DETAILED ACTION
Notice of Pre AIA or AIA Status
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers submitted under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d), which papers have been placed of record in the file.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 10/22/2024. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over TORFS (U.S. Publication 20150119747) in view of Yang (U.S. Publication 20180193647).
Regarding claim 1, TORFS teaches a verification device comprising (a
biopotential acquisition system including electrodes, impedance detection modules 100,
amplifiers A1 and A2, current generation circuits 40, and signal processing circuitry 300, as
shown in FIGS. 1A-1Band described in paragraphs [0030]-[0033]).
an electrode array comprising a plurality of electrodes configured to contact a culture medium for culturing a plurality of cells (by disclosing electrodes E1 and E2 electrically coupled to biological tissue/body 20 through electrode tissue impedances Z1 and Z2, as shown in FIGS. 1 A-1B, wherein the biological tissue/body acts as a conductive biological medium interfacing with biological cells).
a plurality of analog front ends (AFEs) corresponding to the plurality of electrodes (impedance detection modules 100 including amplifiers A1 and A2 respectively connected to electrodes E1 and E2, as shown in FIG. 1B).
a control circuit comprising a plurality of first connection verifying circuits (CVCs) corresponding to the plurality of electrodes (current generation circuits 40 including AC current generators AC1 and AC2 and capacitors CS1 respectively associated with amplifiers A1 and A2 and electrodes E1 and E2, as shown in FIG. 1B, wherein the circuitry injects current signals IS1 and IS2 through the electrodes and determines impedance based electrode connection conditions).
wherein the control circuit is configured to verify at least one connection from among a plurality of first connections between the plurality of cells and the plurality of electrodes (because paragraph [0031] expressly teaches that the system performs "detecting
whether and how well an electrode is making contact to the body" and "assessing the quality
and variation over time of the electrode connection," based on impedance measurements
through electrode tissue impedances Z1 and Z2 associated with electrodes E1 and E2 shown in FIG. 1B).
TORFS further teaches verifying the first connections using electrical signal paths formed through conductive biological media because current signals IS1 and IS2 flow through electrodes E1 and E2 and through electrode tissue impedances Z1 and Z2 via body/tissue 20, as shown in FIG. 1B and described in paragraphs [0030]- [0033].
TORFS does not expressly teach a plurality of second connections between the plurality of electrodes based on a result of verifying the plurality of first CVCs.
However, Yang in a relevant art teaches circuitry configured to establish and monitor electrical connections among multiple electrodes by disclosing electrode array 102, dynamic current allocation network (DCAN) 408, current DAC and replication circuitry 402, anodic current drivers 404, cathodic current drivers 406, and electrode selector circuitry 506, as shown in FIGS. 1B, 4, and 5D.
Yang further teaches selective electrical routing among multiple electrodes because DCAN 408 selectively electrically connects current driver circuitry to selected electrodes 210 within electrode array 102, as shown in FIG. 4, further teaches monitoring electrical conditions associated with routed electrode paths by disclosing residual voltage monitor 128 coupled to the electrode routing circuitry shown in FIGS. 1B, 4, and 6A.
Yang further teaches PMOS/NMOS based routing and current control circuitry configured to establish electrical signal paths associated with selected electrodes, as shown in FIGS. 5A-5C, 7, and 8.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the impedance based electrode connection verification system of TORFS to incorporate the selective electrode routing and monitoring circuitry of Yang because Yang expressly teaches scalable selective electrical routing and monitoring among multiple electrodes in a multi electrode biological interface system. One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that incorporating Yang's selective electrode routing and monitoring circuitry into TORFS's impedance based electrode connection verification system would have predictably enabled verification of electrical connections among multiple electrodes based on results obtained from impedance based verification of electrode biological interface connections, thereby improving scalability and reliability of multi electrode connection verification.
Regarding claim 2, TORFS further teaches each first CVC from among the plurality of first CVCs comprises (current generation circuits 40 associated with respective electrodes E1 and E2 and corresponding amplifier circuits A1 and A2, as shown in FIG. 1B),
a first p channel metal oxide semiconductor (PMOS) transistor connected to a first
adjacent electrode that is adjacent to a target electrode connected to a target cell from
among the plurality of electrodes (as suggested by the current generation circuitry
associated with adjacent electrode paths E1 and E2 and corresponding impedance
paths Z1 and Z2 shown in FIG. 1B, wherein adjacent electrode paths are used for
impedance based connection determination through conductive biological tissue/body
20), wherein the first PMOS transistor is configured to operate as a current source for the
first adjacent electrode (as taught by AC current generators AC 1 and AC2 configured to inject current signals IS1 and IS2 through electrodes E1 and E2 in FIG. 1Band paragraphs [0030]- [0033]),
a first n channel metal oxide semiconductor (NMOS) transistor connected to an input
end of an adjacent AFE connected to a second adjacent electrode that is adjacent to the
target electrode (as suggested by amplifier inputs A1 and A2 associated with adjacent electrodes E1 and E2 for impedance based signal acquisition in FIG. 1B).
