DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 8-9, 11, 13-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by Ishimoto (US 2014/0111648 A1).
In regards to claim 1, Ishimoto teaches a shovel comprising:
a lower traveling body (e.g. [0038],Fig.1: lower traveling unit 1);
an upper swivel body capable of swiveling with respect to the lower traveling body (e.g. as above, [0038],Fig.1: upper swiveling unit 3 is mounted on the lower travelling unit 1 via a swivel mechanism 2);
an object detection device provided on the upper swivel body and configured to detect an object existing around the shovel (e.g. [0042],Fig.1: to enable the monitoring of the rear and left and right sides of the upper swiveling unit, monitor cameras 13B,13L, 13R are arranged to complementary keep fields of vision, respectively; the rear view camera 13B is arranged on the top wall of the counterweight 7 at a substantially laterally-centered position thereof; the left view camera 13L is arranged on the top wall of the equipment housing 6 at a left position thereof, and the right view camera 13R is also arranged on the top wall of the equipment housing 6 or a tank at a position on a right side of the upper swiveling unit; [0047]: camera images captured by the cameras 13B, 13R, 13L are inputted in an image correction unit 31; [0062]: display on the monitor 20 is also configured to automatically change over upon detection of a moving obstacle; for this, the moving obstacle detection unit 33 is connected, in parallel with the image transformation unit 32, to the output side of the image correction unit 31, whereby any movement can be detected from the camera images before their transformation to the virtual viewpoint images by the image transformation unit 32);
an angle detection device configured to detect a swivel angle of the upper swivel body with respect to the lower traveling body (e.g. [0060]: vehicle control unit 41 is also configured to detect the relative angles of the boom 10, arm 11 and bucket 12 and the swing angle of the revolving upper structure 3 to the lower travelling unit 1; for this purpose, angle sensors are arranged at the positions on these elements, and these angle sensors are also shown collectively as angle sensors 44 in Fig.4);
a control device configured to acquire the swivel angle and positional information about a person existing around the shovel from a detection result of the object detection device (e.g. [0061]: the travelling and swivel action of the hydraulic excavator and the operation and posture of the working means 5 are recognized by the vehicle control unit 41; among these various data acquired by the vehicle control unit 41, those needed in the automatic change-over mode are inputted in the monitoring controller 30; the swivel action angle and swivel action speed of the upper swiveling unit 3 are also inputted to the monitoring controller 30; these data are inputted to the display image pattern converting unit 36, and during traveling of the lower travelling unit 1, the display pattern on the monitor 20 automatically changes in relation to the swivel angle of the upper swiveling unit 3; it is also configured that in the automatic change-over mode, the display pattern on the monitor 20 is also changed according to the position, moving direction and speed of a moving obstacle; as above, [0062]: display on the monitor 20 is also configured to automatically change over upon detection of a moving obstacle; further in [0062]: when a moving obstacle, for example, a worker or a vehicle exists at a position near the hydraulic excavator and moreover is moving, the display on the monitor 20 is controlled to automatically change over according to the movement of the moving obstacle); and
a display device configured simultaneously to display first display information and second display information in a predetermined display area in a manner that represents a positional relation between the shovel and the person, the first display information representing the shovel based on the swivel angle in such a manner that the angle between the upper swivel body and the lower traveling body can be recognized (e.g. [0045],Fig.3: monitor 20 … consists of an image display part 20a and an input part 20b; on the image display part 20a, a working machine icon 21 graphically defined from a plane image of the hydraulic excavator is displayed at a central position thereof; the working machine icon 21 is composed of an upper structure portion 21a and a lower travelling unit portion 21b; displayed around this working machine icon 21 is a virtual standpoint image 22 created by performing viewpoint transformation based on the camera images captured by the cameras 13B, 13R, 13L; see also [0064]: incidentally, the upper swiveling unit 3 is swiveled relative to the lower travelling unit 1, and its swivel angle is up to substantially 360 degrees; even during being swiveled, the upper swiveling unit 3 with the operator's cab 4 disposed thereon is fixedly displayed on the monitor 20, and the lower travelling unit 1 is displayed such that it turns on the screen), and the second display information representing the person existing at a position indicated by the positional information (e.g. [0050],Fig.3: in Fig.3, a worker icon M is also shown as an example of a concerned target image as a potential moving or fixed obstacle in the display area of the rear virtual viewpoint image 22B; in the illustrated circumstances, this worker icon M is located in the dangerous zone Z1).
