DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2 and 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 2 recites “an alternator” in line 2, it is unclear if this alternator is the same or different from the alternator as is claimed in line 7 of claim 1.
Claim 4 recites “an alternator” in line 2, it is unclear if this alternator is the same or different from the alternator as is claimed in line 20 of claim 3.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable Gotta (US 6886647) and further in view of Baker (US 4694187) and King (US 5589743).
In regards to claim 1, Gotta teaches an automobile electric generator system (10) comprising: an electric generator (34) mechanically connected to a differential gear train (30), wherein rotation of the vehicle’s wheels (18) transfers rotational kinetic energy to the differential gear train for conversion into electrical energy (see abstract). Gottas differential gear train is mechanically interposed between the wheel axle and the generator. Gottas fails to explicitly disclose the system comprising a constant speed drive; wherein said constant speed drive is adapted to be connected to an automobile’s wheel axles; and wherein said constant speed drive is adapted to convert fluctuating rotational movement from an automobile’s wheel axles and provide constant rotational movement to an alternator; an electric generator; wherein said electric generator is mechanically connected to said constant speed drive and adapted to convert said rotational movement of said constant speed drive into electrical power.
However, Baker teaches an electromechanical constant speed drive generating system comprising an electromechanically constant speed drive generating system comprising a mechanical differential connected to a power converter. Baker discloses that its differential / power converter arrangement is expressly adapted to convert a variable speed rotational input into a constant speed rotational output suppled to an electrical generating machine (see abstract). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date, to recognize that an automobile’s wheel axles, like the variable speed prime mover in Baker, produces a rotational input that fluctuates during vehicle operation, and that Baker’s constant speed drive solution is applicable to any variable speed rotational source feeding a generator including an automotive axle as taught by Gotta. See KSR, 550 U.S. at 417, if a technique has been used to improve one device, and a person of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that it would improve similar devices in the same way, using the technique is obvious unless its actual application is beyond his or her skill. Bakers constant speed drive mechanism is a known solution to the general problem of regulating generator input speed and its application into an automotive axle would have yielded predictable results to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date. Gotta’s own use of a differential gear train as a seed adapting element between axle and generator recognizes the need to condition axle derived rotational speed before it reaches a generator. The substitution of Baker’s known constant speed drive for Wilks’ fixed ratio transmission so as to produce a constant frequency output despite fluctuations in the mechanical input speed, improving generator operation, and drive an electrical generator at a fixed speed regardless of the speed of the prime mover as Baker teaches (abstract and Col. 1 lines 10-19). In combination, Baker’s constant speed drive is adapted to be connected to Wilk’s automobiles wheel axles (26) and to convert fluctuating movement of the wheels with constant rotational movement to an alternator (included in the generator). Furthermore, in combination the constant speed drive (baker’s) is mechanically connected to the electric generator (34) as Wilks teaches to convert rotational movement into electrical power.
Gotta fails to explicitly disclose an inverter; wherein said inverter is electrically connected to said electric generator and is adapted to invert the electric power from said electric generator for use within said automobile.
However, King teaches a drive system, wherein an inverter (28) is electrically connected to an electric generator (22) to invert the electric power from said electric generator for use within said automobile (see fig. 1, abstract). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filing date to incorporate an inverter stage of the type taught by King downstream of the generator disclosed by Gotta (as modified by Baker), because King demonstrates that generator to inverter to battery power conditioning is a well-known and routine architecture for managing variable speed generator output in an automotive drive system, and because doing so amounts to no more than combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results, see KSR, 550 U.S. at 416.
Gotta discloses a battery (54, 56); wherein said battery (54, 56) is electrically connected to said inverter (as modified by Kings inverter) and is adapted to store the electric power from said inverter (inverter adapted to store electrically downstream battery); and wherein said battery (54, 56) is adapted to be electrically connected to an electric motor (primary and secondary motors) that is connected to said automobile’s wheel axles (26, see fig. 5); wherein said electric power from said battery is adapted to be used by said electric motor (primary and secondary motor) that is connected to said automobile’s wheel axles (26); and wherein said electric motor is adapted to provide rotational movement to said automobile’s wheel axles (first battery pack provides power to a first electric motor, and a second battery pack provides power to a second electric motor, each driven so as to propel the vehicle, see abstract). Gotta, Baker and King all are directed to the common problem of converting variable speed rotational or engine input into usable, stable electrical power for recharging a vehicle battery or powering the vehicle systems and in combination teach the limitations of the claim.
