DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore,
a locking device, from claims 12, 14, 16 and 18
a padlock, a shaft lock pin, a cable, a carabiner and a clip from claims 14, 16 and 18.
must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
Paragraph [0001], line 2 “2024 and” should be - - 2024 now U.S. Patent No. 12,151,603 issued November 26, 2024 and - -.
Appropriate correction is required.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-13, 15 and 17 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-13 and 15 of U.S. Patent No. 12,151,603. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claimed limitations required of claims 1-13, 15 and 17 of the instant application are claimed in claims 1-13 and 15, respectively, of U.S. Patent No. 12,151,603.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The term “about” in claim 1 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “about” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. It is suggested to amend to - - rotatable to a second axis - -.
The term “substantially” in claim 1 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “substantially” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. It is suggested to amend to - - is perpendicular to - -.
The term “substantially” in claim 2 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “substantially” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. It is suggested to amend to - - a plane parallel to - -.
The term “about” in claim 15 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “about” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. It is suggested to amend to - - the housing to a second axis - -.
The term “substantially” in claim 15 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “substantially” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. It is suggested to amend to - - is perpendicular to - -.
The term “substantially” in claim 16 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “substantially” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. It is suggested to amend to - - a plane parallel to - -.
The term “about” in claim 17 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “about” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. It is suggested to amend to - - rotatable to a second axis - -.
The term “substantially” in claim 17 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “substantially” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. It is suggested to amend to - - is perpendicular to - -.
The term “substantially” in claim 18 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “substantially” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. It is suggested to amend to - - a plane parallel to - -.
Claims 3-14 are rejected as being dependent upon a rejected claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 4-8, 10, 15 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ruan et al. (US Patent No. 10,752,156 cited by applicant).
Regarding claim 1, Ruan et al. discloses a load binder apparatus comprising:
a housing (see annotated Fig. 4);
a shaft rotatably mounted at least partially in the housing, the shaft comprising a first gear (see annotated Figs. 2 and 4);
a first attachment member coupled with a first end or portion of the shaft (see annotated Fig. 4);
a second attachment member coupled with a second end or portion of the shaft (see annotated Fig. 4);
a second gear rotatably mounted to the housing and configured to engage the first gear to rotate the shaft around a first axis to move the first attachment member and the second attachment member in opposing directions along the first axis (see annotated Fig. 2); and
a lever pivotally mounted to the housing and configured to operate the second gear (see annotated Fig. 2);
wherein the second gear is rotatable about a second axis which is perpendicular, or substantially perpendicular to the first axis (see annotated Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 2, Ruan et al. discloses, wherein the lever pivots in a plane parallel to, or substantially parallel to the first axis (see Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 4, Ruan et al. discloses, wherein the first gear and the shaft are a unitary body (see annotated Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 5, Ruan et al. further discloses, comprising a ratchet mechanism to allow rotation of the second gear in one direction only (see annotated Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 6, Ruan et al. discloses, wherein the ratchet mechanism comprises a third gear coupled to the second gear, and a pawl member configured to engage the third gear (see annotated Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 7, Ruan et al. discloses, wherein the pawl member comprises at least two mating members engageable with the third gear to limit rotation of the third gear in a clockwise direction or an anti-clockwise direction (see annotated Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 8, Ruan et al. discloses, wherein a first portion of the shaft comprises a first thread in a first direction and a second portion of the shaft comprises a second thread in a second direction (see annotated Fig. 4).
Regarding claim 10, Ruan et al. discloses, wherein the first attachment member and the second attachment member comprise one or more of the following: a chain link; a lashing hook; a claw hook; a ring; an eyelet; a buckle; a jaw (see annotated Fig. 4).
Regarding claim 15, Ruan et al. discloses a method for securing a load with a load binder apparatus (see Col. 1, lines 26-31), the method comprising:
attaching a first attachment member of the load binder apparatus to a first attachment point (14) (see annotated Fig. 4);
attaching a second attachment member of the load binder apparatus to a second attachment point (14) (see annotated Fig. 4);
wherein the first attachment member is coupled with a first end or portion of a shaft rotatably mounted at least partially in a housing of the load binder apparatus and the second attachment member is coupled with a second end or portion of the shaft, the shaft comprising a first gear and rotatable around a first axis to move the first attachment member and the second attachment member in opposing directions along the first axis (see annotated Figs. 2 and 4); and
operating a lever pivotally mounted to the housing to rotate a second gear rotatably mounted to the housing about a second axis which is perpendicular or substantially perpendicular to the first axis, the second gear configured to engage the first gear (see annotated Figs. 2 and 4).
