DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
3. The amendment(s), filed on 07/23/2026, have been entered and made of record. Claims 1-33 are pending.
Priority
4. Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim for foreign priority based on an application filed in Japan on 08/12/2024. It is noted, however, that applicant has not filed a certified copy of the JP2014-164154 application as required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Notice of Amendments
5. The Examiner withdraws the 35 USC 112(a) rejection of claims 1-33 as per amendment filed on 07/23/2026 addresses issues.
Response to Arguments
6. Applicant's arguments filed on 07/23/2026 with respect to claims 1-33 have been considered but they are not persuasive.
7. Applicant submits that Kinoshita fails to disclose “control the touch screen display to, in response to detecting a ceasing of the touch on the touch screen display, automatically display an animation of the movable display object moving from a current position to the first position in an animated manner without the touch on the touch screen display”. Specifically, Applicant submits that “Kinoshita does not describe displaying an "animation" moving the button back to the first position. Kinoshita merely describes that the button is "returned" to its original position, with no indication of animated visual movement. The mere act of returning a button to a position does not inherently disclose displaying an animation moving the display object, as the return could be instantaneous rather than an animated visual transition”.
Examiner respectfully disagrees. The claims do not recite what exactly the “animation” or the “animated manner” comprise to preclude the teachings of Kinoshita of “having a visual graphical object 314 return to its original position on its own with no time and visual restrictions other than just in response to the release of touch”, from being reasonably applied to; see paragraph 0097 of Kinoshita. Therefore, the claimed animation and animated manner correspond to the graphical display object SW1 314 that moves on its own to return to its original position, once the user releases the touch of the overlapped buttons SW1 314 and SW2 313 (see paragraphs 0049, 0050, 0097 of Kinoshita). Thus, the animated visual transition occurs as the icon 314 moves back to its original position through the guide line 315 in response to the user releasing touch of overlapped icons 313 and 314. The claims do not recite any time and visual restrictions in the animation, temporal algorithms in the animation or specific visual effects to differentiate from the taught icon of Kinoshita moving on its own in response to the release of touch.
8. Applicant further argues that in Kinoshita’s primary embodiment return occurs in response to detecting overlap with the SW2 button, not "in response to detecting a ceasing of the touch on the touch screen display".
In response to Applicant’s position, the examiner would like to point out that the rejection directed Applicant’s attention to Kinoshita’s modified embodiment, where the button SW1 314 returns to its original position in response to releasing the touch on the overlapped icons 313 and 314; see paragraph 0097 of Kinoshita. Consequently, Kinoshita's teachings are not limited to the primary embodiment. Instead, Kinoshita discloses a modified embodiment as discussed in paragraph 0097; where SW1/314 icon button moves on its own to return to its original position, once the user releases the touch of the overlapped buttons SW1 314 and SW2 313 (see paragraphs 0049, 0050, 0097 of Kinoshita). Even if Kinoshita teaches additional features of icons overlapping, it does not take away the fact that Kinoshita still discloses moving icon 314 to its original position in response to detecting a release of touch on the touch screen display. Neither the specification nor claims preclude such additional teachings or more complex algorithms.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
11. Claims 1-8, 10, 12-19, 21, 23-30 and 32 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Kinoshita (US-PGPUB 2014/0078371).
