DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 18 is objected to because of the following informalities: claim 18 ends in a comma, should end in a period. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 18 recites the limitation "the suspension" in lines 1-2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 9-13, 16-18 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Min et al. (US 2023/0347974), as cited by Applicant, in view of Jorgensen et al. (US 2011/0024219) and Kim (US 2021/0394610), as cited by Applicant.
With respect to claim 1, Min et al. discloses a corner module apparatus (fig. 25), comprising: a hub (2121) connected to a wheel (2100); a main body (2410) spaced apart (figs. 28-29) from the hub (2121); a first motor (2130) disposed inside the main body (figs. 25-28, paragraph 262); a steering drive unit (2420) disposed inside (paragraph 327) the main body (figs. 25-28) and spaced apart from the first motor (2130); a drive member (2140) configured to connect (fig. 28) to the first motor (2130) and the hub (2410), and provide a driving force to the wheel (paragraph 262). (Figs. 25-32, paragraphs 255-303.) Min et al. refers to element 2420 as a ‘steering driving unit’ but does not explicitly state a motor. Jorgensen et al. teaches of a second motor (114) disposed inside the main body (104; figs. 2-3) and spaced apart from the first motor (110). (Figs. 1-5, paragraphs 33-47.) It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the structure as described in Jorgensen et al. into the invention of Min et al. with a reasonable expectation of success in order to appropriately steer the wheel. (Paragraph 34.) Min et al. does not explicitly show a steering member configured to connect to the second motor and the hub, and adjust a steering angle of the wheel. Kim teaches of a steering member (141) configured to connect to the second motor (140) and the hub (144; fig. 4), and adjust a steering angle of the wheel (paragraph 98). (Figs. 1-9, paragraphs 47-119.) It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the structure as described in Kim into the invention of Min et al. with a reasonable expectation of success in order to appropriately steer the wheel. (Paragraph 98.)
With respect to claim 2, Min et al., as modified, discloses the drive member (2140) comprises: a drive shaft (figs. 28-30) arranged between the first motor (2130) and the hub (2121); a first connection (figs. 28-30) arranged on one side of the drive shaft (figs. 28-30) and connected to the first motor (2130); and a second connection (figs. 28-30) arranged on the other side of the drive shaft (figs. 28-30) and connected to the hub (2121) (paragraphs 260-264). (Figs. 25-32, paragraphs 255-303.)
With respect to claim 3, Min et al., as modified, discloses the first connection (figs. 28-30) and the second connection (figs. 28-30) are rotatably connected to the drive shaft (figs. 28-30) (paragraphs 260-264). (Figs. 25-32, paragraphs 255-303.)
With respect to claim 4, Min et al., as modified, discloses the steering member (2400) comprises: a first steering body (2412; fig. 33) fixed to the main body (2410); a second steering body (2420) configured to attach to a vehicle body and rotatably support the first steering body (paragraph 303); a transmission gear (2411) configured to connect to the second motor and rotate the first steering body relative to the second steering body; and a torque link (2311, 2312) configured to connect to the first steering body and the hub, and transmit rotational force of the first steering body to the hub. (Figs. 25-32, paragraphs 255-303.)
With respect to claims 9-10, Min et al., as modified, discloses the torque link (2312) comprises: a first transmission link (figs. 26, 28) connected to the first steering body (2412); a second transmission link (figs. 26, 28) connected to the hub (2121); a transmission joint (Modified fig. 28, below) disposed between the first transmission link and the second transmission link, and configured to rotatably support the second transmission link relative to the first transmission link; wherein the first transmission link (figs. 26, 28) is rotatably connected to the first steering body (2412). (Figs. 25-32, paragraphs 255-303.)
[AltContent: textbox (Transmission Joint)][AltContent: arrow]
With respect to claim 11, Min et al., as modified, discloses a strut (2320) connected to the hub (2121) and the first steering body (2412), and arranged flexibly along a central axis of the second steering body (2420). (Figs. 25-32, paragraphs 255-303.)
With respect to claim 12, Min et al., as modified, discloses the central axis of the second steering body (2420) and a central axis of the wheel (300) are arranged to be offset (fig. 26) from each other. (Figs. 25-32, paragraphs 255-303.)
With respect to claim 13, Min et al., as modified, discloses a suspension arm (2311 or 2312) arranged between a vehicle body and the hub, and configured to support the hub (2121) relative to the vehicle body. (Figs. 25-32, paragraphs 255-303.)
