DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) dated 10/22/2024 has been received and considered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 8-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 8 recites, in part, “a water consumer”, “a pump”, “a valve”, and “a controller configured to perform the method of claim 1. However, claim 1, of which claim 8 depends from, already has introduced “a water consumer”, “a pump”, and “a valve”. It is unclear if the devices of the water consumer, pump, and valve that are being controlled by the method of claim 1 are the same components as those introduced in claim 8 or if these are separate, additional structures.
Claims 9-12 are rejected due to their dependency on claim 8.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3-4, 6, 8, and 10-12, claims 8 and 10-12 as far as they are definite, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Gray (U.S. 8,973,597).
Gray discloses a method for operating a water supply system for an aircraft, the method comprising: detecting a demand for water supply at a water consumer (col. 3, ll. 38-43, col. 5, ll. 11-31, demand by a user); starting a first operation sequence of a pump and a valve associated with the water consumer (col. 3, ll. 38-47, col. 5, ll. 11-31, with sufficient water in the auxiliary tank, the controller starts the pump, when enough pressure is built up at the shuttle valve via the pumping action, the valve is shifted so that water flow from the auxiliary tank); detecting an end of the demand for water supply at the water consumer (when water flow drops to a low level or no flow as detected by the flow sensor, see col. 3, ll. 47-54 and col. 5, ll. 27-31); and starting a second operation sequence of the pump and the valve (turning off the pump which then moves the shuttle valve back to the default position, see col. 4, ll. 47-54 and col. 5, ll. 27-31); wherein each of the first and second operation sequence includes a time delay between operation of the pump and operation of the valve (the delay from the time the pump is turned on to the time there is enough pressure built up to move the shuttle valve, see col. 3, ll. 40-47 and the delay from the time the pump is turned off to the time the shuttle valve moves back to the default position, see col. 3, ll. 47-54).
Regarding claim 3, Gray further discloses wherein the second operation sequence includes reducing operation of the pump or deactivating the pump, and closing the valve after the time delay (deactivation of the pump which then leads to the closure of the valve after pressure drops at the auxiliary inlet port of the shuttle valve, see col. 3, ll. 47-54).
Regarding claim 4, Gray further discloses wherein the first operation sequence includes opening the valve and activating the pump after the time delay, or wherein the first operation sequence includes activating the pump and opening the valve after the time delay (activating the pump and opening the valve after the time delay, see col. 3, ll. 40-47).
Regarding claim 6, Gray further discloses wherein operation of the pump includes setting a pump parameter, or setting a speed of the pump, or setting an output pressure of the pump and/or an output flow of the pump (setting a pump parameter, the parameter being the pump being on or off, see col. 3, ll. 38-54).
Regarding claim 8, Gray discloses a water supply system for an aircraft (intended use in the preamble which has not been given patentable weight), the water supply system comprising: a water consumer (the consumer that is downstream of the conduit 14 that is part of the plumbing system and leads to the device that allows for water demand from a user); a pump (7); a valve (11) associated with the water consumer; and a controller configured to perform the method of claim 1 (as described above in the rejection of claim 1, the controller coupled to the flow sensor to determine the flow through the sensor and controlling the pump which controls the valve).
Regarding claim 10, Gray further discloses wherein the pump is one or more of: a main pump supplying water from a central tank to the water consumer, an individual pump supplying water from a central tank to the water consumer, and a micropump supplying water from a water tank to the water consumer (pump 7 is interpreted to be a main pump that supplies water from a central tank 1 to the consumer).
Regarding claim 11, Gray further discloses wherein the valve is one or more of: a cross feed valve in a main water system, a shutoff valve in a main water system, an inlet buffer valve configured to fill a buffer tank, a control valve for a faucet or sink, a control valve for a galley insert, and a control valve for a toilet (a shutoff valve in a main water system, as it either shuts of water from main line 15 to allow flow from the tank 1 or allows water to flow from the main line 15 and stops flow from the tank 1).
Regarding claim 12, Gray discloses an aircraft comprising at least one water supply system of claim 8 (see the rejection of claim 8 above, Gray is interpreted to meet this claim as the recitation of “an aircraft” is an intended use in the preamble which has not been given patentable weight, a preamble is generally not accorded any patentable weight where it merely recites the purpose of a process or the intended use of a structure, and where the body of the claim does not depend on the preamble for completeness but, instead, the process steps or structural limitations are able to stand alone. See In re Hirao, 535 F.2d 67, 190 USPQ 15 (CCPA 1976) and Kropa v. Robie, 187 F.2d 150, 152, 88 USPQ 478, 481 (CCPA 1951)).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 9, as far as it is definite, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gray in view of Niethammer et al. (U.S. 5,711,038).
Gray discloses the claimed invention and while Gray does infer that the consumer is a faucet or the like (see col. 1, ll. 14-16), Gray does not appear to explicitly disclose the consumer being one or more of a lavatory, a galley, a water buffer tank, a sink, and a toilet.
Niethammer teaches it was known in the art to have a gray water supply system for a toilet (col. 4, ll. 53-56).
As Gray discusses the use of the tank 1 as part of a gray water system (col. 5, ll. 47-61), and Niethammer teaches the use of gray water for a toilet, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Gray such that the consumer is a toilet as taught by Niethammer as Gray is silent as to the specific consumer and having the consumer be a toilet allows for gray water to be used for the toilet which saves money as fresh water from a supply source is not being used.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2, 5, and 7 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claim 2, there is no indication the time delay is set to operate the valve when the pump is operated with a reduced capacity and there is no readily identifiable motivation to operate the pump at a reduced capacity upon operation of the valve.
Regarding claim 5, as the time delays for both the first and second operations (the time delay between operation of the valve and the pump) are directly correlated to the operation of the pump which then operates the valve, there is no means to be able to modify the time delay of the first sequence to be shorter than the time delay of the second sequence.
Regarding claim 7, there is not disclosed a plurality of valves nor is there one valve of the plurality of valves that is always in an at least partially open configuration and there is not seen to be any readily apparent motivation to make such a modification in Gray.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Schreiner et al. (U.S. 2022/0342431) discloses a water supply system for an aircraft with a valve opening delay.
/MICHAEL R REID/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3753