DETAILED ACTION
RESPONSE TO AMENDMENT
Acknowledgment is made of the amendment filed 12/29/2025, in which:claims 1, 4-5, and 17 are amended; claim 3 is cancelled; and the rejections of the claims are traversed. Claims 1-2 and 4-20 are currently pending and an Office Action on the merits follows.
CLAIM REJECTIONS - 35 USC § 103
1. Claims 1-2 and 4-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al. US 20220069194 in view of Takeda US 20190377414 and further in view of Salzmann et al. US 20210237121.
Consider claim 1. Lee discloses a vibration apparatus fig. 21 vibration apparatus 200 comprising:
a plurality of vibration transfer parts fig. 21 150 attached to 200-1 and 150 attached to 200-2;
a connection portion connected between the plurality of vibration transfer parts fig. 21 plate 170 which is between and connects 200-1 and 200-2; and
a plurality of vibration generating parts fig. 21 vibration generators (210 230) of 200-1 and vibration generators (210 230) of 200-2 connected to two vibration transfer parts of the plurality of vibration transfer parts fig. 21 plate 150 connected to (210 230) of 200-1 and 200-2.
Lee does not disclose connected to two adjacent vibration transfer parts.
Takeda however discloses connected to two adjacent vibration transfer parts fig. 3-4 vibration generation part 22 is connected between adjacent vibration transfer parts 21c left right and 21b left right.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the vibration apparatus of Lee to include connected to two adjacent vibration transfer parts, as taught by Takeda, to efficiently transfer vibrations from the vibration generator to the vibration target while the vibration is increased [0019].
Lee as modified by Takeda do not disclose wherein the connection portion has a width and a length, which are less than a width and a length of each of the plurality of vibration transfer parts.
Salzmann however discloses wherein the connection portion has a width and a length, which are less than a width and a length of each of the plurality of vibration transfer parts see fig. 1-7 fig. 12
vibration transfer parts 14 have length and width larger than width and length of connection part 12.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the vibration apparatus of Lee as modified by Takeda to include connected the connection portion has a width and a length, which are less than a width and a length of each of the plurality of vibration transfer parts, as taught by Salzmann, to improve durability of vibration actuator [0010].
Consider claim 2. Lee as modified by Takeda and of Salzmann disclose the vibration apparatus of claim 1, wherein each of the plurality of vibration transfer parts is configured to change an in-plane vibration mode of the plurality of vibration generating parts to an out-plane vibration mode see Takeda fig. 4 and fig. 5 when piezo element 22 in plane movement is converted into out plane vibrations.
Motivation to combine is similar to motivation in claim 1.
Claim 3 is canceled.
Consider claim 4. Lee as modified by Takeda and of Salzmann disclose the vibration apparatus of claim 1, wherein the width of the connection portion is less than the length of the connection portion see Salzmann fig. 7 connection part 12 length is longer that its width.
Consider claim 5. Lee as modified by Takeda and of Salzmann disclose the vibration apparatus of claim 1, wherein the length of the connection portion is two or more times the width of the connection portion see Salzmann fig. 7 the length of the connection part 12 is more than twice that of its width.
Consider claim 6. Lee as modified by Takeda and of Salzmann disclose the vibration apparatus of claim 1, wherein each of the plurality of vibration transfer parts comprises:
a base member Lee fig. 21 [0309] 170 connected to either 210 or 230. also see Lee fig. 4 21a; and
a vibration transfer member connected to the base member also see Lee fig. 4 21b 21c connected to 21a, and wherein the connection portion is connected to the base member of each of two adjacent vibration transfer parts Lee fig. 21 [0309] 170 connected to either 210 or 230. also see Lee fig. 4 21a.
Motivation to combine is similar to motivation in claim 1.
Consider claim 7. Lee as modified by Takeda and of Salzmann disclose the vibration apparatus of claim 6, wherein the connection portion comprises the same material as a material of the base member. see Lee [0312] 170 made of metal. Takeda [0025] vibration part 21 made of metal.
Motivation to combine is similar to motivation in claim 1.