With respect to claim 16, Min et al. discloses a corner module apparatus (fig. 25) for a vehicle, the apparatus comprising: a hub (2121) connected to a wheel (2100); a main body (2410) spaced apart (figs. 28-29) from the hub (2121); a first motor (2130) attached to the main body (figs. 25-28, paragraph 262); a steering drive unit (2420) attached to the main body (figs. 25-28); a drive member (2140) connected to the first motor (2130) and the hub (2410), and configured to receive power from the first motor (2130) and provide a driving force to the wheel (paragraph 262); and a controller (20) configured to control the steering member to adjust a steering angle of the wheel (paragraph 452) (figs. 56-78, paragraphs 445-560). (Figs. 25-32, paragraphs 255-303.) Min et al. refers to element 2420 as a ‘steering driving unit’ but does not explicitly state a motor. Jorgensen et al. teaches of a second motor (114) disposed inside the main body (104; figs. 2-3) and spaced apart from the first motor (110). (Figs. 1-5, paragraphs 33-47.) It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the structure as described in Jorgensen et al. into the invention of Min et al. with a reasonable expectation of success in order to appropriately steer the wheel. (Paragraph 34.) Min et al. does not explicitly show a steering member configured to connect to the second motor and the hub, and adjust a steering angle of the wheel. Kim teaches of a steering member (141) configured to connect to the second motor (140) and the hub (144; fig. 4), and adjust a steering angle of the wheel (paragraph 98). (Figs. 1-9, paragraphs 47-119.) It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the structure as described in Kim into the invention of Min et al. with a reasonable expectation of success in order to appropriately steer the wheel. (Paragraph 98.)
With respect to claim 17, Min et al., as modified, discloses the controller (20) is further configured to control the power output from the first motor to the drive member (2140) to provide the driving force to the wheel (figs. 56-78, paragraphs 445-560). (Figs. 25-32, paragraphs 255-303.)
With respect to claim 18, Min et al., as modified, discloses the main body (2410) is connected to the suspension (2300) of the vehicle. (Figs. 25-32, paragraphs 255-303.)
With respect to claim 20, Min et al., as modified, discloses the drive member (2140) comprises: a drive shaft (figs. 28-30) arranged between the first motor (2130) and the hub (2121); a first connection (figs. 28-30) arranged on one side of the drive shaft (figs. 28-30) and connected to the first motor (2130); and a second connection (figs. 28-30) arranged on the other side of the drive shaft (figs. 28-30) and connected to the hub (2121) (paragraphs 260-264). (Figs. 25-32, paragraphs 255-303.)
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Min et al., Jorgensen et al. and Kim, as applied to claims 1 and 13 above, and further in view of Butlin et al. (US 2015/0360722).
With respect to claim 14, Min et al., as modified, is silent regarding a stabilizer bar. Butlin et al. teaches of a stabilizer bar (28) connected to the vehicle body (paragraph 15) and the suspension arm (22). (Figs. 1-2, paragraphs 15-24.) It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the structure as described in Butlin et al. into the invention of Min et al., as modified, with a reasonable expectation of success in order to appropriately reduces body roll during cornering.
Claims 15 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Min et al., Jorgensen et al. and Kim, as applied to claims 1 and 16 above, and further in view of Sugimori (US 2020/0028405).
With respect to claims 15 and 19, Min et al., as modified, is silent regarding an insulator. Sugimori teaches of using an insulator (42) between first and second motor coils (paragraph 27). (Figs. 1-6, paragraphs 15-70.) It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the structure as described in Sugimori into the invention of Min et al., as modified, with a reasonable expectation of success in order to appropriately prevent overheating. Regarding the limitation, “the insulator prevents electrical interference between the first motor and the second motor”, is functional language. “[A]pparatus claims cover what a device is, not what a device does.” Hewlett-Packard Co.v.Bausch & Lomb Inc., 909 F.2d 1464, 1469, 15 USPQ2d 1525, 1528 (Fed. Cir. 1990) (emphasis in original). A claim containing a “recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus” if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim. Ex parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1987). MPEP 2114 (II). In the instant case, Min et al., as modified, discloses the structural limitations.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5-8 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: Claim 5 includes the limitations of the transmission gear comprises: a first worm gear (631) arranged inside the first steering body and connected to the second motor; a first worm wheel (632) engaged with the first worm gear; a second worm gear (633) configured to rotate with the first worm wheel; and a second worm wheel (634) fixed to the second steering body and engaged with the second worm gear. (Figs. 9-10.) The closest prior art, Tian et al. CN 113859351 A, discloses a worm wheel mechanism (7), worm (71) and worm wheel (72) (fig. 3) but does not disclose a second worm structure.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The references cited on the PTO-892 form disclose similar features of the claimed invention.
/JAMES A ENGLISH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3614