DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: line 16, “and s passively heated by the RF energy field...” contains a typographical error. The letter “s” is not a word. It appears this should be “is”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5, 10-11, 13-15, and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lei et al. (CN 104083209) in view of Levison (US 10,092,346).
With regard to claim 1 and 13, Lei discloses a bipolar lipolysis system comprising; a first part configured to be positioned outside a body of a patient in proximity to a tissue portion to be treated (e.g. Fig. 1; connecting bracket 12 and handle electrode 3 define the first part), a second part configured to be inserted into the body of the patient under the skin tissue surface in proximity to or inside the tissue portion to be treated (e.g. Fig. 1; needle 5), an RF system comprising an RF generator operable for generating RF signal and an electrode arrangement mounted on the first part (e.g. RF generator 1, handle electrode 3; see Fig. 1; Examiner notes the disclosure mentions use of RF throughout and clearly “device host 1” must be the generator means for generating the RF signal that is passed through the handpiece), wherein the second part at least partially comprises or is made of an electrically conductive material that when being subject to the RF energy having specific parameters heats up and causes at least one of destruction of adipose tissue cells and tissue tightening at the tissue portion in vicinity thereof (e.g. surgical needle 5 comprises rf electrode 6 as seen in Fig. 2, additionally because Lei discloses the system is a bipolar system the cylindrical electrode 6 must form the opposite polarity electrode for the system to be bipolar).
Lei fails to teach the second part is not electrically coupled to the RF generator and is passively heated by the RF energy field generated by the electrode arrangement. Lei teaches the electrode arrangement comprises an electrode on the first part (external hand piece) and an electrode on the second part (internal cannula). Levinson teaches that it is known to use a completely external bipolar electrode pair in a similar system for RF fat destruction as set forth in Col. 11, lines 36-67 for providing a known RF energy delivery modality with external electrodes for destruction of fat cells. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the system of Lei with using external RF electrodes instead of one external electrode and one internal electrode since both are well known arrangements for RF energy delivery for the purpose of destruction of fat cells and the selection of either known arrangement would be within the level of ordinary skill in the art. Examiner notes that the proposed modification of Lei to have an electrode arrangement external to the body would result in the second part being passively heated by the RF energy field. Additionally, the passive heating of the second part is not limited to any interaction of the second part being comprised of a particular material and the generated RF field. In other words, a conductive material or even a non-conductive material such as a polymer would undergo passive heating since the generated RF field is heating the surrounding tissue of the body.
With regard to claim 2, Examiner considers the system of Lei to meet the claimed limitation of comprising a controller in communication with the RF system for controlling the RF system to cause the at least one of destruction of the adipose tissue and the tissue tightening because the device host that generates the RF signal would also read on a controller for controlling the RF system as any output of an RF signal would read on the rf system and a controller. In other words, the selection and output of an RF signal meets the limitation of a controller. Additionally, Lei discloses a feedback mode that uses temperature sensors to control the output which would also implicitly require a controller/control means (e.g. see page 3 of the google patents translation of Lei with reference to the Embodiment 2 section).
With regard to claim 3, Lei discloses a hollow channel on the second part for extracting liquified fat from the tissue region (e.g. see page 3 of the google patents translation; The radio frequency electrode 6 and the surgical needle tube 5 are both hollow structures and internally communicated, and a liposuction hole 6a is provided on the surface of the radio frequency electrode 6, and a liposuction hole 11 is provided inside the treatment handle 2, and the end of the liposuction hole 11 extends A liposuction device is connected to the end of the treatment handle 2, and the front end of the liposuction hole 11 communicates with the inner hole of the surgical needle tube 5 and the liposuction hole 6a).
With regard to claim 4 and 14, Lei discloses a temperature indication system configured to provide temperature data indicative of temperature of the tissue portion and/or surroundings of the tissue portion (e.g. see page 3 of google patents translation Embodiment two; “the temperature sensor 9 feeds back the monitored temperature to the device host 1 through a connection line 10, which is used to achieve a safe output dose,”).
With regard to claim 5 and 15, Lei discloses the temperature sensor may be mounted on the first or second part (e.g. see page 3 of google patents translation, “temperature sensor 9 is installed inside the radio frequency electrode 6”).
With regard to claim 10-11 and 18, Lei discloses a bipolar electrode pair (e.g. external electrode 3 and needle electrode 6). Examiner notes that a bipolar electrode pair reads on the claimed “multi-polar electrode group” since there is more than one electrode and more than one polarity. Lei in view of Levison disclose the invention as claimed including a plurality of electrodes and bipolar electrodes (electrodes of opposite polarities) however fail to explicitly teach the first group of electrodes being a different number than the second group of electrodes. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the system of Lei with using a different number of positive polarity electrodes and negative polarity electrodes since such a modification would provide the predictable results of arriving at a number of electrodes that provide for a desired RF field shape for reaching the desired target site.
Claim(s) 6-8 and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lei in view of Levison as applied above, further in view of Welches et al. (WO 2008/154005).
Lei discloses the invention as claimed but fails to teach the temperature sensor being a thermal camera that can be a headset or glasses worn by a user. In a similar field of invention, Welches teaches the use of a thermal camera system that is configured to be glasses worn by a user to project onto a heads up display for the user with temperature data as set forth in paragraphs 64 and 75 for providing the predictable results of providing thermal data to the user to provide patient safety and efficacy during a thermal treatment system. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the system of Lei with the use of a temperature sensor being a thermal camera that can be a headset or glasses worn by a user since such a modification would provide the predictable results of providing thermal data to the user to provide patient safety and efficacy during a thermal treatment system.
Claim(s) 9, 12, 17 and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lei in view of Levison as applied above, further in view of Pyo (WO 2011105634).
With regard to claims 9 and 17, Lei discloses the invention as claimed but fails to teach the electrode arrangement comprises at least one mono-polar electrode. Pyo teaches that it is known to use a monopolar electrode arrangement with a return electrode 300 Fig. 1 (see also google patents translation which details “As shown in FIG. 1, a liposuction electrode unit 210 having a high frequency generator 100, a cannula 211 for liposuction, and a counter plate 300 for energizing high frequency power to a human body “) for providing the predictable results of an alternative electrode arrangement for lipolysis/liposuction. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time to at least try using the monopolar arrangement as taught by Pyo since there is a finite number of electrode arrangements possible, either monopolar or bipolar, and since there would be a reasonable expectation of success since Pyo teaches a similar invention for lipolysis and liposuction as well.
With regard to claims 12 and 19, Lei discloses the invention as claimed but fails to also teach the second part is detachably connectable to the handpiece which enables removing the second part and applying treatment to a skin surface of the tissue portion using only the first part having the electrode mounted on the first part. Pyo, in a similar field of invention, discloses a lipolysis and liposuction system comprising separate leads with a return electrode portion and the active portion as seen in Fig. 1 for providing the predictable results of providing an alternate arrangement with ease of use and maneuverability. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the system as taught by Lei with the making the first and second part separable since such a modification would provide the predictable results of providing an alternate arrangement with ease of use and maneuverability.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-19 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JOSEPH A STOKLOSA/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3794