DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 8-9, and 11-18 of U.S. Patent No. 12,150,916. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the scope of the claims in the present application overlaps with the scope of the claims in the parent patent in such a way as to be an obvious variant. The scope of claims 1-3, 8, and 14-16 in the present application correspond to the scope of claim 1 in the parent patent. The scope of claim 4 in the present application corresponds to the scope of claim 8 in the parent patent. The scope of claim 5 in the present application corresponds to the scope of claim 11 in the parent patent. The scope of claim 6 in the present application corresponds to the scope of claim 12 in the parent patent. The scope of claim 7 in the present application corresponds to the scope of claims 13-14 in the parent patent. The scope of claim 9 in the present application corresponds to the scope of claim 9 in the parent patent. The scope of claims 10 and 17 in the present application correspond to the scope of claim 15 in the parent patent. The scope of claims 11 and 18 in the present application correspond to the scope of claim 16 in the parent patent. The scope of claims 12 and 19 in the present application correspond to the scope of claim 17 in the parent patent. The scope of claims 13 and 20 in the present application correspond to the scope of claim 18 in the parent patent.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 14-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Feng et al. (USPGPUB 2017/0354574).
Regarding claim 14, Feng et al. disclose a method for late dispensing a medication for a system, the method comprising:
(a) providing an automated pill dispensing system, the automated pill dispensing system comprising:
a base (320);
a lid (350) configured to mechanically engage with the base;
a carousel (360) configured to be arranged between the base and the lid when the base and the lid are mechanically engaged (see Figures 21-23), the carousel defining a plurality of bins (364);
(b) receiving a prompt (4212) to enter a late dispense mode (see Figure 42);
(c) dispensing the medication (4256) associated with a particular bin of the plurality of bins after an associated dispensing time has occurred (see Figure 42); and
(d) automatically, in the late dispense mode (4226), applying a software lock (see “verify an identity of the user prior to commencing the pill dispersal procedure” in claim 2) to prevent (see paragraphs [0049] and [0114]) dispensing a subsequent medication before its associated dispensing time (see Figure 42).
Regarding claim 15, Feng et al. disclose the method of claim 14, wherein the late dispense mode can be activated for a period of time (4213) after the associated dispensing time has occurred (see Figure 42).
Regarding claim 16, Feng et al. disclose the method of claim 15, wherein the period of time comprises up to two hours (see “In X Mins” in Figure 42) after the associated dispensing time has occurred.
Regarding claim 17, Feng et al. disclose the method of claim 14, wherein the automated pill dispensing system further comprises a microprocessor, a memory, or both the microprocessor and the memory (see paragraph [0040]).
Regarding claim 18, Feng et al. disclose the method of claim 14, wherein the automated pill dispensing system is communicatively coupled to a user account (see paragraphs [0038] and [0112]).
Regarding claim 19, Feng et al. disclose the method of claim 18, wherein the user account stores data associated with one or more automated pill dispensing systems (see paragraph [0038]).
Regarding claim 20, Feng et al. disclose the method of claim 19, wherein the data comprises one or more of a status of each of the plurality of bins, a medication dispensing schedule, a connection status of the one or more automated pill dispensing systems, and an adherence rate (see paragraph [0038]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
M.K.C.
8/5/2026
/MICHAEL COLLINS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3655