DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 11/13/2025 and 3/25/2025 comply with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the examiner considered the information disclosure statement.
Double Patenting
Claim 1 provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim Chen et al. US20250147268 of copending Application No.18/504,488 (reference application) and Chien et al. US20250020889 of copending Application No. 18/764,601 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they claim same subject matters.
For comparison, the claims are listed as follows side by side in the following table:
Instant application: 18/922,633
Co-Pending Application: 18/504,488
Co-Pending Application: 18/764,601
1. 1. An optical element driving mechanism, comprising:
a fixed portion having a main axis, and comprising:a case made of a non-metal material; and a bottom connected to the case, wherein the case and the bottom are arranged along the main axis;
a movable portion moving relative to the fixed portion; and
a driving assembly driving the movable portion to move relative to the fixed portion.
1. A driving mechanism for moving an optical element that has an
optical axis, the driving mechanism comprising:
a fixed part, having a plastic housing and a base, wherein the housing forms a slot;
a movable part, movably connected to the fixed part for holding the optical element;
a reinforcing sheet, comprising metal and embedded in the housing by insert molding,
wherein the reinforcing sheet has a main body and at least one a protrusion connected to the
main body, the protrusion extends extending from an edge of a sidewall of the housing toward
the bottom of the driving mechanisma driving assembly, configured for moving the movable part relative to the fixed part.
1. A driving mechanism for moving an optical element that has an optical axis, the driving mechanism comprising: a fixed part, including a quadrilateral plastic housing and a base connected to each other,
wherein the housing has a top portion, at least a sidewall extending from the top portion toward the base, a protruding structure protruding from an inner surface of the top portion, and a nub
extending form the protruding structure toward the base;
a movable part, movably connected to the fixed part for holding the optical element;
an upper spring sheet, affixed to the protruding structure, wherein a channel is formed
between the sidewall and the protruding structure and located at a corner of the housing; and
a driving assembly, configured for moving the movable part relative to the fixed part,
wherein the protruding structure has a longitudinal shape extending along a long axis that
is perpendicular to the optical axis, and the nub extends through the upper spring sheet.
Claim Objections
Claim 12 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Regarding claim 12, The term “the base” (lines1-2) should be “the bottom “.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 5-6 and 9-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 5, the term “the circuit component” (line 4) is vague and lacks antecedent basis, thereby rendering the claim indefinite; it is unclear which specific circuit component is intended by the term “the circuit component”. For example, Applicant’s Figure 26 appears to illustrate a circuit assembly, while the specification separately refers to “circuit members 4-110” and a “circuit assembly 4-90.” Thus, it is unclear whether “the circuit component” refers to the circuit members, the circuit assembly, or another circuit component.
Claim 6 is rejected as containing the deficiencies of claim 5 through their dependency from claim 5.
Regarding claim 9, the term “the elastic component” is vague and lacks antecedent basis, thereby rendering the claim indefinite; claim 9 introduces “an elastic element” and subsequently refers to “the elastic component”. Thus, it is unclear whether “the elastic component” is intended to refer to the previously recited elastic element or to a different component. Accordingly, the scope of the claim is unclear.
Claim 10 is rejected as containing the deficiencies of claim 9 through their dependency from claim 9.
Therefore, proper amendments are required in order to clarify the scopes of the claims and overcome the rejections.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2 and 5-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Liu et al. (US20180213131).
Regarding claim 1, Liu teaches an optical element driving mechanism (Liu, figs. 8A-8D, paragraph [0052] “a lens driving module 2”; “FIGS. 8A and 8B are schematic diagrams of a lens driving module 2”; “The main difference between the lens driving module 2 and the aforementioned lens driving module 1 (FIG. 1) is that the lens driving module 2 further comprises a sensing assembly Q disposed in the casing 30a, and the casing 30a and the aforementioned casing 30 have structural differences. Other components are the same or substantially the same or only a slight difference in appearance, they will not repeat them here”), comprising:
a fixed portion (see figs. 8A-8D, base 10 and casing 30a) having a main axis (see figs. 8A-8D, Z-axis), and comprising:
a case (figs. 8A-8D, casing 30a) made of a non-metal material (see as described in paragraph [0054], “the casing 30a of the present embodiment has a plastic material”); and
a bottom (see figs. 8A-8D, the base 10) connected to the case (30a), wherein the case (30a) and the bottom (base 10) are arranged along the main axis (Z-axis);
a movable portion (fig. 8A, holder 20) moving relative to the fixed portion (see paragraph [0053] “the holder 20 and the optical lens provided therein relative to the base 10 due to vibration”); and
a driving assembly (see paragraph [0043] “An electromagnetic assembly is consist of the coils C and the magnetic elements M) driving the movable portion to move relative to the fixed portion (see paragraph [0043] “An electromagnetic assembly is consist of the coils C and the magnetic elements M, configured to force the holder 20 and the optical lens to move relative to the base 10”).