In regards to claim 2, Ishimoto teaches a shovel, wherein when a change in the swivel angle is detected, the display device is configured to display the first display information in which the lower traveling body is moved based on the swivel angle (e.g. as above, [0064]: incidentally, the upper swiveling unit 3 is swiveled relative to the lower travelling unit 1, and its swivel angle is up to substantially 360 degrees; even during being swiveled, the upper swiveling unit 3 with the operator's cab 4 disposed thereon is fixedly displayed on the monitor 20, and the lower travelling unit 1 is displayed such that it turns on the screen), and configured to display third display information representing a direction in which the lower traveling body of the shovel can move, the lower traveling body of the shovel being represented by the first display information (e.g. [0065]: traveling directions are indicated by arrows, the arrow F indicates a forward movement direction, and the arrow B indicates a backward movement direction).
In regards to claim 3, Ishimoto teaches a shovel, wherein the display device is configured to display the first display information such that a front of the upper swivel body is shown on an upper part of a display area of the display device (e.g. as above, [0045],Fig.3: monitor 20 … consists of an image display part 20a and an input part 20b; on the image display part 20a, a working machine icon 21 graphically defined from a plane image of the hydraulic excavator is displayed at a central position thereof; the working machine icon 21 is composed of an upper structure portion 21a and a lower travelling unit portion 21b; displayed around this working machine icon 21 is a virtual standpoint image 22 created by performing viewpoint transformation based on the camera images captured by the cameras 13B, 13R, 13L; Examiner’s note: as shown in Fig.3, the front of the upper swivel body may be viewed as being shown on the upper part of the display area).
In regards to claim 8, Ishimoto teaches a shovel, wherein the object detection device includes an imaging device configured to capture an image of an object existing around the shovel, and wherein the display device is configured to display image information captured by the imaging device in addition to
displaying the first display information and the second display information in the predetermined
display area (e.g. as above, [0050],Fig.3: in Fig.3, a worker icon M is also shown as an example of a concerned target image as a potential moving or fixed obstacle in the display area; [0062]: display on the monitor 20 is also configured to automatically change over upon detection of a moving obstacle; when a moving obstacle, for example, a worker or a vehicle exists at a position near the hydraulic excavator and moreover is moving, the display on the monitor 20 is controlled to automatically change over according to the movement of the moving obstacle; Examiner’s note: captured imagery is displayed, from which the moving obstacles are detected; this would include the detected moving obstacles, such as people or vehicles).
In regards to claim 9, Ishimoto teaches a shovel, wherein the display device is configured to display an area indicating the person detected from the image information on the image information, and also configured to display in such a manner that a correspondence between the person displayed in the area and the person represented by the second display information can be recognized (e.g. as above, [0050],Fig.3: in Fig.3, a worker icon M is also shown as an example of a concerned target image as a potential moving or fixed obstacle in the display area; further in [0050]: in Fig.3, an area where there is a potential danger of contact with a moving or fixed obstacle as an object to be avoided to avoid a collision is set as a dangerous zone Z1; as a range required for the assurance of safety, another circle of a predetermined radius is drawn on an outer side of the circle, and the area between these two circles is set as a warning zone Z2; Examiner’s note: captured imagery is displayed, from which the moving obstacles are detected; as such, display of people would be recognized).
In regards to claim 11, Ishimoto teaches a shovel, wherein the display device is configured to display the image information captured by the imaging device in a direction in which the imaging device captures images, with respect to the predetermined display area (e.g. as above, [0045],Fig.3: monitor 20 … consists of an image display part 20a and an input part 20b; on the image display part 20a, a working machine icon 21 graphically defined from a plane image of the hydraulic excavator is displayed at a central position thereof; the working machine icon 21 is composed of an upper structure portion 21a and a lower travelling unit portion 21b; displayed around this working machine icon 21 is a virtual standpoint image 22 created by performing viewpoint transformation based on the camera images captured by the cameras 13B, 13R, 13L; see also [0048]: at the image transformation unit 32, each camera image is subjected to viewpoint transformation such that an upper viewpoint image is created; as a result, the virtual viewpoint image 22 composed of the rear virtual viewpoint image 22B, right virtual viewpoint image 22R and left virtual viewpoint image 22L on the rear and right and left sides is created at the image transformation unit 32; the virtual viewpoint image 22 in these three directions is to be displayed on the image display part 20a of the monitor 20).