In regards to claim 3, Gotta teaches a combination of an electric automobile (12, fig. 1) and an automobile electric generator system (see fig. 2), comprising:
an electric automobile (12) including:
at least one wheel axle (26);
at least one wheel (18);
wherein said at least one wheel (18) is mechanically attached to said axle (26);
an electric motor (49, 51);
wherein said electric motor (49, 51) is adapted to rotate said at least one wheel axle (26) and thereby said at least one wheel (18), and thereby propel said electric automobile (12); and
a battery (54, 56);
wherein said battery (54, 56) is adapted to provide electric power to said electric motor (49, 51); and
Gotta discloses an automobile electric generator system wherein an electric generator (34) is mechanically connected to a differential gear train (30), wherein rotation of the vehicle’s wheels (18) transfers rotational kinetic energy to the differential gear train for conversion into electrical energy (see abstract). Gottas differential gear train is mechanically interposed between the wheel axle and the generator.
Gottas fails to explicitly disclose the system comprising a constant speed drive; wherein said constant speed drive is adapted to be connected to said at least one wheel axle of said automobile; and wherein said constant speed drive is adapted to convert fluctuating rotational movement from said at least one wheel axle and provide constant rotational movement to an alternator; wherein said electric generator is mechanically connected to said constant speed drive and adapted to convert said rotational movement of said constant speed drive into electrical power; and an inverter; wherein said inverter is electrically connected to said electric generator and is adapted to invert the electric power from said electric generator for use within said automobile; and wherein said inverter is electrically connected to said battery of said electric automobile;
However, Baker teaches an electromechanical constant speed drive generating system comprising an electromechanically constant speed drive generating system comprising a mechanical differential connected to a power converter. Baker discloses that its differential / power converter arrangement is expressly adapted to convert a variable speed rotational input into a constant speed rotational output suppled to an electrical generating machine (see abstract). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date, to recognize that an automobile’s wheel axles, like the variable speed prime mover in Baker, produces a rotational input that fluctuates during vehicle operation, and that Baker’s constant speed drive solution is applicable to any variable speed rotational source feeding a generator including an automotive axle as taught by Gotta. See KSR, 550 U.S. at 417, if a technique has been used to improve one device, and a person of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that it would improve similar devices in the same way, using the technique is obvious unless its actual application is beyond his or her skill. Bakers constant speed drive mechanism is a known solution to the general problem of regulating generator input speed and its application into an automotive axle would have yielded predictable results to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date. Gotta’s own use of a differential gear train as a seed adapting element between axle and generator recognizes the need to condition axle derived rotational speed before it reaches a generator. The substitution of Baker’s known constant speed drive for Wilks’ fixed ratio transmission so as to produce a constant frequency output despite fluctuations in the mechanical input speed, improving generator operation, and drive an electrical generator at a fixed speed regardless of the speed of the prime mover as Baker teaches (abstract and Col. 1 lines 10-19).
In combination, Baker’s constant speed drive is adapted to be connected to Wilk’s automobiles wheel axles (26) and to convert fluctuating movement of the wheels with constant rotational movement to an alternator (included in the generator). Furthermore, in combination the constant speed drive (baker’s) is mechanically connected to the electric generator (34) as Wilks teaches to convert rotational movement into electrical power.
King teaches a drive system, wherein an inverter (28) is electrically connected to an electric generator (22) to invert the electric power from said electric generator (22) for use within said automobile (see fig. 1, abstract) and wherein said inverter (22) is electrically connected to said battery (36) of said electric automobile (see fig. 1). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to incorporate an inverter stage taught by King downstream of the generator disclosed by Gotta (as modified by Baker), because King demonstrates that generator to inverter to battery power conditioning is a well-known and routine architecture for managing variable speed generator output in an automotive drive system, and because doing so amounts to no more than combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results, see KSR, 550 U.S. at 416.
