DETAILED ACTION
2. Claims 1-15 are pending.
Priority
3. Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim for foreign priority based on an application filed in Japan on 11/29/2023. It is noted, however, that applicant has not filed a certified copy of the Japan 2023-201493 application as required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
4. The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 10/22/2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the Examiner.
Claim Objections
5. Claim 14 is objected to because of the following informalities: Line 10 states “the device comprising;” and should be replaced with “the device comprising:”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
8. Claims 1-4, 6, 8, 11 and 13-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Matsunaga et al. (US Pub. No. 2003/0142352 A1 hereinafter “Matsunaga”).
Referring to claim 1, Matsunaga discloses a server (Matsunaga – Par. [0002] discloses a STB: Set Top Box.) comprising:
a communication interface (Matsunaga – Figs. 2, 26 & Par. [0083-0084, 0188] disclose an IEEE1394 bus 30.);
a memory configured to store target data in association with status information (Matsunaga – Figs. 2, 26 & Par. [0083-0084, 0188] disclose a HDD unit 12 is a hard disk drive or the like, which corresponds to a data transmission device (Producer) on a bus, and has in itself a storage subunit 12a that holds transmission data. Par. [0032) disclose status of at least one of the print data supply device), the status information indicating a plurality of states including a first state and a second state, the first state indicating that the target data is to be transmitted to a device of a transmission destination, the second state being different from the first state (Matsunaga – Figs. 2, 26 & Par. [0032] disclose the print data transfer method may further include a printing type determining step for inquiring, prior to the print request, status of at least one of the print data supply device and the printer device. Par. [0180] discloses the status either being rejected or not rejected.); and
a controller (Matsunaga – Fig. 2 discloses a controller 11.) configured to:
transmit, via the communication interface (Matsunaga – Figs. 2, 26 & Par. [0083-0084, 0188] disclose an IEEE1394 bus 30.), the target data to the device by a first communication method, the first communication method being a push-type communication method (Matsunaga – Par. [0087] discloses when the HDD unit 12 pushes the print object to the printer unit 13 for printing according to the instruction of the controller 11 as in the case of the existing push-type printing, the controller 11 becomes a controller for the storage subunit 12a in the HDD unit 12.);
after transmitting the target data to the device, receive, via the communication interface, a particular notification relating to the target data from the device (Matsunaga – Par. [0180] discloses When print instruction starts (Step S301), the controller 11 first instructs the printer unit 13 to execute push-type (or pull-type) printing (Step S302). … When the printer unit 13 does not reject the print instruction in step S302 ("no" in Step S303), the print instruction is completed (Step S308).);
in response to receiving the particular notification, update the status information of the target data from information indicating the first state to information indicating the second state (Matsunaga – Par. [0180] discloses When print instruction starts (Step S301), the controller 11 first instructs the printer unit 13 to execute push-type (or pull-type) printing (Step S302). … When the printer unit 13 does not reject the print instruction in step S302 ("no" in Step S303), the print instruction is completed (Step S308).);
receive, via the communication interface (Matsunaga – Figs. 2, 26 & Par. [0083-0084, 0188] disclose an IEEE1394 bus 30.), a particular request from the device (Matsunaga – Figs. 12, 26 & Par. [0150] disclose the printer unit 13 first requests the HDD unit 12 to send the data as shown in FIG. 12 (Step 9).); and
in response to receiving the particular request, transmit, to the device, the target data associated with the status information indicating the first state by a second communication method, the second communication method being a pull-type communication method (Matsunaga – Figs. 12, 26 & Par. [0150] disclose the printer unit 13 first requests the HDD unit 12 to send the data as shown in FIG. 12 (Step 9), acquires in sequence the print objects designated by the controller 11 (all the main objects and all the reference objects referred to by the main objects) from the HDD unit 12 via the connection, and prints them (Step 10). Par. [0179] discloses the controller 11 instructs the printer unit 13 to execute pull-type printing (Step S204). When the printer unit 13 does not reject (accepts) this instruction ("yes" in Step S205), the print instruction is completed (Step S208).).
Referring to claim 2, Matsunaga discloses the server according to claim 1, wherein the controller is configured to: after transmitting the target data to the device by the second communication method in response to the particular request, update the status information of the target data from information indicating the first state to information indicating the second state, without receiving the particular notification (Matsunaga – Par. [0180] discloses When the value of the parameter "result" notifies that the print mode is inappropriate, the controller 11 instructs the printer unit 13 to execute pull-type (or push-type) printing (Step S305) and completes the print instruction (Step S308).).
