DETAILED ACTION
This action is responsive to the Application filed on 10/22/2024, said application claims a priority date of 04/22/2022.
Claims 1-20 are pending in the case.
Claims 1, 8 and 15 are independent claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 4, 5, 7-9, 11, 12, 14-16, 18 and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kruzeniski et al. (US 2013/0326582 A1, published 12/05/2013, hereinafter “Kruzeniski”).
Independent Claim 1, 8 and 15:
Kruzeniski discloses an electronic device comprising:
a processor and a memory [non-transitory readable storage medium], wherein the memory stores a program or instructions capable of running on the processor, and the program or the instructions, when executed by the processor, cause the electronic device to perform a method comprising (Kruzeniski: Fig. 1, ¶ [0033]-[0034]):
displaying a first component, wherein the first component comprises N controls, each of the N controls corresponds to a different input mode, and N is an integer greater than 1 (A user interface can be displayed for entering not data where in the interface comprises options for entering the note data via various input modes (text, sketch, voice), Kruzeniski: Fig. 8A, abstract, ¶ [0044].);
receiving a first input performed by a user to a first control of the N controls (The user can select one of the options, Kruzeniski: Fig. 8A, abstract, ¶ [0044].); and
displaying first information in response to the first input, wherein the first information is obtained based on an input mode corresponding to the first control (The note data entered via the selected input mode is displayed to the user, Kruzeniski: Fig. 9, ¶ [0045]).
Claims 2, 9 and 16:
The rejection of claims 1, 8 and 15 are incorporated. Kruzeniski further teaches a device, medium and method wherein the displaying first information in response to the first input comprises:
in response to the first input, displaying a target interface corresponding to the first control (Kruzeniski: ¶ [0044]);
receiving a second input performed by a user (The user can providing input via typing on a displayed keyboard or speaking to provide audio input, Kruzeniski: ¶ [0044]); and
in response to the second input, displaying, in the target interface, the first information input through the second input; wherein an input mode of the second input is the input mode corresponding to the first control (Kruzeniski: Fig. 9, ¶ [0045]); and
the target interface comprises any one of the following: a text editing interface, a shooting preview interface, and a voice recording interface (Kruzeniski: ¶ [0044].).
Claims 4, 11 and 18:
The rejection of claims 1, 8 and 15 are incorporated. Kruzeniski further teaches a device, medium and method wherein:
a storage space corresponding to the first component stores S pieces of information, the S pieces of information are information input based on an input mode corresponding to at least one control, and S is a positive integer (The new note screen stores (at least temporarily) the new note for display, Kruzeniski: Fig. 14, ¶ [0034], [0053], [0057].); and
after the displaying a first component, the method further comprises:
displaying a second component; wherein the second component comprises second key information, wherein the second key information is key information of at least one piece of information of the S pieces of information (Fig. 10 and Fig. 14, ¶ [0046], [0057]); and
wherein the at least one piece of information comprises at least one of the following: information determined based on a target input, information comprising a preset keyword, or information conforming to a preset display mode (The information is determined based on the user’s input, Fig. 9-10 and Fig. 14, ¶ [0045]-[0046], [0057]).
Claim 5, 12 and 19:
The rejection of claims 4, 11 and 18 are incorporated. Kruzeniski further teaches a method wherein after the displaying a first component, the method further comprises:
displaying an information editing interface, wherein the information editing interface contains the S pieces of information (The note taking interface of Fig. 14 comprises a menu for deleting a note or displaying the note on lock screen (editing interface), Kruzeniski: Fig. 14, ¶ [0057]);
receiving a fourth input performed by a user to second information in the information editing interface (Kruzeniski: Fig. 14, ¶ [0057]); and
adding the second information to the second component in response to the fourth input (Kruzeniski: Fig. 14, ¶ [0057]).
Claims 7 and 14:
The rejection of claims 1 and 8 are incorporated. Kruzeniski further teaches a device and method wherein after the displaying first information in response to the first input, the method further comprises:
storing the first information into a storage space corresponding to the first component (After the note is displayed to the user the note can be captured (stored) and displayed on the lock screen until the user decides to remove the note from the lock screen, Kruzeniski: ¶ [0034], [0038], [0047], [0053]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3, 10 and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kruzeniski in view of Kim et al. (KR 20160055022A, published 05/17/2016, hereinafter “Kim”).
