DETAILED ACTION
Notice of Preliminary Amendment
2. The Examiner acknowledges the amended claims filed on 12/27/2024.
- Claim 1 has been amended.
- Claims 2-33 have been added.
Priority
3. Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim for foreign priority based on an application filed in Japan on 08/12/2024. It is noted, however, that applicant has not filed a certified copy of the JP2014-164154 application as required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
4. The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 11/24/2025 and 10/22/2024 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97 and were considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
5. Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: Claim 1, line 2 recites “an image sensor”. Similarly, claim 1; line 9 recites “control an image sensor”. It is unclear if the “image sensor” of line 9 refers to a second and different image sensor or if the image sensor of line 9 is related and it is supposed to refer back to the image sensor of line 2. Appropriate correction is required.
Double Patenting
7. Claims 1-33 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-33 of Kasa et al. (U.S. Patent No. 12,200,346).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they are both claiming substantially the same features.
Note the following similarities between the application claims and the patent claims.
Instant Application No. 18/923,242
US Patent 12,200,346
Claim 1
An information processing device comprising: an image sensor; a touch screen display, and
control circuitry configured to: select a shoot mode from a plurality of shoot modes by user input operation to a touch screen display; control a touch screen display to display a touch graphical user interface (GUI) including a movable display object on a slider including a first position and a second position;
control an image sensor to begin capturing one or more images in the selected shoot mode in response to detecting in a movement of a user finger from the first position on the touch screen display to the second position on the touch screen display, and
control the touch screen display to display an animation moving the movable display object to the first position in response to detecting ceasing of a touching of the touch screen display.
Claim 1
An information processing device comprising:
control circuitry configured to: control a touch screen display to display a touch graphical user interface (GUI) including a movable display object on a slider including a first position, a second position, and a third position, each position associated with a different operation mode of the information processing device;
controlling an image sensor to begin capturing one or more images in a continuous shoot mode in response to detecting a movement of a user finger from the first position on the touch screen display to the third position on the touch screen display, and
controlling the touch screen display to display an animation moving the movable display object to the first position in response to detecting a ceasing of a touching of the touch screen display, wherein a display of the GUI other than the movable display object is configured to rotate when the touch screen display is switched between a vertical orientation and a horizontal orientation, but a direction of detecting the movement of the user finger from the first position to the second position and from the first position to the third position with respect to the touch screen display does not change when the GUI is switched between the vertical orientation and the horizontal orientation.
Claim 2
The information processing device of claim 1, wherein the control circuitry is further configured to operate a first operation in response to detecting a maintaining of a touching of the touch screen display at the first position for a predetermined amount of time.
Claim 2
The information processing device of claim 1, wherein the control circuitry is further configured to operate a first operation in response to detecting a maintaining of a touching of the touch screen display at the first position for a predetermined amount of time.
Claim 3
The information processing device of claim 1, wherein the control circuitry is further configured to stop capturing the one or more images in a second imaging mode in response to detecting the ceasing of the touching of the touch screen display.
Claim 3
The information processing device of claim 1, wherein the control circuitry is further configured to stop capturing the one or more images in a second imaging mode in response to detecting the ceasing of the touching of the touch screen display.
Claim 4
The information processing device of claim 1, wherein the control circuitry is further configured to end capturing the one or more images in a continuous shoot mode in response to detecting the ceasing of the touching of the touch screen display.
Claim 4
The information processing device of claim 1, wherein the control circuitry is further configured to end capturing the one or more images in the continuous shoot mode in response to detecting the ceasing of the touching of the touch screen display.
Claim 5
The information processing device of claim 1, wherein the control circuitry is further configured to move the movable display object back toward the first position in response to detecting a ceasing of touching of the touch screen display.
Claim 5
The information processing device of claim 1, wherein the control circuitry is further configured to move the movable display object back toward the first position in response to detecting a ceasing of touching of the touch screen display.
Claim 6
The information processing device of claim 1, wherein the movable display object is initially displayed near a home button of the touch GUI.
Claim 6
The information processing device of claim 1, wherein the movable display object is initially displayed near a home button of the touch GUI.
Claim 7
The information processing device of claim 1, wherein the touch GUI includes a settings icon
Claim 7
The information processing device of claim 1, wherein the touch GUI includes a settings icon.
Claim 8
The information processing device of claim 1, wherein the touch GUI includes an icon for setting a camera imaging mode.
Claim 8
The information processing device of claim 1, wherein the touch GUI includes an icon for setting a camera imaging mode.
Claim 9
The information processing device of claim 1, wherein the touch GUI displays an icon for changing a zoom magnification of the image sensor.
Claim 9
The information processing device of claim 1, wherein the touch GUI displays an icon for changing a zoom magnification of the image sensor.
Claim 10
The information processing device of claim 1, wherein the touch GUI is displayed on a first portion of the touch screen display, and a through-image preview is shown on a second portion of the touch screen display, the second portion being distinct from the first portion.
Claim 10
The information processing device of claim 1, wherein the touch GUI is displayed on a first portion of the touch screen display, and a through-image preview is shown on a second portion of the touch screen display, the second portion being distinct from the first portion.
Claim 11
The information processing device of claim 1, wherein the touch GUI includes an icon for setting a camera imaging mode and an icon for changing a zoom magnification of the image sensor, and wherein the touch GUI is displayed on a first portion of the touch screen display, and a through-image preview is shown on a second portion of the touch screen display, the second portion being distinct from the first portion.