Regarding claim 17, Ruan et al. discloses a load binder apparatus kit comprising:
a housing (see annotated Fig. 4);
a shaft rotatably mountable at least partially in the housing, the shaft comprising a first gear (see annotated Figs. 2 and 4);
a first attachment member couplable with a first end or portion of the shaft (see annotated Fig. 4);
a second attachment member couplable with a second end or portion of the shaft (see annotated Fig. 4);
a second gear rotatably mountable to the housing and configured to engage the first gear to rotate the shaft around a first axis to move the first attachment member and the second attachment member in opposing directions along the first axis (see annotated Figs. 2 and 4); and
a lever pivotally mountable to the housing and configured to operate the second gear (see annotated Figs. 2 and 4);
wherein, when assembled, the second gear is rotatable about a second axis which is perpendicular or substantially perpendicular to the first axis (see annotated Figs. 2 and 4).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ruan et al. (US Patent No. 10,752,156 cited by applicant), in view of Cone (US Patent No. 2,482,655).
Regarding claim 3, Ruan et al. discloses the claimed invention except for the first gear and/or the second gear is a helical gear or a screw gear.
However, Cone teaches the first gear 32 and/or the second gear 34 is a helical gear (see Fig. 1).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to replace the first and second gears from Ruan et al. with the helical gears from Cone in order to reduce the numbers of mechanical gears inside the housing.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ruan et al. (US Patent No. 10,752,156 cited by applicant), in view of Johnson (US Patent No. 2,822,199).
Regarding claim 9, Ruan et al. discloses the claimed invention except for the first attachment member and the second attachment member comprise an internal thread to engage the first end of the shaft and the second end of the shaft, respectively
However, Johnson teaches the first attachment member (2) and the second attachment member (2a) comprise an internal thread (5) to engage the first end of the shaft and the second end of the shaft (8), respectively (see Figs. 1 and 2)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to replace the first attachment member and the second attachment member from Ruan et al., with the attachment members with internal thread from Johnson, in order to protect thread from debris.
Claims 11-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ruan et al. (US Patent No. 10,752,156 cited by applicant), in view of Kay (US Patent No. 7,249,907).
Regarding claim 11, Ruan et al. discloses the claimed invention except for a locking arrangement to secure the lever in at least one position.
However, Kay teaches a locking arrangement to secure the lever in at least one position (see annotated Fig. 3).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the load binder apparatus from Ruan et al. with a locking arrangement as taught by Kay in order to secure the lever during cargo transportation.
Regarding claim 12, the combination of Ruan et al. in view of Kay discloses, wherein the locking arrangement comprises at least one aperture in the housing configured to align with an aperture in the lever to receive a locking device therethrough to secure the lever in position (see annotated Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 13, the combination of Ruan et al. in view of Kay discloses, wherein the at least one aperture is provided in an elongate raised portion of the housing and the lever comprises a channel extending therethrough to receive the elongate raised portion (see annotated Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 14, the combination of Ruan et al. in view of Kay discloses, wherein the locking device is one of the following: a padlock; a shaft lock pin; a cable; a carabiner; a clip (see annotated Fig. 3).
Claims 16 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ruan et al. (US Patent No. 10,752,156 cited by applicant), in view of Cone (US Patent No. 2,482,655), Johnson (US Patent No. 2,822,199), and Kay (US Patent No. 7,249,907).
Regarding claim 16, Ruan et al. discloses, wherein the load binder apparatus kit comprises any one or more of the following:
wherein the lever pivots in a plane parallel to, or substantially parallel to the first axis (see annotated Figs. 2 and 4);
wherein the first gear and the shaft are a unitary body (see annotated Fig. 2);
a ratchet mechanism to allow rotation of the second gear in one direction only (see annotated Fig. 2);
wherein the ratchet mechanism comprises a third gear coupled to the second gear, and a pawl member configured to engage the third gear (see annotated Fig. 2);
wherein the pawl member comprises at least two mating members engageable with the third gear to limit rotation of the third gear in a clockwise direction or an anti-clockwise direction (see annotated Fig. 2);
wherein a first portion of the shaft comprises a first thread in a first direction and a second portion of the shaft comprises a second thread in a second direction (see annotated Fig. 4);
wherein the first attachment member and the second attachment member comprise one or more of the following: a chain link; a lashing hook; a claw hook; a ring; an eyelet; a buckle; a jaw (see annotated Fig. 4);
Ruan et al. discloses the claimed invention except for,
wherein the first gear and/or the second gear is a helical gear or a screw gear;
wherein the first attachment member and the second attachment member comprise an internal thread to engage the first end of the shaft and the second end of the shaft, respectively;
a locking arrangement to secure the lever in at least one position;
wherein the locking arrangement comprises at least one aperture in the housing configured to align with an aperture in the lever to receive a locking device therethrough to secure the lever in position;
wherein the at least one aperture is provided in an elongate raised portion of the housing and the lever comprises a channel extending therethrough to receive the elongate raised portion;
wherein the locking device is one of the following: a padlock; a shaft lock pin; a cable; a carabiner; a clip.
