DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claims 14 and 20 are objected to because of the following informalities: claim 14 is a redundant of part of claim 13 (see last paragraph of claim 13); and claim 20 is a redundant of claim 11. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 4, 11, 12, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Storm (4219629).
Storm discloses a magnet wire (col. 8 line 26) comprising: a conductor; and at least one insulation layer formed around the conductor, the insulation layer comprising: a base polymeric material; and one or more additives incorporated into the base polymeric material, the one or more additives comprising at least one of (i) a polycyclic aromatic hydrocarbon or (ii) a partially or fully hydrogenated compound of a polycyclic aromatic hydrocarbon (re-claim 1). Storm also discloses the one or more additives comprising terphenyl (col. 5 line 41) (re-claims 2 and 4). It is noted that since the magnet wire of Storm comprises structure and material as claimed, the one or more additives lower the permittivity of the insulation layer relative to a control insulation layer formed solely from the base polymeric material (re-claim 1); a first permittivity of the insulation layer is at least 0.3 lower than a second permittivity of the control insulation layer (re-claims 11 and 20); and a first partial discharge inception voltage of the insulation layer is at least 5.0% higher than a second partial discharge inception voltage of the control insulation layer (re-claim 12).
Claims 1, 3, 4, 6, 9, 11, 12, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Besson et al. (2020/0312482).
Besson et al. discloses a wire comprising: a conductor; and at least one insulation layer formed around the conductor, the insulation layer comprising: a base polymeric material; and one or more additives incorporated into the base polymeric material, the one or more additives comprising at least one of (i) a polycyclic aromatic hydrocarbon or (ii) a partially or fully hydrogenated compound of a polycyclic aromatic hydrocarbon ([0090]) (re-claim 1). Besson et al. also discloses that the one or more additives comprise dibenzyltoluene ([0090]) (re-claims 3 and 4); the one or more additives comprise between 1.0% and 60.0% by weight of an insulation material used to form the insulation layer ([0090], 6 wt% of dibenzyltoluene) (re-claim 6); and the base polymeric material comprises a thermoplastic material (re-claim 9).
It is noted that since the wire of Besson et al. comprises structure and material as claimed, it is a magnet wire; the one or more additives lower the permittivity of the insulation layer relative to a control insulation layer formed solely from the base polymeric material (re-claim 1); a first permittivity of the insulation layer is at least 0.3 lower than a second permittivity of the control insulation layer (re-claims 11 and 20); and a first partial discharge inception voltage of the insulation layer is at least 5.0% higher than a second partial discharge inception voltage of the control insulation layer (re-claim 12).
Claims 1, 4, 7, 8, 11-15, 17, 19, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hanson et al. (3959233).
Hanson et al. discloses a magnet wire (col. 7 line 30) comprising: a conductor; and at least one insulation layer formed around the conductor, the insulation layer comprising: a base polymeric material; and one or more additives incorporated into the base polymeric material, the one or more additives comprising at least one of (i) a polycyclic aromatic hydrocarbon or (ii) a partially or fully hydrogenated compound of a polycyclic aromatic hydrocarbon (col. 3 lines 53-54) (re-claim 1). Hanson et al. also discloses that the one or more additives comprise terphenyl or quaterphenyl (col. 3 lines 53-54) (re-claims 4, 15, and 17); and the base polymeric material comprises a thermosetting material which is polyamideimide (abstract) (re-claims 7, 8, 13, and 19).
It is noted that since the magnet wire of Hanson et al. comprises structure and material as claimed, the one or more additives lower the permittivity of the insulation layer relative to a control insulation layer formed solely from the base polymeric material (re-claims 1, 13, and 14); a first permittivity of the insulation layer is at least 0.3 lower than a second permittivity of the control insulation layer (re-claims 11 and 20); and a first partial discharge inception voltage of the insulation layer is at least 5.0% higher than a second partial discharge inception voltage of the control insulation layer (re-claim 12).
Claims 13 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Johnson (4022751).
Johnson discloses a magnet wire (col. 3 line 37, magnetic wire insulation) comprising a conductor; and at least one insulation layer formed around the conductor, the insulation layer comprising: a base thermosetting polymeric material (col. 2 lines 60-61, polyimide); and one or more additives incorporated into the base polymeric material, the one or more additives comprising at least one of (i) a polycyclic aromatic hydrocarbon or (ii) a partially or fully hydrogenated compound of a polycyclic aromatic hydrocarbon (col. 3 line 3, polybenzyl).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hanson et al. in view of Ando et al. (2021/0246268).
Hanson et al. discloses the invention substantially as claimed except for the one or more additives comprising at least one additive having a boiling point at standard atmospheric pressure of at least 250°C. Ando et al. discloses an insulation material comprising an additive which has a boiling point at standard atmospheric pressure of at least 250°C ([0119]). It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to include the additive taught by Ando et al. in the base polymeric material of Hanson et al. to improve the physical property of the insulation layer.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Besson et al.
Besson et al. discloses the invention substantially as claimed except for the thermoplastic material comprising a polyphenylene sulfide. However, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to use polyphenylene sulfide as the thermoplastic material of Besson et al. to meet the specific use of the resulting wire since such material is known in the art for being used in wire insulation material (see Besson et al., [0007]).
Contact Information
/CHAU N NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2841