Regarding claim 2, Liu discloses the invention as described in Claim 1 and further teaches wherein further comprising a sensing element (see figs. 8A-8D, sensing element Q) for sensing the movement of the movable portion (holder 20) relative to the fixed portion (casing 30a; as described in paragraph [0053] “It is possible for the Hall effect sensor to detect the position of the permanent magnet by detecting the change of the magnetic field of the permanent magnet, so as to detect the displacement of the holder 20 and the optical lens provided therein relative to the base 10 due to vibration.”).
Regarding claim 5, Liu discloses the invention as described in Claim 2 and further teaches wherein further comprising a circuit assembly (figs. 8A-8D, circuit board F) electrically connected to the sensing element (sensing element Q; see paragraph [0053] “The sensing element Q is disposed in the casing 30a and includes a circuit board F”), wherein the case (30a) includes a receiving structure (fig. 8B, a slit H1) to receive the circuit assembly (see as described in paragraph [0054] “As shown in FIG. 8B, the circuit board F of the sensing assembly Q can be inserted from the slit H1 to be connected to the casing 30a so that it can be easily assembled/disassembled by passing through the slit H1”), and when viewed in the main axis (Z-axis), the case (30a) at least partially overlaps the circuit component (circuit board F).
Regarding claim 6, Liu discloses the invention as described in Claim 5 and further teaches wherein the receiving structure (the slit H1) further comprises a narrow portion (see Liu, fig. 8B, as described in paragraph [0054] the slit H1 is a narrow portion) corresponding to the circuit assembly (described in claim 8, thus, the slit H1 corresponding to the circuit assembly F).
Regarding claim 7, Liu discloses the invention as described in Claim 1 and further teaches wherein the case further comprises an affixing structure (see paragraph [0045] “The fixing portions 51”) to affix the driving assembly (see fig. 4A and fig. 8A, the affixing structure 51 to affix the driving assembly, the coils C and the magnetic elements M).
Regarding claim 8, Liu discloses the invention as described in Claim 1 and further teaches wherein the case includes a top wall and a sidewall, the top wall is perpendicular to the main axis, and the sidewall extends from an edge of the top wall in a direction parallel to the main axis, and there is a gap between the sidewall and the affixing structure (as described in paragraph [0052], “FIGS. 8A and 8B are schematic diagrams of a lens driving module 2 according to another embodiment of the present invention. The main difference between the lens driving module 2 and the aforementioned lens driving module 1 (FIG. 1) is that the lens driving module 2 further comprises a sensing assembly Q disposed in the casing 30a, and the casing 30a and the aforementioned casing 30 have structural differences. Other components are the same or substantially the same or only a slight difference in appearance, they will not repeat them here”; thus, figs. 1-7 are cited herein to explain the corresponding structure, see fig. 3B, and fig. 4A, wherein the case 30 includes a top wall which have inner surface 32 and a sidewall 30R, the top wall is perpendicular to the main Z-axis, and the sidewall 30R extends from an edge of the top wall in a direction parallel to the main Z-axis, and there is a gap G between the sidewall 30R and the affixing structure 51).
Regarding claim 9, Liu discloses the invention as described in Claim 8 and further teaches wherein further comprising an elastic element (fig. 3B, elastic element 50), the movable portion (fig. 3B, holder 20) is connected to the fixed portion (casing 30) via the elastic element (50), and a part of the elastic component (50) is disposed in the gap (gap G; see fig. 8A, fig. 3B, fig. 4A, Liu, having a part of the elastic component 50 is disposed in the gap G).
