This office action is in response to applicant’s claims filed October 22, 2024. Claims 1-20 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1,2,4-8 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Napolitano (US 2012/0034287) in view of Ouellette (US 2012/0227203).
Napolitano teaches disinfecting wipes comprising an absorbent nonwoven substrate and a liquid composition comprising 0.2-2.0% quaternary ammonium salt, 0.5-7.5% glycol ether, 0.01-0.5% surfactant and the balance being water (paragraphs 0007-0015). Napolitano teaches the water is 50-98 % of the composition (paragraph 0047). Napolitano teaches the wipe can be made of wood pulp and synthetic materials are optional, therefore need not be present (paragraph 0025). Napolitano teaches a formulation of 96.07% water, 2.5% glycol ether (Dowanol DPnB) and 1.03% quaternary ammonium (BTC 2125®M) (paragraph 0054, Formulation 2). Napolitano teaches the wipes have scrubbing layers which meets the claimed limitation of a localized texture (paragraph 0069) and are effective to sanitize and disinfect against staphylococcus aureus in three minutes contact time (paragraph 0075-0076). No cationic biocide release agent or latex are used. Napolitano teaches the wipes can be one (single ply) or more layers (two or more ply) (paragraph 0029). Napolitano teaches the wipes are loaded with the cleaning composition at 1.5 to 10 times by weight of the substrate (paragraph 0065).
Napolitano is silent as to the greater than 90% pulp and an increased density of pulp fibers at a location of localized texture and the claimed pore size.
Ouellette teaches preparing pre-loaded wipes (paragraph 0049) used for disinfecting surfaces (abstract, paragraphs 0002-0004,0022) wherein the wipe contains at least 70% wood pulp and even 95-100% cellulosic material such as wood pulp to reduce the amount of material used to form the wipe and maintain a perceived bulkiness (paragraph 0023). Ouellette teaches texturing is used to form the surface (paragraph 0080, Figures 1-3). Ouellette teaches the dry density of the wipe is 0.005-0.07 g/cc for the benefit of less costly production, sufficiently strength and effective cleaning agent dispensing (paragraph 0072). Ouellette recognizes that pore size impacts absorption (paragraph 0008) and at least 50% is contained within pores of 110-250 microns (paragraph 0101). Ouellette teaches textured surfaces with increased density in locations of localized texture (See Figure 1, 40; paragraph 0077-0080).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the wipes of Napolitano by using wipes with greater than 90% wood pulp and of a localized texture as Ouellette teaches this is effective and up to 100% wood pulp can produce a wipe with perceived bulkiness that uses less material. It would have been obvious to modify the wipes of Napolitano by locally increasing the density in regions to texturize the surface of the wipe and using less than 0.1g/cc dry density wipes as Ouellette teaches wipe fibers are textured conventionally with regions of localized density that retain sufficient strength and dispensing capacity effective for cleaning and this would also benefit in producing a rough scrubbing surface and enhance the surface area of the wipe for cleaning, Ouellette emphasizes that dry density wipes of 0.005-0.07 g/cc have the benefits of less costly production, sufficiently strength and effective cleaning agent dispensing. Since Ouellette teaches localized densities in the form of textured regions on the wipe and that these densities impact the cleaning agent dispensation, it would be obvious to optimize the local texture and density to maximize the effectiveness of cleaning agent dispensing as it is a result effective variable.
Regarding the claimed pore size ranges of less than 60% fall within a pore size range of 0-200 µm and majority of pores in the size range of 200-400 µm, Ouellette recognizes that pore size impacts absorption (paragraph 0008) and at least 50% is contained within pores of 110-250 microns (paragraph 0101). Arriving at the claimed pore sizes through routine experimentation would be obvious to maximize cleaning efficacy, release of the cleaning agent and trapping of the dirt, soils and contaminants to remove them from the surface being cleaned. Applicant has not demonstrated the criticality of the claimed ranges, therefore selecting the claimed ranges from those disclosed by the prior art is obvious absent a showing of unexpected results for a particular range.
Claims 3,9,11-14,16-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Napolitano (US 2012/0034287) in view of Ouellette (US 2012/0227203) and further in view of Knowlson (US 2018/0251925).
Napolitano and Ouellette are relied upon as set forth above.
Napolitano and Ouellette do not specify ribbon shaped fibers.
Knowlson teaches pulp fibers used in disinfecting wipes (paragraph 0-053, claim 15) are conventionally ribbon shaped which is useful to increase available fiber contact surface and increase the effective length of the fiber (paragraph 0025).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the wipes of Napolitano and Ouellette by using ribbon shaped fibers as Knowlson teaches wood pulps become ribbon shaped during refining and this is advantageous to increase their effective length and increase the available fiber contact surface.
Claims 10 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Napolitano (US 2012/0034287) in view of Ouellette (US 2012/0227203) and Knowlson (US 2018/0251925) and further in view of Baer (US 2017/0211234).
Napolitano, Ouellette and Knowlson are relied upon as set forth above.
Napolitano, Ouellette and Knowlson do not teach adhesive between the plys.
Baer teaches that individual plies in multi-ply product are effectively held together with adhesive (paragraph 0054) in pre-moistened disinfecting wipes (paragraph 0084).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the wipes of Napolitano, Ouellette and Knowlson by using adhesive to bind the plies together in multi-ply wipes as Baer teaches this is an efficient technique to hold the sheets together.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-15 of U.S. Patent No. 10,982,177. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they encompass the same cleaning components at the same concentrations on the same wipes.
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-8 and 10 of U.S. Patent No. 10,973,386. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they encompass the same cleaning components at the same concentrations on the same wipes.
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-13 of U.S. Patent No. 10,973,385. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they encompass the same cleaning components at the same concentrations on the same wipes.
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1,2,7-11 and 13-20 of U.S. Patent No. 10,975,341. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they encompass the same cleaning components at the same concentrations on the same wipes.
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 11,643,621 Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they encompass the same cleaning components at the same concentrations on the same wipes.
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 12,152,221. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they encompass the same cleaning components at the same concentrations on the same wipes.
Conclusion
/AMINA S KHAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1761