DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to the amendment filed on 06/24/2026
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because of the following informalities. Regarding Fig. 5, reference numeral 458 should be removed from the drawing or described in the specification, because reference characters not mentioned in the description shall not appear in the drawings. See 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5).
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: In [0030], “the converter AC side switchgear module 434 are sandwiched” appears that it should read as “the converter AC side switchgear module 434 is sandwiched”.
In [0034], “electronic components and/or mechanical components and located” appears that it should read as “electronic components and/or mechanical components are located”.
In [0038], “The height of the second converter module 410 is the vertical dimension of the second converter module 410” appears that it should read as “The height of the second converter module 412 is the vertical dimension of the second converter module 412”, because reference numeral 410 designates the first converter module and the remainder of [0038] is directed to the second converter module 412.
In [0053], “In some embodiments, the first and second transformer modules 446, 448 are formed as part of the main structure of the topside platform 402. This may lower the center of gravity (and/or centre of mass) of the topside platform 402.” appears that it should be deleted, because [0053] is a duplicate of [0051].
In [0054], “converter AC side switchgear 446” appears that it should read as “converter AC side switchgear module 434”, because reference numeral 446 designates the first transformer module. This informality occurs twice in [0054].
In [0059], “The perspective view 490 comprises a first floor 490 comprises the first floor 404 of topside platform 402” appears that it should read as “The perspective view 490 comprises the first floor 404 of topside platform 402”, because reference numeral 490 designates the perspective view of Fig. 3b and the recitation is otherwise grammatically incomplete.
In [0065], “The second floor 400” appears that it should read as “The second floor 405”, because reference numeral 400 designates the offshore HVDC converter platform and Fig. 4 designates the second floor as 405.
In [0069], “the centre of the second floor 400” appears that it should read as “the centre of the second floor 405”, because reference numeral 400 designates the offshore HVDC converter platform and Fig. 4 designates the second floor as 405.
In [0077], “the converter AC side switchgear module 434 are sandwiched” appears that it should read as “the converter AC side switchgear module 434 is sandwiched”, because the recited subject is singular.
In [0081], “The topside platform 402 further comprises a second floor 405” appears that it should read as “The topside platform 602 further comprises a second floor 405”, because [0074] recites that the offshore HVDC converter platform 600 comprises a topside platform 602 and Fig. 6 designates the topside platform as 602.
In [0082], “the topside platform 402 further may comprise a third floor 406” appears that it should read as “the topside platform 602 further may comprise a third floor 406”, because [0074] recites that the offshore HVDC converter platform 600 comprises a topside platform 602 and Fig. 6 designates the topside platform as 602.
In [0086], “In some embodiments, the first and second transformer modules 446, 448 are formed as part of the main structure of the topside platform 602. This may lower the center of gravity (and/or centre of mass) of the topside platform 602.” appears that it should be deleted, because [0086] is a duplicate of [0085].
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Objections
Claims 1, 7, 11, 14, and 17 are objected to because of the following informalities: Regarding claim 1, in line 16, “is the same or similar to” appears that it should read as “is the same as or similar to”.
Regarding claim 7, in line 1, “the first and second converter modules” appears that it should read as “the first and second transformer modules”, because claim 7 as amended appears to be a duplicate of claim 2.
Regarding claim 11, in line 1-2, “the converter AC side switchgear” appears that it should read as “the converter AC side switchgear module”.
Regarding claim 14, in lines 5, 6, 7, and 8, “the center of mass” appears that it should read as “the centre of mass”, respectively, for consistent spelling.
Regarding claim 17, in line 4, “the z-axis” appears that it should read as “an x-axis”, because the specification describes the first converter module 410, the second converter module 412, and the incoming AC switchgear module 454 as being positioned parallel to one another along their length with the first and second converter modules at either side of the incoming AC switchgear module (see [0070] of the specification “The first converter module 410 and second converter 412 are positioned (along their length) parallel to the incoming AC switchgear module 454. Furthermore, the first converter module 410 and second converter 412 are positioned either side of the incoming AC switchgear module 454.”), the length of each of those modules being measured along the z axis (see [0062], [0063], and [0064] of the specification), such that Fig. 4 depicts those three modules arranged in a row extending along the x axis.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 1, in lines 15-18, the limitation “a combined length of the first and second transformer modules and the converter AC side switchgear module is the same or similar to an individual length of the first converter module and/or the second converter module and/or the incoming AC switchgear module” is indefinite. The term “similar” is a relative term of degree. The term is not defined by the claim, and the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree; the specification merely repeats the claim language (see [0049] of the specification) and supplies no numerical tolerance, ratio, percentage, or other objective measure by which the recited similarity is to be judged. The same undefined expression is used elsewhere in the specification without any standard (see [0041] and [0070] of the specification). One of ordinary skill in the art therefore would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(b). For purposes of examination, the limitation “a combined length of the first and second transformer modules and the converter AC side switchgear module is the same or similar to an individual length of the first converter module and/or the second converter module and/or the incoming AC switchgear module” is interpreted as requiring that the first and second transformer modules together with the converter AC side switchgear module span substantially the same dimension of the topside platform as is spanned by any one of the first converter module, the second converter module, and the incoming AC switchgear module, no particular numerical tolerance being required, consistent with [0030], [0040], and [0049] of the specification.