Regarding claim 1, Kinoshita discloses an information processing device (see figs. 1-3) comprising:
an image sensor (Apparatus 2 with image sensor 23; see fig. 1 and paragraph 0029);
a touch screen display (Touch panel display 51, is the display 105. Fig. 4A is a display example of an operation/display screen 310 of the touch panel display 51; see paragraphs 0047-0048), and
control circuitry (CPU 101; see fig. 3) configured to (CPU 101 controls the various units in the display control apparatus 100; see paragraph 0038):
select a shoot mode from a plurality of shoot modes by user input operation to a touch screen display (The imaging apparatus 2 setting information including imaging setting information about the imaging mode can be changed by operating the display control apparatus 100 using display 51; see paragraph 0062);
control a touch screen display to display a touch graphical user interface (GUI) including a movable display object movable from a first position along a predetermined direction (Operation icon 314 for instructing SW1 is displayed on the operation/display screen 310. In addition, SW1 button 314 can be slid by displaying a guide line 315 indicating the slide direction of the SW1 button 314; se figs. 4A-B and paragraphs 0049-0050);
control the image sensor to capture one or more images in the selected shoot mode while maintaining a touch on the touch screen display that moved the movable display object from the first position along the predetermined direction (After the SW1 button 314 has been touched, the SW1 button 314 can be slid in the direction of the SW2 button 313; see paragraph 0054. The processing is performed so that continuous shooting is performed by continuing the imaging operation by the imaging apparatus 2 during the period that it is determined that the SW1 button is overlapping the SW2 button, without returning the SW1 button 314 to its original display position; see paragraph 0076), and
control the touch screen display to, in response to detecting a ceasing of the touch on the touch screen display, automatically display an animation of the movable display object moving from a current position to the first position in an animated manner without the touch on the touch screen display (“the processing may also be configured so that the display position of the SW1 button is not returned to its original position, and is displayed in a state overlapping the SW2 button until the touch on the SW2 button is released…Thus, by displaying the SW1 button and the SW2 button in an overlapping state until the touch is released, the user can grasp what instructions have been made by a touch operation up until that point”; see paragraph 0097. Therefore, once the released operation is detected (ceasing of the touch), then in response to such detection, the animation occurs by allowing the graphical button 314 to return to the original display position on its own through guide line 315).
Regarding claim 2, Kinoshita discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 1). In addition, Kinoshita discloses the control circuitry (CPU 101; see fig. 1 and paragraph 0038) is further configured to operate a first operation (Imaging preparation operation is executed, such as adjustment of an imaging setting, including autofocusing, automatic exposure control, and automatic white balance; see paragraphs 0053, 0031) in response to detecting a maintaining of a touching of the touch screen display at the first position for a predetermined amount of time (When the display control apparatus 100 (CPU 101) detects that the SW1 button 314 has been touched, the display control apparatus 100 transmits an imaging preparation start command to the imaging apparatus 2. When the display control apparatus 100 detects that the touch has been released from the SW1 button 314, the display control apparatus 100 transmits an imaging preparation stop command to the imaging apparatus 2; see paragraph 0053. Therefore, while button 314 is touched and the touch is maintained; then the imaging preparation is executed. If button 314 is slid towards button 313, then continuous shooting is executed; see paragraph 0076. If button 314 is slid towards a direction that is not capable of sliding, then the action is taken as it is being released and imaging preparation is also stopped; see paragraph 0054).
Regarding claim 3, Kinoshita discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 1). In addition, Kinoshita discloses the control circuitry is further configured to stop capturing the one or more images in a second imaging mode in response to detecting the ceasing of the touching the touch screen display (In response to detection of the fact that the SW1 button is no longer overlapping the SW2 button, an imaging stop command is transmitted to the imaging apparatus 2, and an instruction to stop the continuous shooting is notified; see paragraph 0076. The processing may also be configured so that the display position of the SW1 button is not returned to its original position, and is displayed in a state overlapping the SW2 button until the touch on the SW2 button is released. Thus, by displaying the SW1 button and the SW2 button in an overlapping state until the touch is released, the user can grasp what instructions have been made by a touch operation up until that point, see paragraph 0097).
Regarding claim 4 Kinoshita discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 1). In addition, Kinoshita discloses the control circuitry is further configured to end capturing the one or more images in a continuous shoot mode in response to detecting the ceasing of the touching of the touch screen display (In response to detection of the fact that the SW1 button is no longer overlapping the SW2 button, an imaging stop command is transmitted to the imaging apparatus 2, and an instruction to stop the continuous shooting is notified; see paragraph 0076. By displaying the SW1 button and the SW2 button in an overlapping state until the touch is released, the user can grasp what instructions have been made by a touch operation up until that point, see paragraph 0097).