TORFS does not explicitly teach wherein the first NMOS transistor is configured to form an electrical signal path with the first PMOS transistor.
Yang in a relevant art teaches PMOS and NMOS transistor based current driver circuitry associated with electrode selection and signal routing paths, as shown in FIGS. 5A-5C, 7, and 8, PMOS current driver circuitry configured to operate as current sources for selected electrode paths, including anodic current drivers 404 and PMOS current source structures shown in FIGS. 4, 7, and 8, NMOS transistor circuitry associated with current routing and signal path formation
between selected electrode circuitry and analog front end circuitry, as shown in FIGS. 5A-5D and 7, selective establishment of electrical signal paths associated with adjacent electrodes
using dynamic current allocation network (DCAN) 408 and electrode selector circuitry 506 shown in FIGS. 4 and 50, analog front end circuitry 118 associated with electrode array 102 and selectively routed current driver circuitry, as shown in FIG. 1B.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the impedance based connection verification circuitry of TORFS using the PMOS/NMOS current source and signal routing circuitry taught by Yang because, Yang expressly teaches scalable transistor based current routing and electrode selection circuitry for establishing and monitoring electrical signal paths associated with selected electrodes in a multi electrode biological interface system.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that using Yang's PMOS current source circuitry and NMOS routing circuitry within TORFS's impedance based connection verification architecture would have predictably enabled formation of electrical signal paths between adjacent electrode associated AFEs while maintaining controllable current injection and signal path verification among adjacent electrodes.
Regarding claim 3, TORFS further teaches wherein the control circuit is further configured to verify a first connection between the target cell and the second adjacent electrode (as taught by paragraph [0031], which states that the impedance based system performs "detecting whether and how well an electrode is making contact to the body" and "assessing the quality and variation over time of the electrode connection" using impedance measurements associated with electrodes E 1 and E2 and corresponding impedances Z1 and Z2 shown in FIG. 1B, adjacent electrode signal acquisition and impedance determination using amplifiers A1 and A2 associated with adjacent electrodes E1 and E2 in FIG. 1B, impedance based determination of electrode connection quality through adjacent electrode paths in conductive biological media, as shown in FIGS. 1A-1Band described in paragraphs [0030]-[0033]).
However, TORFS does not explicitly teach based on a gain of the adjacent AFE connected to the second adjacent electrode.
Yang in a relevant art teaches analog front end circuitry 118 coupled to electrode array 102, as shown in FIG. 1B, amplifier and current driver circuitry configured to monitor and control electrical characteristics associated with selected electrodes, including current DAC and
replication circuitry 402, anodic current drivers 404, cathodic current drivers 406, and
residual voltage monitor 128 shown in FIGS. 1B and 4, calibration and monitoring circuitry configured to evaluate electrical behavior associated with selected electrode paths, including calibration circuitry 214 and comparator circuitry shown in FIGS. 4, 5A-5D, and 7, amplifier related electrical monitoring and signal evaluation associated with selected electrode routing paths through analog front end circuitry and electrode selection circuitry, as shown in FIGS. 4, 5A 5D, and 7.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to determine the first connection between the target cell and the second adjacent electrode in TORFS based on gain related electrical characteristics of the adjacent AFE using the amplifier monitoring and calibration techniques taught by Yang because Yang expressly teaches monitoring and evaluating electrical behavior associated with selected
electrode signal paths using analog front end and calibration circuitry.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that using gain related characteristics of the adjacent AFE in TORFS's impedance based connection verification system would have predictably improved sensitivity and reliability of determining electrode cell connection quality associated with adjacent electrodes.
Regarding claim 4, TORFS further teaches wherein the control circuit is further configured to verify a first connection between a cell from among the plurality of cells and an electrode from among the plurality of electrodes (as taught by paragraph [0031], which states that the impedance based system performs "detecting whether and how well an electrode is making contact to the body" and "assessing the quality and variation over time of the electrode connection," using impedance measurements associated with electrodes E1 and E2 and
corresponding impedances Z1 and Z2 shown in FIG. 1B, electrode connection verification using amplifier circuitry A1 and A2 associated with electrodes E1 and E2 shown in FIG. 1B, impedance based determination of electrode connection quality through conductive
biological media using current generators Ae1 and Ae2 configured to inject current signals IS1 and IS2 through electrodes E1 and E2 shown in FIG. 1Band described in paragraphs [0030] [0033]).
However, TORFS does not explicitly teach by determining whether a gain of an AFE from among the plurality of AFEs corresponding to a first CVC from among the plurality of first CVCs has a first value.