Claims 3, 10 and 17:
The rejection of claims 1, 8 and 15 are incorporated. Kruzeniski does not appear to explicitly teach a method wherein after the displaying a first component, the device, medium and method further comprises:
receiving a third input performed by a user to the first component; and
in response to the third input, unfolding the first component and displaying first key information in an unfolded area of the first component;
wherein the first key information comprises key information recorded based on an input mode corresponding to at least one control.
However, Kim teaches a device, medium and method wherein after the displaying a first component, the method further comprises:
receiving a third input performed by a user to the first component (After the reduced form of the note taking widget is displayed (first component), the user can provide an input on the reduced form of the note taking widget, Kim: page 11.); and
in response to the third input, unfolding the first component and displaying first key information in an unfolded area of the first component (When the user provides the input on the reduced form of the widget, the widget expands according to the user’s input to reveal the contents of a created memo, Kim: Figs. 10(a)-10(b), page 11.);
wherein the first key information comprises key information recorded based on an input mode corresponding to at least one control (The memo content can be created either by pen tool or virtual keyboard, Kim: Fig. 10(b), page 11, page 12 line 13, page 13 penultimate paragraph and page 14.).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the device, medium and method of Kruzeniski wherein after the displaying a first component, the method further comprises:
receiving a third input performed by a user to the first component; and
in response to the third input, unfolding the first component and displaying first key information in an unfolded area of the first component;
wherein the first key information comprises key information recorded based on an input mode corresponding to at least one control, as taught by Kim.
One would have been motivated to make such a combination in order to improve the user’s experience by providing the user with more effective tools for managing the display of a created note (Kim: Figs. 10(a)-10(b), page 11.).
Claim(s) 6, 13 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kruzeniski in view of Han (US 2014/0137036 A1, published 05/15/2014, hereinafter “Han”).
Claims 6, 13 and 20:
The rejection of claims 4, 11 and 18 are incorporated. Kruzeniski does not appear to expressly teach a device, medium and method wherein the displaying a second component comprises:
receiving a fifth input performed by a user to the first component; and
updating the display of the first component to the second component in response to the fifth input.
However, Kruzeniski teaches that the user can provide flick-operation on the lock screen to cause a note application to be generated on the lockscreen, Kruzeniski: Fig. 3, 6 and 8A, ¶ [0039], [0042]. Kruzeniski does not provide any details on how one would dismiss or close the note application after it has been generated on the lockscreen. However, Han teaches that the user can provide a diagonal swipe operation in a first direction to generate an application and a diagonal swipe operation from within the generated application in the opposite direction to close the application, Han: Figs. 2A-2C, ¶ [0039], [0040], [0046]. Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the device, medium and method of Kruzeniski to include the closing gesture of Han. One would have been motivated to make such a combination in order to improve the user’s experience by providing the user with greater control over the generated application (Han: Figs. 2A-2C, ¶ [0039], [0040], [0046]).
In combination, Kruzeniski in view of Han teaches a device, medium and method wherein the displaying a second component comprises:
receiving a fifth input performed by a user to the first component (The user can provide an input to cause the note taking application (first component) to be generated over the lockscreen; and updating the display of the first component to the second component in response to the fifth input (second component), Kruzeniski: Fig. 3, 6 and 8A, ¶ [0039], [0042]. The user can perform a gesture (fifth input) within the generated application (the first component) to cause the generated application to close, Han: Figs. 2A-2C, ¶ [0039], [0040], [0046]. In this combination, when the user provide the closing operation in the note taking application, the note taking application (first component) will be closed (updating the display of the first component) and the lockscreen will be fully displayed as a result (updating display to the second component).).
Conclusion
Examiner has cited particular columns and line and/or paragraph numbers in the references applied to the claims above for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings of the art and are applied to specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested from the applicant in preparing responses, to fully consider the references in entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the examiner.
The examiner requests, in response to this Office action, support be shown for language added to any original claims on amendment and any new claims. That is, indicate support for newly added claim language by specifically pointing to page(s) and line number(s) in the specification and/or drawing figure(s). This will assist the examiner in prosecuting the application.
When responding to this office action, Applicant is advised to clearly point out the patentable novelty which he or she thinks the claims present, in view of the state of the art disclosed by the references cited or the objections made. He or she must also show how the amendments avoid such references or objections See 37 CFR 1.111(c).
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to Applicants’ disclosure.
Ayers et al., US 2013/0138622 A1 (The user is provided with a quick capture interface that enables the user to record to-do items via on a plurality of input modes, Fig. 3A, abstract.)
Nilsson, US 2010/0306705 A1 (The user can generate notes in a first component and have the notes displayed in a second component, Fig. 4)
/DANIEL RODRIGUEZ/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2178