In regards to claim 13, Ishimoto teaches a display device configured simultaneously to display first display information and second display information in a predetermined display area in a manner that represents a positional relation between a shovel and a person, the first display information representing the shovel based on a swivel angle of an upper swivel body with respect to a lower traveling body of the shovel in such a manner that an angle between the upper swivel body and the lower traveling body can be recognized (e.g. [0045],Fig.3: monitor 20 … consists of an image display part 20a and an input part 20b; on the image display part 20a, a working machine icon 21 graphically defined from a plane image of the hydraulic excavator is displayed at a central position thereof; the working machine icon 21 is composed of an upper structure portion 21a and a lower travelling unit portion 21b; displayed around this working machine icon 21 is a virtual standpoint image 22 created by performing viewpoint transformation based on the camera images captured by the cameras 13B, 13R, 13L; see also [0064]: incidentally, the upper swiveling unit 3 is swiveled relative to the lower travelling unit 1, and its swivel angle is up to substantially 360 degrees; even during being swiveled, the upper swiveling unit 3 with the operator's cab 4 disposed thereon is fixedly displayed on the monitor 20, and the lower travelling unit 1 is displayed such that it turns on the screen), and the second display information representing the person detect by an object detection device provided on the upper swivel body (e.g. [0047]: camera images captured by the cameras 13B, 13R, 13L are inputted in an image correction unit 31; [0062]: display on the monitor 20 is also configured to automatically change over upon detection of a moving obstacle; for this, the moving obstacle detection unit 33 is connected, in parallel with the image transformation unit 32, to the output side of the image correction unit 31, whereby any movement can be detected from the camera images before their transformation to the virtual viewpoint images by the image transformation unit 32; [0050],Fig.3: in Fig.3, a worker icon M is also shown as an example of a concerned target image as a potential moving or fixed obstacle in the display area of the rear virtual viewpoint image 22B; in the illustrated circumstances, this worker icon M is located in the dangerous zone Z1).
In regards to claim 14, Ishimoto teaches a shovel control system comprising a shovel and a control device, the shovel including:
a lower traveling body (e.g. [0038],Fig.1: lower traveling unit 1);
an upper swivel body capable of swiveling with respect to the lower traveling body (e.g. as above, [0038],Fig.1: upper swiveling unit 3 is mounted on the lower travelling unit 1 via a swivel mechanism 2);
an object detection device provided on the upper swivel body and configured to detect an object existing around the shovel (e.g. [0042],Fig.1: to enable the monitoring of the rear and left and right sides of the upper swiveling unit, monitor cameras 13B,13L, 13R are arranged to complementary keep fields of vision, respectively; the rear view camera 13B is arranged on the top wall of the counterweight 7 at a substantially laterally-centered position thereof; the left view camera 13L is arranged on the top wall of the equipment housing 6 at a left position thereof, and the right view camera 13R is also arranged on the top wall of the equipment housing 6 or a tank at a position on a right side of the upper swiveling unit; [0047]: camera images captured by the cameras 13B, 13R, 13L are inputted in an image correction unit 31; [0062]: display on the monitor 20 is also configured to automatically change over upon detection of a moving obstacle; for this, the moving obstacle detection unit 33 is connected, in parallel with the image transformation unit 32, to the output side of the image correction unit 31, whereby any movement can be detected from the camera images before their transformation to the virtual viewpoint images by the image transformation unit 32);
an angle detection device configured to detect a swivel angle of the upper swivel body with respect to the lower traveling body (e.g. [0060]: vehicle control unit 41 is also configured to detect the relative angles of the boom 10, arm 11 and bucket 12 and the swing angle of the revolving upper structure 3 to the lower travelling unit 1; for this purpose, angle sensors are arranged at the positions on these elements, and these angle sensors are also shown collectively as angle sensors 44 in Fig.4); and
a first communication device configured to transmit the swivel angle and positional information about the person existing around the shovel from a detection result of the object detection device (e.g. [0061]: the travelling and swivel action of the hydraulic excavator and the operation and posture of the working means 5 are recognized by the vehicle control unit 41; among these various data acquired by the vehicle control unit 41, those needed in the automatic change-over mode are inputted in the monitoring controller 30; the swivel action angle and swivel action speed of the upper swiveling unit 3 are also inputted to the monitoring controller 30; these data are inputted to the display image pattern converting unit 36, and during traveling of the lower travelling unit 1, the display pattern on the monitor 20 automatically changes in relation to the swivel angle of the upper swiveling unit 3; it is also configured that in the automatic change-over mode, the display pattern on the monitor 20 is also changed according to the position, moving direction and speed of a moving obstacle; as above, [0062]: display on the monitor 20 is also configured to automatically change over upon detection of a moving obstacle; further in [0062]: when a moving obstacle, for example, a worker or a vehicle exists at a position near the hydraulic excavator and moreover is moving, the display on the monitor 20 is controlled to automatically change over according to the movement of the moving obstacle), and
the control device including:
a second communication device configured to receive the swivel angle and the positional information (e.g. as above, [0061]: the swivel action angle and swivel action speed of the upper swiveling unit 3 are also inputted to the monitoring controller 30; these data are inputted to the display image pattern converting unit 36, and during traveling of the lower travelling unit 1, the display pattern on the monitor 20 automatically changes in relation to the swivel angle of the upper swiveling unit 3; it is also configured that in the automatic change-over mode, the display pattern on the monitor 20 is also changed according to the position, moving direction and speed of a moving obstacle; [0062]: display on the monitor 20 is also configured to automatically change over upon detection of a moving obstacle; when a moving obstacle, for example, a worker or a vehicle exists at a position near the hydraulic excavator and moreover is moving, the display on the monitor 20 is controlled to automatically change over according to the movement of the moving obstacle); and
a display device configured simultaneously to display first display information and second display information in a predetermined display area in a manner that represents a positional relation between the shovel and the person, the first display information representing the shovel based on the swivel angle in such a manner that the angle between the upper swivel body and the lower traveling body can be recognized (e.g. [0045],Fig.3: monitor 20 … consists of an image display part 20a and an input part 20b; on the image display part 20a, a working machine icon 21 graphically defined from a plane image of the hydraulic excavator is displayed at a central position thereof; the working machine icon 21 is composed of an upper structure portion 21a and a lower travelling unit portion 21b; displayed around this working machine icon 21 is a virtual standpoint image 22 created by performing viewpoint transformation based on the camera images captured by the cameras 13B, 13R, 13L; see also [0064]: incidentally, the upper swiveling unit 3 is swiveled relative to the lower travelling unit 1, and its swivel angle is up to substantially 360 degrees; even during being swiveled, the upper swiveling unit 3 with the operator's cab 4 disposed thereon is fixedly displayed on the monitor 20, and the lower travelling unit 1 is displayed such that it turns on the screen), and the second display information representing the person existing at a position indicated by the positional information (e.g. [0050],Fig.3: in Fig.3, a worker icon M is also shown as an example of a concerned target image as a potential moving or fixed obstacle in the display area of the rear virtual viewpoint image 22B; in the illustrated circumstances, this worker icon M is located in the dangerous zone Z1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4, 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ishimoto as applied to claims 2, 8 above, and further in view of Shimazu et al. (US 2020/0302657 A1).
In regards to claim 4, Ishimoto teaches the shovel of claim 2, but does not explicitly teach the shovel, wherein the display device is configured to change a display mode in the predetermined display area when the person is detected in the direction represented by the third display information.
However, Shimazu teaches a shovel, wherein the display device is configured to change a display mode in the predetermined display area when the person is detected in the direction of movement (e.g. [0084],Fig.4: controller 33 determines whether one or more conditions are met on the basis of a relative positional relationship between a detection object detected within the display region 62 of the first video image and the moving body 50; for example, a first condition specifying that the detection object is located on the first predicted path 65 of the moving body 50; when the controller 33 determines that one or more of the conditions are met, the controller 33 may cause a predetermined marker corresponding to the detection object to be superimposed on the second video images and displayed on the display apparatus 40; Examiner’s note: this shows marker display based on object detected in direction of movement).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teachings/combination of Ishimoto to change display mode, in the same conventional manner as taught by Shimazu as both deal with object detection. The motivation to combine the two would be that it would allow display of indicator for objects detected in the direction that the shovel is moving.
In regards to claim 12, Ishimoto teaches the shovel of claim 8, but does not explicitly teach the shovel, wherein in response to determining that a person exists in an area not represented as the image information based on the position information, the display device is configured to arrange display information indicating that a person exists, in a direction in which the person exists, in the predetermined display area.
However, Shimazu teaches a vehicle, wherein in response to determining that a person exists in an area not represented as the image information based on the position information, the display device is configured to arrange display information indicating that a person exists, in a direction in which the person exists, in the predetermined display area (e.g. [0099],Fig.10: when a detection position of the detection object in the first video image is outside of the display region 62 and, simultaneously, inside of the detection region 61, the controller 33 may cause a marker corresponding to the detection object to be superimposed on the second video image and displayed on the display apparatus 40; hereinafter, this marker will also be referred to as a fifth marker; when the detection position of the detection object in the first video image is located on the right side of the display region 62, the controller 33 may cause the fifth marker to be superimposed on the right-side edge region of the second video images and displayed on the display apparatus 40).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teachings/combination of Ishimoto to change display mode, in the same conventional manner as taught by Shimazu as both deal with object detection. The motivation to combine the two would be that it would allow the display of an indicator of objects detected that are not within the displayed view.
