CTNF 18/922,780 CTNF 84583 Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 07-07-aia AIA 07-07 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – 07-08-aia AIA (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale, or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-12-aia AIA (a)(2) the claimed invention was described in a patent issued under section 151, or in an application for patent published or deemed published under section 122(b), in which the patent or application, as the case may be, names another inventor and was effectively filed before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-15-aia AIA Claim(s) 1, 11-14, and 18-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by Park (9,222,278) . Regarding claims 1, 13-14, and 20, Park discloses a shelter system for a vehicle (figure 2), comprising: a roof rack assembly having a fixed platform (110)and an extendable platform (140), the extendable platform configured to transition back-and-forth between a retracted position (fig. 4(b)) relative to the fixed platform and an extended position (fig. 4(c)) relative to the fixed platform, the extendable platform projecting outward away from a vehicle roof when the extendable platform is in extended position; and a tent (at least 161 and 162) that covers the roof rack assembly when the extendable platform is in the extended position. Regarding claim 2, Park discloses the extendable platform projects outward past a side of a vehicle when the extendable platform is in the extended position (figure 2). Regarding claims 11, 12, 18, and 19, Park discloses a ladder support structure (170) . 07-15-aia AIA Claim(s) 1, 2, 13, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by Lee (4,251,102) . Regarding claims 1, 13, and 20, Lee discloses a shelter system for a vehicle (abstract), comprising: a roof rack assembly having a fixed platform (at least 18) and an extendable platform (at least 16), the extendable platform configured to transition back-and-forth between a retracted position relative to the fixed platform and an extended position relative to the fixed platform (“Each board 16, 17 is arranged to move from a stowed position under a fixed planar member, also in the form of a board 18, 19 respectively…”C3 L38+), the extendable platform projecting outward away from a vehicle roof (1) when the extendable platform is in extended position(fig. 3); and a tent (5) that covers the roof rack assembly when the extendable platform is in the extended position. Regarding claim 2, Lee discloses the extendable platform projects outward past a side of a vehicle when the extendable platform is in the extended position (figure 3) . Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 3-8, 10, 16, and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park (9,222,278) in view of Sheckler et al. (2025/0108737) and alternatively over Lee (4,251,102) in view of Sheckler et al. (2025/0108737) . Regarding claims 3, 5, 8, and 15, Park and Lee each individually disclose the device as described previously, but each lack specifically disclosing the slats as claimed. Sheckler teaches that it is known to use a plurality of fixed platform slats (230), wherein the extendable platform includes a plurality of extendable platform slats (240), the plurality of fixed platform slats and the plurality of extendable platform slats alternate along a longitudinal axis (fig. 4). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filling date of the claimed invention to use fixed and extendable slats for the platforms as it would conserve space needed to store the plate forms. It is further noted that substituting one know human body weight support platform for another would yield predictable results to one having ordinary skill in the art. Regarding claims 4 and 16, Sheckler teaches the extendable platform slats extend outward from between adjacent fixed platform slats within the plurality of fixed platform slats when the extendable platform is in the extended position (Fig. 4). Regarding claim 6, Sheckler teaches the plurality of fixed platform slats span between a first fixed (A in annotated figure below) platform siderail of the roof rack assembly and a second fixed platform siderail (B below) of the roof rack assembly, wherein the plurality of extendable platform slats span between a first extendable platform siderail (X) and a second extendable platform siderail (Y), wherein the first and second extendable platform siderails move with the plurality of extendable platform slats back-and-forth between the retracted position and the extended position. PNG media_image1.png 629 776 media_image1.png Greyscale Regarding claim 7, Sheckler teaches wherein the plurality of extendable platform slats are each received within a corresponding aperture of the first fixed platform siderail and are configured to slide within the apertures relative to the first fixed platform siderail when the extendable platform is transitioned back-and-forth between the retracted position and the extended position (at least figures 3 and 4). Regarding claims 10 and 17, the prior in combination would disclose the plurality of fixed platform slats and the plurality of extendable platform slats capable of directly support a user positioned within the tent when the extendable platform is in the extended position . Allowable Subject Matter 12-151-08 AIA 07-43 12-51-08 Claim 9 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. Conclusion 07-96 AIA The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Thygesen 8,496,281 discloses fixed and extending slats for support platforms on a vehicle . Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to DANIEL TROY whose telephone number is (571)270-3742. The examiner can normally be reached Monday -Thursday, 9:00 am - 5:00 pm ET. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Daniel Troy can be reached at 571-270-3742. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /DANIEL J TROY/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3637 Application/Control Number: 18/922,780 Page 2 Art Unit: 3637 Application/Control Number: 18/922,780 Page 3 Art Unit: 3637 Application/Control Number: 18/922,780 Page 4 Art Unit: 3637 Application/Control Number: 18/922,780 Page 5 Art Unit: 3637 Application/Control Number: 18/922,780 Page 6 Art Unit: 3637