DETAILED ACTION
Specification
Applicant is reminded of the proper language and format for an abstract of the disclosure.
The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph on a separate sheet within the range of 50 to 150 words in length. The abstract should describe the disclosure sufficiently to assist readers in deciding whether there is a need for consulting the full patent text for details.
The language should be clear and concise and should not repeat information given in the title. It should avoid using phrases which can be implied, such as, “The disclosure concerns,” “The disclosure defined by this invention,” “The disclosure describes,” etc. In addition, the form and legal phraseology often used in patent claims, such as “means” and “said,” should be avoided. In this application the abstract starts with “The disclosure relates to”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sugizaki (US 20170267089 A1) in view of Saeki (US 20180126835 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Sugizaki discloses an electronics unit (battery unit 30, figs.1-9) comprising: a housing (battery case 31, fig.3); and at least one of an electronic control component and a power electronics component arranged inside the housing (battery ecu 37, fig.3); and wherein a mechanical connection interface (fixing members 38, bolts 42, insertion holes 34e, fixing portions 34f, fig.2-3), a seat element (seat 4, fig.6-7) is provided on the housing; and wherein the electronics unit is a component of a traction battery of a vehicle (battery unit 30 of vehicle 1, figs.1-3). Sugizaki fail to disclose the mechanical connection interface for mechanically attaching the seat.
However, Saeki discloses the mechanical connection interface (bolts 78, holes for bolts in 72, and nuts 74, fig.) for mechanically attaching the seat (seat 82, fig.9).
Sugizaki and Saeki are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of battery and seat mounts. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Sugizaki with the bolt mounting seat of Saeki with a reasonable expectation of success because it would have combined prior art elements yielding predictable results of securely mounting the seat on the housing with bolts to easily attach and remove the seat.
Regarding claim 2, Sugizaki in combination with Saeki disclose wherein the mechanical connection interface comprises at least one hole configured to receive a bolt (Sugizaki, holes 34e for bolts 42, fig.3; Saeki, holes in 72 for bolts 78, fig.9).
Regarding claim 3, Sugizaki in combination with Saeki disclose wherein the housing comprises an upper housing part (Sugizaki, battery cover 34, fig.3; Saeki, 72, fig.9) and a lower housing part (Sugizaki, case 31, fig.3; Saeki, 31, fig.9), wherein the mechanical connection interface is provided on the lower housing part (Sugizaki, upper frame member 35 have nuts 41 which receive bolts 42, fig.3).
Regarding claim 4, Sugizaki in combination with Saeki disclose wherein the power electronics component comprises an electric converter unit (Sugizaki, ECU 37 controls the charging/discharging thereof electric output by the battery unit 30 and would inherently have a converter to manage to electrical flow, paragraph [0025]).
Regarding claim 5, Sugizaki in combination with Saeki disclose further comprising a mechanical support structure configured to support loads originating from the seat element, wherein the mechanical support structure is arranged inside the housing (Sugizaki, member 35 has nuts 41 which support the bolt 42, fig.3; Saeki, botls 78 support the seat 82, fig.9).
Regarding claim 6, Sugizaki in combination with Saeki disclose wherein the mechanical support structure comprises one of the electronic control component and the power electronics component (Sugizaki, nuts 41 which receive the bolts 42 on upper frame members 35 of the battery modules 32, figs.3-4).
Regarding claim 7, Sugizaki in combination with Saeki disclose further comprising an electric connection interface configured to connect one of the electronic control component and the power electronics component to a battery cell of the traction battery (Sugizaki, battery ecu 37 is electrically connected to battery modules 32 of battery unit 30, fig.3).
Regarding claim 8, Sugizaki in combination with Saeki disclose wherein at least one battery cell of the traction battery is located in the housing (Sugizaki, battery modules 32, fig.3; Saeki, battery 42 insides 72 and 31, fig.9).
Regarding claim 9, Sugizaki in combination with Saeki disclose wherein the mechanical connection interface comprises at least one bolt configured to be received in a hole provided on the seat element (Sugizaki, holes 34e for bolts 42, fig.3; Saeki, holes in 72 and seat element 76 for bolts 78, fig.9).
Regarding claim 10, Sugizaki in combination with Saeki disclose wherein the housing comprises an upper housing part (Sugizaki, battery cover 34, fig.3; Saeki, 72, fig.9) and a lower housing part (Sugizaki, case 31, fig.3; Saeki, 31, fig.9), wherein the mechanical connection interface is provided on the upper housing part (Sugizaki, holes 34e for bolts 42, fig.3; Saeki, holes in 72 and seat element 76 for bolts 78, fig.9).