Therefore, Gotta as combined with King and Baker teaches wherein said electric power generated by said automobile electric generator system is transferred to said battery (battery 54, 56) which is then used by said battery (54, 56) to power said electric motor (primary and secondary motor) to thereby propel said electric automobile (first battery pack provides power to a first electric motor, and a second battery pack provides power to a second electric motor, each driven so as to propel the vehicle, see abstract, motors 48, 50) and as such the energy efficiency of said electric automobile is increased and the battery life of said battery is increased. Gotta, Baker and King all are directed to the common problem of converting variable speed rotational or engine input into usable, stable electrical power for recharging a vehicle battery or powering the vehicle systems and in combination teach the limitations of the claim.
In regards to claim 2 and 4, Gotta Baker and King in combination teach the generator system of claim 1, but fails to teach explicitly a separate alternator. Gotta teaches a generator without a separately claimed alternator. Examiner notes it is understood that an alternator is a type of electric generator. King teaches a well-known use of an alternator (22) connected to an inverter (28) which is further connected to the battery (36). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to incorporate the alternator and associated electrical conditioning arrangement taught by King into the modified system of Gotta and Baker because King teaches the known use of an alternator within an automotive electrical generation system to provide electrical power for storage and operation. Thereby employing one known electrical generating arrangement for another yielding predictable results. In combination Gotta, Baker, and King teach an alternator (King 22), wherein said alternator (King 22) is electrically connected to said electric generator (Gotta generator 34) and is adapted to control and convert the electric power from said electric generator (34) for use within said automobile.
In regards to claim 5, Gotta, in combination with Baker and King teaches an electric automobile further includes a transmission (45) mechanically connected between said electric motor (primary and secondary motor 48, 50) and said at least one wheel axle (18)(see col. 12 line 29-49).
In regards to claim 6, Gotta, Baker and King in combination teach wherein said electric automobile further includes a car inverter (King teaches a second inverter 34 for powering the motor or sensors) electrically connected to said battery (36) and is adapted to invert electric energy from said battery (36) to be used by electric components of said electric automobile. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to incorporate a car inverter taught by King because King demonstrates that generator to inverter to battery power conditioning is a well-known and routine architecture for managing electrical energy in an automotive drive system, and because doing so amounts to no more than combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results, see KSR, 550 U.S. at 416.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable Gotta (US 6886647) in view of Baker (US 4694187) and King (US 5589743) as applied above, and further in view of Kooi (US 20180264951).
In regards to claim 7, Gotta, Baker, and King fails to explicitly provided wherein said electric components of said electric automobile are chosen from a list of electric components consisting of an air conditioning unit, a heating unit, lighting fixtures, and electrical outlets. However, Kooi teaches a similar electric/hybrid automobile wherein an inverter is connected to a battery for use of power in other electric components such as a refrigeration device for cooling a cargo space of the trailer or car (see abstract, paragraph 0007). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have modified Gotta, Baker and King in view of Kooi to include electric components as Koi teaches such as an air conditioning unit using power from the inverter/battery with a reasonable expectation of success. Koi demonstrates this is a common use of batteries power electricity in vehicles and such a modification to Gotta amounts to no more than combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable Gotta (US 6886647) in view of Baker (US 4694187) and King (US 5589743) as applied above, and further in view of Ing (US 10727680).
In regards to claim 8, Gotta, Baker, and King fail to teach wherein said electric automobile further includes a charging port adapted to connect with an external power source and charge said battery. However, Ing teaches an electric vehicle similar to Gotta, wherein the vehicle further includes a charging port (222) to receive power from an external power source (220) to charge the first and second batteries (205)(see abstract). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have modified Gotta, Baker and King, further with Ing and include the improvement technique of providing a vehicle with charging port to connect with external power source so as to not rely on the movement of the axle alone to charge the battery with a reasonable expectation of success.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See PTO-892 for a list or relevant prior art that teach automobile electric generator systems similar to that claimed.
/C.A.M./Examiner, Art Unit 3614
/JASON D SHANSKE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3614