Yang in a relevant art further teaches analog front end circuitry 118 associated with electrode array 102, as shown in FIG. 1B, amplifier related monitoring and calibration circuitry including current DAC and replication circuitry 402, calibration circuitry 214, comparator circuitry 504, and residual voltage monitor 128 configured to monitor electrical characteristics associated with electrode signal paths, as shown in FIGS. 4, 5A-5D, and 7, evaluation of electrical characteristics associated with selected electrode paths through analog front end and calibration circuitry coupled to selected electrodes using DCAN 408 and electrode selector circuitry 506 shown in FIGS. 4 and 5D, monitoring and determining electrical operating conditions associated with amplifier and current driver circuitry connected to electrodes in a multi electrode biological interface system.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to verify the first connection between a cell and an electrode in TORFS by determining whether a gain related electrical characteristic of the corresponding AFE has a predetermined value using the amplifier monitoring and calibration circuitry taught by Yang because Yang expressly teaches evaluating electrical characteristics associated with analog front end circuitry coupled to selected electrodes.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that determining whether an AFE
gain related characteristic has a predetermined value would have predictably improved the
reliability and sensitivity of TORFS impedance based electrode connection verification system.
Regarding claim 5, TORFS further teaches wherein the control circuit is further configured to determine a degree of capacitive coupling of the adjacent AFE corresponding to the second adjacent electrode (as taught by impedance detection modules 100 including capacitors CS 1, amplifiers A1 and A2, and AC current generators AC1 and AC2 configured to inject AC current signals IS1 and IS2 through adjacent electrodes E1 and E2 for impedance based electrical characterization, as shown in FIG. 1B and described in paragraphs [0030]- [0033], determining impedance related electrical characteristics associated with adjacent
electrodes and corresponding amplifier circuitry using AC excitation signals and voltage
measurements through conductive biological media via impedances Z1 and Z2 shown in
FIG. 1B, adjacent electrode signal acquisition and impedance evaluation through corresponding
amplifier circuitry associated with electrodes E1 and E2).
However, TORFS does not explicitly teach by sweeping a reference signal applied to a gate terminal of the first PMOS transistor of each first CVC from among the plurality of first CVCs.
Yang in a relevant art teaches PMOS transistor based current source circuitry associated with electrode signal paths, including anodic current drivers 404 and PMOS current source structures shown in FIGS. 4, 7, and 8, calibration circuitry 214 and comparator circuitry 504 configured to evaluate electrical operating characteristics associated with electrode routing circuitry and analog front end circuitry, as shown in FIGS. 4, 5A-5D, and 7, current DAC and replication circuitry 402 configured to generate controllable reference signals associated with PMOS current driver circuitry shown in FIGS. 4 and 7, electrical calibration and monitoring operations associated with electrode signal paths using controllable analog circuitry and selectable electrode routing paths through DCAN 408 and electrode selector circuitry 506 shown in FIGS. 4 and 5D, PMOS current source control circuitry configured to establish and adjust electrical operating conditions associated with selected electrode paths.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to determine the degree of capacitive coupling of the adjacent AFE in TORFS by sweeping a reference signal associated with PMOS current source circuitry using the calibration and controllable current source circuitry taught by Yang because Yang expressly teaches controllable calibration and current source circuitry associated with PMOS based electrode routing and analog front end systems.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that sweeping a reference signal applied to PMOS current source circuitry while evaluating impedance related characteristics would have predictably enabled more accurate determination of capacitive coupling associated with adjacent AFEs and electrode signal paths in TORFS's impedance based verification system.
Regarding claim 6, TORFS further teaches wherein the control circuit is further configured to verify a second connection from among the plurality of second connections (as taught by paragraph [0031], which states that the impedance based system performs "detecting whether and how well an electrode is making contact to the body" and "assessing the quality and variation over time of the electrode connection," using impedance based current paths associated with electrodes E1 and E2 shown in FIG. 18, impedance based electrical signal paths formed through adjacent electrodes E1 and E2 and conductive biological tissue/body 20 through impedances Z1 and Z2 shown in FIG. 18 and described in paragraphs [0030]- [0033], adjacent electrode signal acquisition and impedance determination using amplifiers A1 and A2 associated with electrodes E1 and E2 shown in FIG. 18.
However, TORF does not explicitly teach by determining whether the electrical signal path is formed between the first adjacent electrode, the second adjacent electrode, and the target electrode.
Yang in a relevant art teaches selective establishment of electrical signal paths associated with multiple electrodes using dynamic current allocation network (DCAN) 408 configured to selectively electrically connect current driver circuitry to selected electrodes 210 in electrode array 102, as shown in FIG. 4, electrode selection circuitry 506 configured to selectively route electrical signal paths associated with selected electrodes, as shown in FIG. 5D,
PMOS/NMOS current routing circuitry configured to establish electrical signal paths among selected electrodes and analog front end circuitry, as shown in FIGS. SA-SC, 7, and 8, residual voltage monitor 128 configured to monitor electrical conditions associated with routed electrode signal paths, as shown in FIGS. 18, 4, and 6A, analog front end circuitry 118 associated with selectively routed electrode signal paths with in electrode array 102 shown in FIGS. 18 and 4.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to verify the second connection in TORFS by determining whether an electrical signal path is formed between adjacent electrodes and a target electrode using the selective electrode routing and monitoring circuitry taught by Yang because Yang expressly teaches selectively establishing and monitoring electrical signal paths among multiple electrodes in a multi electrode biological interface system.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that incorporating Yang's selective
electrode routing architecture into TORFS impedance based connection verification system
would have predictably enabled verification of electrical connections by determining whether
electrical signal paths are formed among adjacent electrodes and target electrodes during impedance based connection analysis.
