DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Byrd et al., (US 20210161582; hereinafter Byrd).
Regarding claim 1, Byrd (Figure 1) discloses an electroporation system (10), ([0023]), comprising: a catheter (14) comprising a plurality of electrodes (12), ([0026]); and a pulse generator (26) coupled to the catheter (14), the pulse generator (26) configured to generate a waveform to be delivered using at least one of the plurality of electrodes (12), ([0051]), the waveform including: a plurality of bursts ([0070]-[0071]: Figure 9 shows multiple bursts 900), each burst including a plurality of loops ([0070]-[0072]: Figure 9 shows multiple pulses 700 in a repeating pattern forming loops which form each burst 900), and each loop including a plurality of pulses ([0070]-[0072]: Figure 9 shows multiple pulses 700 in a repeating pattern forming loops), wherein each of the plurality of pulses has a pulse width of 3 microseconds (µs) or less ([0056]), wherein each burst includes no more than ten loops ([0070]-[0072]: 0.5 ms/500 µs burst period with 166 pulse signals with 3µs pulse width is no more than 10 loops), wherein the plurality of bursts include at least ten bursts ([0071]), and wherein the pulse widths, number of loops per burst, and number of bursts facilitate reducing microbubble (gasses) formation ([0021]).
Regarding claim 2, Byrd (Figure 1) further discloses wherein the plurality of pulses include both positive and negative pulses ([0058]).
Regarding claim 3, Byrd (Figure 1) further discloses wherein the plurality of pulses include: a first pulse delivered between a first electrode of the plurality of electrodes and a second electrode of the plurality of electrodes, wherein the first electrode is set to a positive voltage for delivery of the first pulse; and a second pulse delivered between the first electrode and third electrode of the plurality of electrodes, wherein the first electrode is set to a negative voltage for delivery of the second pulse ([0052], [0056]-[0057]: a first electrode may be delivered the first positive phase pulse and a second electrode may be delivered the second negative phase pulse).
Regarding claim 4, Byrd (Figure 1) further discloses wherein each of the plurality of pulses has a pulse width of 1µs or less ([0056]).
Regarding claim 5, Byrd (Figure 1) further discloses wherein the plurality of bursts includes at least fifteen bursts ([0071]), and wherein each burst includes no more than five loops ([0069]-[0071]).
Regarding claim 6, Byrd (Figure 1) further discloses wherein the plurality of bursts includes at least twenty bursts ([0071]), and wherein each burst includes no more than three loops ([0069]-[0071]).
Regarding claim 7, Byrd (Figure 1) discloses a pulse generator (26) for use with an electroporation system (10), the pulse generator (26) configured to be coupled to a catheter (14) including a plurality of electrodes (12) and configured to generate a waveform to be delivered using at least one of the plurality of electrodes (12), ([0026], [0051]), the waveform including: a plurality of bursts ([0070]-[0071]: Figure 9 shows multiple bursts 900), each burst including a plurality of loops ([0070]-[0072]: Figure 9 shows multiple pulses 700 in a repeating pattern forming loops which form each burst 900), and each loop including a plurality of pulses ([0070]-[0072]: Figure 9 shows multiple pulses 700 in a repeating pattern forming loops), wherein each of the plurality of pulses has a pulse width of 3 microseconds (µs) or less ([0056]), wherein each burst includes no more than ten loops ([0070-[0072]: 0.5 ms/500 µs burst period with 166 pulse signals with 3µs pulse width is no more than 10 loops), wherein the plurality of bursts include at least ten bursts ([0071]), and wherein the pulse widths, number of loops per burst, and number of bursts facilitate reducing microbubble (gasses) formation ([0021]).
Regarding claim 8, Byrd (Figure 1) further discloses wherein the plurality of pulses include both positive and negative pulses ([0058]).
Regarding claim 9, Byrd (Figure 1) further discloses wherein the plurality of pulses include: a first pulse delivered between a first electrode of the plurality of electrodes and a second electrode of the plurality of electrodes, wherein the first electrode is set to a positive voltage for delivery of the first pulse; and a second pulse delivered between the first electrode and third electrode of the plurality of electrodes, wherein the first electrode is set to a negative voltage for delivery of the second pulse ([0052], [0056]-[0057]: a first electrode may be delivered the first positive phase pulse and a second electrode may be delivered the second negative phase pulse).
Regarding claim 10, Byrd (Figure 1) discloses an electroporation system (10) comprising: a catheter (14) comprising a plurality of electrodes (12), ([0026]); and a pulse generator (26) coupled to the catheter (12), the pulse generator (26) configured to generate a waveform to be delivered using at least one of the plurality of electrodes (12), ([0051]), the waveform including at least a first pulse delivered between a first electrode (1022) of the plurality of electrodes and a second electrode (1024) of the plurality of electrodes ([0052], [0056]-[0057]: a first electrode 1022 may be delivered the first positive phase pulse and a second electrode 1024 may be delivered the second negative phase pulse); and a grounding electrode arrangement (switch arrangement with ground electrode 1020 shown in Figure 10) configured to discharge, from the first and second electrodes (1022, 1024), charge accumulated on the first and second electrodes (1022, 1024) during delivery of the first pulse ([0080]-[0083]).
Regarding claim 11, Byrd (Figure 1) further discloses wherein the grounding electrode arrangement (switch arrangement with ground electrode 1020 shown in Figure 10) comprises a ground electrode (1020) positioned proximate the first and second electrodes (1022, 1024), ([0080]-[0083]).
Regarding claim 12, Byrd (Figure 1) further discloses wherein the grounding electrode arrangement (switch arrangement with ground electrode 1020 shown in Figure 10) comprises switching circuitry (semiconductor switches shown in Figure 10) that is configured to periodically switch the first and second electrodes (1022, 1024) to ground ([0080]-[0083]).
Regarding claim 13, Byrd (Figure 1) further discloses wherein the waveform is a biphasic waveform ([0053], [0083]).
Regarding claim 14, Byrd (Figure 1) further discloses wherein the waveform is a monophasic waveform ([0053]).
Regarding claim 15, Byrd (Figure 1) further discloses wherein the waveform includes: a plurality of bursts ([0068]), each burst including a plurality of loops ([0068]: repeating pattern), and each loop including a plurality of pulses ([0068]), wherein each of the plurality of pulses has a pulse width of 3 microseconds (µs) or less ([0056]), wherein each burst includes no more than ten loops ([0069]: 0.5 ms/500 µs burst period with 166 pulse signals with 3µs pulse width is no more than 10 loops), wherein the plurality of bursts include at least ten bursts ([0071]), and wherein the pulse widths, number of loops per burst, and number of bursts facilitate reducing microbubble (gasses) formation ([0021]).
Regarding claim 16, Byrd (Figure 1) further discloses wherein the plurality of pulses include both positive and negative pulses ([0058]).
Regarding claim 17, Byrd (Figure 1) further discloses wherein each of the plurality of pulses has a pulse width of 1µs or less ([0056]).
Regarding claim 18, Byrd (Figure 1) further discloses wherein the plurality of bursts includes at least fifteen bursts ([0071]), and wherein each burst includes no more than five loops ([0069]-[0071]).
Regarding claim 19, Byrd (Figure 1) further discloses wherein the plurality of bursts includes at least twenty bursts ([0071]), and wherein each burst includes no more than three loops ([0069]-[0071]).
Regarding claim 20, Byrd (Figure 1) further discloses wherein each of the plurality of pulses has a pulse width of 2µs or less ([0056]).
Conclusion
/C.C.P./Examiner, Art Unit 3794
/EUN HWA KIM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3794