Referring to claim 3, Matsunaga discloses the server according to claim 1, wherein the first state includes a state in which the target data is not acquired (Matsunaga – Par. [0180] discloses when the printer unit 13 rejects the print instruction in Step S302 ("yes" in Step S303).) by a particular application that processes the target data in the device (Matsunaga – Claim 57 discloses a program for a printer device that forms an image based on received print data.).
Referring to claim 4, Matsunaga discloses the server according to claim 1, wherein the memory is configured to store a plurality of target data; and wherein the controller is configured to: in response to receiving the particular request, transmit, to the device, a number of target data associated with the status information indicating the first state, among the plurality of target data stored in the memory (Matsunaga – Figs. 12, 26 & Par. [0150] disclose the printer unit 13 first requests the HDD unit 12 to send the data as shown in FIG. 12 (Step 9), acquires in sequence the print objects designated by the controller 11 (all the main objects and all the reference objects referred to by the main objects) from the HDD unit 12 via the connection, and prints them (Step 10). Par. [0179] discloses the controller 11 instructs the printer unit 13 to execute pull-type printing (Step S204). When the printer unit 13 does not reject (accepts) this instruction ("yes" in Step S205), the print instruction is completed (Step S208).).
Referring to claim 6, Matsunaga discloses the server according to claim 1, wherein the controller is configured to: establish communication with the device by the first communication method; in response to receiving a transmission instruction when the communication with the device by the first communication method is maintained, transmit data based on the transmission instruction to the device; in response to receiving a transmission instruction when the communication with the device by the first communication method is not maintained, not transmit data based on the transmission instruction to the device (Matsunaga – See Fig. 1 showing the communication sequence of a print procedure under push-type method.); and in response to receiving a request from the device by the second communication method, transmit, to the device, data based on the transmission instruction as a response to the request by the second communication method ((Matsunaga – See Fig. 3 showing the communication sequence of a print procedure under pull-type method.).
Referring to claim 8, Matsunaga discloses the server according to claim 1, wherein the controller is configured to: when the server becomes ready to communicate with the device and the particular request is received from the device, transmit, to the device, one or more target data associated with the status information indicating the first state sequentially in a storage order by the second communication method, the storage order being an order in which the one or more target data is stored in the memory method (Matsunaga – Figs. 12, 26 & Par. [0150] disclose the printer unit 13 first requests the HDD unit 12 to send the data as shown in FIG. 12 (Step 9), acquires in sequence the print objects designated by the controller 11 (all the main objects and all the reference objects referred to by the main objects) from the HDD unit 12 via the connection, and prints them (Step 10). Par. [0179] discloses the controller 11 instructs the printer unit 13 to execute pull-type printing (Step S204). When the printer unit 13 does not reject (accepts) this instruction ("yes" in Step S205), the print instruction is completed (Step S208).).
Referring to claim 11, Matsunaga discloses the server according to claim 1, wherein the controller is configured to: receive the particular notification from the device by the second communication method (Matsunaga – Fig. 3 discloses the printer unit returns completion status to the controller.); and receive the particular request from the device by the second communication method (Matsunaga – Figs. 12, 26 & Par. [0150] disclose the printer unit 13 first requests the HDD unit 12 to send the data (Pull) as shown in FIG. 12 (Step 9).).
Referring to claim 13, Matsunaga discloses the server according to claim 1, wherein the target data is a command to be executed by a particular application of the device; and wherein the particular notification is an acquisition notification indicating that the particular application has acquired the command (Matsunaga – Par. [0180] discloses When print instruction starts (Step S301), the controller 11 first instructs the printer unit 13 to execute push-type (or pull-type) printing (Step S302). … When the printer unit 13 does not reject the print instruction in step S302 ("no" in Step S303), the print instruction is completed (Step S308).).