Claim 11
The information processing device of claim 1, wherein the touch GUI includes an icon for setting a camera imaging mode and an icon for changing a zoom magnification of the image sensor, and wherein the touch GUI is displayed on a first portion of the touch screen display, and a through-image preview is shown on a second portion of the touch screen display, the second portion being distinct from the first portion.
Claim 12
A non-transitory computer-readable medium storing instructions that, when executed by a processor, cause the processor to execute operations comprising: selecting a shoot mode from a plurality of shoot modes by user input operation to a touch screen display, displaying a touch graphical user interface (GUi) including a movable display object on a slider including a first position and second position, on a touch screen display;
controlling an image sensor to begin capturing one or more images in the selected mode in response to detecting a movement of a user finger, in a first direction of operation of the movable display object with respect to the touch screen display, from the first position on the touch screen display to the second position on the touch screen display, and
controlling the touch screen display to display an animation moving the movable display object to the first position in response to detecting a ceasing of a touching of the touch screen display.
Claim 12
A non-transitory computer-readable medium storing instructions that, when executed by a processor, cause the processor to execute operations comprising: displaying a touch graphical user interface (GUI) including a movable display object on a slider including a first position, a second position, and a third position on a touch screen display, each position associated with a different operation mode of an information processing device;
controlling an image sensor to begin capturing one or more images in a continuous shoot mode in response to detecting a movement of a user finger, in a first direction of operation of the movable display object with respect to the touch screen display, from the first position on the touch screen display to the third position on the touch screen display, and
controlling the touch screen display to display an animation moving the movable display object to the first position in response to detecting a ceasing of a touching of the touch screen display, wherein a display of the GUI other than the movable display object is configured to rotate when the touch screen display is switched between a vertical orientation and a horizontal orientation, but a direction of detecting the movement of the user finger from the first position to the second position and from the first position to the third position with respect to the touch screen display does not change when the GUI is switched between the vertical orientation and the horizontal orientation.
Claim 13
The non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 12, the operations further comprise: operating a first operation in response to detecting a maintaining of a touching of the touch screen display at the first position for a predetermined amount of time.
Claim 13
The non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 12, the operations further comprise: operating a first operation in response to detecting a maintaining of a touching of the touch screen display at the first position for a predetermined amount of time.
Claim 14
The non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 12, the operations further comprise: stopping capture of the one or more images in a second imaging mode in response to detecting the ceasing of the touching of the touch screen display.
Claim 14
The non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 12, the operations further comprise: stopping capture of the one or more images in a second imaging mode in response to detecting the ceasing of the touching of the touch screen display.
Claim 15
The non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 12, the operations further comprise: end capturing the one or more images in a continuous shoot mode in response to detecting the ceasing of the touching of the touch screen display.
Claim 15
The non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 12, the operations further comprise: end capturing the one or more images in the continuous shoot mode in response to detecting the ceasing of the touching of the touch screen display.
Claim 16
The non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 12, the operations further comprise: moving the movable display object back toward the first position in response to detecting the ceasing of the touching the touch screen display.
Claim 16
The non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 12, the operations further comprise: moving the movable display object back toward the first position in response to detecting the ceasing of the touching the touch screen display.
Claim 17
The non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 12, wherein the movable display object is initially displayed near a home button of the touch GUI.
Claim 17
The non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 12, wherein the movable display object is initially displayed near a home button of the touch GUI.
Claim 18
The non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 12, wherein the touch GUI includes a settings icon.
Claim 18
The non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 12, wherein the touch GUI includes a settings icon.
Claim 19
The non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 12, wherein the touch GUI includes an icon for setting a camera imaging mode.
Claim 19
The non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 12, wherein the touch GUI includes an icon for setting a camera imaging mode.
Claim 20
The non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 12, wherein the touch GUI displays an icon for changing a zoom magnification of the image sensor.
Claim 20
The non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 12, wherein the touch GUI displays an icon for changing a zoom magnification of the image sensor.
Claim 21
The non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 12, wherein the touch GUI is displayed on a first portion of the touch screen display, and a through-image preview is shown on a second portion of the touch screen display, the second portion being distinct from the first portion.
Claim 21
The non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 12, wherein the touch GUI is displayed on a first portion of the touch screen display, and a through-image preview is shown on a second portion of the touch screen display, the second portion being distinct from the first portion.
Claim 22
The non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 12, wherein the touch GUI includes an icon for setting a camera imaging mode and an icon for changing a zoom magnification of the image sensor, and wherein the touch GUI is displayed on a first portion of the touch screen display, and a through-image preview is shown on a second portion of the touch screen display, the second portion being distinct from the first portion.
Claim 22
The non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 12, wherein the touch GUI includes an icon for setting a camera imaging mode and an icon for changing a zoom magnification of the image sensor, and wherein the touch GUI is displayed on a first portion of the touch screen display, and a through-image preview is shown on a second portion of the touch screen display, the second portion being distinct from the first portion.
Claim 23
An information processing method comprising: selecting a shoot mode from a plurality of shoot modes by user input operation to a touch screen display, displaying a touch graphical user interface (GUI) including a movable display object on a slider including a first position and a second position on a touch screen display; and,
controlling an image sensor to begin capturing one or more images in the selected mode in response to detecting a first operation of a movement of a user finger from the first position on the touch screen display to the second position on the touch screen display, and
controlling the touch screen display to display an animation moving the movable display object to the first position in response to detecting a second operation of removal of the user finger from the touch screen display.