Regarding claim 5, Kinoshita discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 1). In addition, Kinoshita discloses the control circuitry is further configured to move the movable display object back into view at the first position in response to detecting a ceasing of touching of the touch screen display (The processing is configured so that the display position of the SW1 button is not returned to its original position, and is displayed in a state overlapping the SW2 button until the touch on the SW2 button is released. Thus, by displaying the SW1 button and the SW2 button in an overlapping state until the touch is released, the user can grasp what instructions have been made by a touch operation up until that point, see paragraph 0097).
Regarding claim 6, Kinoshita discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 1). In addition, Kinoshita discloses the movable display object is initially displayed near a home button of the touch GUI (After the SW1 button 314 has been touched, the SW1 button 314 can be slid in the direction of the SW2 button 313; see paragraph 0054. Figure 4A illustrates button 314 at the initial first position before reaching and overlapping button 313, the initial position situated at the bottom of the display which is located near the home button of the display device 100 (white circle at the bottom of the display), see fig. 4A).
Regarding claim 7, Kinoshita discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 1). In addition, Kinoshita discloses the touch GUI includes a settings icon (Operation icon 312 is an operation member for setting the display area of the screen 311 between an enlarged and a reduced display; see paragraph 0051. In addition, the imaging apparatus 2 setting information can be changed by operating the display control apparatus 100; see paragraph 0062).
Regarding claim 8, Kinoshita discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 1). In addition, Kinoshita discloses the touch GUI includes an icon for setting a camera imaging mode (The setting information is, for example, imaging setting information about the imaging mode setting status. If the imaging apparatus 2 setting information has been changed by operating the display control apparatus 100, an update is notified from the imaging apparatus 2 to the display control apparatus 100; see paragraphs 0062, 0040, 0047-0048).
Regarding claim 10, Kinoshita discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 1). In addition, Kinoshita discloses the touch GUI is displayed on a first portion of the touch screen display (The bottom area of item 310 located below rectangle area 311; see figs. 4A-B), and a through-image preview is shown on a second portion of the touch screen display, the second portion being distinct from the first portion (The live view image obtained from the imaging apparatus 2 is displayed on screen 311, the upper area of item 310. Live image region 311 is displayed above icon buttons 314 and 313; see figs. 4A-4B and paragraph 0048).
Regarding claim 12, Kinoshita discloses a non-transitory computer-readable medium (Memory 102; see paragraph 0038) storing instructions that, when executed by a processor (CPU 101; see fig. 3 and paragraphs 0037-0038), cause the processor to execute operations comprising:
selecting a shoot mode from a plurality of shoot modes by user input operation to a touch screen display (The imaging apparatus 2 setting information including imaging setting information about the imaging mode can be changed by operating the display control apparatus 100 using display 51; see paragraph 0062);
displaying a touch graphical user interface (GUI) (Display 105 displays an image and a graphical user interface (GUI) screen forming a GUI under the control of the CPU 101; see paragraph 0040. Touch panel display 51, is the display 105. Fig. 4A is a display example of an operation/display screen 310 of the touch panel display 51; see paragraphs 0047-0048) including a movable display object movable from a first position along a predetermined direction (Operation icon 314 for instructing SW1 is displayed on the operation/display screen 310. In addition, SW1 button 314 can be slid by displaying a guide line 315 indicating the slide direction of the SW1 button 314; se figs. 4A-B and paragraphs 0049-0050);
controlling an image sensor to capture one or more images in the selected mode while maintaining a touch on the touch screen display that moved the movable display object from the first position along the predetermined direction (After the SW1 button 314 has been touched, the SW1 button 314 can be slid in the direction of the SW2 button 313; see paragraph 0054. The processing is performed so that continuous shooting is performed by continuing the imaging operation by the imaging apparatus 2 during the period that it is determined that the SW1 button is overlapping the SW2 button, without returning the SW1 button 314 to its original display position; see paragraph 0076), and
controlling the touch screen display to, in response to detecting a ceasing of the touch on the touch screen display, automatically display an animation of the movable display object moving from a current position to the first position in an animated manner without the touch on the touch screen display (“the processing may also be configured so that the display position of the SW1 button is not returned to its original position, and is displayed in a state overlapping the SW2 button until the touch on the SW2 button is released…Thus, by displaying the SW1 button and the SW2 button in an overlapping state until the touch is released, the user can grasp what instructions have been made by a touch operation up until that point”; see paragraph 0097. Therefore, once the released operation is detected (ceasing of the touch), then in response to such detection, the animation occurs by allowing the graphical button 314 to return to the original display position on its own through guide line 315).