Regarding claim 11, Sugizaki in combination with Saeki disclose wherein the power electronics component comprises a switching unit (Sugizaki, ECU 37 controls charging/discharging of electric output of battery unit 30, paragraph [0025]).
Regarding claim 12, Sugizaki in combination with Saeki disclose wherein the mechanical connection interface is one of detachable and non-detachable (Sugizaki, holes 34e for bolts 42, fig.3; Saeki, holes in 72 and seat element 76 for bolts 78, fig.9, and bolts are known to be able to be detachable or could be welded and non-detachable).
Regarding claim 13, Sugizaki in combination with Saeki disclose wherein the mechanical connection interface comprises two or more holes, wherein each hole is configured to receive a bolt (Sugizaki, holes 34e for bolts 42, fig.3; Saeki, holes in 72 and seat element 76 for bolts 78, fig.9).
Regarding claim 14, Sugizaki discloses a seat assembly (seat 4 in vehicle 1), comprising: a seat element (seat 4); and an electronics unit (battery unit 30, figs.1-9) comprising: a housing (battery case 31, fig.3); and at least one of an electronic control component and a power electronics component arranged inside the housing (battery ecu 37, fig.3); and wherein a mechanical connection interface (fixing members 38, bolts 42, insertion holes 34e, fixing portions 34f, fig.2-3), a seat element (seat 4, fig.6-7) is a component of a vehicle (seat 4 in vehicle 1). Sugizaki fail to disclose the mechanical connection interface for mechanically attaching the seat.
However, Saeki discloses the mechanical connection interface (bolts 78, holes for bolts in 72, and nuts 74, fig.) for mechanically attaching the seat (seat 82, fig.9).
Sugizaki and Saeki are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of battery and seat mounts. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Sugizaki with the bolt mounting seat of Saeki with a reasonable expectation of success because it would have combined prior art elements yielding predictable results of securely mounting the seat on the housing with bolts to easily attach and remove the seat.
Regarding claim 15, Sugizaki in combination with Saeki disclose wherein the seat element is attached to the electronics unit using at least one bolt (Sugizaki, holes 34e for bolts 42, fig.3; Saeki, holes in 72 and seat element 76 for bolts 78, fig.9).
Regarding claim 16, Sugizaki in combination with Saeki disclose further comprising a spacer part, wherein the spacer part is interposed between the electronics unit and the seat element (Sugizaki, members 43, fig.3).
Regarding claim 17, Sugizaki discloses a vehicle (vehicle 1, fig.1) comprising: a traction battery (battery unit 30, figs.1-9); and one of an electronics unit (battery unit 30 with ECU 37, fig.3) and a seat assembly (seat 4); wherein the electronics unit comprises: a housing (battery case 31, fig.3); and at least one of an electronic control component and a power electronics component arranged inside the housing (battery ecu 37, fig.3); and wherein a mechanical connection interface (fixing members 38, bolts 42, insertion holes 34e, fixing portions 34f, fig.2-3), a seat element (seat 4) is provided on the housing; and wherein the seat assembly comprises: the seat element (seat 4). Sugizaki fail to disclose the mechanical connection interface for mechanically attaching the seat.
However, Saeki discloses the mechanical connection interface (bolts 78, holes for bolts in 72, and nuts 74, fig.) for mechanically attaching the seat (seat 82, fig.9).
Sugizaki and Saeki are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of battery and seat mounts. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Sugizaki with the bolt mounting seat of Saeki with a reasonable expectation of success because it would have combined prior art elements yielding predictable results of securely mounting the seat on the housing with bolts to easily attach and remove the seat.
Regarding claim 18, Sugizaki in combination with Saeki disclose wherein the traction battery comprises a plurality of battery cells (Sugizaki, battery modules 32, fig.3) arranged in a battery cell housing (Sugizaki, housing 31, fig.3), and wherein the battery cell housing forms at least a part of a vehicle floor (battery unit 30 forms part of floor of vehicle 3, figs.1-9).
Regarding claim 19, Sugizaki in combination with Saeki disclose wherein the traction battery is a structural battery (Sugizaki, battery unit 30, figs.1-9; Saeki, battery 42 and case around battery including 72 and 31, fig.9).
Regarding claim 20, Sugizaki in combination with Saeki disclose wherein the electronic unit is for attaching the seat element inside the vehicle (Saeki, member 72 of battery case attaches seat 82 inside vehicle, fig.9).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
The prior art not relied upon but considered pertinent to the applicant’s disclosure is included in the 892 form. The art included has features related to claim limitations, the general structural of the invention, teachings, and other analogous art to the invention.
/IAN BRYCE SHELTON/Examiner, Art Unit 3613