Claim 23
An information processing method comprising: displaying a touch graphical user interface (GUI) including a movable display object on a slider including a first position, a second position, and a third position on a touch screen display, each position associated with a different operation mode of an information processing device; and,
instructing an image sensor to begin capturing one or more images in a continuous shoot mode in response to detecting a first operation of a movement of a user finger from the first position on the touch screen display to the third position on the touch screen display, and
controlling the touch screen display to display an animation moving the movable display object to the first position in response to detecting a second operation of removal of the user finger from the touch screen display during capturing the one or more images in the continuous shoot mode, wherein a display of the GUI other than the movable display object is configured to rotate when the touch screen display is switched between a vertical orientation and a horizontal orientation, but a direction of detecting the first operation of the movement of the user finger from the first position to the second position and from the first position to the third position with respect to the touch screen display does not change when the GUI is switched between the vertical orientation and the horizontal orientation.
Claim 24
The information processing method of claim 23, further comprising: operating a first operation in response to detecting the operation of maintaining a touching of the touch screen display for a predetermined amount of time.
Claim 24
The information processing method of claim 23, further comprising: operating a first operation in response to detecting the operation of maintaining a touching of the touch screen display for a predetermined amount of time.
Claim 25
The information processing method of claim 23, further comprising: stopping capture of the one or more images in a second imaging mode in response to detecting a ceasing of the touching the touch screen display.
Claim 25
The information processing method of claim 23, further comprising: stopping capture of the one or more images in a second imaging mode in response to detecting a ceasing of the touching the touch screen display.
Claim 26
The information processing method of claim 23, further comprising: ending a continuous shoot mode in response to detecting a ceasing of touching of the touch screen display.
Claim 26
The information processing method of claim 23, further comprising: ending the continuous shoot mode in response to detecting a ceasing of touching of the touch screen display.
Claim 27
The information processing method of claim 23, further comprising: moving the movable display object back toward the first position in response to detecting a ceasing of touching of the touch screen display.
Claim 27
The information processing method of claim 23, further comprising: moving the movable display object back toward the first position in response to detecting a ceasing of touching of the touch screen display.
Claim 28
The information processing method of claim 23, wherein the movable display object is displayed initially near a home button of the touch GUI.
Claim 28
The information processing method of claim 23, wherein the movable display object is displayed initially near a home button of the touch GUI.
Claim 29
The information processing method of claim 23, wherein the touch GUI includes a settings icon.
Claim 29
The information processing method of claim 23, wherein the touch GUI includes a settings icon.
Claim 30
The information processing method of claim 23, wherein the touch GUI includes an icon for setting a camera imaging mode.
Claim 30
The information processing method of claim 23, wherein the touch GUI includes an icon for setting a camera imaging mode.
Claim 31
The information processing method of claim 23, wherein the touch GUI displays an icon for changing a zoom magnification of the image sensor.
Claim 31
The information processing method of claim 23, wherein the touch GUI displays an icon for changing a zoom magnification of the image sensor.
Claim 32
The information processing method of claim 23, wherein the touch GUI is displayed on a first portion of the touch screen display, and a through-image preview is shown on a second portion of the touch screen display, the second portion being distinct from the first portion.
Claim 32
The information processing method of claim 23, wherein the touch GUI is displayed on a first portion of the touch screen display, and a through-image preview is shown on a second portion of the touch screen display, the second portion being distinct from the first portion.
Claim 33
The information processing method of claim 23, wherein the touch GUI includes an icon for setting a camera imaging mode and an icon for changing a zoom magnification of the image sensor, and wherein the touch GUI is displayed on a first portion of the touch screen display, and a through-image preview is shown on a second portion of the touch screen display, the second portion being distinct from the first portion.
Claim 33
The information processing method of claim 23, wherein the touch GUI includes an icon for setting a camera imaging mode and an icon for changing a zoom magnification of the image sensor, and wherein the touch GUI is displayed on a first portion of the touch screen display, and a through-image preview is shown on a second portion of the touch screen display, the second portion being distinct from the first portion.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
10. Claims 1-8, 10, 12-19, 21, 23-30 and 32 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Kinoshita (US-PGPUB 2014/0078371).
Regarding claim 1, Kinoshita discloses an information processing device (see figs. 1-3) comprising:
an image sensor (Apparatus 2 with image sensor 23; see fig. 1 and paragraph 0029);
a touch screen display (Touch panel display 51, is the display 105. Fig. 4A is a display example of an operation/display screen 310 of the touch panel display 51; see paragraphs 0047-0048), and
control circuitry (CPU 101; see fig. 3) configured to (CPU 101 controls the various units in the display control apparatus 100; see paragraph 0038):
select a shoot mode from a plurality of shoot modes by user input operation to a touch screen display (The imaging apparatus 2 setting information including imaging setting information about the imaging mode can be changed by operating the display control apparatus 100 using display 51; see paragraph 0062);
control a touch screen display to display a touch graphical user interface (GUI) including a movable display object on a slider including a first position and a second position (Operation icon 314 for instructing SW1 is displayed on the operation/display screen 310. In addition, SW1 button 314 can be slid by displaying a guide line 315 indicating the slide direction of the SW1 button 314; se figs. 4A-B and paragraphs 0049-0050);
control an image sensor to begin capturing one or more images in the selected shoot mode in response to detecting in a movement of user finger from the first position on the touch screen display to the second position on the touch screen display (After the SW1 button 314 has been touched, the SW1 button 314 can be slid in the direction of the SW2 button 313; see paragraph 0054. The processing is performed so that continuous shooting is performed by continuing the imaging operation by the imaging apparatus 2 during the period that it is determined that the SW1 button is overlapping the SW2 button, without returning the SW1 button 314 to its original display position; see paragraph 0076), and
control the touch screen display to display an animation moving the movable display object to the first position in response to detecting a ceasing of a touching of the touch screen display (“the processing may also be configured so that the display position of the SW1 button is not returned to its original position, and is displayed in a state overlapping the SW2 button until the touch on the SW2 button is released…Thus, by displaying the SW1 button and the SW2 button in an overlapping state until the touch is released, the user can grasp what instructions have been made by a touch operation up until that point”; see paragraph 0097. Therefore, when the released operation is detected (ceasing the touching), then the animation is provided by allowing the graphical button 314 to return to the original display position on its own).
