The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a) because they fail to show CLEARLY the recessed structures, receiver, recesses, lever, and mating threaded portions (this is not an all-inclusive list) as described in the specification due to the POOR QUALITY of the drawings. Any structural detail that is essential for a proper understanding of the disclosed invention should be shown in the drawing. MPEP § 608.02(d). Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. The figure or figure number of an amended drawing should not be labeled as “amended.” If a drawing figure is to be canceled, the appropriate figure must be removed from the replacement sheet, and where necessary, the remaining figures must be renumbered and appropriate changes made to the brief description of the several views of the drawings for consistency. Additional replacement sheets may be necessary to show the renumbering of the remaining figures. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim(s) 1, 2 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Genoa et al 9742093 in view of Chen et al 2008/0318463.
Regarding claim 1, Genoa et al (front page) substantially discloses the claimed invention, including a power box for use with a vacuum cleaning unit adapted to be carried on the back of a user, said power box structurally arranged so as to be transportable with the user and comprising an external housing including a recessed power receptacle for receiving a power cord. Chen et al (front page) discloses a separate coupler 11 for receiving the power cord and adapted to be connected removably to said recessed power receptacle 201 for securing said power cord during movements of the user, and to provide Genoa et al with same thus would have been obvious, to prevent inadvertent removal of the power cord. Regarding claim 5, Chen et al further discloses mating threaded portions 200, and to provide Genoa et al with same thus would have been obvious, to engage threads 112 on the coupler portion.
Regarding claim 2, Chen et al discloses recessed structures 200 for receiving a power cord 13, connector structures 112 adapted to be secured to the end portion of the power cord for an auxiliary device, said recessed structures including a receiver (threads) for said connector structures connected to hold the end portion of the power cord for an auxiliary device in said recessed structures in a manner enabling the user to release the end portion of the power cord for an auxiliary device, and to provide Genoa et al with same thus would have been obvious, to prevent inadvertent removal of the power cord of the auxiliary device.
Claims 3 and 4 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: none of the prior art discloses or teaches the clamshell housing; in combination with the rest of the subject matter of the independent claim and any intervening claims.
/GARY F PAUMEN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2834