DETAILED ACTION
The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . This office action is in response to the set of claims received on October 22, 2024. Claims 1-16 are pending.
Claim Objections
Claim 2 is objected to because of the following informalities: Claim 2, lines 2-3 “an end effector DRB” should read --an end effector DRA--. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 4 is objected to because of the following informalities: Claim 2, line 3 “the patient DRB” should read --the patient DRA--. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 9 is objected to because of the following informalities: Claim 9, line 5 “the last robot arm” should read --the last one of the robot arms--. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 9 is objected to because of the following informalities: Claim 9, line 11 “the cameras” should read --the pair of optical cameras--. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 9 is objected to because of the following informalities: Claim 9, line 15 “the cameras” should read --the pair of optical cameras--. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 11 is objected to because of the following informalities: Claim 11, line 2 “a rotation” should read --the rotation--. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 13 is objected to because of the following informalities: Claim 13, line 3 “the robot arms” should read --the plurality of robot arms--. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the cutter axis" in line 8. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the patient" in line 10. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 4 recites the limitation "the cutting plane" in lines 5 and 6. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 5 recites the limitation "the range of movement" in line 5. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 9 recites the limitation "the cutter axis" in line 9. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 9 recites the limitation "the cutter DRB" in line 10. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 9 recites the limitation "the patient" in line 12. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 9 recites the limitation "the patient DRB" in line 14. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. It is unclear what “DRB” stands for. It is recommended to spell out what DRB stands for.
Claim 10 recites the limitation "an end effector DRB" in lines 2 and 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 10 recites the limitation "the cutting plane" in lines 5 and 6. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 13 recites the limitation "the range of movement" in line 5. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 16 recites the limitation "the cutting plane" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 2 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Lavallee et al. (WO 2018/10945A1).
Regarding claim 1, Lavallee et al. discloses a robotic surgical system (Figure 2) comprising: a robot arm(100, Figure 2); an end effector (4, Figure 5) capable of being attached to the robot arm and having: a base (5, Figure 5) adapted to be moved by the robot arm of a surgical robot; a base arm (24, Figure 8B) extending from the base; a tracking system (200, Figure 2); a surgical cutter (2, Figure 2) for cutting a bone with a cutting element along a plane defined by rotation of the cutting element about the cutter axis, the surgical cutter (2, Figure 2) having a cutter dynamic reference array (DRA) (203, Figure 11) whose pose is trackable by the tracking system; a patient DRA (201, Figure 11) attachable to the patient and trackable by the tracking system such that the tracking system determines a pose of the surgical cutter relative to the patient based on tracking the cutter DRA and the patient DRA.
Regarding claim 2, Lavallee et al. discloses wherein the end effector includes an end effector DRB (202, Figure 11) for tracking by the tracking system.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lavallee et al. (WO 2018/10945A1) in view of Lavallee et al. (WO 2018/104439 A1).
Regarding claim 3, Lavallee et al. fails to disclose wherein the end effector includes a sensor configured to sense a rotation of the surgical cutter and determine a rotational position of the surgical cutter relative to the end effector.
Lavallee et al. “4439”, however, discloses wherein the end effector (4, Figure 3) includes a sensor capable of sensing a rotation of the surgical cutter and determine a rotational position of the surgical cutter relative to the end effector (page 12, lines 37-38 and Figure 13, lines 1-3).
Therefore, it would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to modify the system of Lavallee et al. “0945” with a sensor attached to the end effector as taught by Lavallee et al. “4439” in order to provide feedback information to a user about the end effector’s position.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4-8 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 9-16 are allowed. The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance: None of the prior art discloses a robotic surgical system comprising a plurality of robot arms, a tracking system having a pair of optical cameras, a cutter dynamic reference array and patient dynamic reference array containing optical markers for tracking by the cameras. These features, in combination with the other required limitations of the claim, is not shown in the prior art nor would it be obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art to combine or modify the prior art references in a manner that would read on the claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/Diana Jones/Examiner, Art Unit 3775
/KEVIN T TRUONG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3775