Regarding claim 7, TORFS further teaches wherein the control circuit is further configured to verify the second connection (as taught by paragraph [0031], which states that the impedance based system performs "detecting whether and how well an electrode is making contact to the body" and “assessing the quality and variation over time of the electrode connection" using impedance based electrical measurements associated with electrodes E1 and E2 shown in FIG. 1B, impedance based electrical signal paths associated with multiple electrodes and conductive biological media through impedances Z1 and Z2 between electrodes E1/E2 and body/tissue 20 shown in FIG. 1B and described in paragraphs [0030]- [0033], electrical path determination using adjacent electrodes E1 and E2 and corresponding
impedance paths associated with conductive biological tissue/body 20).
However, TORFS does not explicitly teach by determining whether an impedance path is formed by a first impedance corresponding to the first adjacent electrode, a second impedance corresponding to the target electrode, and a third impedance corresponding to the second adjacent electrode.
Yang in a relevant art teaches selective establishment of electrical signal paths associated with multiple electrodes using dynamic current allocation network (DCAN) 408 configured to selectively electrically connect current driver circuitry to selected electrodes 210 within electrode array 102, as shown in FIG. 4, PMOS/NMOS routing circuitry configured to establish electrical current paths among selected electrodes and analog front end circuitry, as shown in FIGS. 5A-5C, 7, and 8, residual voltage monitor 128 and calibration circuitry 214 configured to monitor electrical conditions associated with routed electrode signal paths, as shown in FIGS. 1B, 4, 6A, and 7, electrode selection circuitry 506 configured to selectively route electrical paths among multiple electrodes, as shown in FIG. 5D, analog front end circuitry 118 associated with selectively established electrode signal paths within electrode array 102 shown in FIGS. 1B and 4.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to verify the second connection in TORFS by determining whether an impedance path is formed among adjacent electrodes and a target electrode using the
selectively routed electrode signal paths and monitoring circuitry taught by Yang because Yang
expressly teaches establishing and monitoring electrical signal paths among multiple electrodes
in a multi electrode biological interface system.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that incorporating Yang's selective
electrode routing and monitoring circuitry into TORFS's impedance based verification system
would have predictably enabled determination of impedance paths formed among multiple
adjacent electrodes and target electrodes during impedance based connection analysis.
Regarding claim 8, TORFS further teaches the plurality of AF Es (as shown by impedance detection modules 100 including amplifiers A1 and A2 respectively connected to electrodes E 1 and E2 in FIG. 1B, analog front end circuitry configured to acquire impedance related electrode signals using amplifier circuitry associated with electrodes E1 and E2 and AC current generators
AC1 and AC2 shown in FIG. 1B and described in paragraphs [0030]- [0033].
TORFS does not explicitly teach wherein the plurality of AFEs comprises a direct conversion AFE.
Yang in a relevant art teaches analog front end circuitry 118 coupled to electrode array 102, as shown in FIG. 1B, current DAC and replication circuitry 402, comparator circuitry 504, calibration circuitry 214, and residual voltage monitor 128 configured to directly process and monitor electrode associated analog signals through analog front end circuitry, as shown in
FIGS. 4, SA-5D, and 7, PMOS/NMOS current driver and signal routing circuitry configured to directly process electrode associated electrical signals through analog front end circuitry associated with electrode array 102, as shown in FIGS. 4, SA-5D, 7, and 8, analog front end circuitry configured for direct processing and monitoring of electrode associated signals in a multi electrode biological interface system.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the AFEs of TORFS as direct conversion AFEs using the analog front end signal processing architecture taught by Yang because Yang expressly teaches direct analog processing and monitoring of electrode associated signals using integrated analog front end circuitry in a multi electrode biological interface system.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that implementing TORFS's
impedance based electrode verification system using direct conversion AFEs would have
predictably simplified analog signal processing and improved integration efficiency for
electrode associated signal acquisition and monitoring.
Regarding claim 9, TORFS further teaches the first NMOS transistor, as represented by transistor based circuitry associated with impedance detection modules 100, amplifiers A1 and A2, and current generation circuits 40 configured to acquire impedance related signals associated with electrodes E1 and E2 shown in FIG. 1B and described in paragraphs [0030]-[0033], transistor based analog front end circuitry configured to process impedance related
electrical signals associated with electrode connection verification through conductive
biological media.