Regarding claim 2, Kinoshita discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 1). In addition, Kinoshita discloses the control circuitry (CPU 101; see fig. 1 and paragraph 0038) is further configured to operate a first operation (Imaging preparation operation is executed, such as adjustment of an imaging setting, including autofocusing, automatic exposure control, and automatic white balance; see paragraphs 0053, 0031) in response to detecting a maintaining of a touching of the touch screen display at the first position for a predetermined amount of time (When the display control apparatus 100 (CPU 101) detects that the SW1 button 314 has been touched, the display control apparatus 100 transmits an imaging preparation start command to the imaging apparatus 2. When the display control apparatus 100 detects that the touch has been released from the SW1 button 314, the display control apparatus 100 transmits an imaging preparation stop command to the imaging apparatus 2; see paragraph 0053. Therefore, while button 314 is touched and the touch is maintained; then the imaging preparation is executed. If button 314 is slid towards button 313, then continuous shooting is executed; see paragraph 0076. If button 314 is slid towards a direction that is not capable of sliding, then the action is taken as it is being released and imaging preparation is also stopped; see paragraph 0054).
Regarding claim 3, Kinoshita discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 1). In addition, Kinoshita discloses the control circuitry is further configured to stop capturing the one or more images in a second imaging mode in response to detecting the ceasing of the touching the touch screen display (In response to detection of the fact that the SW1 button is no longer overlapping the SW2 button, an imaging stop command is transmitted to the imaging apparatus 2, and an instruction to stop the continuous shooting is notified; see paragraph 0076. The processing may also be configured so that the display position of the SW1 button is not returned to its original position, and is displayed in a state overlapping the SW2 button until the touch on the SW2 button is released. Thus, by displaying the SW1 button and the SW2 button in an overlapping state until the touch is released, the user can grasp what instructions have been made by a touch operation up until that point, see paragraph 0097).
Regarding claim 4 Kinoshita discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 1). In addition, Kinoshita discloses the control circuitry is further configured to end capturing the one or more images in a continuous shoot mode in response to detecting the ceasing of the touching of the touch screen display (In response to detection of the fact that the SW1 button is no longer overlapping the SW2 button, an imaging stop command is transmitted to the imaging apparatus 2, and an instruction to stop the continuous shooting is notified; see paragraph 0076. By displaying the SW1 button and the SW2 button in an overlapping state until the touch is released, the user can grasp what instructions have been made by a touch operation up until that point, see paragraph 0097).
Regarding claim 5, Kinoshita discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 1). In addition, Kinoshita discloses the control circuitry is further configured to move the movable display object back toward the first position in response to detecting a ceasing of touching of the touch screen display (The processing is configured so that the display position of the SW1 button is not returned to its original position, and is displayed in a state overlapping the SW2 button until the touch on the SW2 button is released. Thus, by displaying the SW1 button and the SW2 button in an overlapping state until the touch is released, the user can grasp what instructions have been made by a touch operation up until that point, see paragraph 0097).
Regarding claim 6, Kinoshita discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 1). In addition, Kinoshita discloses the movable display object is initially displayed near a home button of the touch GUI (After the SW1 button 314 has been touched, the SW1 button 314 can be slid in the direction of the SW2 button 313; see paragraph 0054. Figure 4A illustrates button 314 at the initial first position before reaching and overlapping button 313, the initial position situated at the bottom of the display which is located near the home button of the display device 100 (white circle at the bottom of the display), see fig. 4A).
Regarding claim 7, Kinoshita discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 1). In addition, Kinoshita discloses the touch GUI includes a settings icon (Operation icon 312 is an operation member for setting the display area of the screen 311 between an enlarged and a reduced display; see paragraph 0051. In addition, the imaging apparatus 2 setting information can be changed by operating the display control apparatus 100; see paragraph 0062).
Regarding claim 8, Kinoshita discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 1). In addition, Kinoshita discloses the touch GUI includes an icon for setting a camera imaging mode (The setting information is, for example, imaging setting information about the imaging mode setting status. If the imaging apparatus 2 setting information has been changed by operating the display control apparatus 100, an update is notified from the imaging apparatus 2 to the display control apparatus 100; see paragraphs 0062, 0040, 0047-0048).
Regarding claim 10, Kinoshita discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 1). In addition, Kinoshita discloses the touch GUI is displayed on a first portion of the touch screen display (The bottom area of item 310 located below rectangle area 311; see figs. 4A-B), and a through-image preview is shown on a second portion of the touch screen display, the second portion being distinct from the first portion (The live view image obtained from the imaging apparatus 2 is displayed on screen 311, the upper area of item 310. Live image region 311 is displayed above icon buttons 314 and 313; see figs. 4A-4B and paragraph 0048).
