DETAILED ACTION
Applicants' arguments, filed 10/19/2026, have been fully considered. Rejections and/or objections not reiterated from previous office actions are hereby withdrawn. The following rejections and/or objections are either reiterated or newly applied. They constitute the complete set presently being applied to the instant application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 18 recites a nonwoven tie layer. The claim is indefinite because the term “nonwoven tie layer” does not appear to be a known term in the art and it is unclear how the term “tie” modifies the otherwise definite term “nonwoven layer.” It is not clear how “nonwoven tie layer” differs from “nonwoven layer.”
Response to Arguments
Applicant argues that the term “tie layer: is known in the art by the person of ordinary skill in the art and the term is supported in the as-filed specification at paragraph [0091].
The Examiner does not find Applicant’s argument to be persuasive. Applicant has not shown wherein “tie layer” is a known term in the art. Also, although the instant specification discloses “tie layer,” the instant specification does not disclose what it comprises in order to be considered a “tie layer” or disclose how to differentiate a “tie layer” from a non-tie layer. Thus, the scope of “tie layer” is unclear and the rejection is maintained.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
1. Claims 1-4, 6, 7, 13-17, and 19-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hsu et al. (US 2002/0192243, Dec. 19, 2002) (hereinafter Hsu).
Hsu discloses a system for the enhanced transdermal administration of a drug for the treatment of Alzheimer’s disease, comprising: at least one drug reservoir containing the drug and a pharmaceutically acceptable base, in an amount effective to enhance the flux of the drug through the body surface without causing damage thereto; and a backing layer (¶ [0012]). Transdermal drug delivery is administration of a drug for the treatment of Alzheimer’s disease to the skin surface of an individual so that the drug passes through the skin tissue and into the individual’s blood stream (¶ [0029]). Exemplary Alzheimer’s drugs that may be administered include donepezil and pharmaceutically acceptable derivatives thereof. Pharmaceutically acceptable derivatives of donepezil include donepezil HCl (donepezil hydrochloride) (¶ [0067]). The concentration of the Alzheimer’s drug in the formulation will typically depend upon a variety of factors. The formulation will typically contain on the order of about 0.5-50 wt. % drug (¶ [0091]). The formulation comprises a therapeutically effective amount of the drug (¶ [0076]). Suitable pharmaceutically acceptable bases include sodium bicarbonate (i.e., claimed amphoteric inorganic base compound) (claim 4). The amount of sodium bicarbonate will generally be in the range of approximately 2-20 wt. % (¶ [0032], [0048] and [0050]). For those Alzheimer’s drugs having an unusually low rate of permeation through the skin, it may be desirable to include a second enhancer (¶ [0088]). The formulation may also contain irritation-mitigating additives to minimize or eliminate the possibility of skin irritation or skin damage resulting from the Alzheimer’s drug, the base enhancer, or other components of the formulation. Suitable irritation-mitigating additives include glycerin (i.e., glycerol) (i.e., claimed salt form solubilizer). The irritation-mitigating additive represents not more than about 5 wt. % of the formulation (¶ [0090]). In one embodiment, the drug reservoir comprises a polymeric matrix of a pharmaceutically acceptable adhesive material that serves to affix the system to the skin during drug delivery. Examples of suitable adhesive materials include polyacrylates (¶ [0095]). In an alternative embodiment, the drug-containing reservoir and skin contact adhesive are present as separate and distinct layers, with the adhesive underlying the reservoir (¶ [0098]). The backing layer may be occlusive and derived from synthetic polymers or natural polymers (¶ [0096]). Additional layers, e.g., intermediate fabric layers and/or rate-controlling membranes, may also be present (¶ [0099]). The rate-controlling membrane, if present, will be included in the system on the skin side of one or more of the drug reservoirs (¶ [0100]).
The prior art discloses a transdermal delivery system comprising a drug reservoir containing a drug and a pharmaceutically acceptable base (¶ [0012]), wherein suitable drugs include donepezil HCl (¶ [0067]) and suitable pharmaceutically acceptable bases include sodium bicarbonate (claim 4). Together these would provide a composition as claimed instantly.
The prior art is not anticipatory insofar as these combinations must be selected from various lists/locations in the reference. It would have been obvious, however, to make the combination since all the claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination yielded nothing more than predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art. See MPEP 2143(I)(A).
In regard to instant claim 1 reciting wherein the pKa of the amphoteric inorganic base compound is lower than that of the amine salt form of the active agent, as discussed above, Hsu discloses a transdermal delivery system comprising donepezil HCl (i.e., amine salt form of the active agent) and sodium bicarbonate (i.e., amphoteric inorganic base compound). As noted in paragraph [0054] of the instant specification, donepezil HCl has a pKa of 8.6 and sodium bicarbonate has a pKa of 6.4.
