DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Species III in the reply filed on July 20, 2026, is acknowledged.
Claims 1 – 20 pending.
Claims 3, 5 – 7, 9 – 11, 14, 16 – 18, and 20 are withdrawn.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 – 2 and 12 – 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Sumida (US 2003/0160877).
Regarding claim 1, Sumida discloses an image data obtainment device comprising: a camera module (1) configured to generate image data (fig. 1; ¶53); and a pattern mount part (4) configured to selectively position a dummy pattern (3) on the camera module (fig. 1; ¶53).
Regarding claim 2, Sumida discloses the limitations of claim 1. Sumida also teaches wherein the generated image data comprises first image data and second image data; the first image data is generated in case that the dummy pattern is at a first position to allow external light to pass through the dummy pattern to enter the camera module, and the second image data is generated in case that the dummy pattern is at a second position to allow external light to enter the camera module without passing through the dummy pattern (fig. 1-2; ¶54-57: take first picture without calibration plate, then take second picture with calibration plate).
Regarding claim 12, Sumida discloses a system comprising: an image data obtainment device configured to generate first and second image data (fig. 1-2; ¶54-57: take first picture without calibration plate, then take second picture with calibration plate); and an image restoration module configured to receive the first and second image data and perform restoration training (¶54: autonomous movement by movable body), wherein the image data obtainment device comprises: a camera module (1) configured to generate image data (fig. 1; ¶53); and a pattern mount part (4) configured to selectively position a dummy pattern (3) on the camera module (fig. 1; ¶53).
Regarding claim 13, Sumida discloses the limitations of claim 12. Sumida also teaches wherein the generated image data comprises first image data and second image data; the first image data is generated in case that the dummy pattern is at a first position to allow external light to pass through the dummy pattern to enter the camera module, and the second image data is generated in case that the dummy pattern is at a second position to allow external light to enter the camera module without passing through the dummy pattern (fig. 1-2; ¶54-57: take first picture without calibration plate, then take second picture with calibration plate).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4, 8, 15 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sumida in view of Qu (US 2022/0078269).
Regarding claim 4, Sumida discloses the limitations of claim 2. Sumida also teaches a body mechanically coupled to the dummy pattern (fig. 1; ¶54-57: calibration plate). Sumida fails to explicitly disclose wherein the pattern mount part comprises: the dummy pattern corresponding to a display pattern disposed on an under display camera.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the invention of Sumida with the teachings of Qu. Sumida discloses a device with a calibration plate selectively placed in front of the camera. Qu teaches a device with a camera behind the display, wherein the camera is selectively covered by reflection part 400 mounted via a hinge to a base 500 (figs. 3, 4, 6; ¶26-30). One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that applying the known technique of using a hinged attachment mechanism and an under display camera, as taught by Qu, with the invention of Sumida would have yielded predictable results and resulted in an improved system capable of being used in a mobile device.
Regarding claim 8, Sumida in view of Qu discloses the limitations of claim 4. Qu also teaches wherein the dummy pattern is disposed on a dummy pattern carrier part, the pattern mount part further comprises a hinge coupled to the body to move the dummy pattern carrier part, and the dummy pattern carrier part to move to one of the first position or the second position by opening or closing about the hinge (figs. 3, 4, 6; ¶26-30).
Regarding claim 15, Sumida discloses the limitations of claim 13. Sumida also teaches a body mechanically coupled to the dummy pattern (fig. 1; ¶54-57: calibration plate). Sumida fails to explicitly disclose wherein the pattern mount part comprises: the dummy pattern corresponding to a display pattern disposed on an under display camera.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the invention of Sumida with the teachings of Qu. Sumida discloses a device with a calibration plate selectively placed in front of the camera. Qu teaches a device with a camera behind the display, wherein the camera is selectively covered by reflection part 400 mounted via a hinge to a base 500 (figs. 3, 4, 6; ¶26-30). One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that applying the known technique of using a hinged attachment mechanism and an under display camera, as taught by Qu, with the invention of Sumida would have yielded predictable results and resulted in an improved system capable of being used in a mobile device.
Regarding claim 19, Sumida in view of Qu discloses the limitations of claim 15. Qu also teaches wherein the dummy pattern is disposed on a dummy pattern carrier part, the pattern mount part further comprises a hinge coupled to the body to move the dummy pattern carrier part, and the dummy pattern carrier part to move to one of the first position or the second position by opening or closing about the hinge (figs. 3, 4, 6; ¶26-30).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Contact
/ANTOINETTE T SPINKS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2639