Regarding claim 10, Liu discloses the invention as described in Claim 9 and further teaches wherein further comprising an adhesion element (Liu, paragraph [0049], a glue) disposed in the gap (gap G) and in contact with the case (30), the driving assembly (the coils C and the magnetic elements M) and the elastic element (as described in paragraph [0049] “as shown in FIG. 6C, the second elastic member 50 is provided on the protrusions 12, wherein the positioning bumps 121 of the protrusions 12 may firstly be engaged with the locating holes 511 of the second elastic element 50, and it is selectable to apply a glue in order to facilitate the affixing of the end portions of the second elastic element 50 to the protrusions 12. After that, the connecting surface 22 of the holder 20 and the connecting portion 52 of the second elastic element 50 are connected to each other (the connection method, for example, may be engagement or adhering”; thus, Liu have an adhesion element disposed in the gap G and in contact with the case 30, the driving assembly and the elastic element 50).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu et al. (US20180213131).
Regarding claim 3, Liu discloses the invention as described in Claim 2 and further teaches wherein further comprising a strengthening element (see figs. 8C-8D, a holding portion 33 is capable of a strengthening element, as described in paragraph [0056], because to reduce to set a frame for supporting sensing assembly Q, greatly reduce the overall number of components, and in addition to achieving miniaturization for the purpose of simplifying the assembly process of the whole module by configuring the aforementioned design of the receiving recess H2) disposed on the case (paragraph [0055] “the casing 30a further has a holding portion 33”), and a part of the strengthening element is not exposed from the case (see Liu, fig. 8C, a part of the strengthening element 33 is not exposed from the case 30a).
(note: Liu discloses that the casing 30a further comprises a holding portion 33 (paragraph [0055]; Figs. 8C–8D). The holding portion 33 supports the sensing assembly Q and reduces the need for a separate frame for supporting the sensing assembly Q, thereby reducing the number of components and facilitating miniaturization and assembly of the module (paragraph [0056]). The holding portion 33 therefore performs the function of structurally supporting and reinforcing the sensing assembly within the casing 30a and corresponds to the claimed “strengthening element.” See MPEP § 2114 (explaining that the functional limitations of an apparatus claim are generally evaluated based on the structure disclosed in the prior art and the functions that the structure is capable of performing). Further, as shown in Fig. 8C, at least a portion of the holding portion 33 is disposed within and is not exposed from the casing 30a. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to use Liu’s holding portion 33 as the claimed strengthening element because the holding portion 33 provides structural support for the sensing assembly Q and reduces the need for a separate supporting frame, thereby reducing the number of components and facilitating miniaturization and assembly. Such use represents the application of a known function of Liu’s holding portion 33 and would have been within the skill of one of ordinary skill in the art, with a reasonable expectation of success. See MPEP § 2143; see also KSR Int’l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 417 (2007). Accordingly, Liu teaches or at least suggests the claimed strengthening element, and claim 3 would have been obvious over Liu.)
Regarding claim 4, Liu discloses the invention as described in Claim 3 and further teaches wherein the strengthening element (33) corresponds to the sensing element (paragraph [0053] the first alignment member P1 of the sensing assembly Q are disposed on the casing 30a), and when viewed in a direction perpendicular to the main axis (z-axis), the strengthening element (33) at least partially overlaps the sensing element (see Liu, fig. 8C, when viewed in a direction perpendicular to the main z-axis, the strengthening element 33 at least partially overlaps the sensing element P1).
Claims 11-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu et al. (US20180213131), and further in view of Wang et al. (CN204858808, English translation attached).
Regarding claim 11, Liu discloses the invention as described in Claim 1, Liu does not explicitly disclose wherein the case further comprises a groove close to the bottom.
However, Wang teaches the analogous optical element driving mechanism (Wang, abstract, the utility model relates to a camera equipment field, the utility model discloses a fixed lens CD -ROM drive motor of high strength between shell and base), and further teaches
wherein the case (see Wang, fig. 2, shell 5) further comprises a groove (Wang, fig. 2, glue filler opening 501) close to the bottom (see Wang, fig. 2, base 1).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of Liu to have the specific groove as taught by Wang for the purpose of adhesion stress between the inside wall of this motor case and the lateral wall of base obtains great enhancement in Z axle direction, the bonding that also can stabilize under the effect that receives great external force, and CD -ROM drive motor overall structure is more stable (Wang, abstract).