Regarding claim 12, Kinoshita discloses a non-transitory computer-readable medium (Memory 102; see paragraph 0038) storing instructions that, when executed by a processor (CPU 101; see fig. 3 and paragraphs 0037-0038), cause the processor to execute operations comprising:
selecting a shoot mode from a plurality of shoot modes by user input operation to a touch screen display (The imaging apparatus 2 setting information including imaging setting information about the imaging mode can be changed by operating the display control apparatus 100 using display 51; see paragraph 0062);
displaying a touch graphical user interface (GUI) (Display 105 displays an image and a graphical user interface (GUI) screen forming a GUI under the control of the CPU 101; see paragraph 0040. Touch panel display 51, is the display 105. Fig. 4A is a display example of an operation/display screen 310 of the touch panel display 51; see paragraphs 0047-0048) including a movable display object on a slider including a first position and second position, on a touch screen display (Operation icon 314 for instructing SW1 is displayed on the operation/display screen 310. In addition, SW1 button 314 can be slid by displaying a guide line 315 indicating the slide direction of the SW1 button 314; se figs. 4A-B and paragraphs 0049-0050);
controlling an image sensor to begin capturing one or more images in the selected mode in response to detecting a movement of a user finger, in a first direction of operation of the movable display object with respect to the touch screen display, from the first position on the touch screen display to the second position on the touch screen display (After the SW1 button 314 has been touched, the SW1 button 314 can be slid in the direction of the SW2 button 313; see paragraph 0054. The processing is performed so that continuous shooting is performed by continuing the imaging operation by the imaging apparatus 2 during the period that it is determined that the SW1 button is overlapping the SW2 button, without returning the SW1 button 314 to its original display position; see paragraph 0076), and
controlling the touch screen display to display an animation moving the movable display object to the first position in response to detecting a ceasing of a touching of the touch screen display (“the processing may also be configured so that the display position of the SW1 button is not returned to its original position, and is displayed in a state overlapping the SW2 button until the touch on the SW2 button is released…Thus, by displaying the SW1 button and the SW2 button in an overlapping state until the touch is released, the user can grasp what instructions have been made by a touch operation up until that point”; see paragraph 0097. Therefore, when the released operation is detected (ceasing the touching), then the animation is provided by allowing the graphical button 314 to return to the original display position on its own).
Regarding claim 13, Kinoshita discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 12). In addition, Kinoshita discloses the operations further comprise: operating a first operation (Imaging preparation operation is executed, such as adjustment of an imaging setting, including autofocusing, automatic exposure control, and automatic white balance; see paragraphs 0053, 0031) in response to detecting a maintaining of a touching of touch screen display at the first position for a predetermined amount of time (When the display control apparatus 100 (CPU 101) detects that the SW1 button 314 has been touched, the display control apparatus 100 transmits an imaging preparation start command to the imaging apparatus 2. When the display control apparatus 100 detects that the touch has been released from the SW1 button 314, the display control apparatus 100 transmits an imaging preparation stop command to the imaging apparatus 2; see paragraph 0053. Therefore, while button 314 is touched and the touch is maintained; then the imaging preparation is executed. If button 314 is slid towards button 313, then continuous shooting is executed; see paragraph 0076. If button 314 is slid towards a direction that is not capable of sliding, then the action is taken as it is being released and imaging preparation is also stopped; see paragraph 0054).
Regarding claim 14, Kinoshita discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 12). In addition, Kinoshita discloses the operations further comprise: stopping capture of the one or more images in a second imaging mode in response to detecting the ceasing of the touching of the touch screen display (In response to detection of the fact that the SW1 button is no longer overlapping the SW2 button, an imaging stop command is transmitted to the imaging apparatus 2, and an instruction to stop the continuous shooting is notified; see paragraph 0076. The processing may also be configured so that the display position of the SW1 button is not returned to its original position, and is displayed in a state overlapping the SW2 button until the touch on the SW2 button is released. Thus, by displaying the SW1 button and the SW2 button in an overlapping state until the touch is released, the user can grasp what instructions have been made by a touch operation up until that point, see paragraph 0097).
Regarding claim 15, Kinoshita discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 12). In addition, Kinoshita discloses end capturing the one or more images in the continuous shoot mode in response to detecting the ceasing of touching of the touch screen display (In response to detection of the fact that the SW1 button is no longer overlapping the SW2 button, an imaging stop command is transmitted to the imaging apparatus 2, and an instruction to stop the continuous shooting is notified; see paragraph 0076. By displaying the SW1 button and the SW2 button in an overlapping state until the touch is released, the user can grasp what instructions have been made by a touch operation up until that point, see paragraph 0097).
Regarding claim 16, Kinoshita discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 12). In addition, Kinoshita discloses moving the movable display object back toward the first position in response to detecting the ceasing of the touching touch screen display (The processing is configured so that the display position of the SW1 button is not returned to its original position, and is displayed in a state overlapping the SW2 button until the touch on the SW2 button is released. Thus, by displaying the SW1 button and the SW2 button in an overlapping state until the touch is released, the user can grasp what instructions have been made by a touch operation up until that point, see paragraph 0097).