Consider claim 8. Lee as modified by Takeda and of Salzmann disclose the vibration apparatus of claim 6, wherein the vibration transfer member comprises: a first vibration transfer member configured at one edge of the base member Takeda fig. 4 vibration part 21b or 21c on the left of base 21a.; and a second vibration transfer member configured at the other edge of the base member facing the first vibration transfer member. Takeda fig. 4 vibration part 21b or 21c on the right of base 21a.
Motivation to combine is similar to motivation in claim 1.
Consider claim 9. Lee as modified by Takeda and of Salzmann disclose the vibration apparatus of claim 8, wherein each of the first vibration transfer member and the second vibration transfer member protrudes from the base member Takeda fig. 4 vibration part 21b on the left and right of base 21a protrude.
Motivation to combine is similar to motivation in claim 1.
Consider claim 10. Lee as modified by Takeda and of Salzmann disclose the vibration apparatus of claim 8, wherein each of the first vibration transfer member and the second vibration transfer member has a line shape Takeda fig. 4 vibration part 21b on the left and right of base 21a has line shape.
Motivation to combine is similar to motivation in claim 1.
Consider claim 11. Lee as modified by Takeda and of Salzmann disclose the vibration apparatus of claim 6, further comprising an adhesive member between the vibration generating part and the base member Lee fig. 21 250 is adhesive member between 230 and 150.
Consider claim 12. Lee as modified by Takeda and of Salzmann disclose the vibration apparatus of claim 1, wherein the vibration generating part comprises:
a first cover member; a second cover member see Lee fig. 4 fig. 8 fig. 12 protection member 213 215; and
a vibration part between the first cover member and the second cover member, the vibration part including a piezoelectric material see Lee fig. 4 fig. 8 fig. 12 protection member 213 215 which sandwich piezoelectric material 210 and 230. also see fig. 16 [0278] 1215 1213.
Consider claim 13. Lee as modified by Takeda and of Salzmann disclose the vibration apparatus of claim 12, wherein the vibration generating part further comprises a signal supply member electrically connected to the vibration part, and a portion of the signal supply member is accommodated between the first cover member and the second cover member see Lee fig. 4 fig. 8 fig 12 PL1 PL2 power lines which supply power to the vibration generating part. also see fig. 16 [0278] PL12 PL22.
Consider claim 14. Lee as modified by Takeda and of Salzmann disclose the vibration apparatus of claim 1, wherein the vibration generating part comprises:
a first vibration generating part see Lee fig. 21 230;
a second vibration generating part stacked on the first vibration generating part see Lee fig. 21 210 stacked on 230; and
a middle member between the first vibration generating part and the second vibration generating part see Lee fig. 16 fig. 21 250 between 230 and 210 , wherein one of the first vibration generating part and the second vibration generating part is connected to the vibration transfer part see Lee fig. 21 210 connected to 150.
Consider claim 15. Lee as modified by Takeda and of Salzmann disclose the vibration apparatus of claim 14, wherein each of the first and second vibration generating parts comprises:
a first cover member; a second cover member see Lee fig. 4 fig. 8 fig. 12 protection member 213 215; and a vibration part between the first cover member and the second cover member, the vibration part including a piezoelectric material see Lee fig. 4 fig. 8 fig. 12 protection member 213 215 which sandwich piezoelectric material 210 and 230. also see fig. 16 [0278] 1215 1213.
Consider claim 16. Lee as modified by Takeda and of Salzmann disclose the vibration apparatus of claim 15, wherein each of the first and second vibration generating parts further comprises a signal supply member electrically connected to the vibration part, and a portion of the signal supply member is accommodated between the first cover member and the second cover member see Lee fig. 4 fig. 8 fig. 12 PL1 PL2 power lines which supply power to the vibration generating part between 213 and 215. also see fig. 16 [0278] PL12 PL22.
1. Claims 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al. US 20220069194 in view of Takeda US 20190377414 and further in view of Salzmann et al. US 20210237121 and further in view Kho et al. US 20210183966.
