DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “peaks or troughs” must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-4, 13-16, and 21-32 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim 1 is rejected because of the limitations “one or more flex zones extending through each of the peaks or troughs of the wave-like configuration to divide the wave-like configuration into a plurality of different sections” lacks support in the original specification which filed 10-22-2024; therefore such lack of detailed support in the original disclosure constitutes new matter.
Claim 32 is rejected because of the limitations the outsole zone comprises (i) a first set of outsole regions comprising a first material comprising a first TPU material and (ii) a second set of outsole regions comprising a second material comprising a rubber material or a second TPU material with a different hardness than the first TPU material, wherein the first set of outsole regions and the second set of outsole regions are arranged in an alternating configuration from a forefoot end of the outsole to a rearfoot end of the outsole” lacks support in the original specification which filed 10-22-2024; therefore such lack of detailed support in the original disclosure constitutes new matter.
Claims 1-4, 13-16, and 21-32 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 is rejected because it recites limitations “one or more flex zones extending through each of the peaks or troughs of the wave-like configuration to divide the wave-like configuration into a plurality of different sections”. The limitations are vague and indefinite because if the flex zone extending through each of the peaks or troughs of the wave-like configure then there will not any peak or trough because the claims limitations seem to say the flex zone goes from the lateral to the medial.
Claim 32 is rejected because it recites limitations “TPU”. The limitations are vague and indefinite because it is not clear what it is.
Any remaining claims are rejected as depending from a rejected base claim.
In the art rejections below the claims have been treated as best understood by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 13-16, 21-26, and 30-31 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Bacon et al. (2018/0000191).
Regarding claim 1, Bacon discloses a golf shoe (figs 1-7), comprising:
an upper (member 4); and
a sole assembly connected to the upper (para 0031), the sole assembly comprising a midsole (member 6) and an outsole (member 8), wherein the outsole comprises an outsole zone with a wave-like configuration having a plurality of peaks and troughs (para 0035), wherein the outsole zone includes a plurality of directional traction elements with sidewalls extending from a lower surface of the outsole and one or more flex zones (member 18) extending through each of the peaks or troughs of the wave-like configuration to divide the wave-like configuration into a plurality of different sections,
wherein the directional traction elements are arranged along the plurality of different sections according to an angular orientation of the sidewalls of the directional traction elements (fig 3),
wherein the directional traction elements include a first set of directional traction elements arranged along a first section of the plurality of different sections and a second set of directional traction elements arranged along a second section of the plurality of different sections, wherein each of the first set of directional traction elements and the second set of directional traction elements includes a plurality of directionally aligned traction elements with sidewalls that are oriented in a same direction.
Regarding claim 13, Bacon discloses the first set of directional traction elements is oriented in a first direction, and wherein the second set of directional traction elements is oriented in a second direction that is different than the first direction (fig 3).
Regarding claim 14, Bacon discloses the outsole zone comprises a third section with a third set of directional traction elements (fig 3).
Regarding claim 15, Bacon discloses the third set of directional traction elements are oriented in a different direction than at least one of the first set of directional traction elements or the second set of directional traction elements (fig 3).
Regarding claim 16, Bacon discloses the third set of directional traction elements are oriented in a same direction as at least one of the first set of directional traction elements or the second set of directional traction elements.
Regarding claim 21, Bacon discloses the first set of directional traction elements and the second set of directional traction elements are configured to converge towards a peak or trough that is disposed along or adjacent to a medial side of the outsole.
Regarding claim 22, Bacon discloses a third set of directional traction elements all oriented in a third direction, wherein the third set of directional traction elements and the first or second set of directional traction elements are configured to converge towards a trough or peak that is disposed along or adjacent to a lateral side of the outsole.
Regarding claim 23, Bacon discloses the third set of directional traction elements is oriented in a different direction than the first set of directional traction elements and the second set of directional traction elements.
Regarding claim 24, Bacon discloses a fourth set of directional traction elements all oriented in a same direction, wherein the third set of directional traction elements and the fourth set of directional traction elements are configured to converge towards another peak or trough that is disposed along or adjacent to the medial side of the outsole.
Regarding claim 25, Bacon discloses a replaceable traction element provided at a peak or a trough of the wave-like configuration, wherein the replaceable traction element is centered along an axis that coincides with the one or more flex zones.
Regarding claim 26, Bacon discloses the first section and the second section are arranged in series.
Regarding claim 30, Bacon discloses the outsole comprises a heel region with traction elements oriented towards a same side of the golf shoe as the traction elements in a forefoot region of the outsole.
Regarding claim 31, Bacon discloses the wave-like configuration has an amplitude that changes or varies across the outsole.
Regarding claim 32, Bacon discloses the outsole zone comprises (i) a first set of outsole regions comprising a first material comprising a first TPU material and (ii) a second set of outsole regions comprising a second material comprising a rubber material or a second TPU material with a different hardness than the first TPU material, wherein the first set of outsole regions and the second set of outsole regions are arranged in an alternating configuration from a forefoot end of the outsole to a rearfoot end of the outsole.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2-4 and 27-29 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bacon et al. (2018/0000191) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Madore (2018/0242688).
Regarding claim 2, Bacon teaches all limitations except the directional traction elements include a plurality of herringbone traction elements.
Madore teaches the directional traction elements include a plurality of herringbone traction elements (figs 2-5, member 34).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claim invention to modify the traction element of Bacon by using the herringbone traction of Madore, in order to provide better traction.
Regarding claim 3, the modified footwear Bacon-Madore discloses each of the plurality of herringbone traction elements includes a sloped sidewall and a vertical or substantially vertical sidewall that converge to form a ground contacting or ground penetrating portion of the herringbone traction elements (Madore, fig 4).
Regarding claim 4, the modified footwear Bacon-Madore discloses the plurality of herringbone traction elements includes a first set of herringbone traction elements with sidewalls oriented in a first direction and a second set of herringbone traction elements with sidewalls oriented in a second direction that is different than the first direction (Bacon, fig 3 and Madore, fig 4).
Regarding claim 27, the modified footwear Bacon-Madore discloses the plurality of herringbone traction elements are connected in series (Bacon, fig 5 and Madore, fig 4).
Regarding claim 28, the modified footwear Bacon-Madore discloses a height of each of the plurality of herringbone traction elements is constant or uniform (Bacon, para 0013).
Regarding claim 29, the modified footwear Bacon-Madore discloses a height of the plurality of herringbone traction elements changes or varies across the outsole (Madore, fig 1).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, filed 01-27-2026, have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
BAO-THIEU L. NGUYEN
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3732
/BAO-THIEU L NGUYEN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3732