DETAILED ACTION
1. This is a first office action in response to application no. 18/923,192 filed on October 22, 2024 in which claims 2-22 are presented for examination. The Applicant filed a preliminary amendment on January 27, 2025 to cancel claim 1, and to add claims 2-22.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
4. Claims 2, 4, 8, 10, 14, 16 and 20-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Sun et al. (US Patent Application Publication no. 2019/0082193).
Regarding claim 2, Sun discloses a video decoder for decoding a picture from a data stream, the video decoder comprising at least one processor, the at least one processor (See Sun [0008]) configured to: for an inter-predicted block of the picture, identify, using a motion vector (See Sun [0004], [0027]), a first referenced area that is located beyond a border of a reference picture (See Sun [0008] “outside a picture boundary”), and a second reference area that is located within the border of the reference picture (See Sun [0027] “within the picture boundary”); select a padding mode for padding the first referenced area, based on an indication in the data stream, generate padding for the first referenced area, using the selected padding mode (See Sun [0007]-[0008] “use reference pixels in the first picture to pad pixels outside”); and predict the inter-predicted block of the picture using the padded reference area and the second reference area (See Sun [0086]).
As per claim 8, Sun discloses a method for decoding a picture from a data stream, the method comprising: for an inter-predicted block of the picture, identifying, using a motion vector (See Sun [0004], [0027]), a first referenced area that is located beyond a border of a reference picture (See Sun [0008] “outside a picture boundary”) and a second reference area that is located within the border of the reference picture (See Sun [0027] “within the picture boundary”); selecting a padding mode for padding the first referenced area, based on an indication in the data stream, generating padding for the first referenced area, using the selected padding mode (See Sun [0007]-[0008] “use reference pixels in the first picture to pad pixels outside”); and predicting the inter-predicted block of the picture using the padded reference area and the second reference area (See Sun [0086]).
As per claim 14, Sun discloses a non-transitory computer readable medium containing instructions that when executed cause at least one processor (See Sun [0038] “non-transitory storage media” and [0008]) to: for an inter-predicted block of a picture, identify, using a motion vector(See Sun [0004], [0027]), a first referenced area that is located beyond a border of a reference picture (See Sun [0008] “outside a picture boundary”) and a second reference area that is located within the border of the reference picture(See Sun [0027] “within the picture boundary”); select a padding mode for padding the first referenced area, based on an indication in a data stream containing the picture, generate padding for the first referenced area, using the selected padding mode (See Sun [0007]-[0008] “use reference pixels in the first picture to pad pixels outside”); and predict the inter-predicted block of the picture using the padded reference area and the second reference area (See Sun [0086]).
As per claim 20, Sun discloses a video encoder for encoding a picture from a data stream, the video encoder comprising at least one processor (See Sun’s Abstract, [0008]), the at least one processor (See Sun [0008]) configured to: encode an indication of a padding mode in the data stream; for an inter-predicted block of the picture (See Sun [0084]), identify, using a motion vector, a first referenced area that is located beyond a border of a reference picture and a second reference area that is located within the border of the reference picture (See Sun [0080] “ In the case where the motion vector points to a block outside the frame boundary”); generate padding for the first referenced area, using the padding mode (See Sun [0007]-[0008] “use reference pixels in the first picture to pad pixels outside”); and predict the inter-predicted block of the picture using the padded reference area and the second reference area (See Sun [0086]).
As per claim 21, Sun discloses a method for encoding a picture from a data stream (See Sun’s Abstract), the method comprising: encoding an indication of a padding mode in the data stream; for an inter-predicted block of the picture (See Sun [0084]), identifying, using a motion vector, a first referenced area that is located beyond a border of a reference picture and a second reference area that is located within the border of the reference picture (See Sun [0080] “ In the case where the motion vector points to a block outside the frame boundary”); generating padding for the first referenced area, using the padding mode (See Sun [0007]-[0008] “use reference pixels in the first picture to pad pixels outside”); and predicting the inter-predicted block of the picture using the padded reference area and the second reference area (See Sun [0086]).