Regarding claim 13, Kinoshita discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 12). In addition, Kinoshita discloses the operations further comprise: operating a first operation (Imaging preparation operation is executed, such as adjustment of an imaging setting, including autofocusing, automatic exposure control, and automatic white balance; see paragraphs 0053, 0031) in response to detecting a maintaining of a touching of touch screen display at the first position for a predetermined amount of time (When the display control apparatus 100 (CPU 101) detects that the SW1 button 314 has been touched, the display control apparatus 100 transmits an imaging preparation start command to the imaging apparatus 2. When the display control apparatus 100 detects that the touch has been released from the SW1 button 314, the display control apparatus 100 transmits an imaging preparation stop command to the imaging apparatus 2; see paragraph 0053. Therefore, while button 314 is touched and the touch is maintained; then the imaging preparation is executed. If button 314 is slid towards button 313, then continuous shooting is executed; see paragraph 0076. If button 314 is slid towards a direction that is not capable of sliding, then the action is taken as it is being released and imaging preparation is also stopped; see paragraph 0054).
Regarding claim 14, Kinoshita discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 12). In addition, Kinoshita discloses the operations further comprise: stopping capture of the one or more images in a second imaging mode in response to detecting the ceasing of the touching of the touch screen display (In response to detection of the fact that the SW1 button is no longer overlapping the SW2 button, an imaging stop command is transmitted to the imaging apparatus 2, and an instruction to stop the continuous shooting is notified; see paragraph 0076. The processing may also be configured so that the display position of the SW1 button is not returned to its original position, and is displayed in a state overlapping the SW2 button until the touch on the SW2 button is released. Thus, by displaying the SW1 button and the SW2 button in an overlapping state until the touch is released, the user can grasp what instructions have been made by a touch operation up until that point, see paragraph 0097).
Regarding claim 15, Kinoshita discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 12). In addition, Kinoshita discloses end capturing the one or more images in the continuous shoot mode in response to detecting the ceasing of touching of the touch screen display (In response to detection of the fact that the SW1 button is no longer overlapping the SW2 button, an imaging stop command is transmitted to the imaging apparatus 2, and an instruction to stop the continuous shooting is notified; see paragraph 0076. By displaying the SW1 button and the SW2 button in an overlapping state until the touch is released, the user can grasp what instructions have been made by a touch operation up until that point, see paragraph 0097).
Regarding claim 16, Kinoshita discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 12). In addition, Kinoshita discloses moving the movable display object back into view at the first position in response to detecting the ceasing of the touching touch screen display (The processing is configured so that the display position of the SW1 button is not returned to its original position, and is displayed in a state overlapping the SW2 button until the touch on the SW2 button is released. Thus, by displaying the SW1 button and the SW2 button in an overlapping state until the touch is released, the user can grasp what instructions have been made by a touch operation up until that point, see paragraph 0097).
Regarding claim 17, Kinoshita discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 12). In addition, Kinoshita discloses the movable display object is initially displayed near a home button of the touch GUI (After the SW1 button 314 has been touched, the SW1 button 314 can be slid in the direction of the SW2 button 313; see paragraph 0054. Figure 4A illustrates button 314 at the initial first position before reaching and overlapping button 313, the initial position situated at the bottom of the display which is located near the home button of the display device 100 (white circle at the bottom of the display), see fig. 4A).
Regarding claim 18, Kinoshita discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 12). In addition, Kinoshita discloses the touch GUI includes a settings icon (Operation icon 312 is an operation member for setting the display area of the screen 311 between an enlarged and a reduced display; see paragraph 0051. In addition, the imaging apparatus 2 setting information can be changed by operating the display control apparatus 100; see paragraph 0062).