Regarding claim 16, in lines 2-3, the limitation “a symmetrical butterfly arrangement” renders the claim to be indefinite as the term “butterfly arrangement” is not defined by the claim, is not a recognized term of art in the field of offshore converter platform layout, and the specification merely repeats the phrase without describing the geometry, angle, or spatial relationship that the term requires (see [0040] of the specification). It is therefore unclear what arrangements of the first and second converter modules fall within the scope of the claim and what arrangements do not. For purposes of examination, “a symmetrical butterfly arrangement” is interpreted as an arrangement in which the first converter module and the second converter module are positioned at the same elevation on the topside platform and are arranged symmetrically about a vertical axis that is substantially perpendicular to the second floor, consistent with [0040] of the specification “The first converter module 410 and the second converter module 412 are positioned at the same elevation/level on the topside platform 402.” and [0101] of the specification “The first converter module and second converter module may be arranged symmetrically about a vertical axis, wherein the vertical axis may be substantially perpendicular to the second floor of the topside platform.”
Dependent claims 2-17 of claim 1 inherit the deficiencies of claim 1 and are therefore also rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph.
Claims 9-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), fourth paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends.
Regarding claim 9, claim 1 as amended already recites “wherein a converter AC side switchgear module is positioned between the first and second transformer modules”. Claim 9 recites “wherein the converter AC side switchgear module is sandwiched between the first transformer module and the second transformer module”. The specification expressly treats the two recitations as equivalent (see [0030] of the specification “The first transformer module 446 and second transformer module 448 are positioned at either side of the converter AC side switchgear module 434. In other words, the converter AC side switchgear module 434 are sandwiched between the first transformer module 446 and second transformer module 448.”). Claim 9 therefore does not further limit the subject matter of claim 1.
Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Dependent claims 10 and 11 of claim 9 inherit the deficiencies of claim 9 and are therefore also rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), fourth paragraph.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Brown (US Patent Application Publication US 2021/0273421 A1) in view of Liu et al. (Chinese Patent Application Publication CN 115360742 A, hereinafter “Liu”) and further in view of Liu Sheng (“Research on Compact Layout of Large Capacity Offshore Flexible DC Converter Station,” Southern Energy Construction, Vol. 8, No. 1, pp. 45-50, March 2021, hereinafter “Liu Sheng”).
Regarding claim 1, as best understood, Brown discloses (see Fig. 3 and Fig. 4) a topside platform (202) for a voltage source converter high voltage direct current (VSC HVDC) symmetrical monopole offshore converter station (204), the topside platform comprising: a first floor and a second floor (upper and lower sublevels 230, see [0027] of Brown “the utility module 208 and the rectifier modules 206a, 206b may each include therein a plurality of sublevels 230 (two are shown in the utility module 208) to facilitate equipment placement, maintenance, and the like.”), an incoming alternating current (AC) switchgear module (328, see “155KV SWITCH GEAR” of Fig. 4), and first and second transformer modules (left-side and right-side 322), wherein the incoming AC switchgear module is configured to distribute a first AC signal from an AC grid (“AC POWER IN” of Fig. 4) to the first and second transformer modules (see [0034] of Brown “From the 155 KV switchgear 328, the AC power is split between two blocks of transformers 322 which step the voltage up to 400 KV.”), wherein the first and second transformer modules are configured to transform the first AC signal into a second AC signal (AC signal from 322 “TRANSFORMER” to 458 “400KV SWITCH GEAR”); and first and second converter modules (see 206a comprising left-side 348, 344; and 206b comprising right-side 348, 344) configured to convert the second AC signal into a direct current (DC) signal for a DC circuit (442a + 348 and 442b + 348 converting AC signal received from 458), wherein the incoming AC switchgear module is positioned between the first and second converter modules (see [0025] of Brown “The utility module 208 is disposed between, and coupled to (electrically and/or physically), the rectifier modules 206a, 206b.” where 328 is disposed within 208 and is therefore positioned between the converter comprising left-side 348, 344 and the converter comprising right-side 348, 344), wherein a converter AC side switchgear module (458) is positioned between the first and second transformer modules (see [0033] of Brown “The switchgear 328 represents systems, relays, and disconnects for both AC power and DC power to control the flow of each.” where 458 is a switchgear also included in 328, which is positioned between left-side 322 and right-side 322 in Fig. 3).