Regarding claim 12, combination Liu-Wang discloses the invention as described in Claim 11 and Wang further teaches wherein the base (see Wang, fig. 2, base 1) includes a recess (Wang, fig. 2, slot -Filler 106) corresponding to the groove (see Wang, fig. 2, abstract, “glue 10 are inlayed on one side of forming after the solidification and are inserted in glue filler opening 501, the opposite side inlays to be inserted in glue slot -Filler 106”; thus, the base 1 includes a recess 106 corresponding to the groove 501).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of Liu to have the specific groove as taught by Wang for the purpose of adhesion stress between the inside wall of this motor case and the lateral wall of base obtains great enhancement in Z axle direction, the bonding that also can stabilize under the effect that receives great external force, and CD -ROM drive motor overall structure is more stable (Wang, abstract).
Regarding claim 13, combination Liu-Wang discloses the invention as described in Claim 11 and Wang further teaches wherein further comprising an adhesion element (see Wang, fig. 2, glue 10) disposed in the groove (Wang, fig. 2, glue filler opening 501).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of Liu to have the specific groove as taught by Wang for the purpose of adhesion stress between the inside wall of this motor case and the lateral wall of base obtains great enhancement in Z axle direction, the bonding that also can stabilize under the effect that receives great external force, and CD -ROM drive motor overall structure is more stable (Wang, abstract).
Claims 14-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu et al. (US20180213131), and further in view of Sugiura (US20220060610).
Regarding claim 14, Liu discloses the invention as described in Claim 1, Liu does not explicitly disclose wherein the case is polygonal, and the case further comprises a concavity, and when viewed in the main axis, the concavity is disposed at a corner of the case.
However, Sugiura teaches the analogous lens driving device (Sugiura, abstract, this lens driving device is provided with: a stationary part; and a movable part configured to be capable of holding a lens part and movably connected to the stationary part), and further teaches
wherein the case is polygonal (see annotated image, Sugiura, fig. 3, the case is polygonal), and the case further comprises a concavity (see annotated image, Sugiura, fig. 3, the concavity), and when viewed in the main axis (Sugiura, fig. 3, z-axis), the concavity is disposed at a corner of the case (see annotated image, Sugiura, fig. 3, the concavity is disposed at a corner of the case).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the case of Liu to have the specific concavity as taught by Sugiura for the purpose of miniaturization and weight reduction of lens driving devices in order to realize miniaturization and weight reduction of camera mounting devices such as smartphones (Sugiura, paragraph [0010]).
Regarding claim 15, combination Liu-Sugiura discloses the invention as described in Claim 14 and Sugiura further teaches wherein the case comprises a plurality of concavities (see annotated image, Sugiura, fig. 3, the case comprises a plurality of concavities), and when viewed in the main axis, the concavities are disposed at different corners of the case (see annotated image, Sugiura, fig. 3, when viewed in the main axis, the concavities are disposed at different corners of the case).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the case of Liu to have the specific concavity as taught by Sugiura for the purpose of miniaturization and weight reduction of lens driving devices in order to realize miniaturization and weight reduction of camera mounting devices such as smartphones (Sugiura, paragraph [0010]).
Claims 16-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu et al. (US20180213131), and further in view of Lee et al. (US20170045710).
Regarding claim 16, Liu discloses the invention as described in Claim 1, Liu does not explicitly disclose wherein the case comprises a protrusion, and the bottom further comprises an opening corresponding to the protrusion, when viewed in a direction perpendicular to the main axis, the opening at least partially overlap the protrusion.
However, Lee teaches the analogous lens driving device (Lee, fig. 1, paragraph [0058] “a camera module 100, according to an embodiment, includes a shield case 110, a lens module 120, a housing 130”), and further teaches
wherein the case (see annotated image, Lee, fig. 1, case 110) comprises a protrusion, and the bottom further comprises an opening corresponding to the protrusion, when viewed in a direction perpendicular to the main axis, the opening at least partially overlap the protrusion (see annotated image, Lee, fig. 1, case comprises the protrusion, and the bottom further comprises the opening corresponding to the protrusion, when viewed in a direction perpendicular to the main axis, the opening at least partially overlap the protrusion).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of Liu to have the specific shape as taught by Lee for the purpose to block the electromagnetic waves (Lee, paragraph [0079]).