In regard to instant claim 1 reciting a molar amount of donepezil HCl and a molar amount of sodium bicarbonate, a weight amount of donepezil HCl and sodium bicarbonate may be converted into moles. Therefore, since Hsu discloses a weight amount of donepezil HCl and sodium bicarbonate, Hsu also discloses a molar amount of donepezil HCl and a molar amount of sodium bicarbonate. In regard to instant claim 1 reciting a molar amount of sodium bicarbonate that is less than the molar amount of donepezil HCl, this limitation would have been obvious from Hsu disclosing about 0.5-50% drug (e.g., donepezil HCl) and 2-20% sodium bicarbonate. In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art”, a prima facie case of obviousness exists. MPEP 2144.05 A.
In regard to instant claim 14 reciting wherein the adhesive agent comprises up to 65% w/w of the drug reservoir, as discussed above, Hsu discloses wherein polyacrylate is an adhesive material and wherein the drug reservoir may comprise an adhesive material that serves to affix the system to the skin during drug delivery. Accordingly, since polyacrylate is an adhesive material and adhesive materials serve to affix the system to the skin, it would have taken no more than the relative skills of one of ordinary skill in the art through routine experimentation to have arrived at the claimed amount of polyacrylate depending on the level of adhesion desired to affix the system to the skin during drug delivery. Where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation. See MPEP 2144.05(II)(A).
In regard to instant claim 17 reciting a contact adhesive layer comprised of an acrylate polymer or copolymer, as discussed above, Hsu discloses wherein the system may comprise a skin contact adhesive as a separate and distinct layer from the drug reservoir. Hsu does not disclose what the skin contact adhesive layer comprises. However, Hsu discloses wherein polyacrylates is an adhesive material. Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have the skin contact adhesive layer of Hsu comprise polyacrylates since this is a known and effective material to provide adhesiveness.
In regard to instant claim 19 reciting wherein the rate-controlling membrane is between the drug reservoir and the contact adhesive layer, as discussed above, Hsu discloses wherein the rate-controlling membrane is on the skin side of the drug reservoir and wherein there may be a skin contact adhesive layer. Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have the rate-controlling membrane between the drug reservoir and the contact adhesive layer since it is on the skin side of the drug reservoir and the skin contact adhesive layer has to be over the rate-controlling membrane since it is in contact with skin.
In regard to instant claim 22 reciting wherein administering achieves a therapeutically effect blood concentration of donepezil, as discussed above, Hsu discloses transdermal administration which passes drug through the skin and into the blood stream. Hsu also discloses administering a therapeutically effective amount of drug, wherein the drug may be donepezil HCL. As such, a therapeutically effective blood concentration of donepezil would have been obvious.
2. Claims 8-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hsu et al. (US 2002/0192243, Dec. 19, 2002) (hereinafter Hsu) in view of Kawakami et al. (US 2012/0207816, Aug. 16, 2012) (hereinafter Kawakami).
The teachings of Hsu are discussed above. Hsu does not teach wherein the formulation comprises between about 5-20 wt. % of a neutral form solubilizer.
However, Kawakami discloses an adhesive patch that contains an absorption promoter (abstract). Suitable absorption promoters include triethyl citrate, lauryl lactate, and sorbitan monolaurate (¶ [0043]). The composition may comprise 1 to 10 wt. % of a blended amount of the absorption promoter (claim 6).
Generally, it is prima facie obvious to select a known material for incorporation into a composition, based on its recognized suitability for its intended use. See MPEP 2144.07. As discussed above, Hsu discloses wherein the formulation may comprise a second enhancer. Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to incorporated 1 to 10 wt. % triethyl citrate, lauryl lactate, and/or sorbitan monolaurate (i.e., claimed neutral form solubilizer) into the composition of Hsu since they are known and effective permeation enhancers and amount thereof as taught by Kawakami.
3. Claims 11 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hsu et al. (US 2002/0192243, Dec. 19, 2002) (hereinafter Hsu) in view of Hsu et al. (US 2005/0244485, Nov. 3, 2005) (hereinafter Hsu 2).
The teachings of Hsu are discussed above. Hsu does not teach wherein the drug reservoir comprises crospovidone.
However, Hsu 2 discloses wherein a drug reservoir of a system may comprise a polymeric matrix of a pharmaceutically acceptable adhesive material that serves to affix the system to the skin during drug delivery. Examples of suitable adhesive materials include crospovidone (¶ [0070]).
As discussed above, Hsu discloses wherein the drug reservoir may comprise an adhesive material. Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have incorporated crospovidone into the drug reservoir since it is a known and effective adhesive material as taught by Hsu 2.
In regards to instant claim 12 reciting wherein the additive is present in the drug reservoir in an amount of up to 25% w/w, as discussed above, Hsu discloses wherein the drug reservoir may comprise an adhesive material that serves to affix the system to the skin during drug delivery. Accordingly, since crosspovidone is an adhesive material and adhesive materials serve to affix the system to the skin, it would have taken no more than the relative skills of one of ordinary skill in the art through routine experimentation to have arrived at the claimed amount of crosspovidone depending on the level of adhesion desired to affix the system to the skin during drug delivery. Where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation. See MPEP 2144.05(II)(A).
4. Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hsu et al. (US 2002/0192243, Dec. 19, 2002) (hereinafter Hsu) in view of Tang (US 2009/0062754, Mar. 5, 2009).
The teachings of Hsu are discussed above. Hsu does not teach wherein the system comprises a nonwoven tie layer between the drug reservoir and the skin contact adhesive layer.
However, Tang discloses a transdermal delivery device (abstract). In embodiments containing two adhesive layers, the transdermal delivery device may further comprise a membrane or non-woven layer. The membrane or non-woven layer is located between the drug reservoir adhesive layer and the skin contact adhesive layer. The non-woven layer may serve as an anchorage layer between the two adhesive layers (¶ [0102]).
Generally, it is prima facie obvious to select a known material for incorporation into a composition, based on its recognized suitability for its intended use. See MPEP 2144.07. As discussed above, Hsu wherein the system may comprise additional layers. Accordingly, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have incorporated a nonwoven layer between the drug reservoir and the skin contact adhesive layer since it is a known and effective additional layer and it helps with anchoring the drug reservoir layer and skin contact adhesive layer as taught by Tang.
Response to Arguments
Applicant argues that Hsu’s disclosed weight percentages do not constitute a range that overlaps the presently claimed molar relationship.
The Examine does not find Applicant’s argument to be persuasive. As discussed in the rejection, Hsu discloses about 0.5-50% drug (e.g., donepezil HCl) and 2-20% sodium bicarbonate. Thus, an amount of sodium bicarbonate less than donepezil HCl would have been obvious from these ranges since one may select for example 50% donepezil HCl and 2% sodium bicarbonate. When converted into molar amounts, the molar amount of sodium bicarbonate would be less than the molar amount of donepezil HCl. As such, Hsu does teach an amount that overlaps with the claimed range and Applicant’s argument is unpersuasive.
Applicant argues that while a particular weight of donepezil HCl can be converted into moles, that mathematical conversion does not establish why a person of ordinary skill in the art would have selected the relative quantities of donepezil HCl and sodium bicarbonate necessary to provide less than one mole of sodium bicarbonate per mole of donepezil HCl.
The Examiner does not find Applicant’s argument to be persuasive. As discussed above, Hsu discloses about 0.5-50% drug (e.g., donepezil HCl) and 2-20% sodium bicarbonate. Thus, an amount of sodium bicarbonate less than donepezil HCl would have been obvious from these ranges since one may select for example 50% donepezil HCl and 2% sodium bicarbonate. Applicant has not shown wherein the claimed relationship of molar amounts of donepezil HCl and sodium bicarbonate is critical such that selecting any amount from the ranges would not have been obvious. As such, Applicant’s argument is unpersuasive.
Applicant argues that the presence of the amphoteric inorganic base, e.g., sodium bicarbonate, at the claimed amount, drives the formation of the neutral active agent.
The Examiner does not find Applicant’s argument to be persuasive. To rebut a prima facie case of obviousness regarding overlapping ranges, Applicant may show that the range is critical. See MPEP 2144.05(III)(A). Applicant has not shown wherein the claimed amount would drive formation of the neutral active agent to a level that is unexpected. A molar amount of sodium bicarbonate that is less than the molar amount of donepezil HCl may be a molar amount slightly less than the molar amount of donepezil HCl. Applicant has not shown wherein even a slight difference in amount would affect the formation of neutral active agent to an extent that is of statistical and practical significance. Applicant needs to establish that the difference in results are in fact unexpected and unobvious and of both statistical and practical significance to show unexpected results. See MPEP 716.02(b). Since Applicant has not established such, Applicant’s argument is unpersuasive and the rejection is maintained.
Applicant argues that the secondary references do not cure the deficiencies of Hsu.
The Examiner submits that since arguments regarding Hsu are unpersuasive as discussed above, the remaining rejections are maintained.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-4 and 6-22 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 4-13 and 15-18 of U.S. Patent No. 10,016,372, claims 1-14 of U.S. Patent No. 10,300,025, claims 1-18 of U.S. Patent No. 10,307,379, claims 1, 6, and 8 of U.S. Patent No. 11,103,463, and claims 1-9 of U.S. Patent No. 9,993,466. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the conflicting claims recite a more specific version of the instant claims (i.e., the conflicting claims recite additional ingredients or limitations) and thus read on the instant claims.
Claims 1-4 and 6-22 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-4 and 6-19 of copending Application No. 19/223,763 (reference application) and claims 17, 22-30 and 33-36 of copending Application No. 19/180,842 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the conflicting claims recite a more specific version of the instant claims (i.e., the conflicting claims recite additional ingredients or limitations) and thus read on the instant claims.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Response to Arguments
Applicants respectfully defer these issues until the application is otherwise in condition for allowance. Since this has not occurred, the rejection is maintained.
Conclusion
Claims 1-4 and 6-22 are rejected.
No claims are allowed.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/TRACY LIU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1614