Regarding claim 19, Kinoshita discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 12). In addition, Kinoshita discloses the touch GUI includes an icon for setting a camera imaging mode (The setting information is, for example, imaging setting information about the imaging mode setting status. If the imaging apparatus 2 setting information has been changed by operating the display control apparatus 100, an update is notified from the imaging apparatus 2 to the display control apparatus 100; see paragraphs 0062, 0040, 0047-0048).
Regarding claim 21, Kinoshita discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 12). In addition, Kinoshita discloses the touch GUI is displayed on a first portion of the touch screen display (The bottom area of item 310 located below rectangle area 311; see figs. 4A-B), and a through-image preview is shown on a second portion of the touch screen display, the second portion being distinct from the first portion (The live view image obtained from the imaging apparatus 2 is displayed on screen 311, the upper area of item 310. Live image region 311 is displayed above icon buttons 314 and 313; see figs. 4A-4B and paragraph 0048).
Regarding claim 23, Kinoshita discloses an information processing method (see figs. 1-3, 6) comprising:
selecting a shoot mode from a plurality of shoot modes by user input operation to a touch screen display (The imaging apparatus 2 setting information including imaging setting information about the imaging mode can be changed by operating the display control apparatus 100 using display 51; see paragraph 0062);
displaying a touch graphical user interface (GUI) (Display 105 displays an image and a graphical user interface (GUI) screen forming a GUI under the control of the CPU 101; see paragraph 0040. Touch panel display 51, is the display 105. Fig. 4A is a display example of an operation/display screen 310 of the touch panel display 51; see paragraphs 0047-0048) including a movable display object movable from a first position along a predetermined direction (Operation icon 314 for instructing SW1 is displayed on the operation/display screen 310. In addition, SW1 button 314 can be slid by displaying a guide line 315 indicating the slide direction of the SW1 button 314; se figs. 4A-B and paragraphs 0049-0050);
controlling an image sensor to capture one or more images the selected mode while maintaining a touch on the touch screen display that moved the movable display object from the first position along the predetermined direction (After the SW1 button 314 has been touched, the SW1 button 314 can be slid in the direction of the SW2 button 313; see paragraph 0054. The processing is performed so that continuous shooting is performed by continuing the imaging operation by the imaging apparatus 2 during the period that it is determined that the SW1 button is overlapping the SW2 button, without returning the SW1 button 314 to its original display position; see paragraph 0076), and
controlling the touch screen display to, in response to detecting a ceasing of the touch on the touch screen display, automatically display an animation of the movable display object moving from a current position to the first position in an animated manner without the touch on the touch screen display (“the processing may also be configured so that the display position of the SW1 button is not returned to its original position, and is displayed in a state overlapping the SW2 button until the touch on the SW2 button is released…Thus, by displaying the SW1 button and the SW2 button in an overlapping state until the touch is released, the user can grasp what instructions have been made by a touch operation up until that point”; see paragraph 0097. Therefore, once the released operation is detected (ceasing of the touch), then in response to such detection, the animation occurs by allowing the graphical button 314 to return to the original display position on its own through guide line 315).
Regarding claim 24, Kinoshita discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 23). In addition, Kinoshita discloses operating a first operation (Imaging preparation operation is executed, such as adjustment of an imaging setting, including autofocusing, automatic exposure control, and automatic white balance; see paragraphs 0053, 0031) in response to detecting the operation of maintaining a touching of the touch screen display for a predetermined amount of time (When the display control apparatus 100 (CPU 101) detects that the SW1 button 314 has been touched, the display control apparatus 100 transmits an imaging preparation start command to the imaging apparatus 2. When the display control apparatus 100 detects that the touch has been released from the SW1 button 314, the display control apparatus 100 transmits an imaging preparation stop command to the imaging apparatus 2; see paragraph 0053. Therefore, while button 314 is touched and the touch is maintained; then the imaging preparation is executed. If button 314 is slid towards button 313, then continuous shooting is executed; see paragraph 0076. If button 314 is slid towards a direction that is not capable of sliding, then the action is taken as it is being released and imaging preparation is also stopped; see paragraph 0054).