TORFS does not explicitly teach wherein the first NMOS transistor comprises a diode connected NMOS transistor.
Yang in a relevant art teaches NMOS transistor circuitry associated with current driver and signal routing circuitry shown in FIGS. 5A-5C, 7, and 8, PMOS/NMOS current source and current routing circuitry configured to establish and control electrical signal paths associated with selected electrodes in electrode array 102, as shown in FIGS. 4, 5A 5D, 7, and 8, transistor level analog circuitry associated with current DAC and replication circuitry 402, anodic current drivers 404, cathodic current drivers 406, and calibration circuitry 214 shown in FIGS. 4 and 7, analog integrated circuit design using PMOS/NMOS transistor configurations for current source and signal routing operations associated with electrode verification and monitoring circuitry.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the first NMOS transistor of TORFS as a diode connected NMOS transistor using the transistor level analog current routing and current control techniques taught by Yang because diode connected NMOS configurations were well known equivalent structures for establishing controlled current paths and bias conditions in analog integrated circuit current routing systems.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that using a diode connected NMOS transistor in TORFS's impedance based connection verification circuitry would have predictably provided stable biasing and controllable current path formation associated with electrode verification operations.
Regarding claim 10, TORFS further teaches wherein the control circuit is further configured to verify the second connection (as taught by paragraph [0031], which states that the impedance based system performs "detecting whether and how well an electrode is making contact to the body" and "assessing the quality and variation over time of the electrode connection" using impedance based electrical measurements associated with electrodes E1 and E2 shown in FIG. 1B, impedance based electrical signal paths associated with adjacent electrodes E1 and E2 through conductive biological tissue/body 20 and impedances Z1 and Z2 shown in FIG. 1B and described in paragraphs [0030] (0033], current generation circuitry associated with adjacent electrode paths using AC current generators AC1 and AC2 configured to inject current signals IS1 and IS2 through electrodes E1 and E2 shown in FIG. 1B).
TORFS does not explicitly teach by determining whether the electrical signal path is formed between the first PMOS transistor and a second PMOS transistor included in the adjacent AFE.
Yang in a relevant art teaches PMOS current source circuitry associated with selected electrode paths, including anodic current drivers 404 and PMOS current source structures shown in FIGS. 4, 7, and 8, current DAC and replication circuitry 402 configured to establish and control current paths associated with multiple selected electrodes within electrode array 102, as shown in FIG. 4, PMOS/NMOS routing circuitry configured to selectively establish electrical signal paths among selected electrode associated analog front end circuitry, as shown in FIGS.
5A 5C, 7, and 8, dynamic current allocation network (DCAN) 408 and electrode selector circuitry 506 configured to selectively route electrical signal paths among multiple electrode associated current driver circuits shown in FIGS. 4 and 5D, residual voltage monitor 128 and calibration circuitry 214 configured to monitor electrical conditions associated with routed signal paths among selected electrode circuitry shown in FIGS. 1B, 4, 6A, and 7.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to verify the second connection in TORFS by determining whether an electrical signal path is formed between PMOS current source circuitry associated with adjacent AFEs using the selectively routed PMOS current driver circuitry taught by Yang because Yang expressly teaches selectively establishing and monitoring electrical signal paths among multiple PMOS current source paths associated with selected electrodes in a multi electrode biological interface system.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that incorporating Yang's PMOS based current routing architecture into TORFS's impedance based verification system would have predictably enabled verification of electrical signal paths formed between PMOS current source circuitry associated with adjacent AFEs during impedance based connection analysis.
Regarding claim 11, TORFS further teaches the control circuit further comprises a second CVC corresponding to the target electrode (as suggested by impedance detection modules 100 and associated current generation circuitry 40 corresponding to electrodes E1 and E2 shown in FIG. 1B, wherein each electrode associated circuit performs impedance based connection verification operations, electrode associated current generation circuitry configured to inject current signals IS1 and IS2 through electrodes E1 and E2 using AC current generators AC1 and AC2 shown in FIG. 1Band described in paragraphs [0030] [0033], impedance based verification of electrode associated electrical signal paths through conductive biological tissue/body 20 and corresponding impedances Z1 and Z2 shown in FIG. 1B, adjacent electrode verification operations using amplifier circuitry A1 and A2 associated with adjacent electrodes E 1 and E2).
TORFS does not explicitly teach wherein the second CVC comprises a second PMOS transistor configured to operate as a current source for the target electrode.
