DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claims 17-32 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 12133201. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the application’s claims merely broaden the scope of the patented claims by not claiming some claim elements (i.e., releasing the CG configuration for the SDT).
Claim 17 of Instant Application
Claim 1 of US 12133201
A method performed by a terminal in a wireless communication system, the method comprising:
A method performed by a terminal in a wireless communication system, the method comprising:
receiving, from a base station, a radio resource control (RRC) release message; identifying whether the RRC release message includes information related to a suspend configuration;
in case that the RRC release message includes the information related to the suspend configuration:
receiving, from a base station, a first radio resource control (RRC) release message including information related to a suspend configuration and information related to a configured grant (CG) configuration for a small data transmission (SDT);
identifying that the information related to suspend configuration includes information related to a small data transmission (SDT), and based on the information related to the SDT, performing an SDT procedure in an RRC inactive state; and
performing an SDT procedure based on the information related to the CG configuration for the SDT while the terminal is in an RRC inactive;
in case that the RRC release message does not include the information related to the suspend configuration, entering an RRC idle state.
receiving, from the base station, a second RRC release message without the information related to the suspend configuration; and releasing the CG configuration for the SDT based on the second RRC release message without the information related to the suspend configuration while the terminal is in an RRC idle state.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 17, 19, 21, 23, 25, 27, 29 and 31 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Singh et al. (US Pub. 2023/0389081) in view of Eleftheriadis et al. (US Pub. 2023/0388922).
Regarding claims 17, 21, 25 and 29, Singh teaches a method performed by a terminal in a wireless communication system, the method comprising: receiving, from a base station, a radio resource control (RRC) release message (step S3 in Figure 6); identifying whether the RRC release message includes information related to a suspend configuration (“‘RRCRelease’ message comprising a SuspendConfig IE” in [0093]); in case that the RRC release message includes the information related to the suspend configuration: identifying that the information related to suspend configuration
includes information related to a small data transmission (SDT) (“ConfigGrantforSmallDataTransmission IE (and/or the like) informing the UE 3 about the parameters/resources for Small Data Transmission using configured grant” in [0093]), and based on the information related to the SDT, performing an SDT procedure (step S4 in Figure 6) in an RRC inactive state (“RRC Inactive mode” in [0093]). Singh, however, does not teach in case that the RRC release message does not include the information related to the suspend configuration, entering an RRC idle state. Eleftheriadis teaches in case that the RRC release message does not include the information related to the suspend configuration, entering an RRC idle state (“RRCRelease (without using suspendConfig) from Control Node to UE from RRC_INACTIVE to RRC_IDLE state)” in [0065]). It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Singh to have in case that the RRC release message does not include the information related to the suspend configuration, entering an RRC idle state as taught by Eleftheriadis in order to enables power savings [0007].
Regarding claims 19, 23, 27 and 31, Singh teaches performing the SDT procedure
further comprises: transmitting a random access preamble (step S5 in Figure 8); receiving a random access response message as a response to the random access preamble (step S6 in Figure 8); starting a time alignment timer based on the random access response message (“restart its TAT” in [0128]); transmitting uplink data associated with the SDT (step S8 in Figure 8); and in case that the SDT procedure is completed, stopping the time alignment timer (“expiry of the associated TAT” in [0097]).
Claims 18, 22, 26 and 30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Singh et al. in view of Eleftheriadis et al. and further in view of Kim et al. (US 12,004,029) and further in view of Kung et al. (US Pub. 2021/0045178).
Regarding claims 18, 22, 26 and 30, Singh in view of Eleftheriadis teaches the limitations in claims 17, 21, 25 and 29 as shown above. Singh in view of Eleftheriadis, however, does not teach the terminal enters the RRC idle state based on an integrity check failure, and wherein the terminal enters the RRC idle state based on a cell reselection. Kim teaches the terminal enters the RRC idle state based on an integrity check failure, and wherein the terminal enters the RRC idle state based on a cell reselection (“1> if the integrity protection check of the RRCReestablishment message fails: 2> perform the actions upon going to RRC_IDLE, with release cause ‘RRC connection failure’” in Column 18 Lines 6-9). It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Singh in view of Eleftheriadis to have the terminal enters the RRC idle state based on an integrity check failure, and wherein the terminal enters the RRC idle state based on a cell reselection as taught by Kim in order to apply integrity protection to all subsequent messages received and sent by the UE (Column 18 Lines 13-15). Singh in view of Eleftheriadis and Kim, however, does not teach the terminal enters the RRC idle state based on a cell reselection. Kung teaches the terminal enters the RRC idle state based on a cell reselection (“going to RRC_IDLE was triggered by inter-RAT cell reselection” in [0166]). It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Singh in view of Eleftheriadis and Kim to have the terminal enters the RRC idle state based on a cell reselection as taught by Kung in order to perform cell selection as specified in standard [0166].
Claims 20, 24, 28 and 32 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Singh et al. in view of Eleftheriadis et al. and further in view of Tsai et al. (US Pub. 2021/0307055).
Regarding claims 20, 24, 28 and 32, Singh in view of Eleftheriadis teaches the limitations in claims 17, 21, 25 and 29 as shown above. Singh in view of Eleftheriadis, however, does not teach a time alignment timer is stopped based on entering the RRC idle state, and wherein the terminal enters the RRC idle state based on a timer configured for the SDT expires. Tsai teaches a time alignment timer is stopped based on entering the RRC idle state (“The timer may be stopped when the UE enters RRC connected state or RRC idle state” in [0216]), and wherein the terminal enters the RRC idle state based on a timer configured for the SDT expires (“When a timer, e.g., T301, T311 as introduced in 3GPP TS 38.331 V15.7.0, expires, the UE may enter RRC_IDLE state, and the UE may release/suspend the CG configuration (e.g., if the CG configuration is configured for RRC_INACTIVE state and/or for small data transmission)” in [0287]). It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Singh in view of Eleftheriadis to have a time alignment timer is stopped based on entering the RRC idle state, and wherein the terminal enters the RRC idle state based on a timer configured for the SDT expires as taught by Tsai in order to control the release/suspension of the CG configuration [0206].
Conclusion
/CLEMENCE S HAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2414