DETAILED ACTION
This is the First Office Action in response to the above identified patent
application filed on October 22, 2024.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
(b) the invention was patented or described in a printed publication in this or a foreign country or in public use or on sale in this country, more than one year prior to the date of application for patent in the United States.
Claim(s) 1, 3, 4, 8, and 12 is/are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102(b) as being anticipated by Akeel (USP 4,659,280).
Akeel teaches a humanoid robot (resembles a human), comprising: a mobile base (lower portion of 16, capable of being moved); a body (upper body portion of 16) assembly secured (formed integrally with) to the base; a first turret mounting assembly (pivot mounting components used to pivotally mount 18 to 16) secured to the body assembly; a first turret assembly (18) mounted through to the first turret mounting assembly to the body assembly; a first robot arm (12) movably secured to the first turret assembly; and a first counterbalance mechanism (28) that includes: a first counterbalancing member (66) connected to the first robot arm (via 62); and a first upper arm counterbalance interface rod (50) connected between the first turret assembly (at 44) and the first counterbalancing member (66), wherein an adjustment of the first upper arm counterbalance interface rod (due to 54) caused movement of the first counterbalancing member (66) relative to the first robot arm to allow for a setting that causes the first robot arm to float to gravity.
Claim 3: Akeel teaches the first counterbalance mechanism includes: a first pulley (62) mounted to the first robot arm, the first counterbalancing member (66) being mounted to the first pulley at a coupling point (76) that is offset from an axis of rotation of the first pulley.
Claim 4: Akeel teaches the first pulley (62) is a first proximal pulley, and the first counterbalance mechanism includes: a first distal pulley (64), the first counterbalancing member being mounted to the first distal pulley at a coupling point (outer surface) that is offset from an axis of rotation of the first distal pulley.
Claim 8: Akeel teaches the first counterbalance mechanism includes: a first elbow pitch rotation motor (column 4, last full paragraph), mounted to the first robot arm, that actuates rotation of the first proximal pulley and the first distal pulley.
Claim 12: Akeel teaches a first pulley (62,64); a first spring (54) connected to the first pulley; and a final output belt (66) connected to the pulley, the first spring creating a force that acts through the final output belt and the counterbalancing member as a gravity compensation mechanism for the robotic arm.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 9 and 11 is/are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Akeel (USP 4,659,280).
Akeel teaches (last full paragraph of column 4) the first elbow pitch rotation motor of the first counterbalance mechanism forms part of a first elbow pitch rotation motor, and gearbox. Akeel does not teach an encoder assembly. However, providing a motor assembly with an encoder was notoriously known in the art for determining a rotational position of the motor output. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to provide the motor assembly of Akeel with an encoder, as was well known in the art, motivation being to determine a rotational position of the motor output.
With respect to claim 11, Akeel appears to illustrate (Fig. 1) a first turret pan motor connected between the first turret mounting assembly and the body assembly and operable to rotate the first turret assembly. Akeel does not specifically describe the first turret pan motor. However, it was notoriously known in the art to provide a robot turret with a motor assembly for rotating the turret along a first pan angle. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to drive the rotatable turret of Akeel along a predetermined pan angle with a motor assembly, as was well known in the art, motivation being to provide a mechanized robotic device.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2, 5-7, 10, and 13 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The prior art does not teach a first elevator assembly mounted to the first turret assembly (claim 2), the device having three pulleys (claims 5-7 and 13), and a second turret mounting assembly (claim 10).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Note the counterbalancing arrangement of USP 4753128 and GB 2074337.
/WILLIAM C JOYCE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3618