Claim(s) 5-7, 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ishimoto as applied to claims 2, 9 above, and further in view of Danguchi et al. (US 2023/0407602 A1).
In regards to claim 5, Ishimoto teaches a shovel, wherein the display device is configured to display a plurality of first areas, which are determined in accordance with a distance from the shovel, in the predetermined display area (e.g. as above, [0050]: in Fig.3, an area where there is a potential danger of contact with a moving or fixed obstacle as an object to be avoided to avoid a collision is set as a dangerous zone Z1; as a range required for the assurance of safety, another circle of a predetermined radius is drawn on an outer side of the circle, and the area between these two circles is set as a warning zone Z2), but does not explicitly teach the shove, wherein the display device is configured to differentiate the display mode of the second display information according to whether or not the second display information is included in a corresponding first area of the first areas.
However, Danguchi teaches a shovel, wherein the display device is configured to differentiate the display mode of the second display information according to whether or not the second display information is included in a corresponding first area of the first areas (e.g. [0121]-[0122],Fig.12: the display control unit may cause the display unit 61 to display warning information D5 indicating that the obstacle is present when the image recognition unit 53 detects the obstacle; in the example of Fig.12, the display unit 61 displays as the warning information D5 an icon A1 indicating a “human” of being an obstacle, an arrow icon A2 indicating a direction in which the human is present, and an arc strip-shape area A3 (see thick dashed line) indicating that the human is on the left side of the hydraulic excavator 1; furthermore, the display unit 61 also displays as warning information D5 an icon B1 indicating a “human” of being an obstacle, an arrow icon B2 indicating a direction in which the human is present, and an arc strip-shape area B3 (see thick solid line) indicating that the human is behind the hydraulic excavator 1).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teachings/combination of Ishimoto to change display mode, in the same conventional manner as taught by Danguchi as both deal with object detection. The motivation to combine the two would be that it would allow the display of warning indicators that help differentiate between objects.
In regards to claim 6, the combination of Ishimoto and Danguchi also teaches a shovel, wherein when a plurality of portions of the second display information are included in one of the first areas, the display device is configured to display the plurality of portions of the second display information distinguishably (e.g. Ishimoto, [0068],Fig.12A: three worker icons M1, M2, M3 have appeared on the rear virtual viewpoint image 22B in the state that the standard image display pattern A is displayed on the monitor 20; Examiner’s note: captured imagery is displayed, from which the moving obstacles are detected; Fig.12A shows the plurality of people are distinguishably displayed).
In regards to claim 7, the combination of Ishimoto and Danguchi also teaches a shovel, wherein the first areas displayed by the display device are based on the first display information, and are at least one of a range in which a current attachment of the shovel rotates, or a range in which the attachment of the shovel rotates when the attachment of the shovel is most extended in a horizontal direction (e.g. Ishimoto as above, [0050]: in Fig.3, an area where there is a potential danger of contact with a moving or fixed obstacle as an object to be avoided to avoid a collision is set as a dangerous zone Z1; as a range required for the assurance of safety, another circle of a predetermined radius is drawn on an outer side of the circle, and the area between these two circles is set as a warning zone Z2; Examiner’s note: the displayed circular zones, Z1 and Z2 in Fig.3, suggest they correspond to the range of the rotation of the shovel) .
In regards to claim 10, the combination of Ishimoto and Danguchi also teaches a shovel, wherein the display device is configured to differentiate the display mode of the area shown on the image information, and the second image information, based on the distance between the shovel and the person (e.g. Danguchi as above, [0121]-[0122],Fig.12: in the example of Fig.12, the display unit 61 displays as the warning information D5 an icon A1 indicating a “human” of being an obstacle, an arrow icon A2 indicating a direction in which the human is present, and an arc strip-shape area A3 (see thick dashed line) indicating that the human is on the left side of the hydraulic excavator 1; furthermore, the display unit 61 also displays as warning information D5 an icon B1 indicating a “human” of being an obstacle, an arrow icon B2 indicating a direction in which the human is present, and an arc strip-shape area B3 (see thick solid line) indicating that the human is behind the hydraulic excavator 1; Examiner’s note: Fig.12 shows differentiation of areas and people within a certain distance of shovel).
In addition, the same rationale/motivation of claim 5 is used for claim 10.
Conclusion
/JED-JUSTIN IMPERIAL/ Examiner, Art Unit 2616
/DANIEL F HAJNIK/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2616