Yang in a relevant art teaches PMOS current source circuitry associated with selected electrodes, including anodic current drivers 404 and PMOS current source structures shown in FIGS. 4, 7, and 8, current DAC and replication circuitry 402 configured to establish and control current paths associated with selected electrodes within electrode array 102 shown in FIG. 4, dynamic current allocation network (OGAN) 408 configured to selectively electrically connect PMOS current source circuitry to selected electrodes 210 shown in FIG. 4, PMOS/NMOS transistor based current routing circuitry configured to establish electrical signal paths associated with selected electrodes and analog front end circuitry shown in FIGS. 5A 5C, 7, and 8, analog front end circuitry 118 associated with electrode array 102 and selectively routed
PMOS current driver circuitry shown in FIG. 1B.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the electrode associated verification circuitry of TORFS using a second PMOS transistor configured to operate as a current source for a target electrode as taught by Yang because Yang expressly teaches PMOS current source circuitry selectively associated with target electrodes in a multi electrode biological interface system.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that incorporating Yang's PMOS
current source architecture into TORFS's impedance based connection verification circuitry would have predictably enabled controllable current injection and verification operations associated with target electrodes during impedance based connection analysis.
Regarding claim 12, TORFS further teaches wherein the control circuit is further configured to verify the second connection (as taught by paragraph [0031], which states that the impedance based system performs "detecting whether and how well an electrode is making contact to the body" and "assessing the quality and variation over time of the electrode connection" using impedance based electrical measurements associated with electrodes E1 and E2 shown in FIG. 1B, electrode associated current generation circuitry configured to inject current signals IS1 and IS2 through electrodes E1 and E2 using AC current generators AC1 and AC2 shown in FIG. 1B and described in paragraphs [0030] [0033], impedance based electrical signal paths associated with adjacent electrodes E1 and E2 through conductive biological tissue/body 20 and corresponding impedances Z1 and Z2 shown in FIG. 1B, adjacent electrode verification operations using amplifier circuitry A1 and A2 associated with adjacent electrodes E1 and E2).
TORFS does not explicitly teach by activating the second PMOS transistor and sequentially activating the first NMOS transistor corresponding to each first adjacent electrode from among the plurality of electrodes.
Yang in a relevant art teaches PMOS current source circuitry associated with selected electrodes, including anodic current drivers 404 and PMOS current source structures shown in FIGS. 4, 7, and 8, NMOS transistor based signal routing circuitry associated with selected electrode paths shown in FIGS. 5A-5C, 7, and 8, dynamic current allocation network (DCAN) 408 configured to selectively electrically connect current driver circuitry to selected electrodes 210 in a controlled sequence shown in FIG. 4, electrode selector circuitry 506 configured to selectively activate electrode associated routing circuitry associated with selected electrodes shown in FIG. 5D, current DAC and replication circuitry 402 configured to control activation of
current source circuitry associated with selected electrode paths shown in FIG. 4, analog front end circuitry 118 associated with selectively activated electrode routing circuitry in electrode array 102 shown in FIG. 1B.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to verify the second connection in TORFS by activating a PMOS current source transistor and sequentially activating NMOS routing transistors associated with adjacent electrodes using the selectively controlled routing architecture taught by Yang because Yang expressly teaches selective and sequential activation of electrode associated current routing circuitry in a multi electrode biological interface system.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that incorporating Yang's selectively activated PMOS/NMOS routing circuitry into TORFS's impedance based verification system would have predictably enabled controlled sequential verification of electrical signal paths associated with adjacent electrodes during impedance based connection analysis.
Regarding claim 13, TORFS further teaches a verification device configured to verify electrode connections using impedance-based electrical measurements. In particular, detecting whether electrodes are properly connected and assessing electrode connection quality using impedance measurement circuitry. See paragraphs [0030]-[0033], further electrode associated analog front end circuitry A1 and A2 connected to electrodes E1 and E2, respectively, as shown in Fig. 1B and discussed in paragraphs [0030]-[0033], current generation circuitry AC1 and Ae2 configured to inject current signals IS1 and IS2 through electrode-associated impedance paths Z1 and Z2, as shown in Fig. 1B and described in paragraphs [0030]-[0033], control circuitry configured to determine whether conductive electrical signal paths exist between electrode associated circuitry using impedance measurements, as described in paragraphs [0031 ]-[0033].
TORF does not explicitly teach determining whether the electrical signal path is formed by activating a first PMOS transistor of a first eve connected to a target AFE and activating a first NMOS transistor of a first eve connected to an adjacent AFE.
