DETAILED ACTION
Procedural Summary
This is responsive to the claims filed 10/22/2024.
Claims 1-28 are pending.
Applicant’s IDS submission is acknowledged and provided herewith.
The Drawings filed on 10/22/2024 are noted.
AIA Notice
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Application Publication 2004/0106446 A1 to Cannon et al. in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication 2023/0097914 A1 to Balasubramanian.
Regarding Claim 1, and similarly recited Claims 10, 19, and 28, Cannon discloses one or more non-transitory computer-readable storage media having stored therein a game program causing one or more processors of an information processing apparatus to:
control a plurality of games simultaneously, based on operation inputs based on operations by a plurality of players (paras. [0020]-[0024]);
display a game image including an individual image of each of the plurality of games in each of a plurality of regions (paras. [0020]-[0024]).
However, Cannon does not explicitly disclose:
set the game corresponding to any of the regions as a sound output target;
output a game sound for the game as the sound output target among game sounds generated based on game processing of the plurality of games; and
if a game progress state of the game as the sound output target satisfies a first condition, change the sound output target to the game, corresponding to another one of the regions, not satisfying the first condition.
In a related invention, Balasubramanian discloses
set the game corresponding to any of the regions as a sound output target (Balasubramanian, paras. [0018]-[0024] discloses provide for the autonomous selection of the audio associated with a particular one of the video windows based upon predetermined user preferences);
output a game sound for the game as the sound output target among game sounds generated based on game processing of the plurality of games (Balasubramanian, paras. [0018]-[0024] discloses the predetermined user preferences can be functions of the relative size and/or position of a particular video window, as well as the content, resolution, provider, or other characteristic associated with a particular video in a given window; only the audio associated with the selected window is output while the others are present but not audible); and
if a game progress state of the game as the sound output target satisfies a first condition, change the sound output target to the game, corresponding to another one of the regions, not satisfying the first condition (paras. [0018]-[0024] discloses provide for the autonomous selection of the audio associated with a particular one of the video windows based upon predetermined user preferences. The predetermined user preferences can be functions of the relative size and/or position of a particular video window, as well as the content, resolution, provider, or other characteristic associated with a particular video in a given window)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply Balasubramanian’s single target audio selection to Cannon’s multi-game display so that the player hears the audio on one game at a time and the audio follows the game of of current interest.
Regarding Claim 2, and similarly recited Claims 11, 20, Cannon in view of Cannon in view of Balasubramanian discloses the storage media according to claim 1, wherein the plurality of games are identical games (Cannon, paras. [0020]-[0024]).
Regarding Claim 3, and similarly recited Claims 12 and 21, Cannon in view of Balasubramanian discloses the storage media according to claim 2, wherein the plurality of games are started simultaneously from a common scene (Cannon, paras. [0020]-[0024]).
Regarding Claim 4, and similarly recited Claim 13 and 22, Cannon in view of Balasubramanian discloses the storage media according to claim 3, wherein the game program further causes the one or more processors to: stop or end a game satisfying the first condition among the plurality of games; and perform a win/loss determination for the plurality of players, based on a speed at which the first condition is satisfied (Cannon, paras. [0020]-[0024]).
Regarding Claim 5, and similarly recited Claims 14, and 23, Cannon in view of Balasubramanian discloses the storage media according to claim 4, wherein the game program further causes the one or more processors to, for each of the plurality of games, output a predetermined sound effect if the first condition is satisfied, regardless of whether the game is the sound output target (Balasubramanian, paras. [0018]-[0024]).
Regarding Claim 6, and similarly recited Claims 15 and 24, Cannon in view of Balasubramanian discloses the storage media according to claim 1, wherein the game program further causes the one or more processors to, for each of the plurality of games, output a predetermined sound effect if a second condition is satisfied, regardless of whether the game is the sound output target (Balasubramanian, paras. [0018]-[0024] discloses provide for the autonomous selection of the audio associated with a particular one of the video windows based upon predetermined user preferences.).
Regarding Claim 7, and similarly recited Claims 16 and 25, Cannon in view of Balasubramanian discloses the storage media according to claim 1, wherein the game program further causes the one or more processors to output a predetermined sound effect if a third condition with respect to all of the plurality of games is satisfied (Balasubramanian, paras. [0018]-[0024] discloses provide for the autonomous selection of the audio associated with a particular one of the video windows based upon predetermined user preferences. The predetermined user preferences can be functions of the relative size and/or position of a particular video window, as well as the content, resolution, provider, or other characteristic associated with a particular video in a given window).
Regarding Claim 8, and similarly recited Claims 17 and 26, Cannon in view of Balasubramanian discloses the storage media according to claim 1, wherein the plurality of games are games executed by a plurality of emulators, respectively (Cannon, para. [0047]).
Regarding Claim 9, and similarly recited Claims 18 and 27, Cannon in view of Balasubramanian discloses the storage media according to claim 8, wherein the game program further causes the one or more processors to: monitor a specific address in a memory at which the game is being executed using the emulator; and determine that the first condition is satisfied, if data on the address satisfies a predetermined condition (Cannon, para. [0047] discloses programs relating to the operation of gaming machine 70 may typically be stored in ROM (read-only memory) 112.).
Conclusion
Claims 1-28 are examined above.
/S.N.H/ Examiner, Art Unit 3715
/XUAN M THAI/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3715