Referring to claim 14, Matsunaga discloses a communication system comprising a server and a device, the server (Matsunaga – Fig. 7 shows a STB: Set Top Box 14 and a printer 13.) comprising:
a server communication interface configured to connect to the device via a network (Matsunaga – Fig. 7 shows a STB: Set Top Box 14 having a controller 11 and a printer 13. Fig. 26 shows server controller 11 connected to the printer via network 30.);
a server controller (Matsunaga – Fig. 7 shows a STB: Set Top Box 14 having a controller 11.); and
a memory configured to store target data in association with status information (Matsunaga – Figs. 2, 26 & Par. [0083-0084, 0188] disclose a HDD unit 12 is a hard disk drive or the like, which corresponds to a data transmission device (Producer) on a bus, and has in itself a storage subunit 12a that holds transmission data. Par. [0032) disclose status of at least one of the print data supply device), the status information indicating a plurality of states including a first state and a second state, the first state indicating that the target data is to be transmitted to the device of a transmission destination, the second state being different from the first state (Matsunaga – Figs. 12, 26 & Par. [0150] disclose the printer unit 13 first requests the HDD unit 12 to send the data as shown in FIG. 12 (Step 9), acquires in sequence the print objects designated by the controller 11 (all the main objects and all the reference objects referred to by the main objects) from the HDD unit 12 via the connection, and prints them (Step 10). Par. [0179] discloses the controller 11 instructs the printer unit 13 to execute pull-type printing (Step S204). When the printer unit 13 does not reject (accepts) this instruction ("yes" in Step S205), the print instruction is completed (Step S208).),
the device (Matsunaga – Fig. 7 shows a printer 13.) comprising:
a device communication interface configured to connect to the server via the network (Matsunaga – Fig. 7 shows a STB: Set Top Box 14 having a controller 11. Fig. 26 shows the printer 13 with a communication I/F 24 configured to connect to the server 11 via network 30.); and
a device controller (Matsunaga – Fig. 31 & par. [0228] disclose AC controller 111b in the printer unit 113.),
the server controller (Matsunaga – Fig. 7 shows a STB: Set Top Box 14 having a controller 11.) configured to:
transmit, via the server communication interface (Matsunaga – Fig. 7 shows a STB: Set Top Box 14 having a controller 11 and a printer 13. Fig. 26 shows server controller 11 connected to the printer via network 30.), the target data to the device by a first communication method, the first communication method being a push-type communication method (Matsunaga – Par. [0087] discloses when the HDD unit 12 pushes the print object to the printer unit 13 for printing according to the instruction of the controller 11 as in the case of the existing push-type printing, the controller 11 becomes a controller for the storage subunit 12a in the HDD unit 12.);
the device controller (Matsunaga – Fig. 31 & par. [0228] disclose AC controller 111b in the printer unit 113.) configured to:
after receiving the target data from the server, transmit, via the device communication interface, a particular notification relating to the target data to the server (Matsunaga – Par. [0180] discloses When print instruction starts (Step S301), the controller 11 first instructs the printer unit 13 to execute push-type (or pull-type) printing (Step S302). … When the printer unit 13 does not reject the print instruction in step S302 ("no" in Step S303), the print instruction is completed (Step S308).);
the server controller (Matsunaga – Fig. 7 shows a STB: Set Top Box 14 having a controller 11.) configured to:
receive, via the server communication interface (Matsunaga – Fig. 7 shows a STB: Set Top Box 14 having a controller 11 and a printer 13. Fig. 26 shows server controller 11 connected to the printer via network 30.), the particular notification from the device; in response to receiving the particular notification, update the status information of the target data from information indicating the first state to information indicating the second state (Matsunaga – Par. [0180] discloses When print instruction starts (Step S301), the controller 11 first instructs the printer unit 13 to execute push-type (or pull-type) printing (Step S302). … When the printer unit 13 does not reject the print instruction in step S302 ("no" in Step S303), the print instruction is completed (Step S308).);
the device controller configured to:
transmit, via the device communication interface (Matsunaga – Fig. 7 shows a STB: Set Top Box 14 having a controller 11. Fig. 26 shows the printer 13 with a communication I/F 24 configured to connect to the server 11 via network 30.), a particular request for acquiring the target data to the server (Matsunaga – Figs. 12, 26 & Par. [0150] disclose the printer unit 13 first requests the HDD unit 12 to send the data as shown in FIG. 12 (Step 9).);
the server controller (Matsunaga – Fig. 7 shows a STB: Set Top Box 14 having a controller 11.) configured to:
receive, via the server communication interface (Matsunaga – Fig. 7 shows a STB: Set Top Box 14 having a controller 11 and a printer 13. Fig. 26 shows server controller 11 connected to the printer via network 30.), the particular request from the device (Matsunaga – Figs. 12, 26 & Par. [0150] disclose the printer unit 13 first requests the HDD unit 12 to send the data as shown in FIG. 12 (Step 9).); and
in response to receiving the particular request, transmit, to the device, the target data associated with the status information indicating the first state by a second communication method, the second communication method being a pull-type communication method (Matsunaga – Figs. 12, 26 & Par. [0150] disclose the printer unit 13 first requests the HDD unit 12 to send the data as shown in FIG. 12 (Step 9), acquires in sequence the print objects designated by the controller 11 (all the main objects and all the reference objects referred to by the main objects) from the HDD unit 12 via the connection, and prints them (Step 10). Par. [0179] discloses the controller 11 instructs the printer unit 13 to execute pull-type printing (Step S204). When the printer unit 13 does not reject (accepts) this instruction ("yes" in Step S205), the print instruction is completed (Step S208).).