Regarding claim 17, combination Liu-Lee discloses the invention as described in Claim 16 and Liu further teaches wherein an adhesion element (see Liu, fig. 3B to fig. 7, a glue; paragraph [0047] “a glue”; a glue has been referred to as an adhesion element) disposed in the opening (see Liu, fig. 4A, the holes 511 has been referred to as an opening) and on the protrusion (see Liu, fig. 4A, protrusions 12 has been referred to as the protrusions; as described in paragraphs [0047]-[0051] “disposing the casing 30 around the base 10 (905), so that the glue flows from the corner areas N of the inner surface 32 to the side surfaces 12R of the protrusions 12, and the glue flows in the gaps G between each side surface 12R and the sidewall 30R, thereby securely affixing the casing 30 to the base 10. It should be understood that step 904 of applying the glue to the inner surface 32 of the casing 30 may be performed before, between, or after steps 901˜903”; thus, it is for an adhesion element, glue, disposed in the opening 511, and on the protrusion 12).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of Liu to include additional protrusions on the case and corresponding openings in the bottom. Such a modification would have simplified the lens assembly process by reducing the likelihood of tilting or misalignment at the interface between the case and the bottom when the case is assembled to the bottom, as suggested by Liu at paragraph [0003].
Regarding claim 18,combination Liu-Lee discloses the invention as described in Claim 17 and Lee further teaches wherein the case comprises a top wall and a sidewall (see annotated image, Lee, fig. 1, the case comprises the top wall and the sidewall), the top wall is perpendicular to the main axis (see annotated image, Lee, fig. 1, the top wall is perpendicular to the main axis), and the sidewall extends from an edge of the top wall in a direction parallel to the main axis (see annotated image, Lee, fig. 1, the sidewall extends from an edge of the top wall in a direction parallel to the main axis), the protrusion is disposed on the sidewall (see annotated image, Lee, fig. 1, the protrusion is disposed on the sidewall).
Liu further teaches wherein the adhesion element (see Liu, fig. 3B to fig. 7, the glue) connects the sidewall (30R), the opening (511) and the protrusion (12).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the case structure of Liu in view of the case structure of Lee to position the protrusion on the sidewall while maintaining the adhesive connection among the sidewall, the opening, and the protrusion, thereby providing a compact and structurally integrated arrangement for securing the components of the optical element driving mechanism. The motivation to combine Liu and Lee provided in the rejections of claims 16 and 17 is further incorporated herein. Accordingly, the combination of Liu and Lee renders the subject matter of claim 18 obvious.
Regarding claim 19, combination Liu-Lee discloses the invention as described in Claim 17 and Liu further teaches wherein the case (fig. 5, casing 30) further comprises an inwardly sunken portion (see fig. 5, grooves 32G has been referred to as an inwardly sunken portion), and the adhesion element (paragraph [0048] “the glue”) is disposed on the inwardly sunken portion (see Liu, fig. 5, as described in paragraph [0048] “In addition, a sector-shaped corner area N is formed between the sidewall 30R and the groove 32G, and the glue may be placed or applied thereto”; thus, the adhesion element, glue is disposed on the inwardly sunken portion 32G).
Regarding claim 20, combination Liu-Lee discloses the invention as described in Claim 17 and Liu further teaches wherein the protrusion (see Liu, fig. 3B to fig. 7, the protrusion 12) further comprises an inclined surface (see Liu, fig.6C, angled surface 12-3 has been referred to as an inclined surface; paragraph [0047] “an angled surface 12-3”) to receive the adhesion element (see Liu, as described in paragraph [0047] “When the casing 30 is assembled to the base 10, a gap G is formed between the side surfaces 12R (including the first surface 12-1, the second surface 12-2, and the angled surface 12-3) and the sidewall 30R of the casing 30, wherein a glue may be applied to the gap G so that the casing 30 can be attached securely to the base 10”; thus, it is for the inclined surface 12-3 to receive the adhesion element, the glue.).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon are considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: Min et al. US20190162930 teaches features of instant invention, such as a bottom connected to the case, wherein the case and the bottom are arranged along the main axis (see Fig. 1 and their descriptions), and Sun US20190107686 teaches features of instant invention, such as a case made of a non-metal material (see Fig.1 to Fig. 11 and their descriptions).
/KUEI-JEN L EDENFIELD/
Examiner, Art Unit 2872