DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “flow path switching unit” in claim 1, lines 7 and 15.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. In claims 1 and 9, Applicant claims a can manufacturing apparatus, a printed can manufacturing apparatus and a plain can manufacturing apparatus but no can manufacturing means are set forth so the scope of the can manufacturing is not ascertainable as to what if any difference there is between a can manufacturing apparatus, a printed can manufacturing apparatus and a plain manufacturing apparatus. Claim 4, lines 2 and claims (DI) can or resin-coated can and this scope of limitation is not clear since no drawing and ironing means or coating means are set forth in claim 1. Claim 5, lines 5-7 and claims (DI) can or resin-coated can and this scope of limitation is not clear since no drawing and ironing means or coating means are set forth in claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Stock et al. (2022/0404818) in view of Brandt et al. (7,954,621). Regarding claims 1,2 and 9, Stock discloses a can manufacturing system (Fig. 2A) and can manufacturing method for manufacturing container bodies (2, can barrels) in a can barrel manufacturing apparatus (bodymaker, 36) comprising an inlet conveyor (32), a branch conveyor ([0471], lines 12-14) arranged in a post-process (after the bodymaker; Fig. 2A) and configured to convey the can barrels (2) to a basecoater (42; dotted lines, 42,44; Fig. 2A) with a first branch of the branch conveyor (32 to basecoater 42; Fig. 2A) at a sensing point (34B) for can barrels to be printed in a printing apparatus (46) and a second branch of the branch conveyor being a bypass conveyor (at a sensing point 34C; [0481]) for can barrels that bypass the basecoater (42) and printer (46) and are palletized at inspection station (57A; [0523]). In claims 1 and 9, Applicant claims a can manufacturing apparatus, a printed can manufacturing apparatus and a plain can manufacturing apparatus but no can manufacturing means are set forth so the scope of the can manufacturing is not ascertainable, but Stock discloses bodymaking (36), necking (54) and flanging (56) configured to manufactured printed and unprinted cans. Stock discloses that the sensor (34; [0464]) is in communication with a control apparatus (100) and is configured to detect the can barrels as they are being conveyed. Stock discloses ([0477],[0478]) that the inlet conveyor (32) conveys the can barrels (2) to the bodymaker (36) and to a washer (38) and a drier (40) for plain can forming in the second branch of the branch conveyor, wherein a number ([0478], lines 1-2) of the can barrels are switched to be transported to a basecoater (42) and thereafter to the printing apparatus (46) and printed can manufacturing (54,56) in the first branch of the branch conveyor for printed can barrel manufacturing. Stock discloses (Fig. 2A) that the inlet conveyor (32) conveys the can barrels form the bodymaker (36) to the washer (38) and drier (40) and the plain can barrels are conveyed in the second branch conveyor (32 to 57A) at the sensing point (34C) without printing and the number of the can barrels are switched from the inlet conveyor (32) at sensing point (34B) for separate conveyance to the basecoater (42) and basecoat oven (44) prior to printing ([0480]-[0482]) in the printing apparatus (46) in the first branch conveyor. Stock does not disclose a flow switching means for switching the can barrels from the inlet conveyor to the first and second branch conveyor.
Brandt teaches an inlet conveyor (12) for conveying workpieces (20) to a branch conveyor (14,18; Fig. 1) by actuating a flow switching means (42) that is signaled by a workpiece sensor (34; col. 3, lines 53-57) to switch the workpieces from the inlet conveyor (12) to the branch conveyor (14,18) at a switching point (24). Regarding claim 2, the flow switching means (42) is a switching device comprising a movable guide (actuator 44; col. 4, lines 27-28) configured to switch the workpieces (20) between the first branch of the branch conveyor (18) and the second branch (14) of the branch conveyor (14,18) which is a bypass inlet conveyor (14). It would have been obvious to the skilled artisan prior to the effective filing date of the present invention to modify the inlet conveyor and branch conveyor of Stock to include a flow switching means as taught by Brandt in order to automatically transfer the can barrels from the inlet conveyor to the first branch of the branch conveyor and to the second branch of the branch conveyor in response to information sensed from the workpieces.
Regarding claim 3, Stock discloses [0042] that manufacturing station speed and conveying line speed are controlled and Brandt teaches that a motor controller (28,116; col. 7, lines 39-45) is configured to drive conveyors. It would have been obvious to the skilled artisan prior to the effective filing date of the present invention to provide the conveying system of Stock with a motor controller as taught by Brandt to drive the conveyors.
Regarding claim 4, Stock discloses drawing and ironing ([0475], lines 1-3) can production.
Regarding claim 5, Stock discloses that the can barrels printing conveyor is a pin conveyor configured to retain the can barrels ([0085],[0485]).
Regarding claim 6, Stock discloses that the printing inlet conveyor moving can barrels from the basecoater (42) to the printing apparatus (46A,46B,46C; Fig. 2A) includes a can barrel sensor (34B) configured to sense the can barrels (2) and divert the number of can barrels through the basecoater and to the printer and Stock discloses that the can barrels are sorted according to can barrel information (26) and direction to a selected routing ([0504],[0505]. Brandt teaches that the flow switching unit (44) is configured by a sensor (34) to divert workpieces when a signal from the workpiece (20) is received. It would have been obvious to the skilled artisan prior to the effective filing date of the present invention to switch the can barrels of Stock to the basecoater and printer inlet conveyor when the can barrel mark, barcode or radio frequency tage (RFID) is sensed.
Regarding claim 7, Stock discloses lubricating [0491] of the can barrels prior to necking [0492].
Regarding claim 8, Stock discloses a necking apparatus (54; Fig. 2A), a cradle (storage, 60), a palletizer section (59A,59B) and a connecting conveyor cradle (32A,32B) which is an input branch conveyor to the palletizer section (59A,59B) at an outlet of a necking section cradle (32) wherein an outlet section of the necking section cradle (32) from the necking apparatus (54) and flanging apparatus (56) is a movable module (it conveys) and is connected to a connection conveyor cradle (32A,32B) which connects the necking outlet conveyor (32) and the palletizer section (59A,59B).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/EDWARD T TOLAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3725