the KSR. V. International Co.: Obvious to try – choosing form a finite number of predictable results.
With respect to dependent claim 13, Nakaniwa teaches in an image storage system 10 connected to the apparatus for storing and retrieving the plurality of captured radiographic images of the human worn apron.
With respect to dependent claim 14, Nakaniwa teaches in Fig. 1 a camera for capturing an image of the human worn apron , wherein the different areas of the human worn apron are preselected for radiographic imaging in a predetermined sequence in Fig. 7(b); see paragraph [0038].
With respect to dependent claim 15, Nakaniwa teaches in Fig. 7(b) and in Fig. 1 a digital display for displaying the different areas of the human worn apron selected for radiographic imaging.
Claim(s) 4 – 6 and 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nakaniwa, and further in view of Via (US 3,569,713).
The teaching of Nakaniwa has been discussed above.
With respect to dependent claim 4, Nakaniwa is silent with constructing the human worn apron with the radiopaque material in a neck area of the human worn apron.
Via, a pertinent art, teaches in Fig. 1 X-ray shield for neck area. In view of this, it would be obvious at the time of the claimed invention was filed to modify the teaching of Nakaniwa in order to inspect any X-ray shielding clothing. This is in consistency with the Supreme Court Decision of the KSR. V. International Co.: Obvious to try – choosing form a finite number of predictable results.
With respect to dependent claim 5, Nakaniwa teaches in Fig. constructing the human worn apron 30 with the radiopaque material in an abdominal area of the human worn apron.
With respect to dependent claim 6, Nakaniwa teaches in Fig. 1 acquiring radiographic images of the chest area, the neck area, and the abdominal area of the human worn apron.
With respect to dependent claim 12, as discussed above, Nakaniwa teaches X-ray shielding clothing for chest and abdominal areas and Via teaches for neck area. In view of this, the limitation of “wherein the plurality of captured radiographic images of the human worn apron include a neck area, a chest area and an abdominal area” is within the ordinary skilled art.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Linev (US 2020/0072768 A1) teaches detecting defect in X-ray shielding apron.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
KIHO KIM, Ph.D.
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2884
/Kiho Kim/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2884