DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 4 (and 5 through dependency) and 7-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention.
Claim 4 recites “a generally horizontal front member”. It is unclear whether this is a double positive recitation of the generally horizontal front member already recited in claim 1 or whether Applicant is claiming a different part. For purposes of examination, it will be assumed that “a” should be recited as “the” and the recitation is a double positive recitation of the horizontal front member already recited in claim 1.
Claims 7-9 are the same or substantially the same as claims 2-5 since they depend from claim 1. It is unclear whether Applicant intended claims 7-9 to depend from claim 6. For purposes of examination, it will be assumed that Applicant intended claims 7-9 to depend from claim 6.
Claim 9 recites “a generally horizontal front member” in line 3. It is unclear whether this is a double positive recitation of the generally horizontal front member already recited in claim 1 or whether Applicant is claiming a different part. For purposes of examination, it will be assumed that “a” should be recited as “the” and the recitation is a double positive recitation of the horizontal front member already recited in claim 1.
Correction for each rejection is required.
Double Patenting
A rejection based on double patenting of the “same invention” type finds its support in the language of 35 U.S.C. 101 which states that “whoever invents or discovers any new and useful process... may obtain a patent therefor...” (Emphasis added). Thus, the term “same invention,” in this context, means an invention drawn to identical subject matter. See Miller v. Eagle Mfg. Co., 151 U.S. 186 (1894); In re Vogel, 422 F.2d 438, 164 USPQ 619 (CCPA 1970); In re Ockert, 245 F.2d 467, 114 USPQ 330 (CCPA 1957).
A statutory type (35 U.S.C. 101) double patenting rejection can be overcome by canceling or amending the claims that are directed to the same invention so they are no longer coextensive in scope. The filing of a terminal disclaimer cannot overcome a double patenting rejection based upon 35 U.S.C. 101.
Claims 6-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 as claiming the same invention as that of claims 1-4 of prior U.S. Patent No. 12,123,152 B2. This is a statutory double patenting rejection. As stated above in the 112(b) rejection, for purposes of examination, it will be assumed that claims 7-9 depend from claim 6 rather than from claim 1. The claims have practically the same verbiage, the difference being claim 1 of the patent including the limitation of the stabilization legs secured to the front end but this is claimed in claim 9 of the instant application.
Claims 1-5 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-4 of U.S. Patent No. 12,123,152 B2 in view of Pietila et al., US 10,190,268 B2.
Claims 1-4 of the patent include all of the limitations of claims 1-5 except for the limitation of the drive assembly rotatably secured to support the frame assembly. Pietila teaches an apparatus for screeding concrete to produce a level finished surface ([0016]) and discloses a frame of the apparatus having tracks wheels (Figure 26). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the patent to include a drive assembly (wheels) rotatably secured to support the frame to be able to move the apparatus.
Claims 6-9 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-3 of U.S. Patent No. 12,529,194 B2.
Claims 1-3 of the patent read on all of the limitations of claims 6-9 of the instant application. There are only minor differences in nomenclature, such as “first end” and “second end” pertaining to the extendable boom in the instant application versus “front end” and “rear end” pertaining to the extendable boom in the patent, and “side-step assembly” in the instant application versus “swing boom assembly”.
Claims 1-5 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-3 of U.S. Patent No. 12,529,194 B2 in view of Pietila et al., US 10,190,268 B2.
Claims 1-3 of the patent include all of the limitations of claims 1-5 except for the limitation of the drive assembly rotatably secured to support the frame assembly. Pietila teaches an apparatus for screeding concrete to produce a level finished surface ([0016]) and discloses a frame of the apparatus having tracks wheels (Figure 26). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the patent to include a drive assembly (wheels) rotatably secured to support the frame to be able to move the apparatus.
Claims 6-9 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-3 of U.S. Patent No. 12,270,159 B2.
Claims 1-3 of the patent read on all of the limitations of claims 6-9 of the instant application. There are only minor differences in nomenclature and verbiage, such as “first end” and “second end” pertaining to the extendable boom in the instant application versus “front end” and “rear end” pertaining to the extendable boom in the patent, and “a side-step assembly having an actuator with an extendable arm thereon” in the instant application versus “an actuator”. Applicant’s specification discloses that the actuator is a hydraulic cylinder and the extendable arm is the rod of the hydraulic cylinder, which is present in any hydraulic cylinder.
Claims 1-5 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-3 of U.S. Patent No. 12,270,159 B2 in view of Pietila et al., US 10,190,268 B2.