As per claim 22, Sun discloses a non-transitory computer readable medium containing instructions that when executed cause at least one processor (See Sun [0038] “non-transitory storage media” and [0008]) to: encode an indication of a padding mode in a data stream (See Sun [0084]); for an inter-predicted block of a picture in the data stream, identify, using a motion vector, a first referenced area that is located beyond a border of a reference picture and a second reference area that is located within the border of the reference picture(See Sun [0080] “ In the case where the motion vector points to a block outside the frame boundary”); generate padding for the first referenced area, using the padding mode(See Sun [0007]-[0008] “use reference pixels in the first picture to pad pixels outside”); and predict the inter-predicted block of the picture using the padded reference area and the second reference area (See Sun [0086]).
As per claims 4, 10 and 16, most of the limitations of these claims have been noted in the above rejection of claims 1, 8 and 14. In addition, Sun further teaches decoding a signal of the data stream and determine the indication based on the decoded signal (See Sun [0045] and [0062]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
7. Claims 3, 5-6, 9, 11-12, 15, 17 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sun et al. (US Patent Application Publication no. 2019/0082193) in view of He et al. (US Patent Application Publication no. 2019/0215532).
Regarding claims 3, 9 and 15, most of the limitations of these claims have been noted in the above rejections of claims 2, 8 and 14.
It is noted that Sun is silent about wherein the padding mode is either an omnidirectional mode or a perpendicular mode.
However, He teaches wherein the padding mode is either an omnidirectional mode or a perpendicular mode (See He [0155] “The repetitive padding may be employed as an example in the hybrid padding. One or more other padding methods (e.g., the face-based padding in FIG. 14, the perpendicular-extrapolation based and/or the diagonal-extrapolation based padding in FIG. 15, and/or the like) may be applied in the hybrid padding to pad the samples that may be outside the valid region of padded samples for the unicube projection format.”).
Therefore, it is considered obvious that one skilled in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would recognize the advantage of modifying Sun’s padding mode to incorporate He’s teachings wherein the padding mode is either an omnidirectional mode or a perpendicular mode. the motivation for performing such a modification in Sun is to apply geometry padding to derive the corresponding sample value based on any geometry structure represented in a video as taught by He (See He [0155]).
As per claims 5, 11, and 17, most of the limitations of these claims have been noted in the above rejection of claims 4, 10 and 16.
It is noted that Sun is silent about wherein the signal is in at least one of a picture parameter set and a sequence parameter set.
However, He teaches wherein the signal is in at least one of a picture parameter set and a sequence parameter set (See He [0144]).
Therefore, it is considered obvious that one skilled in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would recognize the advantage of modifying Sun to incorporate He’s teachings wherein the signal is in at least one of a picture parameter set and a sequence parameter set is to be able to pad any region of any size as taught by He (See He [0158]).
As per claims 6, 12 and 18, most of the limitations of these claims have been noted in the above rejection of claims 2, 8 and 14.
It is noted that Sun is silent about wherein the border is an external picture border or an inner picture border that separates portions of different picture content.
However, He teaches wherein the border is an external picture border or an inner picture border that separates portions of different picture content (See He [0005]-[0006] and [0009]).
Therefore, it is considered obvious that one skilled in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would recognize the advantage of modifying Sun to incorporate He’s teachings wherein the border is an external picture border or an inner picture border that separates portions of different picture content. The motivation for performing such a modification in Sun is to determine the proper location of the padding sample.
8. Claims 7, 13 and 19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The claims are allowable over the prior art of record since the references taken individually or in combination, in addition to the limitations of the independent claims 2, 8 and 14,… “divide a picture plane of a video that includes the picture and the reference picture into spatial segments in a manner static over at least two pictures of the video, wherein the spatial segments are independently coded with respect to entropy coding, wherein the border of the reference picture is a segment border of a predetermined spatial segment in the reference picture, within which the inter-predicted block is located.”
9. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
See the Notice of References Cited (PTO-892).
/GIMS S PHILIPPE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2424