Brown does not disclose wherein the first and second transformer modules are arranged on the first floor of the topside platform, and wherein the first and second converter modules are positioned on the second floor of the topside platform.
However, Liu teaches (see Fig. 1, Fig. 3, and Fig. 7) wherein the first and second transformer modules (4) are arranged on the first floor of the topside platform (the upper layer of the platform main building, i.e. see Fig. 7 for the plan view at E-E) (see [0036] of Liu “the upper layer of the platform main building is provided with a straight flow field and bridge arm reactor chamber 3, a connecting transformer 4 and a valve side power distribution device chamber 5”), and wherein the first and second converter modules (1, comprising converter valve 10) are positioned on the second floor of the topside platform (the lower layer of the platform main building, i.e. see Fig. 3 for the plan view at A-A) (see [0007] of Liu “the lower layer of the platform main building is provided with a valve hall, a network side power distribution device chamber and an auxiliary function room”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the topside platform of Brown wherein the first and second transformer modules are arranged on the first floor of the topside platform, and wherein the first and second converter modules are positioned on the second floor of the topside platform, as taught by Liu, because it can help place the heaviest equipment where it can be lifted by a crane vessel while lowering the centre of gravity of the platform structure and reducing the overall platform size.
Brown does not disclose wherein a combined length of the first and second transformer modules and the converter AC side switchgear module is the same or similar to an individual length of the first converter module and/or the second converter module and/or the incoming AC switchgear module.
However, Liu Sheng teaches (see Figs. 5-7) wherein a combined length of the first and second transformer modules and the converter AC side switchgear module (the connecting transformer room and the valve-side GIS room arranged on the upper deck of the platform) is the same or similar to an individual length of the first converter module and/or the second converter module and/or the incoming AC switchgear module (the valve hall and the AC access GIS room arranged on the lower deck of the platform) (see p. 47 of Liu Sheng “In order to match the dimensions of the upper and lower layers of the platform, consideration is given to flexibly arranging the functional rooms on each layer.”; see also p. 49 of Liu Sheng “In order to match the dimensions of the upper and lower ends of the platform, and at the same time to satisfy the smooth electrical connection between the various items of equipment, the bridge-arm reactor room is arranged above the valve hall and the DC room, and the AC access GIS room and the valve-side GIS room are arranged in upper and lower layers at the side of the valve hall and the DC room, so as to make full use of the space in the height direction of the valve hall.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the topside platform of Brown wherein a combined length of the first and second transformer modules and the converter AC side switchgear module is the same or similar to an individual length of the first converter module and/or the second converter module and/or the incoming AC switchgear module, as taught by Liu Sheng, because it can help match the dimensions of the upper and lower decks of the platform and thereby minimize the overall footprint, size, and steel weight of the topside platform, since it has been held that where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device. Gardner v. TEC Systems, Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984).
Regarding claim 2, as best understood, Brown discloses (see Fig. 3) wherein a centre of mass of the first and second converter modules is substantially vertically aligned with a centre of mass of the topside platform (see [0020] of Brown “The rectifier modules 206a, 206b are positioned at opposite ends of the structural jacket 203 with the utility module 208 disposed therebetween.” where the combined center of mass of 206a and 206b is therefore substantially vertically aligned with the center of mass of the topside platform 202).
Regarding claim 3, as best understood, Brown discloses (see Fig. 3) wherein the first floor and the second floor are positioned vertically separated on the topside platform (see [0027] of Brown “the utility module 208 includes a plurality of sublevels 230 therein, such as two sublevels 230, while each of the rectifier modules 206a, 206b includes a single sublevel 230.” where the two sublevels 230 are vertically separated from one another).
Regarding claim 4, as best understood, Brown does not disclose wherein the incoming AC switchgear module is positioned on the second floor of the topside platform.