Claims 1-3 of the patent include all of the limitations of claims 1-5 except for the limitation of the drive assembly rotatably secured to support the frame assembly. Pietila teaches an apparatus for screeding concrete to produce a level finished surface ([0016]) and discloses a frame of the apparatus having tracks wheels (Figure 26). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the patent to include a drive assembly (wheels) rotatably secured to support the frame to be able to move the apparatus.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because reference numeral 50 in Figure 1 is directed to the same bar as reference numeral 210 in Figure 3. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. The figure or figure number of an amended drawing should not be labeled as “amended.” If a drawing figure is to be canceled, the appropriate figure must be removed from the replacement sheet, and where necessary, the remaining figures must be renumbered and appropriate changes made to the brief description of the several views of the drawings for consistency. Additional replacement sheets may be necessary to show the renumbering of the remaining figures. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Duplicate Claims, Warning
Applicant is advised that should claims 2-5 be found allowable, claims 7-9 will be objected to under 37 CFR 1.75 as being a substantial duplicate thereof. When two claims in an application are duplicates or else are so close in content that they both cover the same thing, despite a slight difference in wording, it is proper after allowing one claim to object to the other as being a substantial duplicate of the allowed claim. See MPEP § 608.01(m).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Pietila et al., US 10,190,268 B2.
Regarding claim 1, Pietila teaches an apparatus for screeding concrete to produce a level finished surface comprising:
a frame assembly (Figures 3 and 26) having a front end and rear end, the frame assembly supporting a generally horizontal front member (panel on which boom is mounted as shown in Figure 3) therebetween;
a drive assembly (tracks on tractor as shown in Figure 26) rotatably secured to support the frame assembly;
an extendable boom (shown in Figure 26) assembly secured to the frame assembly at a first end and to a screed head (shown in Figure 26) at a second end, the extendable boom assembly adjustably disposed (it can rotate horizontally or pivot up and down) on (shown attached to, in Figure 3) the front member; and
a side-step assembly having an actuator (lower hydraulic cylinder shown in Figure 3) with an extendable arm (rod of hydraulic cylinder) thereon, the actuator secured at a point to the front member (via bracket as shown in Figure 3), and the extendable arm secured to the boom assembly (via chain and sprocket as shown in Figure 3) to impart generally lateral motion thereto.
Regarding claim 2, the actuator is a hydraulic cylinder.
Regarding claim 3, the actuator being a hydraulic cylinder is a linear actuator.
Regarding claim 4, as shown in Figure 26, the apparatus includes a pair of spaced vertically oriented stabilization legs (stabilizer legs) secured to the front end of the frame, the spaced legs supporting the generally horizontal front member therebetween.
Regarding claim 5, as shown in Figure 26, the apparatus includes a vertically oriented stabilization leg secured to the frame assembly at the rear end thereof, whereby the stabilization legs level the frame and the screed head.
Regarding claim 6, Pietila teaches an apparatus for screeding concrete to produce a level finished surface comprising:
a frame assembly (Figures 3 and 26) having a front end and rear end, the frame assembly supporting a generally horizontal front member (panel on which boom is mounted as shown in Figure 3) therebetween;
an extendable boom (shown in Figure 26) assembly secured to the frame assembly at a first end and to a screed head (shown in Figure 26) at a second end, the extendable boom assembly adjustably disposed (it can rotate horizontally or pivot up and down) on (shown attached to, in Figure 3) the front member; and
a side-step assembly having an actuator (lower hydraulic cylinder shown in Figure 3) with an extendable arm (rod of hydraulic cylinder) thereon, the actuator secured at a point to the front member (via bracket as shown in Figure 3), and the extendable arm secured to the boom assembly (via chain and sprocket as shown in Figure 3) to impart generally lateral motion thereto.
Regarding claim 7, the actuator is a hydraulic cylinder.
Regarding claim 8, the actuator being a hydraulic cylinder is a linear actuator.
Regarding claim 9, as shown in Figure 26, the apparatus includes a pair of spaced vertically oriented stabilization legs secured to the front end of the frame, the spaced legs supporting the generally horizontal front member therebetween and a vertically oriented stabilization leg secured to the frame assembly at the rear end thereof, whereby the stabilization legs level the frame and the screed head.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See attached Notice of References Cited sheet. Torvinen, US 2006/0008323 A1 teaches a very similar apparatus for screeding concrete with a frame, drive assembly, stabilizing legs, extendable boom, and screed.
/KATHERINE J CHU/Examiner, Art Unit 3671
/CHRISTOPHER J SEBESTA/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3671