However, Cone teaches the first gear (32) and/or the second gear (34) is a helical gear (see Fig. 1).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to replace the first and second gears from Ruan et al. with the helical gears from Cone in order to reduce the numbers of mechanical gears inside the housing.
Also, Johnson teaches the first attachment member (2) and the second attachment member (2a) comprise an internal thread (5) to engage the first end of the shaft and the second end of the shaft (8), respectively (see Figs. 1 and 2)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to replace the first attachment member and the second attachment member from Ruan et al., with the attachment members with internal thread from Johnson, in order to protect thread from debris.
Kay teaches a locking arrangement to secure the lever in at least one position (see annotated Fig. 3);
wherein the locking arrangement comprises at least one aperture in the housing configured to align with an aperture in the lever to receive a locking device therethrough to secure the lever in position (see annotated Fig. 3);
wherein the at least one aperture is provided in an elongate raised portion of the housing and the lever comprises a channel extending therethrough to receive the elongate raised portion (see annotated Fig. 3);
wherein the locking device is one of the following: a padlock; a shaft lock pin; a cable; a carabiner; a clip (see annotated Fig. 3).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the load binder apparatus from Ruan et al. with a locking arrangement as taught by Kay in order to secure the lever during cargo transportation.
Regarding claim 18, Ruan et al. discloses, wherein the load binder apparatus kit comprises any one or more of the following:
wherein the lever pivots in a plane parallel to, or substantially parallel to the first axis (see annotated Figs. 2 and 4);
wherein the first gear and the shaft are a unitary body (see annotated Fig. 2);
a ratchet mechanism to allow rotation of the second gear in one direction only (see annotated Fig. 2);
wherein the ratchet mechanism comprises a third gear coupled to the second gear, and a pawl member configured to engage the third gear (see annotated Fig. 2);
wherein the pawl member comprises at least two mating members engageable with the third gear to limit rotation of the third gear in a clockwise direction or an anti-clockwise direction (see annotated Fig. 2);
wherein a first portion of the shaft comprises a first thread in a first direction and a second portion of the shaft comprises a second thread in a second direction (see annotated Fig. 4);
wherein the first attachment member and the second attachment member comprise one or more of the following: a chain link; a lashing hook; a claw hook; a ring; an eyelet; a buckle; a jaw (see annotated Fig. 4);
Ruan et al. discloses the claimed invention except for,
wherein the first gear and/or the second gear is a helical gear or a screw gear;
wherein the first attachment member and the second attachment member comprise an internal thread to engage the first end of the shaft and the second end of the shaft, respectively;
a locking arrangement to secure the lever in at least one position;
wherein the locking arrangement comprises at least one aperture in the housing configured to align with an aperture in the lever to receive a locking device therethrough to secure the lever in position;
wherein the at least one aperture is provided in an elongate raised portion of the housing and the lever comprises a channel extending therethrough to receive the elongate raised portion;
wherein the locking device is one of the following: a padlock; a shaft lock pin; a cable; a carabiner; a clip.
However, Cone teaches the first gear (32) and/or the second gear (34) is a helical gear (see Fig. 1).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to replace the first and second gears from Ruan et al. with the helical gears from Cone in order to reduce the numbers of mechanical gears inside the housing.
Also, Johnson teaches the first attachment member (2) and the second attachment member (2a) comprise an internal thread (5) to engage the first end of the shaft and the second end of the shaft (8), respectively (see Figs. 1 and 2)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to replace the first attachment member and the second attachment member from Ruan et al., with the attachment members with internal thread from Johnson, in order to protect thread from debris.
Kay teaches a locking arrangement to secure the lever in at least one position (see annotated Fig. 3);
wherein the locking arrangement comprises at least one aperture in the housing configured to align with an aperture in the lever to receive a locking device therethrough to secure the lever in position (see annotated Fig. 3);
wherein the at least one aperture is provided in an elongate raised portion of the housing and the lever comprises a channel extending therethrough to receive the elongate raised portion (see annotated Fig. 3);
wherein the locking device is one of the following: a padlock; a shaft lock pin; a cable; a carabiner; a clip (see annotated Fig. 3).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the load binder apparatus from Ruan et al. with a locking arrangement as taught by Kay in order to secure the lever during cargo transportation.
Conclusion
/LOUIS A. MERCADO/
Examiner
Art Unit 3677
/JASON W SAN/ SPE, Art Unit 3677