However, Liu teaches (see Fig. 3) wherein the incoming AC switchgear module (2) is positioned on the second floor of the topside platform (the lower layer of the platform main building, i.e. see Fig. 3 for the plan view at A-A) (see [0007] of Liu “the lower layer of the platform main building is provided with a valve hall, a network side power distribution device chamber and an auxiliary function room”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the topside platform of Brown wherein the incoming AC switchgear module is positioned on the second floor of the topside platform, as taught by Liu, because it can help make full use of the space of the lower layer outside the valve hall and shorten the electrical connections between the incoming switchgear and the converter valves.
Regarding claim 5, as best understood, Brown discloses (see Fig. 3) wherein a centre of mass of the incoming AC switchgear module is substantially vertically aligned with a centre of mass of the topside platform (see [0025] of Brown “The utility module 208 is disposed between, and coupled to (electrically and/or physically), the rectifier modules 206a, 206b.” where 328 is disposed within 208 such that the center of mass of 328 is substantially vertically aligned with the center of mass of the topside platform 202).
Regarding claim 6, as best understood, Brown discloses (see Fig. 3) wherein a length of the incoming AC switchgear module (see vertical side of 328) is parallel to a length of the first converter module and/or the second converter module (see vertical side of 206a, 206b; where the vertical side of 328 is parallel to the vertical side of 206a and 206b).
Regarding claim 7, as best understood, Brown discloses (see Fig. 3) wherein a centre of mass of the first and second converter modules is substantially vertically aligned with a centre of mass of the topside platform (see [0020] of Brown “The rectifier modules 206a, 206b are positioned at opposite ends of the structural jacket 203 with the utility module 208 disposed therebetween.” where the combined center of mass of 206a and 206b is therefore substantially vertically aligned with the center of mass of the topside platform 202). Examiner’s Note: to the extent applicant intended claim 7 to recite “the first and second transformer modules”, Brown discloses (see Fig. 3) wherein a centre of mass of the first and second transformer modules is substantially vertically aligned with a centre of mass of the topside platform (see Fig. 3, where the center of mass of left-side and right-side 322 is substantially vertically aligned with the center of mass of the topside platform 202).
Regarding claim 8, as best understood, Brown discloses (see Fig. 3) wherein a centre of mass of the first transformer module and the second transformer module is substantially vertically aligned with a centre of mass of the incoming AC switchgear module (see Fig. 3, where left-side 322 and right-side 322 are positioned on opposite sides of 328 such that their combined center of mass is substantially vertically aligned with the center of mass of 328).
Regarding claim 9, as best understood, Brown discloses (see Fig. 3 and Fig. 4) wherein the converter AC side switchgear module (see 458 of Fig. 4) is sandwiched between the first transformer module and the second transformer module (see [0033] of Brown “The switchgear 328 represents systems, relays, and disconnects for both AC power and DC power to control the flow of each.” where 458 is a switchgear also included in 328, which is positioned between left-side 322 and right-side 322 in Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 10, as best understood, Brown does not disclose wherein the converter AC side switchgear module is positioned on the first floor of the topside platform.
However, Liu teaches (see Fig. 7) wherein the converter AC side switchgear module (5, a 550 kV gas insulated switchgear room) is positioned on the first floor of the topside platform (the upper layer of the platform main building, i.e. see Fig. 7 for the plan view at E-E) (see [0036] of Liu “the upper layer of the platform main building is provided with a straight flow field and bridge arm reactor chamber 3, a connecting transformer 4 and a valve side power distribution device chamber 5”; see also [0040] of Liu “the valve side power distribution device chamber 5 is 550kV GIS chamber”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the topside platform of Brown wherein the converter AC side switchgear module is positioned on the first floor of the topside platform, as taught by Liu, because it can help keep the valve side switchgear adjacent to the connecting transformers on the same layer and thereby ensure smooth electrical connection while reducing the length of the connecting conductors.
Regarding claim 11, as best understood, Brown discloses (see Fig. 3 and Fig. 4) wherein a centre of mass of the converter AC side switchgear (458) is substantially vertically aligned with a centre of mass of the topside platform (see [0033] of Brown “The switchgear 328 represents systems, relays, and disconnects for both AC power and DC power to control the flow of each.” where 458 is a switchgear also included in 328, and where 328 is disposed within 208 which is positioned between 206a and 206b such that the center of mass of 328 is substantially vertically aligned with the center of mass of the topside platform 202).
