DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-7, 11-17, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu et al. (US 20210144728 A1) in view of Shin et al. (US 20250234386 A1).
Considering claim 1, Liu teaches an uplink transmission method, wherein the method comprises:
receiving, by a terminal device, first configuration information sent by a network device ([0059] terminal device receives configuration information of the network device, [0064]), wherein the first configuration information is used to determine at least one uplink transmission format (multiple transmission formats), [0084]), the at least one uplink transmission format comprises a first uplink transmission format ([]0084]), and the first uplink transmission format (first transmission format may include the first modulation manner and the first code rate, and further include at least one of the first TBS, the first modulation coding level or the first PRB size) ([0042] a terminal device determines a first transmission format for sending data to be sent, [0046], [0084], [0107]-[0111]); and
determining, by the terminal device, a target uplink transmission format from the at least one uplink transmission format, and sending uplink transmission based on the target uplink transmission format ([0112]-[0113] terminal device determines the first transmission format for sending the data.).
Liu do not clearly teach the uplink transmission format is different from a basic transmission format.
Shin teaches the uplink transmission format is different from a basic transmission format (tables 1, 5, [0080]-[0081], [0106]-[0113] DCI includes control information such as resource allocation information for a terminal and a format varies depending on its purpose of use…terminal may transmit control information of the above-described CQI/PMI/RI, etc. through a PUSCH, [0281] UE may generate the beam/CSI report based on SSB/CSI-RS and transmit the generated beam/CSI report to the base station).
Therefore, It would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide above teaching of Shin to Liu, in order to lower peak power, save phone or device battery, and manage unique interference issues when sending data from a user device to a base station.
Considering claims 2, 12, Liu teaches a terminal device/network device, comprising a processor configured to perform operations of:
receiving/sending first configuration information sent by a network device ([0059] terminal device receives configuration information of the network device, [0064]), wherein the first configuration information is used to determine at least one uplink transmission format (multiple transmission formats), [0084]), the at least one uplink transmission format comprises a first uplink transmission format ([0084]), and the first uplink transmission format (first transmission format may include the first modulation manner and the first code rate, and further include at least one of the first TBS, the first modulation coding level or the first PRB size) ([0042] a terminal device determines a first transmission format for sending data to be sent, [0046], [0084], [0107]-[0111]); and
determining a target uplink transmission format from the at least one uplink transmission format, and sending/receiving uplink transmission based on the target uplink transmission format ([0112]-[0113] terminal device determines the first transmission format for sending the data.).
Liu do not clearly teach the uplink transmission format is different from a basic transmission format.
Shin teaches the uplink transmission format is different from a basic transmission format (tables 1, 5, [0080]-[0081], [0106]-[0113] DCI includes control information such as resource allocation information for a terminal and a format varies depending on its purpose of use…terminal may transmit control information of the above-described CQI/PMI/RI, etc. through a PUSCH, [0281] UE may generate the beam/CSI report based on SSB/CSI-RS and transmit the generated beam/CSI report to the base station).
Therefore, It would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide above teaching of Shin to Liu, in order to lower peak power, save phone or device battery, and manage unique interference issues when sending data from a user device to a base station.
Considering claims 3, 13, Liu and Shin further teach wherein the first configuration information is used to determine a configuration parameter of the at least one uplink transmission format (Liu: [0059]), and the processor is further configured to perform an operation of: determining the configuration parameter of the at least one uplink transmission format based on the first configuration information (Liu: [0042] a terminal device determines a first transmission format for sending data to be sent, [0046], [0059], [0084], [0107]-[0111]).
Considering claims 4, 14, Liu and Shin further teach wherein a quantity of configuration parameters is configured in the first configuration information (Shin: [0192]), or is predefined.
Considering claims 5, 15, Liu and Shin further teach wherein a configuration parameter of at least a part of the at least one uplink transmission format is used to determine a first random access channel transmission occasion (RO) set; and
in the first RO set (Shin: [0185]-[0186]), an association rule among a preamble, an RO, and a synchronization signal and physical broadcast channel block (SSB) ([0186]) comprises at least one of the following:
each RO is associated with N SSBs, each SSB corresponds to R preambles used for contention access, N is a positive integer or 1/N is a positive integer, and R is a positive integer; and an arrangement order of preambles, ROs, and SSBs ([0185]-[0190], [0273] association between the PRACH resource (and/or the RACH preamble) and the SSB index) is as follows:
first, preambles are arranged in an ascending order of preamble indexes within each RO ([0185]-[0190], [0273]), second, ROs for frequency division multiplexing are arranged in an ascending order of frequency domain resource indexes ([0036]), and finally, ROs for time division multiplexing are arranged in an ascending order of time domain resource indexes (Fig.4-5, 11a-b, [0036], [0180]-[0190]); or
first, ROs for frequency division multiplexing are arranged in an ascending order of frequency domain resource indexes, and second, ROs for time division multiplexing are arranged in an ascending order of time domain resource indexes.
Considering claims 6, 16, Liu and Shin further teach wherein the at least one uplink transmission format further comprises a second uplink transmission format, and the second uplink transmission format is the same as the basic transmission format or the second uplink transmission format is different from the basic transmission format (Liu: [0059], [0064], [0042], Shin: [0106]-[0107] DCI includes control information such as resource allocation information for a terminal and a format varies depending on its purpose of use… transmitted by a terminal to a base station through an uplink, [0126]-[0127], [0281]).
Considering claims 7, 17, Liu and Shin further teach wherein the uplink transmission is physical random access channel (PRACH) transmission or message A (MsgA) transmission (Shin: [0149]); and a random access response RAR format corresponding to the first uplink transmission format is the same as an RAR format corresponding to the second uplink transmission format (Liu: [0059], [0064], [0042], Shin: [0125]-[0126], [0135], [0147]) .
Considering claim 11, Liu and Shin further teach wherein the processor is further configured to perform an operation of: determining the target uplink transmission format from the at least one uplink transmission format independently; or determining the target uplink transmission format from the at least one uplink transmission format based on an indication from the network device (Liu: [0059], [0064], [0042], Shin: [0106]-[0107]).
Considering claim 20, Liu and Shin further teach wherein the processor is further configured to perform an operation of: indicating the target uplink transmission format to the terminal device (Liu: [0059], [0064], [0042], Shin: [0106]-[0107]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 8-10 and 18-19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/KHAI M NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2641