DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim for foreign priority based on an application filed in TW on 11/24/2023. Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 01/06/2025 has been considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) & (a)(2) as being anticipated by Guterman et al, US-20120068893-A1 (hereinafter Guterman).
Regarding claim 19, Guterman discloses the following:
a communication device, comprising:
a metal ground element (62, fig. 31/surrounding conductive portions of housing 12, fig. 5, para [0062]), providing a ground voltage (para [0062]: it is implied that the metal ground element would provide a ground voltage), wherein the metal ground element has a slot region (56, fig. 5, para [0062]);
a first antenna element (resonating element RE, fig. 31 below), having a first feeding point (110, fig. 17);
a second antenna element (RE), having a second feeding point (110, fig. 17), wherein the first antenna element and the second antenna element are adjacent to the slot region (56, fig. 31);
a metal element (PAR), coupled to the ground voltage (PAR 98 coupled to ground G, fig. 16), wherein the metal element at least partially extends across the slot region (fig. 31, para [0079]); and
a nonconductive support element (92, fig. 16, para [0079]), wherein the first antenna element (RE), the second antenna element (RE), and the metal element (PAR) are disposed on the nonconductive support element (fig. 16).
Regarding claim 20, Guterman discloses wherein the first antenna element (RE, figs. 16, 31) and the second antenna element (RE, figs. 16, 31) are adjacent to the metal element (PAR, figs. 16, 31).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-7 and 9-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Guterman et al, US-20120068893-A1 (hereinafter Guterman).
Regarding claim 1, Guterman discloses the following:
a communication device, comprising:
a metal ground element (62, fig. 31/surrounding conductive portions of housing 12, fig. 5, para [0062]), providing a ground voltage (para [0062]: it is implied that the metal ground element would provide a ground voltage), wherein the metal ground element has a slot region (56, fig. 5, para [0062]);
a first antenna element (resonating element RE, fig. 31 above), having a first feeding point (110, fig. 17);
a second antenna element (RE), having a second feeding point (110);
a third antenna element (RE), having a third feeding point (110);
wherein the first antenna element, the second antenna element, the third antenna element are adjacent to the slot region (56);
a first metal element (PAR, fig. 31), coupled to the ground voltage (PAR 98 coupled to ground G, fig. 16), wherein the first metal element at least partially extends across the slot region (fig. 31, para [0079]);
a second metal element (PAR), coupled to the ground voltage (PAR 98 coupled to ground G, fig. 16), wherein the second metal element at least partially extends across the slot region (fig. 31, para [0079]); and
a nonconductive support element (92, fig. 16, para [0079]), wherein the first antenna element, the second antenna element, the third antenna element, the fourth antenna element, the first metal element, and the second metal element are disposed on the nonconductive support element (fig. 16).
Although Guterman does not explicitly disclose the communication comprising a fourth antenna element, having a fourth feeding point, Guterman discloses there could be three or more antenna elements RE (para [0082]) which has a feeding point 110 (fig. 17).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the fourth antenna element as claimed to the communication device taught in Guterman, since it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. St. Regis Paper Co. v. Bemis Co., 193 USPQ 8 (CA7 1977). The motivation stems from the need to achieve the desired antenna performance and satisfy the demands of a MIMO protocol or other design criteria (Guterman, para [0082]).
Regarding claim 2, Guterman discloses wherein the metal ground element (surrounding conductive portions of housing 12, fig. 5, para [0062]) comprises a first portion (12A) and a second portion (12B) coupled to each other, and the slot region (56) is positioned between the first portion and the second portion (fig. 5).
Regarding claim 3, Guterman discloses wherein the first portion of the metal ground element is configured as an upper cover housing (12A, fig. 5), and the second portion of the metal ground element is configured as a base housing (12B).
Regarding claim 4, Guterman discloses wherein the slot region (56, fig. 5) substantially has a straight-line shape (fig. 5).
Regarding claim 5, Guterman discloses wherein the slot region (56, fig. 5) is a closed slot (para [0062]) with a first closed end and a second closed end (fig. 5).
Regarding claim 6, although Guterman does not explicitly disclose wherein the first metal element is adjacent to the first closed end of the slot region, and the second metal element is adjacent to the second closed end of the slot region, Guterman discloses the placement of the first and second metal elements can be adjusted (para [0082], [0097]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to arrange the first and second metal elements taught in Guterman to be adjacent the first and second closed ends of the slot region as claimed , since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950). The motivation stems from the need to improve the antenna efficiency and ensure the isolation between the antenna elements in order to improve the antenna performance (Guterman, para [0097]).
Regarding claim 7, although Guterman does not explicitly disclose wherein the first antenna element, the second antenna element, the third antenna element, and the fourth antenna element are disposed between the first metal element and the second metal element, Guterman discloses the placement of the antenna elements and the first and second metal elements can be adjusted (para [0082], [0097]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to dispose the antenna elements taught in Guterman between the first metal element and the second metal element as claimed, since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950). The motivation stems from the need to improve the antenna efficiency and ensure the isolation between the antenna elements in order to improve the antenna performance (Guterman, para [0097]).