Regarding claim 12, as best understood, Brown discloses (see Fig. 3) further comprising a first platform auxiliary module (left-side 350 of Fig. 3, see [0030] of Brown “The utility blocks 350 each include one or more utility systems, such as heating and cooling systems, fire monitoring and protection system, as well as the control room and control systems, among other components, that are associated with supporting the operation of the rectifiers 342 and the reactors 348.”) positioned on a third floor of the topside platform (see [0031] of Brown “In one example, the reactor hall 346 is positioned on a level above the utility block 350.” where the left-side 350 is positioned on a level below the converter comprising left-side 346, 344, i.e. on a third floor of the topside platform distinct from the floor on which the converter is positioned).
Regarding claim 13, as best understood, Brown discloses (see Fig. 3) further comprising a second platform auxiliary module (right-side 350 of Fig. 3) arranged on the third floor of the topside platform (see [0031] of Brown “In one example, the reactor hall 346 is positioned on a level above the utility block 350.” where the right-side 350 is positioned on a level below the converter comprising right-side 346, 344, i.e. on the same third floor of the topside platform as the left-side 350).
Regarding claim 14, as best understood, Brown discloses (see Fig. 3) wherein a centre of mass of the first platform auxiliary module is substantially vertically aligned with a centre of mass of the first converter module and a centre of mass of the second platform auxiliary module is substantially vertically aligned with a centre of mass of the second converter module (see [0031] of Brown “In one example, the reactor hall 346 is positioned on a level above the utility block 350.” where the left-side 350 is located on a level below the first converter, i.e. comprising left-side 346 and 344, thus the center of mass of the left-side 350 would be substantially vertically aligned with the center of mass of the converter comprising left-side 346 and 344; and where the right-side 350 is located on a level below the second converter, i.e. comprising right-side 346 and 344, thus the center of mass of the right-side 350 would be substantially vertically aligned with the center of mass of the converter comprising right-side 346 and 344).
Regarding claim 15, as best understood, Brown does not disclose further comprising an AC and/or DC cables module positioned below the incoming AC switchgear module.
However, Liu teaches (see Fig. 1) further comprising an AC and/or DC cables module (61, through which the alternating current cable 60 and the direct current cable 63 are routed) positioned below the incoming AC switchgear module (2) (see [0036] of Liu “the lower layer of the platform main building is further provided with a cable well 61, the upper end of the cable well 61 extends to the upper layer of the platform main building” where 61 is shown in Fig. 1 at the lower part of the platform main building beneath 2).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the topside platform of Brown further comprising an AC and/or DC cables module positioned below the incoming AC switchgear module, as taught by Liu, because it can help provide a dedicated cable passage that ensures smooth electrical connection between the equipment while reducing the influence of the cable routing on the size of the rooms.
Regarding claim 16, as best understood, Brown discloses (see Fig. 3) wherein the first converter module and the second converter module are positioned in a symmetrical butterfly arrangement (206a, 206b) (see [0020] of Brown “In another example, the rectifier modules 206a, 206b mirror one another.”; see also [0020] of Brown “The rectifier modules 206a, 206b are positioned at opposite ends of the structural jacket 203 with the utility module 208 disposed therebetween.” where 206a and 206b are positioned at the same elevation at opposite ends of the structural jacket 203 and are therefore arranged as mirror images symmetrically about a vertical axis passing through the utility module 208 and substantially perpendicular to the floor on which 206a and 206b are positioned).
Brown does not disclose wherein the first converter module and the second converter module are positioned on the second floor.
However, Liu teaches (see Fig. 3) wherein the first converter module and the second converter module (1, comprising converter valve 10) are positioned on the second floor (the lower layer of the platform main building, i.e. see Fig. 3 for the plan view at A-A) (see [0007] of Liu “the lower layer of the platform main building is provided with a valve hall, a network side power distribution device chamber and an auxiliary function room”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the topside platform of Brown wherein the first converter module and the second converter module are positioned in a symmetrical butterfly arrangement on the second floor, as taught by Liu, because it can help place the largest rooms at the lower layer, which is beneficial for lowering the centre of gravity of the platform structure.
Regarding claim 17, as best understood, Brown discloses (see Fig. 3) wherein the first transformer module, the converter AC side switchgear module, and the second transformer module are arranged along an axis (see Fig. 3, where left-side 322, 328 including 458, and right-side 322 are arranged in a row), and wherein the first converter module, the incoming AC switchgear module, and the second converter module are arranged along the same axis (see [0025] of Brown “The utility module 208 is disposed between, and coupled to (electrically and/or physically), the rectifier modules 206a, 206b.” where the converter comprising left-side 348, 344, the switchgear 328 disposed within 208, and the converter comprising right-side 348, 344 are arranged in a row along the same axis in Fig. 3).