However Yang in a relevant art teaches selectively activated PMOS and NMOS transistor circuitry associated with electrode-connected analog front end circuitry, PMOS transistor circuitry included in anodic current drivers 404 and PMOS driver structures 410 shown in Figs. 4, 5A, 7, and 8, as discussed in paragraphs [0045]-[0052], NMOS transistor circuitry included in cathodic current drivers 406 and NMOS driver structures 412 shown in Figs. 4, 5B, 7, and 8, as discussed in paragraphs [0045]-[0052], dynamic current allocation network (DCAN) 408 configured to selectively electrically connect current driver circuitry to selected electrodes and associated analog front end circuitry, as shown in Fig. 4 and described in paragraphs [0046]-[0049], electrode selector circuitry 506 configured to selectively activate electrode associated
routing paths corresponding to selected electrodes, as shown in Fig. 5D and discussed
in paragraphs [0053]-[0055], analog front end circuitry 118 associated with selectively activated electrode paths in electrode array 102, as shown in Figs. 1B and 4 and described in paragraphs
[0038]-[0049].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify TORF’s impedance based connection verification system to determine whether an electrical signal path is formed between a target AFE and an adjacent AFE using selectively activated PMOS and NMOS transistor circuitry as taught by Yang
because Yang expressly teaches selectively enabling transistor based current driver and routing
paths associated with electrode AFEs in a multi electrode biological interface system.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that incorporating Yang's selectively
controlled PMOS and NMOS routing architecture into TORF’s impedance based verification
system would have predictably enabled controlled formation and verification of electrical signal
paths between selected AFEs and adjacent AFEs during impedance based connection analysis,
thereby improving controllability and selectivity of electrode path verification.
Regarding claim 14, TORFS does not explicitly teach verify an operation between the adjacent AFE and the first PMOS transistor by directly connecting the first PMOS transistor to the first NMOS transistor without the culture medium.
However, Yang in a relevant art teaches PMOS transistor circuitry included in anodic current drivers 404 and PMOS driver structures 410 shown in Figs. 4, SA, 7, and 8, as discussed in paragraphs [0045]- [0052], NMOS transistor circuitry included in cathodic current drivers 406 and NMOS driver structures 412 shown in Figs. 4, 5B, 7, and 8, as discussed in paragraphs [0045]-[0052], transistor level routing and current driver circuitry configured to directly electrically connect PMOS and NMOS routing structures within analog front end circuitry 118 shown in Figs. 4, 7, and 8 and described in paragraphs [0045]- [0052], dynamic current allocation network (DCAN) 408 and electrode selector circuitry 506 configured to selectively establish direct electrical routing paths between transistor associated signal paths and analog front end circuitry as shown in Figs. 4 and 5D and discussed in paragraphs [0046]- [0055], calibration and monitoring circuitry configured to verify operation of current driver circuitry independent of biological tissue impedance paths using calibration circuitry 214 and residual voltage monitor circuitry 128 shown in Figs. 2, 4, 6A, and 7 and discussed in paragraphs [0042]-[0058].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify TORFS impedance based verification system to verify operation
between an adjacent AFE and PMOS transistor circuitry by directly connecting PMOS and
NMOS transistor circuitry without relying on the culture medium, as taught by Yang, because
Yang expressly teaches transistor level routing, calibration, and monitoring circuitry configured
to establish direct electrical verification paths independent of electrode tissue impedance paths.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that incorporating Yang's direct
PMOS/NMOS routing and calibration architecture into TORFS impedance based verification
system would have predictably enabled improved internal circuit operation verification, fault
isolation, and signal path testing independent of conductive biological media.
Regarding claim 15, TORFS does not explicitly teach a selection logic circuit configured to activate a first target eve connected to at least one target cell corresponding to a verification target from among the plurality of first eves.
However, Yang in a relevant art teaches digital circuits 202 configured to control selective activation of electrode-associated circuitry as shown in Fig. 2 and described in paragraphs [0040]-[0044], dynamic current allocation network (DCAN) 408 configured to selectively electrically connect current driver circuitry to selected electrodes and corresponding analog front end circuitry as shown in Fig. 4 and discussed in paragraphs [0046]- [0049], electrode selector circuitry 506 configured to selectively activate electrode associated
routing paths corresponding to selected electrodes shown in Fig. 50 and discussed in
paragraphs [0053]-[0055], analog front-end circuitry 118 associated with selectively activated electrode paths within electrode array 102 shown in Figs. 1B and 4 and described in paragraphs [0038]-[0049], selectively controlled current driver circuitry associated with selected stimulation electrodes shown in Figs. 4, 5D, and 7.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify TORFS impedance based verification system to include a selection logic circuit configured to activate target verification circuitry associated with selected target cel ls using the selective electrode routing and activation circuitry taught by Yang because Yang expressly teaches selectively activating electrode associated circuitry corresponding to selected electrodes within a multi electrode biological interface system.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that incorporating Yang's selection and routing logic into TORFS impedance based verification architecture would have predictably enabled selective activation of target connection verification circuitry associated with designated target cells during impedance based connection analysis, thereby improving scalability, controllability, and verification efficiency in multi electrode systems.
Regarding claim 16, TORFS does not explicitly teach calculate a distribution of the at least one target cell by activating the first target CVC using the selection logic circuit.