Regarding claim 17, Kinoshita discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 12). In addition, Kinoshita discloses the movable display object is initially displayed near a home button of the touch GUI (After the SW1 button 314 has been touched, the SW1 button 314 can be slid in the direction of the SW2 button 313; see paragraph 0054. Figure 4A illustrates button 314 at the initial first position before reaching and overlapping button 313, the initial position situated at the bottom of the display which is located near the home button of the display device 100 (white circle at the bottom of the display), see fig. 4A).
Regarding claim 18, Kinoshita discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 12). In addition, Kinoshita discloses the touch GUI includes a settings icon (Operation icon 312 is an operation member for setting the display area of the screen 311 between an enlarged and a reduced display; see paragraph 0051. In addition, the imaging apparatus 2 setting information can be changed by operating the display control apparatus 100; see paragraph 0062).
Regarding claim 19, Kinoshita discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 12). In addition, Kinoshita discloses the touch GUI includes an icon for setting a camera imaging mode (The setting information is, for example, imaging setting information about the imaging mode setting status. If the imaging apparatus 2 setting information has been changed by operating the display control apparatus 100, an update is notified from the imaging apparatus 2 to the display control apparatus 100; see paragraphs 0062, 0040, 0047-0048).
Regarding claim 21, Kinoshita discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 12). In addition, Kinoshita discloses the touch GUI is displayed on a first portion of the touch screen display (The bottom area of item 310 located below rectangle area 311; see figs. 4A-B), and a through-image preview is shown on a second portion of the touch screen display, the second portion being distinct from the first portion (The live view image obtained from the imaging apparatus 2 is displayed on screen 311, the upper area of item 310. Live image region 311 is displayed above icon buttons 314 and 313; see figs. 4A-4B and paragraph 0048).
Regarding claim 23, Kinoshita discloses an information processing method (see figs. 1-3, 6) comprising:
selecting a shoot mode from a plurality of shoot modes by user input operation to a touch screen display (The imaging apparatus 2 setting information including imaging setting information about the imaging mode can be changed by operating the display control apparatus 100 using display 51; see paragraph 0062);
displaying a touch graphical user interface (GUI) (Display 105 displays an image and a graphical user interface (GUI) screen forming a GUI under the control of the CPU 101; see paragraph 0040. Touch panel display 51, is the display 105. Fig. 4A is a display example of an operation/display screen 310 of the touch panel display 51; see paragraphs 0047-0048) including a movable display object on a slider including a first position and a second position on a touch screen display (Operation icon 314 for instructing SW1 is displayed on the operation/display screen 310. In addition, SW1 button 314 can be slid by displaying a guide line 315 indicating the slide direction of the SW1 button 314; se figs. 4A-B and paragraphs 0049-0050); and
controlling an image sensor to begin capturing one or more images the selected mode in response to detecting a first operation of a movement of a user finger from the first position on the touch screen display to the second position on the touch screen display (After the SW1 button 314 has been touched, the SW1 button 314 can be slid in the direction of the SW2 button 313; see paragraph 0054. The processing is performed so that continuous shooting is performed by continuing the imaging operation by the imaging apparatus 2 during the period that it is determined that the SW1 button is overlapping the SW2 button, without returning the SW1 button 314 to its original display position; see paragraph 0076), and
controlling the touch screen display to display an animation moving the movable display object to the first position in response to detecting a second operation of removal of the user finger from the touch screen display (“the processing may also be configured so that the display position of the SW1 button is not returned to its original position, and is displayed in a state overlapping the SW2 button until the touch on the SW2 button is released…Thus, by displaying the SW1 button and the SW2 button in an overlapping state until the touch is released, the user can grasp what instructions have been made by a touch operation up until that point”; see paragraph 0097. Therefore, when the released operation is detected (ceasing the touching), then the animation is provided by allowing the graphical button 314 to return to the original display position on its own).
Regarding claim 24, Kinoshita discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 23). In addition, Kinoshita discloses operating a first operation (Imaging preparation operation is executed, such as adjustment of an imaging setting, including autofocusing, automatic exposure control, and automatic white balance; see paragraphs 0053, 0031) in response to detecting the operation of maintaining a touching of the touch screen display for a predetermined amount of time (When the display control apparatus 100 (CPU 101) detects that the SW1 button 314 has been touched, the display control apparatus 100 transmits an imaging preparation start command to the imaging apparatus 2. When the display control apparatus 100 detects that the touch has been released from the SW1 button 314, the display control apparatus 100 transmits an imaging preparation stop command to the imaging apparatus 2; see paragraph 0053. Therefore, while button 314 is touched and the touch is maintained; then the imaging preparation is executed. If button 314 is slid towards button 313, then continuous shooting is executed; see paragraph 0076. If button 314 is slid towards a direction that is not capable of sliding, then the action is taken as it is being released and imaging preparation is also stopped; see paragraph 0054).
Regarding claim 25, Kinoshita discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 23). In addition, Kinoshita discloses stopping capture of the one or more images in a second imaging mode in response to detecting a ceasing of the touching the touch screen display (In response to detection of the fact that the SW1 button is no longer overlapping the SW2 button, an imaging stop command is transmitted to the imaging apparatus 2, and an instruction to stop the continuous shooting is notified; see paragraph 0076. The processing may also be configured so that the display position of the SW1 button is not returned to its original position, and is displayed in a state overlapping the SW2 button until the touch on the SW2 button is released. Thus, by displaying the SW1 button and the SW2 button in an overlapping state until the touch is released, the user can grasp what instructions have been made by a touch operation up until that point, see paragraph 0097).