Regarding claim 25, Kinoshita discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 23). In addition, Kinoshita discloses stopping capture of the one or more images in a second imaging mode in response to detecting a ceasing of the touching the touch screen display (In response to detection of the fact that the SW1 button is no longer overlapping the SW2 button, an imaging stop command is transmitted to the imaging apparatus 2, and an instruction to stop the continuous shooting is notified; see paragraph 0076. The processing may also be configured so that the display position of the SW1 button is not returned to its original position, and is displayed in a state overlapping the SW2 button until the touch on the SW2 button is released. Thus, by displaying the SW1 button and the SW2 button in an overlapping state until the touch is released, the user can grasp what instructions have been made by a touch operation up until that point, see paragraph 0097).
Regarding claim 26, Kinoshita discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 23). In addition, Kinoshita ending a continuous shoot mode in response to detecting a ceasing of touching of the touch screen display (In response to detection of the fact that the SW1 button is no longer overlapping the SW2 button, an imaging stop command is transmitted to the imaging apparatus 2, and an instruction to stop the continuous shooting is notified; see paragraph 0076. By displaying the SW1 button and the SW2 button in an overlapping state until the touch is released, the user can grasp what instructions have been made by a touch operation up until that point, see paragraph 0097).
Regarding claim 27, Kinoshita discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 23). In addition, Kinoshita discloses moving the movable display object back into view at the first position in response to detecting a ceasing of touching of the touch screen display (The processing is configured so that the display position of the SW1 button is not returned to its original position, and is displayed in a state overlapping the SW2 button until the touch on the SW2 button is released. Thus, by displaying the SW1 button and the SW2 button in an overlapping state until the touch is released, the user can grasp what instructions have been made by a touch operation up until that point, see paragraph 0097).
Regarding claim 28 Kinoshita discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 23). In addition, Kinoshita discloses the movable display object is displayed initially near a home button of the touch GUI (After the SW1 button 314 has been touched, the SW1 button 314 can be slid in the direction of the SW2 button 313; see paragraph 0054. Figure 4A illustrates button 314 at the initial first position before reaching and overlapping button 313, the initial position situated at the bottom of the display which is located near the home button of the display device 100 (white circle at the bottom of the display), see fig. 4A).
Regarding claim 29, Kinoshita discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 23). In addition, Kinoshita discloses the touch GUI includes a settings icon (Operation icon 312 is an operation member for setting the display area of the screen 311 between an enlarged and a reduced display; see paragraph 0051. In addition, the imaging apparatus 2 setting information can be changed by operating the display control apparatus 100; see paragraph 0062).
Regarding claim 30, Kinoshita discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 23). In addition, Kinoshita discloses the touch GUI includes an icon for setting a camera imaging mode (The setting information is, for example, imaging setting information about the imaging mode setting status. If the imaging apparatus 2 setting information has been changed by operating the display control apparatus 100, an update is notified from the imaging apparatus 2 to the display control apparatus 100; see paragraphs 0062, 0040, 0047-0048).
Regarding claim 32, Kinoshita discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 23). In addition, Kinoshita discloses the touch GUI is displayed on a first portion of the touch screen display (The bottom area of item 310 located below rectangle area 311; see figs. 4A-B), and a through-image preview is shown on a second portion of the touch screen display, the second portion being distinct from the first portion (The live view image obtained from the imaging apparatus 2 is displayed on screen 311, the upper area of item 310. Live image region 311 is displayed above icon buttons 314 and 313; see figs. 4A-4B and paragraph 0048).
12. Claims 9, 11, 20, 22, 31 and 33 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kinoshita in view of Choi et al. (US-PGPUB 2014/0063313).
Regarding claim 9, Kinoshita discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 1). However, Kinoshita fails to disclose the touch GUI displays an icon for changing a zoom magnification of the image sensor.