However Yang in a relevant art teaches digital circuits 202 configured to selectively control activation of electrode associated circuitry shown in Fig. 2 and described in paragraphs [0040]-[0044], dynamic current allocation network (DCAN) 408 configured to selectively electrically connect current-driver circuitry to selected electrodes and corresponding analog
front end circuitry shown in Fig. 4 and discussed in paragraphs [0046]-[0049], electrode selector circuitry 506 configured to selectively activate electrode associated routing circuitry corresponding to selected electrodes shown in Fig. 5D and discussed in paragraphs [0053]-[0055], analog front end circuitry 118 associated with selectively activated electrode paths within electrode array 102 shown in Figs. 1B and 4 and described in paragraphs [0038]-[0049],
selectively controlled electrode activation and signal acquisition associated with selected
electrode locations in a multi electrode array system.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify TORFS impedance based verification system to calculate a distribution of target cells by selectively activating target verification circuitry using selection logic circuitry as taught by Yang because Yang expressly teaches selective activation and routing of electrode associated circuitry corresponding to selected electrode locations in a
multi electrode array system.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that incorporating Yang's selection logic and selective activation architecture into TORFS impedance based verification system would have predictably enabled controlled acquisition of electrode associated measurements from selected electrode locations for determining spatial distribution characteristics associated with target cells, thereby improving scalability and selectivity of multi electrode biological analysis.
Regarding claim 17, TORFS does not explicitly teach detect a small cell that is smaller than the target cell by performing image reconstruction, based on a magnitude of a voltage applied between electrodes adjacent to the target cell being changed as a current path changes, due to a cell membrane of the target cell having an impedance greater than an
impedance of a surrounding cell.
However, Yang in a relevant art teaches analog front-end circuitry 118 configured to acquire electrical signals associated with selected electrode paths in electrode array 102 shown in Figs. 1B and 4 and described in paragraphs [0038]-[0049], dynamic current allocation network (DCAN) 408 configured to selectively route current paths between selected electrodes shown in Fig. 4 and discussed in paragraphs [0046]-[0049], PMOS/NMOS current driver circuitry configured to selectively establish current paths associated with selected electrodes shown in Figs. 4, 5A-5D, 7, and 8 and discussed in paragraphs [0045]-[0055], residual voltage monitor circuitry 128 and calibration circuitry 214 configured to monitor voltage changes associated with selected electrode signal paths shown in Figs. 1B, 4, 6A, and 7 and described in paragraphs [0042]-[0058], selectively controlled electrode associated signal acquisition configured to monitor electrical changes associated with varying electrode current paths in a multi electrode
array system.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify TORFS impedance based verification system to perform image reconstruction using voltage changes associated with varying current paths through adjacent electrodes as taught by Yang because Yang expressly teaches selectively controlled current path routing and voltage monitoring associated with electrode array signal acquisition systems.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that incorporating Yang's selectively controlled current routing and voltage monitoring architecture into TORFS impedance based verification system would have predictably enabled spatial reconstruction of impedance related biological characteristics associated with cells of differing impedance properties, thereby improving detection resolution and analysis capability in multi electrode biological interface systems.
Regarding claim 18, TORFS does not explicitly teach wherein the verification device comprises a drug screening device.
However, Yang in a relevant art teaches a multi electrode biological interface system including electrode array 102, analog front end circuitry 118, and selectively controlled current driver circuitry configured for biological stimulation and signal acquisition shown in Figs. 1A, 1B, and 4 and described in paragraphs [0038] - [0049], electrode array based biological monitoring and stimulation systems configured to interface with biological tissue using selectively controlled electrode associated circuitry, analog front end and signal acquisition circuitry configured for biological analysis and monitoring applications using multi electrode array architectures, selectively controlled biological interface circuitry suitable for scalable biological monitoring and analysis systems. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement TORFS impedance based biological verification system within a drug screening device using the scalable multi electrode biological interface architecture taught by Yang because Yang expressly teaches scalable multi electrode biological interface systems configured for biological monitoring and signal acquisition applications.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that incorporating Yang's scalable
multi electrode biological interface architecture into TORFS impedance based biological
verification system would have predictably enabled use of the verification system in drug
screening environments involving biological cell monitoring and analysis, thereby improving
scalability and applicability of the system for biological testing applications.
Regarding claim 19, the method recited is intrinsic to the apparatus recited in claim 1, as disclosed by TORFS (U.S. Publication 20150119747) in view of Yang (U.S. Publication 20180193647) as the recited method steps will be performed during the normal operation of the apparatus, as discussed above with regard to claim 1.
Regarding claim 20, the structure recited is intrinsic to the method recited in claim 19, as disclosed by TORFS (U.S. Publication 20150119747) in view of Yang (U.S. Publication 20180193647) as the recited structure will be used during the normal operation of the method, as discussed above with regard to claim 19. TORFS as modified further teaches programming unit [0045] fully capable of executing preprogrammed instructions.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Shambroom (US Publication 20030006782) discloses System And Method For Measuring Bioelectric Impedance In The Presence Of Interference.
/TAQI R NASIR/Examiner, Art Unit 2858
/LEE E RODAK/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2858