Regarding claim 9, although Guterman does not explicitly disclose wherein the first feeding point, the second feeding point, the third feeding point, and the fourth feeding point are positioned on a same surface of the nonconductive support element, Guterman discloses one feeding point (110, fig. 17) is positioned on a surface of the nonconductive support element (92) and the antenna elements RE are disposed on the same surface of the nonconductive surface 92, fig. 16, it is construed that the feeding points to the antenna elements are disposed on the same surface.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to arrange the feeding points taught in Guterman to be positioned on a same surface of the nonconductive support element as claimed, since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950). The motivation stems from the need to simplify the manufacturing process and reduce the thickness of the nonconductive element.
Regarding claim 10, Guterman discloses wherein all of the first antenna element, the second antenna element, the third antenna element, and the fourth antenna element cover a first frequency band, a second frequency band, and a third frequency band (para [0053]: GPS band at 1575MHz, 2.4GHz and 5GHz).
Regarding claim 11, although Guterman does not explicitly disclose wherein the first frequency band is from 2400MHz to 2500MHz, the second frequency band is from 5150MHz to 5850MHz, and the third frequency band is from 5925MHz to 7125MHz, Guterman discloses the lengths of the antenna elements can be adjust to achieve the desired operating frequencies (para [0070]-[0071]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to adjust the frequency bands of the communication device taught in Guterman to be as claimed, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233 (CCPA 1955). The motivation stems from the need to achieve the desired operating frequency bands depending on the requirements of the application.
Regarding claim 12, although Guterman does not disclose wherein a first distance between the first feeding point and the first metal element is substantially equal to 0.25 wavelength of the first frequency band, Guterman discloses the placement of the antenna elements and the first and second metal elements can be adjusted (para [0082], [0097]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to adjust the distance between the first feeding point and the first metal element taught in Guterman to be equal to 0.25 wavelength of the first frequency band as claimed, since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950). The motivation stems from the need to improve the antenna efficiency and ensure the isolation between the antenna elements in order to improve the antenna performance (Guterman, para [0097]).
Regarding claim 13, although Guterman does not disclose wherein a second distance between the second feeding point and the second metal element is substantially equal to 0.5 wavelength of the first frequency band, , Guterman discloses the placement of the antenna elements and the first and second metal elements can be adjusted (para [0082], [0097]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to adjust the distance between the second feeding point and the second metal element taught in Guterman to be equal to 0.5 wavelength of the first frequency band as claimed, since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950). The motivation stems from the need to improve the antenna efficiency and ensure the isolation between the antenna elements in order to improve the antenna performance (Guterman, para [0097]).
Regarding claim 14, although Guterman does not disclose wherein a third distance between the third feeding point and the second metal element is substantially equal to 0.25 wavelength of the first frequency band, , Guterman discloses the placement of the antenna elements and the first and second metal elements can be adjusted (para [0082], [0097]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to adjust the distance between the third feeding point and the second metal element taught in Guterman to be equal to 0.25 wavelength of the first frequency band as claimed, since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950). The motivation stems from the need to improve the antenna efficiency and ensure the isolation between the antenna elements in order to improve the antenna performance (Guterman, para [0097]).
Regarding claim 15, although Guterman does not disclose wherein a fourth distance between the fourth feeding point and the first metal element is substantially equal to 0.5 wavelength of the first frequency band, , Guterman discloses the placement of the antenna elements and the first and second metal elements can be adjusted (para [0082], [0097]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to adjust the distance between the fourth feeding point and the first metal element taught in Guterman to be equal to 0.5 wavelength of the first frequency band as claimed, since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950). The motivation stems from the need to improve the antenna efficiency and ensure the isolation between the antenna elements in order to improve the antenna performance (Guterman, para [0097]).
Regarding claim 16, although Guterman does not disclose wherein a width of each of the first metal element and the second metal element is greater than or equal to 0.2mm, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to adjust the frequency bands of the communication device taught in Guterman to be as claimed, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233 (CCPA 1955). The motivation stems from the need to achieve the desired radiating characteristics depending on the requirements of the application because changing the size of the metal elements would affect the radiating characteristics of the antenna.
Regarding claim 17, Guterman discloses wherein an open end of the first metal element (98, fig. 16) is aligned with the third feeding point and the fourth feeding point (110, fig. 17).
Regarding claim 18, Guterman discloses wherein an open end of the second metal element (98, fig. 16) is aligned with the first feeding point and the second feeding point (110, fig. 17).
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Guterman as applied to claim 1 above, and in view of Tanaka, US-20210066808-A1.
Regarding claim 8, Guterman discloses wherein the nonconductive support element (92, fig. 16) has a first surface (94) and a second surface different from each other (fig. 16).
Guterman does not disclose the first feeding point and the second feeding point are positioned on the first surface, and the third feeding point and the fourth feeding point are positioned on the second surface.
Tanaka suggests the feeding points (G4-G6, fig. 9) are positions on different surfaces.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to arrange the first and second feeding points taught in Guterman on the first surface and the third and fourth feeding points on the second surface as claimed, since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950). The motivation stems from the need to increase the isolation between the feeding points to reduce interference between difference signals in order to improve the antenna performance.
Citation of Pertinent Art
Yong et al, US-20220052451-A1 could read on claims 1 and 19
Chuang et al, US-20210184345-A1 – metal elements connected to ground for isolation between antenna elements
Ma et al, US-20180233807-A1 – metal elements connected to ground for isolation between antenna elements
Conclusion
/DAMEON E LEVI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2845
/ANH HO/Examiner, Art Unit 2845