On the other hand, Choi discloses the touch GUI displays an icon for changing a zoom magnification of the image sensor (In a camera mode, a slide button 237 is output to at least one side of the capturing button. The slide button 237 can be moved by a user's drag. Once the slide button 237 is dragged towards the capturing button 233, a zoom function is activated. If the slide button 237 is slid towards the plus icon, a zoom-in function is executed. On the other hand, if the slide button 237 is slid towards the minus icon, a zoom-out function is executed; see paragraphs 0152-0153 and fig. 7A).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Kinoshita and Choi to provide the touch GUI displays an icon for changing a zoom magnification of the image sensor for the purpose of effectively capturing images in accordance to user preferences while allowing the user to easily control the captured field of view through the manipulation of a friendly user interface.
Regarding claim 11, Kinoshita discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 1). In addition, Kinoshita discloses the touch GUI includes an icon for setting a camera imaging mode (The setting information is, for example, imaging setting information about the imaging mode setting status. If the imaging apparatus 2 setting information has been changed by operating the display control apparatus 100, an update is notified from the imaging apparatus 2 to the display control apparatus 100; see paragraphs 0062, 0040, 0047-0048) and wherein the touch GUI is displayed on a first portion of the touch screen display (The bottom area of item 310 located below rectangle area 311; see figs. 4A-B), and a through-image preview is shown on a second portion of the touch screen display, the second portion being distinct from the first portion (The live view image obtained from the imaging apparatus 2 is displayed on screen 311, the upper area of item 310. Live image region 311 is displayed above icon buttons 314 and 313; see figs. 4A-4B and paragraph 0048).
However, Kinoshita fails to disclose the touch GUI includes an icon for changing a zoom magnification of the image sensor.
Nevertheless, Choi discloses the touch GUI includes an icon for changing a zoom magnification of the image sensor (In a camera mode, a slide button 237 is output to at least one side of the capturing button. The slide button 237 can be moved by a user's drag. Once the slide button 237 is dragged towards the capturing button 233, a zoom function is activated. If the slide button 237 is slid towards the plus icon, a zoom-in function is executed. On the other hand, if the slide button 237 is slid towards the minus icon, a zoom-out function is executed; see paragraphs 0152-0153 and fig. 7A).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Kinoshita and Choi to provide the touch GUI includes an icon for changing a zoom magnification of the image sensor for the purpose of effectively capturing images in accordance to user preferences while allowing the user to easily control the captured field of view through the manipulation of a friendly user interface.
Regarding claim 20, Kinoshita discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 12). However, Kinoshita fails to disclose the touch GUI displays an icon for changing a zoom magnification of the image sensor.
On the other hand, Choi discloses the touch GUI displays an icon for changing a zoom magnification of the image sensor (In a camera mode, a slide button 237 is output to at least one side of the capturing button. The slide button 237 can be moved by a user's drag. Once the slide button 237 is dragged towards the capturing button 233, a zoom function is activated. If the slide button 237 is slid towards the plus icon, a zoom-in function is executed. On the other hand, if the slide button 237 is slid towards the minus icon, a zoom-out function is executed; see paragraphs 0152-0153 and fig. 7A).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Kinoshita and Choi to provide the touch GUI displays an icon for changing a zoom magnification of the image sensor for the purpose of effectively capturing images in accordance to user preferences while allowing the user to easily control the captured field of view through the manipulation of a friendly user interface.
Regarding claim 22, Kinoshita discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 12). In addition, Kinoshita discloses the touch GUI includes an icon for setting a camera imaging mode (The setting information is, for example, imaging setting information about the imaging mode setting status. If the imaging apparatus 2 setting information has been changed by operating the display control apparatus 100, an update is notified from the imaging apparatus 2 to the display control apparatus 100; see paragraphs 0062, 0040, 0047-0048) and wherein the touch GUI is displayed on a first portion of the touch screen display (The bottom area of item 310 located below rectangle area 311; see figs. 4A-B), and a through-image preview is shown on a second portion of the touch screen display, the second portion being distinct from the first portion (The live view image obtained from the imaging apparatus 2 is displayed on screen 311, the upper area of item 310. Live image region 311 is displayed above icon buttons 314 and 313; see figs. 4A-4B and paragraph 0048).