Regarding claim 26, Kinoshita discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 23). In addition, Kinoshita ending a continuous shoot mode in response to detecting a ceasing of touching of the touch screen display (In response to detection of the fact that the SW1 button is no longer overlapping the SW2 button, an imaging stop command is transmitted to the imaging apparatus 2, and an instruction to stop the continuous shooting is notified; see paragraph 0076. By displaying the SW1 button and the SW2 button in an overlapping state until the touch is released, the user can grasp what instructions have been made by a touch operation up until that point, see paragraph 0097).
Regarding claim 27, Kinoshita discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 23). In addition, Kinoshita discloses moving the movable display object back toward the first position in response to detecting a ceasing of touching of the touch screen display (The processing is configured so that the display position of the SW1 button is not returned to its original position, and is displayed in a state overlapping the SW2 button until the touch on the SW2 button is released. Thus, by displaying the SW1 button and the SW2 button in an overlapping state until the touch is released, the user can grasp what instructions have been made by a touch operation up until that point, see paragraph 0097).
Regarding claim 28 Kinoshita discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 23). In addition, Kinoshita discloses the movable display object is displayed initially near a home button of the touch GUI (After the SW1 button 314 has been touched, the SW1 button 314 can be slid in the direction of the SW2 button 313; see paragraph 0054. Figure 4A illustrates button 314 at the initial first position before reaching and overlapping button 313, the initial position situated at the bottom of the display which is located near the home button of the display device 100 (white circle at the bottom of the display), see fig. 4A).
Regarding claim 29, Kinoshita discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 23). In addition, Kinoshita discloses the touch GUI includes a settings icon (Operation icon 312 is an operation member for setting the display area of the screen 311 between an enlarged and a reduced display; see paragraph 0051. In addition, the imaging apparatus 2 setting information can be changed by operating the display control apparatus 100; see paragraph 0062).
Regarding claim 30, Kinoshita discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 23). In addition, Kinoshita discloses the touch GUI includes an icon for setting a camera imaging mode (The setting information is, for example, imaging setting information about the imaging mode setting status. If the imaging apparatus 2 setting information has been changed by operating the display control apparatus 100, an update is notified from the imaging apparatus 2 to the display control apparatus 100; see paragraphs 0062, 0040, 0047-0048).
Regarding claim 32, Kinoshita discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 23). In addition, Kinoshita discloses the touch GUI is displayed on a first portion of the touch screen display (The bottom area of item 310 located below rectangle area 311; see figs. 4A-B), and a through-image preview is shown on a second portion of the touch screen display, the second portion being distinct from the first portion (The live view image obtained from the imaging apparatus 2 is displayed on screen 311, the upper area of item 310. Live image region 311 is displayed above icon buttons 314 and 313; see figs. 4A-4B and paragraph 0048).
11. Claims 9, 11, 20, 22, 31 and 33 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kinoshita in view of Choi et al. (US-PGPUB 2014/0063313).
Regarding claim 9, Kinoshita discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 1). However, Kinoshita fails to disclose the touch GUI displays an icon for changing a zoom magnification of the image sensor.
On the other hand, Choi discloses the touch GUI displays an icon for changing a zoom magnification of the image sensor (In a camera mode, a slide button 237 is output to at least one side of the capturing button. The slide button 237 can be moved by a user's drag. Once the slide button 237 is dragged towards the capturing button 233, a zoom function is activated. If the slide button 237 is slid towards the plus icon, a zoom-in function is executed. On the other hand, if the slide button 237 is slid towards the minus icon, a zoom-out function is executed; see paragraphs 0152-0153 and fig. 7A).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Kinoshita and Choi to provide the touch GUI displays an icon for changing a zoom magnification of the image sensor for the purpose of effectively capturing images in accordance to user preferences while allowing the user to easily control the captured field of view through the manipulation of a friendly user interface.
Regarding claim 11, Kinoshita discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 1). In addition, Kinoshita discloses the touch GUI includes an icon for setting a camera imaging mode (The setting information is, for example, imaging setting information about the imaging mode setting status. If the imaging apparatus 2 setting information has been changed by operating the display control apparatus 100, an update is notified from the imaging apparatus 2 to the display control apparatus 100; see paragraphs 0062, 0040, 0047-0048) and wherein the touch GUI is displayed on a first portion of the touch screen display (The bottom area of item 310 located below rectangle area 311; see figs. 4A-B), and a through-image preview is shown on a second portion of the touch screen display, the second portion being distinct from the first portion (The live view image obtained from the imaging apparatus 2 is displayed on screen 311, the upper area of item 310. Live image region 311 is displayed above icon buttons 314 and 313; see figs. 4A-4B and paragraph 0048).
However, Kinoshita fails to disclose the touch GUI includes an icon for changing a zoom magnification of the image sensor.
Nevertheless, Choi discloses the touch GUI includes an icon for changing a zoom magnification of the image sensor (In a camera mode, a slide button 237 is output to at least one side of the capturing button. The slide button 237 can be moved by a user's drag. Once the slide button 237 is dragged towards the capturing button 233, a zoom function is activated. If the slide button 237 is slid towards the plus icon, a zoom-in function is executed. On the other hand, if the slide button 237 is slid towards the minus icon, a zoom-out function is executed; see paragraphs 0152-0153 and fig. 7A).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Kinoshita and Choi to provide the touch GUI includes an icon for changing a zoom magnification of the image sensor for the purpose of effectively capturing images in accordance to user preferences while allowing the user to easily control the captured field of view through the manipulation of a friendly user interface.