Brown does not disclose wherein the first transformer module, the converter AC side switchgear module, and the second transformer module are arranged along a z-axis of the first floor, and wherein the first converter module, the incoming AC switchgear module, and the second converter module are arranged along an x-axis of the second floor.
However, Liu teaches (see Fig. 3 and Fig. 7) wherein the first transformer module, the converter AC side switchgear module, and the second transformer module (the connecting transformer 4 and the valve side power distribution device chamber 5, arranged in a row along a horizontal axis of the upper layer of the platform main building, see Fig. 7) are arranged along a z-axis of the first floor (see [0036] of Liu “the upper layer of the platform main building is provided with a straight flow field and bridge arm reactor chamber 3, a connecting transformer 4 and a valve side power distribution device chamber 5”; see also [0037] of Liu “the connecting transformer 4 is set on the middle of the upper layer of the platform main building, the valve side power distribution device chamber 5 is located at one side of the connecting transformer 4 far away from the straight flow field and the bridge arm reactor chamber 3”), and wherein the first converter module, the incoming AC switchgear module, and the second converter module (the valve hall 1 and the network side power distribution device chamber 2, arranged in a row along a horizontal axis of the lower layer of the platform main building, see Fig. 3) are arranged along an x-axis of the second floor (see [0007] of Liu “the lower layer of the platform main building is provided with a valve hall, a network side power distribution device chamber and an auxiliary function room”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the topside platform of Brown wherein the first transformer module, the converter AC side switchgear module, and the second transformer module are arranged along a z-axis of the first floor, and wherein the first converter module, the incoming AC switchgear module, and the second converter module are arranged along an x-axis of the second floor, as taught by Liu, because it can help distribute the equipment between an upper layer and a lower layer of the platform main building while preserving the process flow order of the electrical connections between the equipment.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed 06/24/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding applicant’s argument on page 8 of the reply that Brown’s transformers 322 are located within the utility module 208 and not in separate transformer modules on a different floor from the converter modules, the examiner respectfully disagrees. Claim 1 does not recite that the first and second transformer modules are housings, enclosures, or structures physically separate from any other module of the topside platform; the claim recites only that the first and second transformer modules are arranged on the first floor and are configured to transform the first AC signal into a second AC signal. Brown discloses two distinct blocks of transformers 322 (see [0034] of Brown “From the 155 KV switchgear 328, the AC power is split between two blocks of transformers 322 which step the voltage up to 400 KV.”), which meet the claimed first and second transformer modules under the broadest reasonable interpretation. Moreover, the rejection does not rely on Brown for the recitation that the transformer modules are arranged on a floor different from that of the converter modules; that recitation is taught by Liu, as set forth above.
Regarding applicant’s argument on page 8 of the reply that Brown does not disclose a converter AC side switchgear module positioned between the first and second transformer modules, the examiner respectfully disagrees. Brown discloses a 400 KV switchgear 458 electrically downstream of the transformers 322 and upstream of the rectifier banks 442a, 442b (see [0034] of Brown “The AC power then flows to the 400 KV switchgear 458 before being directed to rectifier banks.”), which is a converter AC side switchgear, and further discloses that the switchgear 328 shown in the plan arrangement of Fig. 3 between the left-side transformers 322 and the right-side transformers 322 represents the switchgear systems of the utility module 208 for both AC power and DC power (see [0033] of Brown “The switchgear 328 represents systems, relays, and disconnects for both AC power and DC power to control the flow of each.”). It is further noted that this mapping was set forth in the rejection of claim 9 in the Non-Final Rejection mailed 04/09/2026 and was not traversed in applicant’s reply.
Regarding applicant’s argument on page 8 of the reply that neither Brown nor Liu, individually or in combination, teaches or suggests the dimensional relationship recited in amended claim 1, this argument is moot in view of the new ground of rejection set forth above, in which Liu Sheng is relied upon for that limitation.
Regarding applicant’s arguments on page 9 of the reply that new claims 16 and 17 are not taught or suggested by Brown or Liu, the examiner respectfully disagrees for the reasons set forth in the rejections of claims 16 and 17 above. It is further noted that claims 16 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b), and that claim 17 is objected to, as set forth above.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MONICA LEWIS/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2838
/JYE-JUNE LEE/Examiner, Art Unit 2838