However, Kinoshita fails to disclose the touch GUI includes an icon for changing a zoom magnification of the image sensor.
Nevertheless, Choi discloses the touch GUI includes an icon for changing a zoom magnification of the image sensor (In a camera mode, a slide button 237 is output to at least one side of the capturing button. The slide button 237 can be moved by a user's drag. Once the slide button 237 is dragged towards the capturing button 233, a zoom function is activated. If the slide button 237 is slid towards the plus icon, a zoom-in function is executed. On the other hand, if the slide button 237 is slid towards the minus icon, a zoom-out function is executed; see paragraphs 0152-0153).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Kinoshita and Choi to provide the touch GUI includes an icon for changing a zoom magnification of the image sensor for the purpose of effectively capturing images in accordance to user preferences while allowing the user to easily control the captured field of view through the manipulation of a friendly user interface.
Regarding claim 31, Kinoshita discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 23). However, Kinoshita fails to disclose the touch GUI displays an icon for changing a zoom magnification of the image sensor.
On the other hand, Choi discloses the touch GUI displays an icon for changing a zoom magnification of the image sensor (In a camera mode, a slide button 237 is output to at least one side of the capturing button. The slide button 237 can be moved by a user's drag. Once the slide button 237 is dragged towards the capturing button 233, a zoom function is activated. If the slide button 237 is slid towards the plus icon, a zoom-in function is executed. On the other hand, if the slide button 237 is slid towards the minus icon, a zoom-out function is executed; see paragraphs 0152-0153 and fig. 7A).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Kinoshita and Choi to provide the touch GUI displays an icon for changing a zoom magnification of the image sensor for the purpose of effectively capturing images in accordance to user preferences while allowing the user to easily control the captured field of view through the manipulation of a friendly user interface.
Regarding claim 33, Kinoshita discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 23). In addition, Kinoshita discloses the touch GUI includes an icon for setting a camera imaging mode (The setting information is, for example, imaging setting information about the imaging mode setting status. If the imaging apparatus 2 setting information has been changed by operating the display control apparatus 100, an update is notified from the imaging apparatus 2 to the display control apparatus 100; see paragraphs 0062, 0040, 0047-0048) and wherein the touch GUI is displayed on a first portion of the touch screen display (The bottom area of item 310 located below rectangle area 311; see figs. 4A-B), and a through-image preview is shown on a second portion of the touch screen display, the second portion being distinct from the first portion (The live view image obtained from the imaging apparatus 2 is displayed on screen 311, the upper area of item 310. Live image region 311 is displayed above icon buttons 314 and 313; see figs. 4A-4B and paragraph 0048).
However, Kinoshita fails to disclose the touch GUI includes an icon for changing a zoom magnification of the image sensor.
Nevertheless, Choi discloses the touch GUI includes an icon for changing a zoom magnification of the image sensor (In a camera mode, a slide button 237 is output to at least one side of the capturing button. The slide button 237 can be moved by a user's drag. Once the slide button 237 is dragged towards the capturing button 233, a zoom function is activated. If the slide button 237 is slid towards the plus icon, a zoom-in function is executed. On the other hand, if the slide button 237 is slid towards the minus icon, a zoom-out function is executed; see paragraphs 0152-0153 and fig. 7A).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Kinoshita and Choi to provide the touch GUI includes an icon for changing a zoom magnification of the image sensor for the purpose of effectively capturing images in accordance to user preferences while allowing the user to easily control the captured field of view through the manipulation of a friendly user interface.
Citation of Pertinent Art
13. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure.
Yaksick et al. (US Patent 8,924,894) discloses the touchscreen display device 104 displays the first contact point 120. The tab bar control is animated (512). The mobile computing device 100 detects the pulling motion by the user of the unlock tab graphic 108 resulting in the animation of the unlock tab bar control 102 across the touchscreen display device 104 towards the first contact point 120. The measure of user motion is determined (514). In step 518, if the measure of user motion is less than the threshold measure and, in step 516, it is determined that user contact with the tab graphic has ceased, the tab bar control is retracted (522).
Contact Information
/CYNTHIA CALDERON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2639 08/03/2026