Regarding claim 20, Kinoshita discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 12). However, Kinoshita fails to disclose the touch GUI displays an icon for changing a zoom magnification of the image sensor.
On the other hand, Choi discloses the touch GUI displays an icon for changing a zoom magnification of the image sensor (In a camera mode, a slide button 237 is output to at least one side of the capturing button. The slide button 237 can be moved by a user's drag. Once the slide button 237 is dragged towards the capturing button 233, a zoom function is activated. If the slide button 237 is slid towards the plus icon, a zoom-in function is executed. On the other hand, if the slide button 237 is slid towards the minus icon, a zoom-out function is executed; see paragraphs 0152-0153 and fig. 7A).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Kinoshita and Choi to provide the touch GUI displays an icon for changing a zoom magnification of the image sensor for the purpose of effectively capturing images in accordance to user preferences while allowing the user to easily control the captured field of view through the manipulation of a friendly user interface.
Regarding claim 22, Kinoshita discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 12). In addition, Kinoshita discloses the touch GUI includes an icon for setting a camera imaging mode (The setting information is, for example, imaging setting information about the imaging mode setting status. If the imaging apparatus 2 setting information has been changed by operating the display control apparatus 100, an update is notified from the imaging apparatus 2 to the display control apparatus 100; see paragraphs 0062, 0040, 0047-0048) and wherein the touch GUI is displayed on a first portion of the touch screen display (The bottom area of item 310 located below rectangle area 311; see figs. 4A-B), and a through-image preview is shown on a second portion of the touch screen display, the second portion being distinct from the first portion (The live view image obtained from the imaging apparatus 2 is displayed on screen 311, the upper area of item 310. Live image region 311 is displayed above icon buttons 314 and 313; see figs. 4A-4B and paragraph 0048).
However, Kinoshita fails to disclose the touch GUI includes an icon for changing a zoom magnification of the image sensor.
Nevertheless, Choi discloses the touch GUI includes an icon for changing a zoom magnification of the image sensor (In a camera mode, a slide button 237 is output to at least one side of the capturing button. The slide button 237 can be moved by a user's drag. Once the slide button 237 is dragged towards the capturing button 233, a zoom function is activated. If the slide button 237 is slid towards the plus icon, a zoom-in function is executed. On the other hand, if the slide button 237 is slid towards the minus icon, a zoom-out function is executed; see paragraphs 0152-0153).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Kinoshita and Choi to provide the touch GUI includes an icon for changing a zoom magnification of the image sensor for the purpose of effectively capturing images in accordance to user preferences while allowing the user to easily control the captured field of view through the manipulation of a friendly user interface.
Regarding claim 31, Kinoshita discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 23). However, Kinoshita fails to disclose the touch GUI displays an icon for changing a zoom magnification of the image sensor.
On the other hand, Choi discloses the touch GUI displays an icon for changing a zoom magnification of the image sensor (In a camera mode, a slide button 237 is output to at least one side of the capturing button. The slide button 237 can be moved by a user's drag. Once the slide button 237 is dragged towards the capturing button 233, a zoom function is activated. If the slide button 237 is slid towards the plus icon, a zoom-in function is executed. On the other hand, if the slide button 237 is slid towards the minus icon, a zoom-out function is executed; see paragraphs 0152-0153 and fig. 7A).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Kinoshita and Choi to provide the touch GUI displays an icon for changing a zoom magnification of the image sensor for the purpose of effectively capturing images in accordance to user preferences while allowing the user to easily control the captured field of view through the manipulation of a friendly user interface.
Regarding claim 33, Kinoshita discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 23). In addition, Kinoshita discloses the touch GUI includes an icon for setting a camera imaging mode (The setting information is, for example, imaging setting information about the imaging mode setting status. If the imaging apparatus 2 setting information has been changed by operating the display control apparatus 100, an update is notified from the imaging apparatus 2 to the display control apparatus 100; see paragraphs 0062, 0040, 0047-0048) and wherein the touch GUI is displayed on a first portion of the touch screen display (The bottom area of item 310 located below rectangle area 311; see figs. 4A-B), and a through-image preview is shown on a second portion of the touch screen display, the second portion being distinct from the first portion (The live view image obtained from the imaging apparatus 2 is displayed on screen 311, the upper area of item 310. Live image region 311 is displayed above icon buttons 314 and 313; see figs. 4A-4B and paragraph 0048).
However, Kinoshita fails to disclose the touch GUI includes an icon for changing a zoom magnification of the image sensor.
Nevertheless, Choi discloses the touch GUI includes an icon for changing a zoom magnification of the image sensor (In a camera mode, a slide button 237 is output to at least one side of the capturing button. The slide button 237 can be moved by a user's drag. Once the slide button 237 is dragged towards the capturing button 233, a zoom function is activated. If the slide button 237 is slid towards the plus icon, a zoom-in function is executed. On the other hand, if the slide button 237 is slid towards the minus icon, a zoom-out function is executed; see paragraphs 0152-0153 and fig. 7A).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Kinoshita and Choi to provide the touch GUI includes an icon for changing a zoom magnification of the image sensor for the purpose of effectively capturing images in accordance to user preferences while allowing the user to easily control the captured field of view through the manipulation of a friendly user interface.
Contact Information
/CYNTHIA CALDERON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2639 01/07/2026