DETAILED ACTION
This is in response to the amendments filed on 11/12/2025 in which claims 1-2, 4, 7, 12-14, 16, 18 are pending, of which Claims 1, 7, 16, 18 have been amended, claims 3, 5-6, 8-11, 15, 17, 19-20 have been cancelled.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's Argument:
Applicant's arguments with respect to the pending amended claims have been fully considered but they are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection as stated below. The amended claims changed the scope of the claims, for example, previously the claims claimed variety of fasteners (see for example original claim 5), meanwhile the newly amended claims are claiming only hook and loop fastener (see for example claim 1).
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, “weighted perimeter” must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2 and 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Gay (U.S. Pub. No. 2012/0117707 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Gay discloses a burping garment device (100) comprising:
a body (109, 113) configured (capable) to be worn on a user's upper body (when worn), the body (109, 113) comprising:
a front section (the portion above mark 123 as shown in Fig. 4) (capable of) covering both shoulders and an upper chest area of the user (when worn on the shoulders and chest areas);
a rear section (the portion below mark 123 as shown in Fig. 4) (capable) for covering a back of the user (When worn on the back of the user);
a weighted perimeter edge (the bottom edge where the pocket 129 is present and wherein the extra layer making the pocket create an extra weight); and
wherein the front section (See above) and the rear section (See above) are removably attached via a pair of fasteners (123); and
further wherein the pair of fasteners are hook and loop fasteners (para. 0012).
Regarding claim 2, Gay discloses a burping garment device wherein the front section (See above) is generally U-shaped (See Fig. 4).
Regarding claim 4, Gay discloses a burping garment device wherein the rear section (See above) is generally rectangular (See Fig. 4).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 7, 12-14, 16 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gay (U.S. Pub. No. 2012/0117707 A1) in view of Keller (U.S. Pub. No. 2024/0365886 A1).
Regarding claim 7, Gay discloses a burping garment device (100) comprising:
a body (109, 113) configured (capable) to be worn on a user's upper body (when worn), the body (109, 113) comprising:
a front section (the portion above mark 123 as shown in Fig. 4) (capable) for covering both shoulders and an upper chest area of the user (when worn on the shoulders and upper chest areas);
a rear section (the portion below mark 123 as shown in Fig. 4) (capable) for covering a back of the user (When worn on the back of the user);
a top layer (206);
a bottom layer (203); and
wherein the front section and the rear section are removably attached via a pair of fasteners (123);
wherein the top layer is an absorbent layer (206 para. 0011 discloses terry cloth); and
further wherein the bottom layer (203) is a waterproof thermoplastic polyurethane layer (para. 0011 discloses polyurethane laminate (PUL) which is an approved material as evident by the applicant’s own specification see para. 0031).
Gay does not disclose that the top layer is an absorbent microfiber layer and the bottom layer is waterproof thermoplastic polyurethane layer.
However, Keller teaches yet another burp cloth (See Figs. 1-2) having a top layer is an absorbent microfiber layer and the bottom layer is waterproof thermoplastic polyurethane layer (para. 0013).
It would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use an absorbent microfiber layer a waterproof thermoplastic polyurethane layer as taught by Keller as the material for the top and bottom layers. A person of ordinary skill would have been motivated to do so, with a reasonable expectation of success, because absorbent microfiber and thermoplastic polyurethane was a well-known material for wearable protective gear as taught by Keller.
Regarding claim 12, Gay discloses a burping garment device wherein the top layer is comprised of a waterproof material (when worn inside out).
Regarding claim 13, Gay as modified by Keller discloses a burping garment device wherein the top layer is comprised of a thermoplastic polyurethane or a polyurethane laminate (See above).
Regarding claim 14, Gay discloses a burping garment device wherein the front section (See above) is generally U-shaped (See Fig. 4).
Regarding claim 16, Gay discloses a burping garment device wherein the rear section (See above) is generally rectangular (See Fig. 4).
Regarding claim 18, Gay in view of Keller has been previously discussed, but their teachings will again be summarized below. They teach a burb bib having a front and rear section removably connected via a pair of fasteners and having waterproof and absorbent layers. Under the principles of combination, if a prior art device, in its normal and usual operation, would obviously perform the method claimed, then the method claimed will be considered to be obvious by the prior art device. When the prior art device is the same as a device described in the specification for carrying out the claimed method, it can be assumed the device will perform the claimed process. In re King, 801 F.2d 1324, 231 USPQ 136 (Fed. Cir.1986). MPEP 2112.02.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KHALED ANNIS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3732