Referring to claim 15, note the rejections of claim 1 above. The Instant Claim recites substantially same limitations as the above-rejected and is therefore rejected under same prior-art teachings.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
10. Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Matsunaga in view of Rohde et al. (US Pub. No. 2024/0036786 A1 hereinafter “Rohde”).
Referring to claim 7, Matsunaga discloses the server according to claim 6, however, fails to explicitly disclose wherein the first communication method is a communication method in accordance with MQTT (Message Queueing Telemetry Transport); and wherein the second communication method is a communication method in accordance with HTTP (HyperText Transfer Protocol).
Rohde discloses the first communication method is a communication method in accordance with MQTT (Message Queueing Telemetry Transport); and wherein the second communication method is a communication method in accordance with HTTP (HyperText Transfer Protocol) (Rohde – Par. [0060] discloses the use of MQTT and HTTP protocols.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to include Rohde’s teachings with Matsunaga’s techniques for the benefit of a queued message service (QMS) that provides a multi-region, low-latency and reliable service for managing a large number of durable message queues for async targeted communication (Rohde – Abstract).
Allowable Subject Matter
11. Claims 5, 9, 10 and 12 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The examiner finds that the prior art of record taken alone or in combination fails to teach and/or fairly suggest “wherein the particular request includes number information specifying a number of target data that are receivable in one response; and wherein the controller is configured to: in response to receiving the particular request, transmit, to the device, a response including a number of target data less than or equal to the number specified by the number information by the second communication method.”, in combination with other recited limitations in dependent claim 5.
The examiner finds that the prior art of record taken alone or in combination fails to teach and/or fairly suggest “wherein the controller is configured to: receive, from an external device, first target data to be transmitted to the device; store the first target data in the memory in association with the status information indicating the first state and information for specifying a storage order in the memory; determine whether the memory stores one or more second target data that is stored before the first target data and that is associated with the status information indicating the first state; in response to determining that the memory does not store the one or more second target data, transmit the first target data to the device by the first communication method; and in response to determining that the memory stores the one or more second target data, not transmit the first target data to the device by the first communication method and transmit the one or more second target data sequentially in the storage order in response to the particular request by the second communication method, and then transmit the first target data to the device by the second communication method.”, in combination with other recited limitations in dependent claim 9.
The examiner finds that the prior art of record taken alone or in combination fails to teach and/or fairly suggest “wherein the controller is configured to: receive an other notification by the first communication method, the other notification indicating that the target data has been received, the other notification being different from the particular notification; receive the particular notification by the second communication method; in response to receiving the other notification, not update the status information of the target data from information indicating the first state to information indicating the second state; and in response to receiving the particular notification, update the status information of the target data from information indicating the first state to information indicating the second state.”, in combination with other recited limitations in dependent claim 10.
The examiner finds that the prior art of record taken alone or in combination fails to teach and/or fairly suggest “wherein the controller is configured to: receive a command transmission instruction from an external device, the command transmission instruction including the target data and a target device ID, the target device ID being a device ID of the device of the transmission destination; and in response to receiving the command transmission instruction, store command information in the memory, the command information including the target data, the target device ID, a reception date and time of the target data, and the status information indicating the first state.”, in combination with other recited limitations in dependent claim 12.
Conclusion
The examiner requests, in response to this office action, support be shown for language added to any original claims on amendment and any new claims. That is, indicate support for newly added claim language by specifically pointing to page(s) and line number(s) in the specification and/or drawing figure(s). This will assist the examiner in prosecuting the application. When responding to this office action, applicant is advised to clearly point out the patentable novelty which he or she thinks the claims present, in view of the state of art disclosed by the references cited or the objections made. He or she must also show how the amendments avoid such references or objections. See 37 C.F.R.I .Ill(c).
In amending in reply to a rejection of claims in an application or patent under reexamination, the applicant or patent owner must clearly point out the patentable novelty which he or she thinks the claims present in view the state of the art disclosed by the references cited or the objections made. The applicant or patent owner must also show how the amendments avoid such references or objections.
/Dayton Lewis-Taylor/
Examiner, Art Unit 2181