Claim 17 is rejected for similar reasons to claim 1 in addition to display apparatus fig. 1 100 [0059] display apparatus comprising: a display member configured to display an image [0059-0060] display panel with plurality of pixels ;
a vibration generating apparatus including one or more vibration apparatuses configured to vibrate the display member fig. 21 200-1 200-2 vibrating display 100; and a connection member between the display member and the vibration generating apparatus fig. 21 190, wherein the display member comprises: a display panel including a plurality of pixels configured to display the image[0059-0060] display panel with plurality of pixels ; and a touch panel connected to the display panel [0090] touch panel.
Lee as modified by Takeda, Salzman do not disclose , the connection portion spaced apart from the display panel and the touch panel
Kho however disclose the connection portion spaced apart from the display panel and the touch panel see fig. 2 [0052] display panel 30 may display an image or may sense a user touch. also see fig. 2 fig. 3A the vibration generating device 50 (includes 51 53 55) is separated from the display panel 30 and element 50 includes connection portion 220 which is between vibration generating parts 210. [0065] hollow portion between display panel and vibration generating device 50. Also see fig. 7-8.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the vibration apparatus of Lee as modified by Takeda and Salzman to include connected the connection portion spaced apart from the display panel and the touch panel, as taught by Kho, so that (due to the airgap) a sound wave based on a vibration of the vibration generating device may not be disperse by the adhesive member and may concentrate on the display panel [0065].
Consider claim 18. Lee as modified by Takeda, Salzman, and Kho disclose the display apparatus of claim 17, wherein the vibration generating apparatus comprises a plurality of vibration apparatuses Lee fig. 23-24 200-1 200-2 200-3 200-4, and at least some of the plurality of vibration apparatuses comprise a different number of vibration transfer parts and vibration generating parts. Lee fig. 23-24 [0369] vibration devices 200-1 200-2 200-3 200-4 may be the same or differ.
Consider claim 19. Lee as modified by Takeda, Salzman, and Kho disclose the display apparatus of claim 17, wherein the one or more vibration apparatuses vibrates the display member to generate an ultrasound vibration at a surface of the display member, based on a driving signal see Takeda[0038] ultrasonic transducer.
Motivation to combine is similar to motivation in claim 17.
Consider claim 20. Lee as modified by Takeda, Salzman, and Kho disclose the display apparatus of claim 17, wherein the one or more vibration apparatuses are connected to a rear surface of the display member with an air gap therebetween LEE [0115] 150 has a hallow portion may provide an airgap.
RESPONSE TO ARGUMENTS
Applicant's arguments regarding amended claim 1 have been fully considered but are not persuasive.
Applicant argues (pages 5-6) that the cited references, in particular, Salzman does not disclose “wherein the connection portion has a width and a length which are less than a width and a length of each of the plurality of vibration transfer parts”. the Applicant argues that connection portion (12) of Salzman does not connect to a plurality of vibration transfer parts and instead connects to a plurality of weights (14) . The Applicant also contends that element (12) of Salzman is a vibration plate and forms a part of a tactile vibration generator and therefore is a vibration 12 is a vibration transfer portion itself because it receives vibration from vibration plate 13.
The Office however respectfully disagrees. Claim 1 does not recite how the vibration transfer parts work and what specific parts they are made of. Claim 1 also does not recite, or preclude, the connection portion from being able to vibrate. Rather the connection portion is simply recited as a portion that is between the vibration transfer parts. As a result, Salzman reads on the contended claim because the vibration transfer parts (14) vibrate and are connected via the connection portion (12). Furthermore, the connection portion has a width and a length, which are less than a width and a length of each of the plurality of vibration transfer parts as can be seen from figs. 1-7 and fig. 12.
for at least these reasons the cited reference read on the claimed invention
Applicant's arguments with respect to claim 17 has been fully considered but is moot in view of the new grounds of rejection.
The Office agrees and has accordingly updated the rejection to include, Kho, which discloses the contended limitation of claim 17 (see rejection above).
CONCLUSION
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US Johansson et al. US 20040251782 US discloses a vibration generator.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
IBRAHIM A. KHAN
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2621
/IBRAHIM A KHAN/ 02/17/2026Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2621